Maxis The Official Maxis FTTH Thread | v2, Maxis Home Fibre Internet, from RM138
Qavs
Jul 17 2012, 08:25 PM
QUOTE(azizul1975 @ Jul 17 2012, 07:59 PM) ah ok.. mine is ASUS P8Z77-V LX .. i bet you must have installed the ASUS AI Suite II is it ? if so, try uninstalling it, and see if the speedtest result any different... mine was ok only after uninstalling it.... Thanks man! It's back to normal now. Just googled about it, it was the iNetwork from Asus which shapes traffic which caused the problem.
danieltay
Jul 17 2012, 08:27 PM

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Jul 17 2012, 08:06 PM) it better to use OpenDNS as Primary and GoogleDns as Secondary... If you dont know, google like to collect your data Primary: 208.67.222.222 Secondary: 8.8.8.8 oic, is the opendns as good as google?
kenjixx
Jul 17 2012, 08:29 PM
QUOTE(danieltay @ Jul 17 2012, 08:27 PM) oic, is the opendns as good as google? opendns offer more than googledns... with settings to block website and stuff
lucaswjk
Jul 17 2012, 08:48 PM
QUOTE(danieltay @ Jul 17 2012, 08:27 PM) oic, is the opendns as good as google? about the same... it matter who get more/complete of you sometime i have google phobia... tracking & profiling my XXX activity luckly im little bit IT literate tracking back to me is a bit difficult
Jul 17 2012, 09:36 PM
Installed my maxis home fiber on 12th july. 1st day all good but 2nd day until today the internet frequently timed out and slow response. Am I the only one facing this problem? This post has been edited by 1337: Jul 17 2012, 09:38 PM
aeiou228
Jul 17 2012, 10:42 PM
QUOTE(danieltay @ Jul 17 2012, 07:49 PM) wah good lah u, but i got a shock thought it's monthly... thank god it's yearly... haha is your connection performance better now with laptop cooler? do you still get xDSL linestate down? btw, how about the "LOGIN wireless station [MAC address] can't get authorized."? do you still get the message? pls help to check tq I still get the two messages. With or without the cooler, the perfomance is the same with occasional unresponsive page loading.
danieltay
Jul 17 2012, 11:06 PM

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 17 2012, 10:42 PM) I still get the two messages. With or without the cooler, the perfomance is the same with occasional unresponsive page loading. Hmmm... Thanks for the reply... Now I know what to do Anyway, do you refer your case to maxis technical support? I've told them about this case but they insist that login wireless message is due to someone trying to connect my wireless, which I think not true as my wireless cannot even reach my kitchen. Maybe you should report as well. If they got at least two identical case, they'll believe it's their problems. This post has been edited by danieltay: Jul 17 2012, 11:07 PM
azizul1975
Jul 17 2012, 11:06 PM
QUOTE(Qavs @ Jul 17 2012, 08:25 PM) Thanks man! It's back to normal now. Just googled about it, it was the iNetwork from Asus which shapes traffic which caused the problem.  yup, that's the culprit.... but i have the suite uninstalled altogether, since it doesn't give much benefit anyway... good to hear your system back to normal...
layzieboy
Jul 17 2012, 11:18 PM
so whats the diff setting opendns in router vs client? I still get that failed loading when I change my dns on my pc (not on the thompson router)..
azizul1975
Jul 17 2012, 11:22 PM
setting at router - will affect all devices connected to the router, provided the devices don't have pre-determined dns
setting at client - will affect that client only.....
in short, setting at client will bypass all other dns setting....
layzieboy
Jul 17 2012, 11:41 PM
QUOTE(azizul1975 @ Jul 17 2012, 11:22 PM) setting at router - will affect all devices connected to the router, provided the devices don't have pre-determined dns setting at client - will affect that client only..... in short, setting at client will bypass all other dns setting.... thx, dint notice any diff compared to the default dns. still need to reload sometimes. owell..
mghong
Jul 18 2012, 12:25 AM
Did we need to familiar wi those command en only we can change the DNS ?
iZuDeeN
Jul 18 2012, 12:29 AM
opendns is slower than google dns in malaysia
even though it uses anycast and the nearest server for opendns is in singapore, somehow maxis routing to this server sux... hence google dns is still the best choice now
zDarkForceSz
Jul 18 2012, 01:05 AM
QUOTE(ronnie @ Jul 17 2012, 03:48 PM) Call up the Maxis HOME hotline to enquire... QUOTE(Mac Man @ LYF @ Jul 17 2012, 04:02 PM) BUG them. Email, tweet, call cs & post at maxis forum. I did all that, everyday for 10 days, then they give me an installation date. Complain to SKMM / MCMC is the final way to go. Call until I dulan dy. Every time ask me wait wait wait. Call them take 15min to pick up. D@mn
mackioes
Jul 18 2012, 01:08 AM

QUOTE(zDarkForceSz @ Jul 17 2012, 04:32 PM) Until today I haven't receive a call from Maxis. What to do... Woah your case still unsolved? Hmm go complain mcmc kao kao. Thankfully mine is gonna install today !  Added on July 18, 2012, 1:11 amafter complain, request for case number + tell them your mcmc complain case number, ask for the telephone operator name in case they play "pass the phones. " Then they will take some serious action ! This post has been edited by mackioes: Jul 18 2012, 01:11 AM
zDarkForceSz
Jul 18 2012, 10:09 AM
QUOTE(mackioes @ Jul 18 2012, 01:08 AM) Woah your case still unsolved? Hmm go complain mcmc kao kao. Thankfully mine is gonna install today !  Added on July 18, 2012, 1:11 amafter complain, request for case number + tell them your mcmc complain case number, ask for the telephone operator name in case they play "pass the phones. " Then they will take some serious action ! I used cfm dy. But still no result...
Aeon_Clock
Jul 18 2012, 10:15 AM
had my line installed recently and very tulan now. Phone line cannot use back my old number. The bloody sales agent told me a month ago that I could retain the line and now Maxis is telling me a different story. Does Maxis have a list of landline VIP numbers we can buy? Coz the selection they gave us is really bad.
Line is ok...no problems (yet). A little worried about the heat though....need to get a fan or sth later.
ryudell
Jul 18 2012, 10:23 AM
QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Jul 18 2012, 11:15 AM) had my line installed recently and very tulan now. Phone line cannot use back my old number. The bloody sales agent told me a month ago that I could retain the line and now Maxis is telling me a different story. Does Maxis have a list of landline VIP numbers we can buy? Coz the selection they gave us is really bad. Line is ok...no problems (yet). A little worried about the heat though....need to get a fan or sth later. what they mean is that u cn keep the existing tm line.. but of coz maxis will give a new line coz maxis n tm is two diff company what
Koreyoshi
Jul 18 2012, 10:39 AM

QUOTE(TerryZeroX @ Jul 16 2012, 04:33 PM) Success in changing DNS  [attachmentid=2949519] I'll check for stability now yes, i found this method too, but i'm dare not to do it. need to flush it before add new dns?
TerryZeroX
Jul 18 2012, 10:44 AM
QUOTE(Koreyoshi @ Jul 18 2012, 10:39 AM) yes, i found this method too, but i'm dare not to do it. need to flush it before add new dns? I didn't though, just add in 2 more lines of DNS without removing maxis's preset DNS then I rebooted my router. Automatically its my primary and secondary dns