Hyundai Elantra MD Ver.7, Calling All Elantra Owners & Future Ones

Zanes
post Jul 2 2012, 08:15 AM

anyone with good offer by SA in or around Puchong area, kindly PM. thanks!
Zanes
post Jul 2 2012, 05:58 PM

QUOTE(elantra9336 @ Jul 2 2012, 04:41 PM)
that 4 pieces black foam stick to the holes will fall off after sometimes, it happended to alot CKD car in malaysia.

My coating speacialist (Sierra Glow) help me to touch up my bonnet,
he asked if i parked my car in door or outdoor, i said in the house,
then he asked again if the front facing inside or outside, i said facing into the house,
tats mean our engine is quite high temp, which tech sound also, cos elantra engine comp is quite packed n small, so the protection to the bonnet paint is necessary, only malaysia CKD dont have.

later i might add timer to delay the fan off if necessary.....
but will it drain your battery by delaying the OFF time?
Zanes
post Jul 31 2012, 03:35 PM

QUOTE(mirzan007 @ Jul 31 2012, 01:19 PM)
So difficult to decide.... either elantra premium or tucson ... u guys sounds happy with elantra .. should i bother with rear multi link suspension in tucson since elantra has rear coupled torsion beam axle suspension instead..
new Santa Fe coming soon. seems to be something worth waiting
Zanes
post Sep 4 2012, 08:43 AM

QUOTE(ihatemyguts @ Sep 3 2012, 06:53 PM)
Wanted to post this too once i got home, but u beat me to it bro. lol
My ESP gets activated on a daily basis... always going into corners with more speed than required.
When it gets activated, you'll hear a faint "beeeeep" tongue.gif
i dont think you should put "ihatemyguys" as you should have loved it very much. LOL! notworthy.gif
Zanes
post Sep 4 2012, 11:57 AM

QUOTE(ihatemyguts @ Sep 4 2012, 09:26 AM)
fuwah!! daigao!! never knew u were in here tongue.gif
LOL! i'm always here since.. er.. version1. silent reader before this. blush.gif

Added on September 4, 2012, 11:58 am
QUOTE(KenKen83 @ Sep 4 2012, 10:55 AM)
Hi All... I'm New Reporting In.

D.O.B = 10 July 2012
Model = 1.8 Premium
Color = Creamy White
D.O.Delivery = November
welcome! where are you from?

This post has been edited by Zanes: Sep 4 2012, 11:58 AM
Zanes
post Sep 5 2012, 08:34 AM

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Sep 4 2012, 02:13 PM)
Did you know that the Civic has more total internal legroom compared to the Elantra? The Civic has 198.63cm while the Elantra registers just 194.82cm of internal legroom.

Just for info.
never knew that. however, physically seems that the legroom seems cramped especially the backseat. well, this might be personal but i'd tried that out actually after setting the driver seat comfortably and tried out sitting at the back. blush.gif
Zanes
post Sep 5 2012, 08:48 AM

QUOTE(KenKen83 @ Sep 4 2012, 03:27 PM)
Hi... I'm From K.L
Hopefully can get my car in OCT.
Previously driving Mazda RX-8
But already sold change HE due to lazy to take care.
I look a lot comment on the forum said the audio & gps is sucks.
If change the whole audio will this be solve?
oh... the rotary! haha..
well, it's all depends on what are you comparing it with. for me, all the setup are just fine for casual driving. the audio is not really that crap that would hurt the eardrums and the gps don't really lead us to drain.

for far i'm quite enjoying the audio as i'm not those who go for hardcore or driving most of the time. as long it does put out nice volume and if i really wanna enjoy music, i'll just enjoy it at my home.

gps wise, some complained on the lag and response which might be due to the tinting film which caused the reception of the signal to be bad.

after all, hardly any cars come with high end audio system unless u r buying audi or some other higher end premium cars which come with Bose or whatsoever high end system. biggrin.gif

for audio, u can try to ask the fanboy ihatemyguts as he had changed his HU. brows.gif
Zanes
post Sep 5 2012, 09:22 AM

Guys, it's really great to know that current consumers really know what's going on and really go deep into it before making a decision and seriously i'm really impressed with all the information poured in to this forum to make this really an educational portal for car buyers.

however, these measurements and stats are just numbers. there are ways to calculate it of course and i'm terribly sorry that i do not know how it's done. but numbers are still numbers and might be misleading and loopholes on how it's done anyway.

hence, it'll always be better to get a physical touch on the both or more to summarize it. there's no right or wrong here as different people will have different perspective on viewing something.

however, my wife been dreaming of having a civic ever since she's with me for many many many years. i tried to convince her at first and had a hard time to really persuade her as she's a H fanatic too.

after getting the new Elantra, well, she was skeptical on it until she drove it herself. one day when seeing a roadshow of the new civic, i let her tried it out and sit in. she knew nothing about cars and she told me, it's a bit cramp after getting into the car adjusting the seat.

and that's when i told her, i'm glad that you know i'd made the right choice for our ride just like how i'd chose u. happy.gif
Zanes
post Sep 5 2012, 05:45 PM

[quote=taizi5566,Sep 5 2012, 11:38 AM]wah bro i almost shed my tear when i read ur last sentence, nice one  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

[/quote]

haha.. is it a little bit bit exaggerated? but anyway, feel u bro. haha

Added on September 5, 2012, 5:47 pm[quote=ihatemyguts,Sep 5 2012, 11:45 AM]
You romantic *******.
TEACH ME PLEASE, SIFU! hahahaha tongue.gif

ahem! arlow... i still need u to teach me ah icon_question.gif

Added on September 5, 2012, 5:50 pm[quote=mav3rick,Sep 5 2012, 12:11 PM]
bro Zanes is really a master when it comes to handling the fairer species.. smile.gif i when you shared how 'taught' ur mrs not to wipe the rain drops from the car without rising it with water first. you that same guy right?? respect!!! notworthy.gif

i need to learn how to handle my wife biggrin.gif

[/quote]

haha that's me who posted this.. but in FB or somewhere before... u in fb page?

This post has been edited by Zanes: Sep 5 2012, 05:50 PM
Zanes
post Sep 20 2012, 12:06 PM

I don't think this is the best time to buy any car especially new car.

new car sure expensive lack of this and that. better wait till it almost phase out then only start buying. u'll get the best value and maybe can get higher resale value by treating it as a vintage.
Zanes
post Sep 21 2012, 10:47 AM

QUOTE(l2k @ Sep 21 2012, 08:52 AM)
There is a new HX7 E selling recently, 5W-30, not sure if SC has it? Don't have a good feeling for Petronas engine oil, I will still stick with Shell. However, still curious if changing to thinner oil will get much better FC. Please keep posting to let us know. Also, I found that computer FC is not reliable, it can vary from 0.3L/100km to 1.1L/100km lower from actual calculation, example manual calculation yield 10L/100km but computer shows 8.9L/100km, but on the other day when I was cruising all the way on the highway, computer shows 6.3L/100km but after filling up, manual calculation yield 6.8L/100km.

Shell HX7 E

I am going to do 5k service soon, probably will "upgrade" to use shell helix ultra 5W-40. Currently still not happy with with my 1.8 FC. Lowest I can get is 6.8L/100km with 95% highway 110-120km/h, city average 10L/100km. Browsing through the new civic thread, I know that even 2.0 owner can get better FC. Right now I think the culprit of the sub-par FC of our elantras would be 1)Overly thick engine oil (owner manual recommend 5W-20 or 5W-30) 2)DOHC engine, lower torque at low RPM, slightly higher RPM or in layman term, need to step on the gas pedal to get satisfying acceleration. Besides FC, everything else work flawlessly, only a small complaint from me is the intrusive exhaust hissing sound when step more on the gas pedal.
hi l2k,

i think many owners had aware of the inaccurate reading from the display especially the FC. this might however due to the reading is actually based on the idling time and air-conditioner which the system had a hard time to really capture the real-time consumption. personally i feel that the FC reading from the display capture reading from running time and revolution on the engine.

to get a better FC reading from the display, i think the engineers need to recalibrate it again by weighing in the tire profile, road condition and other running operation such as air-conditioner.

edit: yeah.. load on vehicle influence the FC reading i suppose.

i'm glad if anyone could correct me

This post has been edited by Zanes: Sep 21 2012, 10:50 AM
Zanes
post Sep 21 2012, 11:41 AM

QUOTE(bennedict82 @ Sep 21 2012, 11:33 AM)
Both. He has to travel to Perai and BM sometimes.. but not much different I guess. Full tank how much of petrol? 40 Litres?

Added on September 21, 2012, 11:35 am
I should get him buy Hybrid Car then. That should be more better. Or maybe VIOS.... icon_rolleyes.gif
hi, i think u better recommend hybrid cars or EV instead.

most of the car FC now is more or less the same and the higher the cylinder of the car, the higher the FC.
Zanes
post Jan 2 2013, 04:57 PM

QUOTE(edwuave @ Jan 1 2013, 07:22 PM)
is it worth an extra 6k for a VSM?
i think adding 6k into the instalment shall not be that significant. blush.gif

however, it still depends on your comfort zone financially. wink.gif

if financially allowed, why not? blush.gif

it's always easy to modify our cars with sound system, exterior or interior makeover, but it's always hardly possible to install safety features into a car which doesn't come with ABS, ESP, VSM, EBD etc.

hope that you'll find this useful. tongue.gif

besides, don't you think that it's kinda weird for such a beautiful premium car comes without at least a VSM safety feature?

till then! cheers!

This post has been edited by Zanes: Jan 2 2013, 04:59 PM
Zanes
post Jan 3 2013, 08:12 AM

QUOTE(Mindsetpower @ Jan 2 2013, 05:49 PM)
I agreed on what bro mentioned here. Cant compromise much on the safety features and safety of our life. The reason of having the vsm is for the stability and in case accident really happen. I guess most importantly is safety concerned.
thanks for confirming my idea bro. haha.. cheers! tongue.gif

Added on January 3, 2013, 8:14 am
QUOTE(edwuave @ Jan 2 2013, 07:54 PM)
best reply , this reply did convinced me to get VSM instead
all the best pal! see ya around soon in the near future! icon_idea.gif

Added on January 3, 2013, 8:17 am
QUOTE(666devil @ Jan 2 2013, 08:11 PM)
Can't say it better than Bro zane. Think this way,  if u pay 180k for a camry  also don't have this feature, what is 6k to 180k?
thanks bro.. biggrin.gif premium cars without safety features are really a big letdown. local car, used to it already. but if imported cars? that will really be a sad case. sad.gif

This post has been edited by Zanes: Jan 3 2013, 08:17 AM

0.0186sec    0.96    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:55 AM