Hyundai Elantra MD Ver.7, Calling All Elantra Owners & Future Ones

xrossf1re
post Jul 2 2012, 03:08 PM

244 posts

lol if you guys order now... wait for 5 months, by the time u get the car Dec 2012 or Jan 2013 doh.gif

That's consider 1 yr old car already rite even u get it new? haha
xrossf1re
post Jul 2 2012, 03:29 PM

244 posts

Not talking about design, but the car year.

Like buying VW cars, if u purchase 2011 car in 2012 (brand new unregister) you get around 6k-10k discount depending on car.

So if you get your car in Dec 2012, and one month later Jan 2013, your car consider one year old car - which depreciates a lot. That's why people do not prefer to buy car end of the year.

xrossf1re
post Jul 2 2012, 03:30 PM

244 posts

One more thing, i realise waiting time in KL is really long. I have a friend book in other state, waiting time for silver only 2-3 weeks. Red only 2 months. doh.gif

Those who dun want to wait, buy at other states!
xrossf1re
post Jul 10 2012, 10:03 AM

244 posts

I wonder is it possible to reprogram the ECU to enable auto door lock like this

xrossf1re
post Jul 10 2012, 10:43 AM

244 posts

QUOTE(racer85 @ Jul 10 2012, 10:26 AM)
how come mine is lidat?
you mean ur kancil got this feature also whistling.gif
xrossf1re
post Jul 11 2012, 10:28 PM

244 posts

Wow, I just saw the Malaysia Elantra Club at facebook starting a groupbuy for K&N Filter for Elantra. RM370 + RM10 (Club fund). It's weird cause my friend just bought one piece from forumer at RM220 whistling.gif
xrossf1re
post Jul 12 2012, 11:57 AM

244 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Jul 12 2012, 12:37 AM)
RM220 for Elantra? Where's the link please?
Warehouse for Speedo is in Sri Damansara. But the panel workshop to do all the installation work are in Prima Damansara.
Try eBay I've sold out all my extras.
RM220 for Elantra. Please PM "Clazsique". Do not be conned by the so called 'club' actually they milk member's money. doh.gif

xrossf1re
post Jul 12 2012, 12:38 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(ihatemyguts @ Jul 12 2012, 12:14 PM)
Got any proof to back up your statement there, my friend?

The club has been doing things in a transparent manner thus far, so if you are able to point out where we've gone astray, we would appreciate your feedback very much.
Why there's a group buy for K&N filter for RM380 where the cheapest I source is RM220 from garage sales? If you're saying that your supplier is from Malaysia not Singapore, the Malaysia supplier is selling for RM300 only for the filter. Group buy suppose to be more cheap, not expensive. RM80 for installation fee ar? Pfttt.....
xrossf1re
post Jul 12 2012, 12:40 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(stevenycs @ Jul 12 2012, 12:16 PM)
Welcome bro  rclxms.gif
Hope u get ur ride sooner than that smile.gif

Added on July 12, 2012, 12:22 pm

Thanks for the info bro. Will check it out with this Clazsique guy you mentioned.
If he can offer something better definitely will benefit everyone.  smile.gif

Any links or sales topic by this guy?
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2013080&hl=

There are a few sellers for K&N Filter for Elantra. Even the local Malaysia distributor selling like RM300 only IIRC
xrossf1re
post Jul 12 2012, 02:09 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(ihatemyguts @ Jul 12 2012, 12:50 PM)
Please do enlighten me then.
You could have informed us straight up; it's possible that we did not manage to get the best price from the vendors we have approached.
You could have done everyone a service by letting us know that there is another seller giving an even better price for the filters, so we may approach him and obtain a better price for our members.
And despite all that you could have done, what did you do?
Run around claiming that the club is trying to scam its own members, making your own assumptions.
Bravo, brother.  Bravo.
First of all, I'm not even a member of your so called 'private club'. So happened my colleague is a member and he ask me about the filter weather I'm interested or not, and I begin to read about it in his FB page. If the club is for sharing purposes, why make it private? Why go thru all the hassel of validating names, IC, car number etc? Just make it an open group, where everyone can join and discuss about the car. And with more members joining, isn't it higher chance to source for cheaper price? With it being private, I don't see the quality of post being better at all. Everyone just chit chatting and talking cork there. That is why I stick to this forum.

And if i am not mistaken there's a joining fee of RM80 per annum? What kind of service this 'club' provide? By charging RM80 per annum and doesn't even bother to do more research or source for a better price for K&N air filter? A simple 'search' at garage sales you will find that the price you offered is ridiculous. RM380 vs RM220? If your source is offering ridiculous inflated price for the accessories, perhaps its time to call it a day and stop offering stuff in bulk pls?

I rest my case. You can continue your rant at your club and I'm just here to share to the open forum that there are better deals out there.
xrossf1re
post Jul 12 2012, 03:32 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(ihatemyguts @ Jul 12 2012, 02:19 PM)

Hi there.

Once again, your assumptions take over your better judgement, brother.
The purpose of the closed group is to clamp down on spam by vendors.  If you've seen the previous open group, you'd see 90% posts by vendors pushing their products.
We do not want that, we want a place where actual OWNERS and interested people can get together and talk about the car, be it crap or not. (Try finding a single shred of information in the old group.  Sifting through all the vendor posts is enough to drive someone crazy)

Regarding the joining fee, it is only for those who want to.  We never implied that every SINGLE person who joins the group has to pay.  We have members who commit even more to the club, and the RM 80 is for those who wish to share benefits and discounts offered by our partners.  Get your facts right.

About the filter; yes the price offered by bro Claz is cheaper by a whole lot.  But you have to understand, we are only able to approach vendors with actual stores, or a fully registered business venue.  We have to take in consideration that, if the item fails, the owners would have to actually go to someone to exchange them. What happens if one day bro Claz decides to close down the online operation & stop selling the filters?  Where would our members go then? Also, our partner has graciously offered to provide cleaning and maintenance works on the filters purchases F.O.C.
Being an avid researcher, I am sure you know the prices of the cleaning & maintenance liquids, no? smile.gif

Case?  You had none to begin with.  You're as free to share your thoughts to the forum, as I am to expel all this slander with facts, not mere accusations.

An additional note; you claim we oversell the accessories in the Group Buys.  We are currently having one for the front DRL with cover at rm 500+ with installation, when the closest competitor is offering it at RM 650 without installation.  You're welcome to compare our prices for the UR Bar Group Buy as well; we have nothing to hide.

Good day to you. smile.gif

p/s: Have you ever considered getting an Elantra? We would love to have a member like you actually; you'd be able to fight for the best prices for us from vendors. smile.gif
I'm sorry if I offended you with my posting earlier. Placed a booking but car haven't reach yet. I guess I'm just jealous that you guys get your car first that my anger overclouded my judgement sense. Good day to you too smile.gif
xrossf1re
post Jul 12 2012, 05:09 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(ivn79 @ Jul 12 2012, 05:02 PM)
Hi Elantiong frens, seems like Civic launched at RM115k onwards wt 5 yrs warranty unlimited mileage... cool2.gif
http://paultan.org/2012/07/12/honda-civic-...rvice-interval/
6 speed (elantra) vs 5 speed (civic). Fabric seats somemore. No thanks

This post has been edited by xrossf1re: Jul 12 2012, 05:11 PM
xrossf1re
post Jul 12 2012, 05:13 PM

244 posts

But FC not as good compared to 6 speed i guess. My colleague driving the 2.0 Civic. RM70 can drive around 350km only (city drive).

Added on July 12, 2012, 5:14 pmNo offence to future Civic owners, but this new design is awfully boxy! Did they appoint Volvo designer back in the 80s?

This post has been edited by xrossf1re: Jul 12 2012, 05:14 PM
xrossf1re
post Jul 12 2012, 05:22 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(ihatemyguts @ Jul 12 2012, 05:16 PM)
That's pretty close to what the 1.8 owners have been reporting.
But then again... most of them have been tekan-ing like mad ever since they've installed the ETC and UR bars..

I get around 450 from around RM 75-80 for my 1.6 though tongue.gif
Which one did you book?
1.6HS tomato red. How heavy are your foot to get 450? tongue.gif
xrossf1re
post Jul 13 2012, 11:02 AM

244 posts

QUOTE(ihatemyguts @ Jul 13 2012, 09:42 AM)
Lighter rims should help; less energy required to start them rolling.
Theoretically... that is. tongue.gif
Time to upgrade to Enkei Wheels. tongue.gif

xrossf1re
post Jul 13 2012, 12:55 PM

244 posts

I find it really disappointing if the service interval for this car is 5,000km. Almost all new cars have a service interval of 10,000km now. Save time, save money. VW cars have a service interval of 15,000km for crying out loud!

I really hope Hyundai will allow service interval of 10,000km.
xrossf1re
post Jul 13 2012, 02:01 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(ihatemyguts @ Jul 13 2012, 01:10 PM)
Maybe it's just me, but I don't feel good about using the same engine oil for 10k, even if it's fully synthetic..
I've been servicing at 5k intervals on semi-syn and 7k on fully.
Paranoid perhaps? haha
LOL too paranoid la bro. 10k is the standard for servicing now.
I think you cannot drive VW cars, will flip out. 15,000k service once, 45,000km only service 3 times. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by xrossf1re: Jul 13 2012, 02:03 PM
xrossf1re
post Jul 13 2012, 02:25 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(fabho @ Jul 13 2012, 02:18 PM)
Hey harpyboy, where did you get your filter and how much because i have been looking high and low but couldnt find it.
A simple search at garage sales and I found 3 sellers:

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2013080

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1642096

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=295027
xrossf1re
post Jul 13 2012, 02:31 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(fabho @ Jul 13 2012, 02:27 PM)
First 3 service I will follow their instructions to do at interval of 1K and 5k. But then at 10K I will use my own full syn engine oil and only come back to service after 10k.
Will it void the warranty if like that? You bring your own oil?
xrossf1re
post Jul 13 2012, 02:40 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(stix @ Jul 13 2012, 02:37 PM)
hi guys, don't mean to crash the thread but i just had a look on both civic and elantra during lunch since my girl is opting for a new car. in my honest opinion, for that amount of money, elantra wins in terms of value for money but quality and refinement, i have to hand it to honda. despite the 'ugly' interior pictures that we see everywhere, the moment you sit inside the civic, it feels 'right' and in fact, more comfortable. then again, the 1.8 has nothing so i guess the only thing to consider here is affordability smile.gif my girl is actually picking between the 1.8 elantra and civic hybrid.
If I am you I will buy my girl a Polo TSI. Just a thought. Easier for her to park. Smaller car suitable for girl. Amazing fuel consumption. And best of all it's German smile.gif

This post has been edited by xrossf1re: Jul 13 2012, 02:42 PM

0.1722sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 06:43 AM