124 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Bottom

Maxis The Official Maxis FTTH Thread | v2, Maxis Home Fibre Internet, from RM138

lucaswjk
post Jul 14 2012, 11:31 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

Appointment Time: 14:30
Maxis Contractor Arrive: 14:00
TM Contractor Arrive: 15:30!!! dafaq!!!

So far line stable, tested youtube 1080p (1hour movie)
but not yet BT/direct download lar

and what does this mean
xDSL linestate down
kernel123
post Jul 14 2012, 11:35 PM

1,746 posts

anyone here been streamin overseas 1080p online movies streaming content such as netflix/hulu plus/futubox using this maxis ftth? is it ok?
danieltay
post Jul 14 2012, 11:36 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(Ahn3hn3h @ Jul 14 2012, 10:53 PM)
I don't know until you yourself figure out the MAC ID of your Thompson router(please don't reveal it here on the forum).

You sure no one walks around into your kitchen or home with a smartphone or something?
impossible lah... that lousy thomson router wifi signal can't even reach my kitchen

some more where got human being try to login since 4pm constantly until now, every 1, 2, 3 or sometimes 5 minutes.

as mentioned, the frequency is similar to the xDSL linestate down i've previously
wokan
post Jul 14 2012, 11:39 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(danieltay @ Jul 14 2012, 10:50 PM)
I know the Mac id a0:88:b4:d6:ea:28... But don't know what device it is... Anyway this message appear after my thomson router being changed yesterday by Maxis technician

But aside from iPad, I've no other devices... The message is showing even of I off my iPad... Anyway, my iPad can connect to the wireless with no problem.

The only instances it stop is when I switch off the wireless broadcast by untick the 'broadcast network name' box in Thomson router wireless setting.

But the moment I switch on my wireless back, the message appear immediately... Could it be possible for the Thomson router be hard coded with certain automatic wireless connection?
Daniel, that address probably a device used by Maxis technician who came to replace yr router. Anyway, that Mac address would be dissapear from the log file after a while. I not sure whether a reboot would do that or after a period of inactivty for that device, it would be drop out from the log file.

As for "xDSL linestate down" message, my router log do shows. It is most probably due to line SNR noise that causes the connection to drop/reconnect. Although it is intermittent drop, you probably will notice it if the page you are viewing is slow to load.

I stay in condo, so it is still using copper telephone line which would carry some noise and you can check the setting
in the ONT device (TM device). The SNR would be listed there on the xDSL tab. Mine SNR margin on the download shows between 20.8db to 21db.

Those stay in landed property, please post whether the log file shows the message "xDSL linestate down" as the fiber configuration is different from condo.

kiawin
post Jul 14 2012, 11:43 PM

NOOBIE
680 posts

QUOTE(wokan @ Jul 14 2012, 11:39 PM)
Those stay in landed property, please post whether the log file shows the message "xDSL linestate down" as the fiber configuration is different from condo.

Yes, do have it occasionally.

Now I'm facing slow crawling internet. Wonder why. Direct download of eclipse failed by Chrome with network error as cause.
wokan
post Jul 14 2012, 11:44 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(danieltay @ Jul 14 2012, 11:36 PM)
impossible lah... that lousy thomson router wifi signal can't even reach my kitchen

some more where got human being try to login since 4pm constantly until now, every 1, 2, 3 or sometimes 5 minutes.

as mentioned, the frequency is similar to the xDSL linestate down i've previously
Yes, the Wifi signal is weak that is a fact already. What you can do is buy a pair of Aztech homeplug and you can use the Wifi from the homeplug which connect thru the powerline. It is more stable and stronger Wifi signal.

Alternatively, use a Wireless Router connect to Thomson to act as a repeater and would need some configuration.
I leave it to you which choice u prefer. If you not technical person, suggest you go for homeplug which is plug and play and minor config on the Wireless setup for homeplug.

Added on July 14, 2012, 11:48 pm
QUOTE(kiawin @ Jul 14 2012, 11:43 PM)
Yes, do have it occasionally.

Now I'm facing slow crawling internet. Wonder why. Direct download of eclipse failed by Chrome with network error as cause.
Please do check the SNR margin from the ONT device from TM if you know how.
Could you post the error from the Thomson log file for our reference. One more thing, please use notebook cooler to cool down the Thomson router as it is overheat is known issue for Thomson router.

This post has been edited by wokan: Jul 14 2012, 11:48 PM
aeiou228
post Jul 14 2012, 11:49 PM

5,867 posts

I have bunch of these. Landed house.

Jul 14 23:27:04 LOGIN wireless station [6c:23:b9:84:f7:e7] can't get authorized.

Jul 14 23:42:27 xDSL linestate down

Jul 14 23:40:38 xDSL linestate down

Jul 14 23:40:16 xDSL linestate down

Jul 14 23:37:54 xDSL linestate down

Jul 14 23:10:12 xDSL linestate down

Jul 14 23:09:50 xDSL linestate down

Jul 14 23:01:29 xDSL linestate down

Jul 14 23:00:30 xDSL linestate down

Added on July 14, 2012, 11:50 pm  Jul 14 23:27:04 LOGIN wireless station [6c:23:b9:84:f7:e7] can't get authorized.

Jul 14 23:25:10 LOGIN wireless station [6c:23:b9:84:f7:e7] can't get authorized.

Jul 14 23:24:09 LOGIN wireless station [6c:23:b9:84:f7:e7] can't get authorized.

Jul 14 23:22:39 LOGIN wireless station [6c:23:b9:84:f7:e7] can't get authorized.

Jul 14 23:17:35 LOGIN wireless station [6c:23:b9:84:f7:e7] can't get authorized.

Jul 14 23:16:12 LOGIN wireless station [6c:23:b9:84:f7:e7] can't get authorized.

Jul 14 23:14:51 LOGIN wireless station [6c:23:b9:84:f7:e7] can't get authorized.

Jul 14 23:13:28 LOGIN wireless station [6c:23:b9:84:f7:e7] can't get authorized.

Jul 14 23:12:13 LOGIN wireless station [6c:23:b9:84:f7:e7] can't get authorized.

Jul 14 23:10:00 LOGIN wireless station [6c:23:b9:84:f7:e7] can't get authorized.

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Jul 14 2012, 11:50 PM
kiawin
post Jul 14 2012, 11:53 PM

NOOBIE
680 posts

QUOTE(danieltay @ Jul 14 2012, 11:36 PM)
As the thomson has built in antenna, I guess we can't blame thomson, but just poor choice by maxis smile.gif
wokan
post Jul 14 2012, 11:54 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 14 2012, 11:49 PM)
 I have bunch of these. Landed house.
Jul 14 23:27:04 LOGIN wireless station [6c:23:b9:84:f7:e7] can't get authorized.
  Jul 14 23:42:27 xDSL linestate down
  Jul 14 23:40:38 xDSL linestate down
  Jul 14 23:40:16 xDSL linestate down
  Jul 14 23:37:54 xDSL linestate down
  Jul 14 23:10:12 xDSL linestate down
  Jul 14 23:09:50 xDSL linestate down
  Jul 14 23:01:29 xDSL linestate down
  Jul 14 23:00:30 xDSL linestate down
bro aeiou, please post the SNR margin value from ONT device (TM device) for our reference and comparison if you know how to access the ONT device.

I have read numerous overseas forum posting on this issue, and mostly point down the the noise coming carry by the t/phone line or from the server termination point.

By the way, which area are you staying and do you happen to know roughly how many Unifi/Maxis subscriber in yr area from the conversation with the TM/Maxis installer?

Added on July 14, 2012, 11:57 pm
QUOTE(kiawin @ Jul 14 2012, 11:53 PM)
As the thomson has built in antenna, I guess we can't blame thomson, but just poor choice by maxis smile.gif
Well, that antenna is not built with strong frequency, furthermore if have to penetrate the thick wall of yr house, the signal would be worse the further the distance is. So I guess this is a cheapo router that Maxis can get since the package itself is already cheap (I assume you are on RM118 package), which I think Maxis is subsidize part of the cost for this package.

This post has been edited by wokan: Jul 14 2012, 11:57 PM
kiawin
post Jul 15 2012, 12:00 AM

NOOBIE
680 posts

QUOTE(wokan @ Jul 14 2012, 11:44 PM)
Please do check the SNR margin from the ONT device from TM if you know how.
Could you post the error from the Thomson log file for our reference. One more thing, please use notebook cooler to cool down the Thomson router as it is overheat is known issue for Thomson router.

Paiseh. Tried google but no answer on how to access the ONT. Mind sharing? smile.gif
aeiou228
post Jul 15 2012, 12:02 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(wokan @ Jul 14 2012, 11:54 PM)
bro aeiou, please post the SNR margin value from ONT device (TM device) for our reference and comparison if you know how to access the ONT device.

I have read numerous overseas forum posting on this issue, and mostly point down the the noise coming carry by the t/phone line or from the server termination point.

By the way, which area are you staying and do you happen to know roughly how many Unifi/Maxis subscriber in yr area from the conversation with the TM/Maxis installer?
How to access ONT ?
SNR is the reading tm installer took during instalation ? My area i guess not many yet.
scion
post Jul 15 2012, 12:07 AM

125 posts

QUOTE(wokan @ Jul 14 2012, 11:39 PM)
Daniel, that address probably a device used by Maxis technician who came to replace yr router. Anyway, that Mac address would be dissapear from the log file after a while. I not sure whether a reboot would do that or after a period of inactivty for that device, it would be drop out from the log file.

As for "xDSL linestate down" message, my router log do shows. It is most probably due to line SNR noise that causes the connection to drop/reconnect. Although it is intermittent drop, you probably will notice it if the page you are viewing is slow to load.

I stay in condo, so it is still using copper telephone line which would carry some noise and you can check the setting
in the ONT device (TM device). The SNR would be listed there on the xDSL tab. Mine SNR margin on the download shows between 20.8db to 21db.

how to check ONT device?
wokan
post Jul 15 2012, 12:08 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(kiawin @ Jul 15 2012, 12:00 AM)
Paiseh. Tried google but no answer on how to access the ONT. Mind sharing? smile.gif
Connect the network cable from yr computer to the ONT device. Plug to LAN4. It should give you auto IP address.
If no IP address is given, configure manually (use IP address: 192.168.1.xx. Subnet mask: 255.255.255.0) Do not use 192.168.1.1)

Once connected, goto browser and specify 192.168.1.1
User: admin, Pwd: PM me.

Goto Network Page > xDSL. You should see bunch of info there.

I forgot to mention here. The ONT device I am using is ZTE ZXDSL 931 series. I hope you guys are using the same ONT. If different, you need to search around the forum on how to access the ONT.

This post has been edited by wokan: Jul 15 2012, 12:14 AM
kiawin
post Jul 15 2012, 12:16 AM

NOOBIE
680 posts

QUOTE(wokan @ Jul 15 2012, 12:08 AM)
Connect the network cable from yr computer to the ONT device. Plug to LAN4. It should give you auto IP address.
If no IP address is given, configure manually (use IP address: 192.168.1.xx. Subnet mask: 255.255.255.0) Do not use 192.168.1.1)

Once connected, goto browser and specify 192.168.1.1
User: admin, Pwd: PM me.

Goto Network Page > xDSL. You should see bunch of info there.

I forgot to mention here. The ONT device I am using is ZTE ZXDSL 931 series. I hope you guys are using the same ONT. If different, you need to search around the forum on how to access the ONT.
My google result shows I'm using the white color Alcatel Lucent I-240G-P smile.gif
danieltay
post Jul 15 2012, 12:24 AM

209 posts

Ladies n Gentlemen, just off the phoned from conversation with maxis technician.

I can confirm the "xDSL linestate down" and "Login wireless station..." is the router problem.

I just changed my router this Friday because of "xDSL linestate down"... This solve the issue but a new problem coming up ie "Login wireless station"

The maxis guy guide me thru the setup to reconfigure the internet connection to ensure it's the router issue. The outcome is confirmed Thomson router issue yet again!

So my guess that the new firmware just rechannel the xDSL linestate down as Login wireless could be true. I can feel the connection still give me problem although not appearing in the connection event logs. They are just trying to hide the problem by diverting the command to be recorded as something else. I've over 15 years experience as a software guy, so they can't cheat me on logic.

At first I called up, one guy trying to con me by saying it's my problem. But I call the 2nd time they failed to answer when I throw some logical questions to them.

He said I need to change the router again, router and firmware issue. But there is no new firmware as I am on the latest version. So it'll waste my time yet again. Furthermore, you never know the Thomson router quality you get with a new one. The old one is cooler while the new one i got is hot the moment it's switch on.

If you do not want to bother, better tutup sebelah mata because it looks like a circle of never ending problems for this Thomson router.

I almost give up, this constant interruption is really bothering me.

This post has been edited by danieltay: Jul 15 2012, 12:40 AM
scion
post Jul 15 2012, 12:30 AM

125 posts

What is this firewall replay check and tcp port scan on Thomson Gateway > Event Logs > Security

Jul 15 00:26:08 FIREWALL replay check (1 of 2): Protocol: ICMP Src ip: 123.231.91.61 Dst ip: 14.192.237.106 Type: Destination Unreachable Code: Port Unreacheable

Jul 15 00:23:57 FIREWALL replay check (1 of 13): Protocol: ICMP Src ip: 203.147.88.34 Dst ip: 14.192.237.106 Type: Destination Unreachable Code: Port Unreacheable

Jul 15 00:23:57 IDS scan parser : tcp port scan: 124.108.79.88 scanned at least 10 ports at 14.192.237.106. (1 of 1) : 124.108.79.88 14.192.237.106 0040 TCP 80->55902 [.FA...] seq 3669618614 ack 281960668 win 62

Jul 15 00:19:29 IDS scan parser : tcp port scan: 58.26.1.49 scanned at least 10 ports at 14.192.237.106. (1 of 1) : 58.26.1.49 14.192.237.106 0454 TCP 80->63738 [..A..P] seq 3789705528 ack 1909032126 win 3650

Jul 15 00:19:13 FIREWALL replay check (1 of 5): Protocol: ICMP Src ip: 203.147.88.34 Dst ip: 14.192.237.106 Type: Destination Unreachable Code: Port Unreacheable

Jul 15 00:17:24 FIREWALL replay check (1 of 18): Protocol: ICMP Src ip: 203.147.88.34 Dst ip: 14.192.237.106 Type: Destination Unreachable Code: Port Unreacheable

Jul 15 00:16:19 FIREWALL replay check (1 of 2): Protocol: ICMP Src ip: 203.147.88.34 Dst ip: 14.192.237.106 Type: Destination Unreachable Code: Port Unreacheable

Jul 15 00:14:52 FIREWALL replay check (1 of 9): Protocol: ICMP Src ip: 203.147.88.34 Dst ip: 14.192.237.106 Type: Destination Unreachable Code: Port Unreacheable

This post has been edited by scion: Jul 15 2012, 12:31 AM
iZuDeeN
post Jul 15 2012, 12:41 AM

3,466 posts

can u guys list down the firmware of the router, would like to know which one is the stable one

CODE

Product Name: TG784n

Serial Number: CP1124NT0US

Software Release: 8.4.3.I

Software Variant: AR

Boot Loader Version: 1.1.2

Product Code: 3667917A

Board Name: DANT-P

kiawin
post Jul 15 2012, 12:45 AM

NOOBIE
680 posts

QUOTE(scion @ Jul 15 2012, 12:30 AM)
What is this firewall replay check and tcp port scan on Thomson Gateway > Event Logs > Security
Jul 15 00:26:08 FIREWALL replay check (1 of 2): Protocol: ICMP Src ip: 123.231.91.61 Dst ip: 14.192.237.106 Type: Destination Unreachable Code: Port Unreacheable
Jul 15 00:23:57 FIREWALL replay check (1 of 13): Protocol: ICMP Src ip: 203.147.88.34 Dst ip: 14.192.237.106 Type: Destination Unreachable Code: Port Unreacheable
Jul 15 00:23:57 IDS scan parser : tcp port scan: 124.108.79.88 scanned at least 10 ports at 14.192.237.106. (1 of 1) : 124.108.79.88 14.192.237.106 0040 TCP 80->55902 [.FA...] seq 3669618614 ack 281960668 win 62
Jul 15 00:19:29 IDS scan parser : tcp port scan: 58.26.1.49 scanned at least 10 ports at 14.192.237.106. (1 of 1) : 58.26.1.49 14.192.237.106 0454 TCP 80->63738 [..A..P] seq 3789705528 ack 1909032126 win 3650
Jul 15 00:19:13 FIREWALL replay check (1 of 5): Protocol: ICMP Src ip: 203.147.88.34 Dst ip: 14.192.237.106 Type: Destination Unreachable Code: Port Unreacheable
Jul 15 00:17:24 FIREWALL replay check (1 of 18): Protocol: ICMP Src ip: 203.147.88.34 Dst ip: 14.192.237.106 Type: Destination Unreachable Code: Port Unreacheable
Jul 15 00:16:19 FIREWALL replay check (1 of 2): Protocol: ICMP Src ip: 203.147.88.34 Dst ip: 14.192.237.106 Type: Destination Unreachable Code: Port Unreacheable
Jul 15 00:14:52 FIREWALL replay check (1 of 9): Protocol: ICMP Src ip: 203.147.88.34 Dst ip: 14.192.237.106 Type: Destination Unreachable Code: Port Unreacheable
Do you BT?

Added on July 15, 2012, 12:46 am
QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Jul 15 2012, 12:41 AM)
can u guys list down the firmware of the router, would like to know which one is the stable one
CODE

Serial Number: CP1124NT0US

Software Release: 8.4.3.I

Software Variant: AR

Boot Loader Version: 1.1.2

Product Code: 3667917A

Board Name: DANT-P

IMHO don't show your serial number smile.gif

Added on July 15, 2012, 12:47 am
CODE