Google Nexus 7 Official Thread V1, The first Jelly Bean Tablet.

mydragoon
post Jun 28 2012, 10:57 AM

7,044 posts

this nexus7 has identity crisis...

with the powerful processor, it'll be a waste to just use it as an eBook reader.

but with limited storage (8GB/ 16GB), install too many games and you run out of space fast...

use it as a portable TV... again, 8GB/ 16GB enough? i'm curious to know how much space is left if the free Transformers 3 movie is actually loaded into the Nexus7. a 720p version should still take about 4-6GB.

i'm fairly certain that there's no support for external memory card. i guess we're left with only USB OTG cable to plug in external card?

if Google expects us to be streaming movies/ music (like the Nexus Q device)... jialat.

it's meant to be a developer device... why dun they throw in the kitchen sink and more into it...? ?<-- the same can be asked with the earlier nexus phones... why no support for external storage on the phones?!?

as for 3G... since our network in MY still kinda suck... it's ok la. plus, most of us can just use the phone as hotspot and/or pair with a phone. so, still ok... till the phone runs out of juice. biggrin.gif
mydragoon
post Jun 28 2012, 11:03 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Jun 28 2012, 09:34 AM)
you sure it can support USB OTG?  It is a deal breaker to me if it does not come with a microSD card slot.  They make it for "content consumption" but why limit us to only "consume" online content.  doh.gif

most likely will get one for my kids.  But will see whether Asus will launch a better specs 7" tab with rear camera and microSD card before October.  wink.gif
well, google wants us all to use cloud contents -- that's where they make money. advertisements.

with cheap devices everywhere... and more people access internet -- google make more money from advertisements.

as for rear camera... i've got a TF101 (but then, that's 10") and i can say that i've only used the rear camera like less than 10 times. i've owned the TF101 for 1 year now. but i've to admit i use the FF camera more often.

i expect the same with the Nexus7. dun think i'll be taking lots of photos with a 7" tablet.

if i do get this Nexus7, it'll be purely for (android) development and entertainment (watch movies and play games) as well as some reading. not[COLOR=red] going to use it for communications (chatting, video conf, email), word processing, etc...
mydragoon
post Jun 28 2012, 02:38 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(local_machine @ Jun 28 2012, 02:26 PM)
some review stated the device comes with GPS, some not.
anybody can clarify this? as far as i know, accelerometer, gyro and compass is confirmed.
should have... coz also mentioned is offline maps -- using maps for navigation.
mydragoon
post Jun 28 2012, 03:14 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(local_machine @ Jun 28 2012, 03:10 PM)
navigate yourself. that's why i said 'manually'.
you dont need a GPS to help you always.
read your map. read the road signs. take a look at the landmark.
you'll find your way home.
lol... u dun need an android device for that!

just get a hochinsoon map... and navigate manually... biggrin.gif
mydragoon
post Jun 28 2012, 03:34 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(local_machine @ Jun 28 2012, 03:25 PM)
well, it's not wrong if i want to read a map while enjoying a movie, right? or perhaps surfing the web.
get creative. the device itself is a multipurpose item. so, why not?
not a good idea if you're the driver... biggrin.gif

QUOTE(local_machine @ Jun 28 2012, 03:25 PM)

Added on June 28, 2012, 3:26 pm
yep, you are right. i'm just asking coz the price is too good in current market.
here's an interesting article:
The Nexus 7: Google just brought a knife to a gunfight
http://www.bgr.com/2012/06/27/nexus-7-ipad...s-apple-google/]

Yes, Google’s margin is likely so thin that it will barely make any money at all selling its tablets at this price, and other vendors may find it impossible to cut prices this much and remain profitable — adding their own apps, services and other value-adds costs money that simply won’t be recovered at margins this thin. So why is Google launching the Nexus 7 if it likely won’t make any real money on sales?

For Google, this is a land grab.

Google is an advertising company first and foremost. Its products and services exist, at least in large part, to serve its clients’ ads to users. This is how Google makes the bulk of its money. Just like Facebook — which Google is so desperately trying to emulate with Google+ — the more users Google reels in, the more money it makes.

The company loves to tout daily Android device activation numbers because at its core, it is an advertiser’s metric. This is the audience. Google confirmed on Wednesday that it now activates a staggering 1 million Android devices each day. 1 million! That number is positively remarkable. And the craziest part? It’s still growing.

Google is trying to spread things out a bit with the Nexus 7, adding a Kindle Fire-like model that makes the company’s various content services a central focus of the device. However successful or unsuccessful these efforts may end up being, they will always play second fiddle to Google’s core money-maker, which is advertising. This is Google’s mission.

Is Apple’s mission any more noble? Of course not.

Apple is a business — a ridiculously successful business — and its goal is to make products for as little as possible and sell them for as much as possible. Try as it might, Apple doesn’t make a significant portion of its revenue by selling ads, so the company has to make money the old fashioned way. Like other product vendors, it does this by taking advantage of cheap labor costs in China and Brazil, and then selling its wares at enormous markups. It also offers an expansive range of content through iTunes, which Google is now doing its best to match with Google Play.

the link to full article is provided above. the article is an interesting read and can logically explain why its cheap and how it will affect other Android manufacturers... i guess you can say its similar to how samsung is just flooding the market with so many variants of galaxy... in the end... it is still a samsung.

in this case for Google, in the end, its still an android device which Google can display ads...

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jun 28 2012, 03:36 PM
mydragoon
post Jun 28 2012, 04:51 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jun 28 2012, 04:38 PM)
yea haha
same here
wonder what the price it release in Malaysia
don't know when ASUS bring it to Malaysia

actually, this brings up an interesting Q...

since its not a 3G device, we can safely rule out telcos...

but since its a Google branded device, will it mean only from Google Play? or will they sell it via Walmart, Tesco, etc? Or will Asus be the one selling it outside of Google Play?
mydragoon
post Jun 28 2012, 04:59 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jun 28 2012, 04:54 PM)
if just sell from google play, we don't know when can buy it
furthermore, normally is asus bring it to Malaysia
just like previously galaxy nexus bring over from samsung @@
but the previous galaxy nexus... you can only purchase via telco, not any samsung outlets, right?

anyway, see how... waiting for shahz's friend to confirm about the bulk purchase.
mydragoon
post Jun 28 2012, 05:24 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(uzary @ Jun 28 2012, 05:22 PM)
trust me it wont happen.. 1malaysia tab is more likely for that..
to detract a bit... still possible. one company sells this Nexus 7 to government as project. bundle with so called 'maintenance'... why not? can then sell to goverment at rm1500 per unit. government has been known to pay just as much (and even more) for screwdrivers, hammers and submarine that cannot go underwater.

but the company selling it must be special la...

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jun 28 2012, 05:25 PM
mydragoon
post Jun 28 2012, 06:58 PM

7,044 posts

I just realized some other use of the rear facing camera...
* altered reality applications
* scan barcodes

looks like Google is really pushing this Nexus 7 as gaming, movie and ebook device only.
mydragoon
post Jun 28 2012, 08:38 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(local_machine @ Jun 28 2012, 07:11 PM)
they will certainly come out with another better version, just to slice up the tablet market
maybe I'm over analyzing... maybe it's intentional to leave out the rear camera. this way, Android manufacturers still have room to compete.

nexus 7 becomes a test for new owners... then once happy with Android and want better tablet, go with other manufacturers.
mydragoon
post Jun 28 2012, 09:42 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Jun 28 2012, 09:38 PM)
Augmented reality can be achieved just by using GPS and accelerometer/gyroscope. Try Google SkyMap and you'll know what I mean.

With regards to barcodes, this might be a hint as to what medium Google wants to focus when it comes to passive info transfer, i.e. they want to pursue NFC rather than QR.

My 2 cents.
hmmm, have to agree with you on the nfc thingy.

but I'd think those apps where you point the camera and then it displays relevant information about that place would be losing out since there's no rear camera. I guess I have to try put sky map first.

btw, anyone knows how big is a 720p Transformer Dark of the Moon movie file? more than 4GB?! ;-)
mydragoon
post Jun 28 2012, 10:48 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(ahnee92 @ Jun 28 2012, 10:37 PM)
what is main function of the nexus q?? how can it possible the accessories is more expensive than the tab  doh.gif
nexus q is another device. think of it as a WDTV or even AC RYAN (minus the hard disk support). I guess it's another way to push Google ads. only this time, to ppl's TV

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jun 28 2012, 10:48 PM
mydragoon
post Jul 2 2012, 04:25 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(asil66 @ Jul 2 2012, 04:14 PM)
Does anybody has the link to the pre-order? I keep getting the  message "Sorry! Devices on Google Play is not available in your country yet."  when I try to enter Google Play website.
you need to access via a proxy located in the country where the N7 will be sold. else you will get the message you mentioned.
mydragoon
post Jul 4 2012, 08:42 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(asil66 @ Jul 3 2012, 11:11 AM)
sorry, i'm not really into technology stuff, so not so sure what r u talking about. How do I access via a proxy located in US?
no offence, but i think in this case, you're better off joining to bulk purchase instead.
mydragoon
post Jul 11 2012, 11:54 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Jun 28 2012, 09:38 PM)
Augmented reality can be achieved just by using GPS and accelerometer/gyroscope. Try Google SkyMap and you'll know what I mean.

With regards to barcodes, this might be a hint as to what medium Google wants to focus when it comes to passive info transfer, i.e. they want to pursue NFC rather than QR.

My 2 cents.
just remembered... ya, Google SkyMap dun need rear facing camera... smile.gif

Added on July 11, 2012, 12:00 pm
QUOTE(un_id @ Jul 11 2012, 07:27 AM)
lol.. ya, i wish the camera there.. it has been useful to me.. and one of the Google features is the Goggles, in which u snap picture of something, then google search will find infos based on the pictures.. so this features is hindered then.. i use that features especially when travel oversea, to find building names, area and etc..

oh, it is designed to be an eBook reader? what a powerful ebook reader it is. quad core CPU, 12-core GPU.. the raw power is more capable to do many things.
i believe the rear facing camera was left out so Asus can come up with an 'improved' version...

and honestly, i'd think that developer hardware should have everything+kitchen sink so they can develop applications without any constraints like "dang, i dun have a rear facing camera to test if the apps is working properly"...

but i guess in a way, maybe Google intends for 7" tablet to be really just for ebooks, movies and light surfing...

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jul 11 2012, 12:00 PM
mydragoon
post Aug 14 2012, 01:30 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Aug 13 2012, 11:54 PM)
[...YOUTUBE]qbgBxr4H59A[/YOUTUBE...]
Remove the '...'
You only need the series of characters. Eliminate http://www. bla bla bla bla bla

Added on August 14, 2012, 12:07 am
S-pen is something patented by Samsung. How can Asus be using it  laugh.gif

Anyway... S-pen is not normal Stylus. Even though its 'ballhead' looks just like a plastic but it always make me wonders how the phone detect the touch. Also how the buttons on S-pen interact with the phone.  rolleyes.gif Let me dream on this maybe I can understand how it worked  laugh.gif
as per what earlier member had posted... it uses wacom technology. it requires a special layer on the screen. you can go google up the wacom pen technology...

any wacom pen can be used on any 'wacom' screen... i used to have a HP notebook with such screen and pen... can use the same pen on my GNote.
mydragoon
post Aug 15 2012, 02:07 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(gin&tonic @ Aug 15 2012, 01:19 PM)
No receipt given during COD. Already contacted 88sales & he will forward the receipt to me soon.
dun think it's necessary to have the receipt right? asus should be able to track based on serial number...

i mean... imagine genuine cases were American is here for vacation and the tablet breaks down. dun expect the guy to be carrying the receipt with him all the time, right?
mydragoon
post Sep 9 2012, 04:06 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(DotaGamer @ Sep 9 2012, 03:49 PM)
can we buy nexus 7 from us and ship to malaysia?
199usd about RM770 @@
please remember if you're not getting a fren to bring it back, there's shipping charges, taxes in US states, etc... I find those selling at rm999 for 16GB to be ok price.

0.0476sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:33 AM