Hyundai Elantra MD Ver.7, Calling All Elantra Owners & Future Ones

666devil
post Jul 18 2012, 05:39 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(alive79 @ Jul 18 2012, 04:50 PM)
If it is 10.6L/KM then it is still acceptable. The forte can only get about 350KM full tank(45 L) city drive.
Ouch, that is what my wife Forte FC.
For those who said it is about driving habit, I really doubt about that. I test my wife Forte myself and still the result is about the same. As for me, I usually hit 500KM/40L on my old vios. So it is not much about heavy leg.
Let's put it this way. Last time perception is, Korea car suck fuel like water. Toyota very save fuel. Now I can confirm, elantra FC on par with altis. Consider very good dy, no?
noob_shrek
post Jul 18 2012, 05:44 PM

15 posts

using 1.8..full tank..go round2 town..then 2 days ago went to kluang then go back segamat..yesterday go melake then go back segamt.. today round2 town still got 2 bars..rpm between 2k-2.5k.. average distance used 470 km..
666devil
post Jul 18 2012, 06:14 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(noob_shrek @ Jul 18 2012, 05:44 PM)
using 1.8..full tank..go round2 town..then 2 days ago went to kluang then go back segamat..yesterday go melake then go back segamt.. today round2 town still got 2 bars..rpm between 2k-2.5k.. average distance used 470 km..
Consider very good leh since u still round round 2 towns!!! Showing off car ah? brows.gif
noob_shrek
post Jul 18 2012, 07:51 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(666devil @ Jul 18 2012, 06:14 PM)
Consider very good leh since u still round round 2 towns!!! Showing off car ah? brows.gif
no intention to show off..bt everybody will stare at this car..kinda weird blink.gif
SUSryanliew87
post Jul 18 2012, 10:50 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Jul 18 2012, 05:06 PM)
<350km/l spund not promising oh..  full tank berapa duit?
But if jln highway can get 50km per bar.... Full tank around rm75 .... Nxt week i do service... Mayb after service will better hmm.gif
XionCity
post Jul 19 2012, 08:47 AM

171 posts

For good FC and better performance, u had to let the engine break-in....means ur mileage have to be 6k-7k....after that the real result will appear....
l2k
post Jul 19 2012, 08:59 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(XionCity @ Jul 19 2012, 08:47 AM)
For good FC and better performance, u had to let the engine break-in....means ur mileage have to be 6k-7k....after that the real result will appear....
It is a myth. New car nowadays, the engine has already been broken in from factory. If you refer to user manual, it only advise you to drive moderately in the 1st 1000km and the reason is to let the parts break in (eg: brake, transmission).

I would say neither I am the expert nor most of the guys here. I believe it is the best to just follow what stated in the user manual, wish is to drive the car within 2k rpm - 4k rpm, don't race the engine, don't do hard braking for 1st 1000km to protect the new car.

Added on July 19, 2012, 9:06 amBTW, I feel that the 1.8 is very sensitive to your right foot. Once you step more, or let the RPM rises above 2.5k rpm, the fuel consumption will shoot up. It also not particularly fuel efficient also when driving at very low speed, <40kmh. Since 1.8 is quite rev friendly (thanks to the new aluminium engine and efficient 6 speed G/box), you have to control your right feet very well to achieve <9L / 100km in city driving.

Highway is another story, I can easily achieve 6.2L/100km, 110kmh constant before 1st service.

Again, don't expect miracle in city driving. Only hybrid or very low cc car can be efficient in city driving.

This post has been edited by l2k: Jul 19 2012, 09:06 AM
666devil
post Jul 19 2012, 09:09 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(l2k @ Jul 19 2012, 08:59 AM)
It is a myth. New car nowadays, the engine has already been broken in from factory. If you refer to user manual, it only advise you to drive moderately in the 1st 1000km and the reason is to let the parts break in (eg: brake, transmission).

I would say neither I am the expert nor most of the guys here. I believe it is the best to just follow what stated in the user manual, wish is to drive the car within 2k rpm - 4k rpm, don't race the engine, don't do hard braking for 1st 1000km to protect the new car.

Added on July 19, 2012, 9:06 amBTW, I feel that the 1.8 is very sensitive to your right foot. Once you step more, or let the RPM rises above 2.5k rpm, the fuel consumption will shoot up. It also not particularly fuel efficient also when driving at very low speed, <40kmh. Since 1.8 is quite rev friendly (thanks to the new aluminium engine and efficient 6 speed G/box), you have to control your right feet very well to achieve <9L / 100km in city driving.

Highway is another story, I can easily achieve 6.2L/100km, 110kmh constant before 1st service.

Again, don't expect miracle in city driving. Only hybrid or very low cc car can be efficient in city driving.
Echo my thought. LIKE rclxms.gif
TSstevenycs
post Jul 19 2012, 09:15 AM

83 posts

QUOTE(666devil @ Jul 18 2012, 05:35 PM)
Aiyo y so sensitive? U with us since V1 leh... Where can simply leave? I ask dato Lee smash u then u know. biggrin.gif
since version 1??? doh.gif doh.gif
BF quickly decide la ... haha! quickly go buy the new FF and let me test the parking assist .. lolx~

Added on July 19, 2012, 9:17 am

Likewise here bro. I too believe that we don't have to do any break in to the engine since all cars/engines nowadays already been broken in by the factory as u mentioned. For me just driving within the 3000rpm is alright before the first service. We have owners driving up Genting even before the first service and the car is doing fine thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by stevenycs: Jul 19 2012, 09:17 AM
fabho
post Jul 19 2012, 09:26 AM

QUOTE(stevenycs @ Jul 19 2012, 09:15 AM)
since version 1??? doh.gif  doh.gif
BF quickly decide la ... haha! quickly go buy the new FF and let me test the parking assist .. lolx~

Added on July 19, 2012, 9:17 am

Likewise here bro. I too believe that we don't have to do any break in to the engine since all cars/engines nowadays already been broken in by the factory as u mentioned. For me just driving within the 3000rpm is alright before the first service. We have owners driving up Genting even before the first service and the car is doing fine  thumbup.gif
That's me again who drives up to genting drool.gif thumbup.gif
harpyboy
post Jul 19 2012, 09:29 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(xrossf1re @ Jul 18 2012, 03:16 PM)
It's funny because i got a recommended contact to SA from someone, he said call and say 'mr.xxx recommend one' can get RM2k discount. then i called really got 2k discount from the SA.

but when i my friend call to the same SA, he get RM2.5k discount after negotiating, without mentioning mr.xxx

I guess is, mr.xxx make a deal with the SA, whenever he recommend someone, he pocket RM500 commission smile.gif
Yiaks. Is it me? I have been recommending my SA to a lot of people for 2k discount also.....
TSstevenycs
post Jul 19 2012, 09:32 AM

83 posts

QUOTE(fabho @ Jul 19 2012, 09:26 AM)
That's me again who drives up to genting  drool.gif  thumbup.gif
U need to put u as reference when ppl ask this Q again in the first page .. haha! thumbup.gif
SUSryanliew87
post Jul 19 2012, 10:11 AM

59 posts

i also noticed maybe its just me......my fuel meter will drop by 1 bar many times when i start off my engine hmm.gif weird nehhh
666devil
post Jul 19 2012, 10:14 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(ryanliew87 @ Jul 19 2012, 10:11 AM)
i also noticed maybe its just me......my fuel meter will drop by 1 bar many times when i start off my engine hmm.gif weird nehhh
U park at slope? Meter takes time to detect.
SUSryanliew87
post Jul 19 2012, 10:16 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(666devil @ Jul 19 2012, 10:14 AM)
U park at slope? Meter takes time to detect.
no ar hmm.gif ..u mean it will lag in detecting ??
tony
post Jul 19 2012, 10:36 AM

600 posts

Since 1.8 is quite rev friendly (thanks to the new aluminium engine and efficient 6 speed G/box), you have to control your right feet very well to achieve <9L / 100km in city driving.
No way i can achieve anything below 10L/100KM. Now don't care about the meter already, just drive the way i like.. tongue.gif
marcus.ych
post Jul 19 2012, 03:07 PM

67 posts

Need advise... Can't make my mind to choose between forte n elantra... Any suggestions? Any comparison?
kianwee
post Jul 19 2012, 03:20 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(marcus.ych @ Jul 19 2012, 03:07 PM)
Need advise... Can't make my mind to choose between forte n elantra... Any suggestions? Any comparison?
Forte = Fugly

Elantra = Elegant
taizi5566
post Jul 19 2012, 03:25 PM

QUOTE(marcus.ych @ Jul 19 2012, 03:07 PM)
trust me bro all the comparison is useless until u test drive both cars by your own smile.gif
XionCity
post Jul 19 2012, 05:02 PM

171 posts

up to own taste.
Feature wise, Forte wins ....
Engine wise, HE wins.....
Safety wise, Forte wins.....
Quietness wise, i think both are equals....
Quality wise, CKD vs SKD....
Pricing wise, Forte wins.....
FC wise, i think both won't be different much...
Test drive both models....Elantra 1.8P with Forte 2.0 SX Koup, while Elantra 1.6HS with Forte 1.6SX/2.0SX Sedan....follow price range, and compare apple with apple please, not apple with orange...after test drive, then see which 1 u like more, follow ur heart...

Added on July 19, 2012, 5:05 pm
QUOTE(kianwee @ Jul 19 2012, 04:20 PM)
Forte = Fugly

Elantra = Elegant
1st time i heard Forte = Fugly.....
most of the time, FOrte = sporty, preve = Fugly

This post has been edited by XionCity: Jul 19 2012, 05:06 PM

126 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0308sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled