Just pre order 1 16GB unit via HopShopGo BuyFoMe service
jackdon
Google Nexus 7 Official Thread V1, The first Jelly Bean Tablet.
Jul 3 2012, 05:17 PM
719 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
Just pre order 1 16GB unit via HopShopGo BuyFoMe service jackdon |
Jul 3 2012, 09:15 PM
QUOTE(john1010 @ Jul 3 2012, 08:37 PM) 16GB = USD249/=BuyForMe charges 10% USD24.90 Total for now USD273.90 There will be a shipping charges when it comes. Not expensive as I had used their services. I have 30days free storage to keep there and can combine purchase for a single shipping. So anyone bulk order hehe.... I think my landed cost should be around RM970/= HopShopGo Website Added on July 3, 2012, 9:24 pm QUOTE(mtxx @ Jul 3 2012, 08:36 AM) look in garage sales, got a user taking preorder. he estimate will sell at 900 for the 16GB model. RM900/= is not expensive.actually its really pointless to buy the 8GB model, maybe that one user available memory just 3-4GB only. the 16GB one hopefully is 12-13GB, obviously not enough but still usable. cant complain at this price range. This post has been edited by jackdon: Jul 3 2012, 09:26 PM |
Jul 3 2012, 11:16 PM
QUOTE(gin&tonic @ Jul 3 2012, 09:50 PM) Per order is max is 2 units and the offer was taken up by a friend.Added on July 3, 2012, 11:28 pm QUOTE(damned_dude @ Jul 3 2012, 09:28 PM) Currently I'm trying to compare which is the best mail forwarder. You will need to use Buyforme (HopShopGo) or Assisted purchase (Shipto.com) to preorder Nexus from Malaysia. Shipito.com ??? HopShop?? Cmon guys lets brain this which one is the cheapest I check out shipto.com Assisted purchase and they charge 4.3% on paypal or credit card and then 8% commission. So the total is 12.3% where as HopShopGo charge 10% flat rate for personal item and 7% on prime reward item. I check shipto.com shipping charges is pretty expensive about USD81 for 1kg. HopShopGo to Malaysia first 0.5Kg is about USD20.75 and every additional 0.5kg is USD3.25 and insurance is .065% of the value of purchase. I would go with HopShopGo as it is a Paypal company. just my 2 sen worth. jackdon This post has been edited by jackdon: Jul 3 2012, 11:28 PM |
Jul 4 2012, 12:28 AM
QUOTE(mikelanding @ Jul 4 2012, 12:11 AM) I used shipito.com WOW... I would have save myself USD24.90 if I had read this before my BuyForMe. HopShopGo also provide me a US shipping address. Great tip.U can buy yourself if you had credit card (malaysia). Register at google check out: checkout.google.com/ I manage to purchase using this method using my Malaysia credit card and shipping address is my Shipito address Suite # Then U no need to pay those Buyforme or assisted purchased. jackdon |
Jul 4 2012, 12:37 AM
QUOTE(mikelanding @ Jul 4 2012, 12:33 AM) Yea. I ordered 1 myself...Do check out earlier post where I posted a screenshot on my order. Now to find out how much Shipto.com charge for shipping to Malaysia. Do keep us updated on that here.Final cost? Not sure yet.. Postage will cause me USD60 using USPS Priority with insurance. USPS is the only courrier service that will have more chances to escape tax in Thailand. ![]() Thanks for the info. jackdon |
Jul 4 2012, 08:21 AM
QUOTE(damned_dude @ Jul 4 2012, 01:56 AM) I never thought can use malaysian credit card to buy device from play store I think the shipping must be in approved country like US AFAIK. Proxy is just a way of fooling google play that the originating address is in US so if you have a ship to US address then it should not be a problem. Which is why there are services like HopShopGo and Shipto.Is it ok paying to google play with a proxy? Or is there any other way you get to access google play? jackdon |
Jul 4 2012, 03:28 PM
QUOTE(gin&tonic @ Jul 4 2012, 10:09 AM) Hey,My friend back out so I can order another one, if you are interested let me know. We share the cost. Currently my cost is as follows: Preferred shipping option: Free or lowest cost U.S. Domestic Shipping Special instruction: Purchase remaining items Subtotal $249.00 Service charge(10%) $24.90 Total $273.90 There will be shipping charges later estimated to be USD27/= I can now order another unit without the buyforme using usproxy so it should be USD249/= or USD199/= depending on the model. I will then get them to ship to HopShopGo to combine the shipping and ship to me. I believe there will be a small charges there. PM me since you ask first. jackdon Added on July 4, 2012, 3:36 pm QUOTE(nick_vll @ Jul 4 2012, 02:07 PM) the nexus 7 look quite tempting, , might think to get 1 Hi,Added on July 4, 2012, 2:34 pmhow about hopshopgo? is anyone using it? Added on July 4, 2012, 2:41 pmafter have a livechat with hopshopgo, it seems like the ShipForMe and BuyForMe is available for google play. The shipping rate is also much cheaper around 22.5USD for 0.5kg. But how do we checkout with google play since it is not supported I used BuyForMe and was charge 10% services charge. If you use the following proxy http://usfreeproxy.com then you will be able to login to PreOrder at google.com/nexus/#7 then you just use HopShopGo US address that you setup in your google.com/wallet account. Should be pretty simple. jackdon This post has been edited by jackdon: Jul 4 2012, 03:36 PM |
Jul 4 2012, 06:57 PM
QUOTE(john1010 @ Jul 4 2012, 04:47 PM) I try to use my malaysia credit card on the google checkout page, i get the below warning I was told that we use google wallet that tie to you Malaysian credit card. Use google wallet to checkout."This seller does not accept payments from your location." 1) Any idea how do you use your malaysia credit card to order it? 2) Did you open a new google gmail by using the US ip to order it? |
Jul 4 2012, 07:37 PM
QUOTE(nick_vll @ Jul 4 2012, 07:25 PM) hi jack, we need to add the hopshopgo US address to our google wallet right? I used HopShopGo the last time when I purchase some used modem on ebay. The weight was 6KG and ship from Portland to KL via FedEx was about USD57/= which is pretty competitive for express. btw, did you use the express or standard shipping? Yes we add the US Address to Google Wallet as the default shipping. jackdon This post has been edited by jackdon: Jul 4 2012, 07:39 PM |
Jul 4 2012, 07:44 PM
QUOTE(john1010 @ Jul 4 2012, 07:38 PM) But when checkout time, google need us to log in to our gmail account to checkout. On gmail account i already have my credit card detail and only thing i change is the shipping address to change it to hopshopgo that given us the us address. check out mikelanding postAny idea how to order the nexus 7 with malaysia credit card? Edited... I order one additional on behalf of gin&tonic just now with usproxy (I created one free 30 days trial). Initially it also reject my order because my credit card address was Malaysia. Later I change my credit card address to the US address and redo the transaction and it went through. There is a USD13.99 shipping charges from google play. No tax for my HopShopGo US address. So gin&tonic there is no shipping date indicate on the confirmation for now. Will keep you updated jackdon Damn... speak too soon... google wallet was unable to verify the transaction (must be due to the address) and the transaction was cancel and wallet account suspended.... Hmmm I shall have to sort this out. jackdon This post has been edited by jackdon: Jul 4 2012, 09:17 PM |
Jul 4 2012, 09:50 PM
Well I tried to order another unit using google wallet with my credit card tied to it. 1. Initially the card was with my Malaysia billing address. 2. With USProxy I am able to go to Google Play to pre order 3. Check out with google wallet and it denied because card address is Malaysia. 4. Went into google wallet and update address to US HopShopGo address 5. Logon to google play and preorder then check out completed 6. Got email confirmation from google play ... hurray 7. 10 minutes Google Play cancel my order and suspend my wallet account 8. reason - cannot verify card address Hmmmm so for this to work you must have a Google Wallet account with credit card that already has been verify. So bro gin&tonic looks like no bulk order from me jackdon. |
Jul 4 2012, 11:37 PM
Jul 5 2012, 11:10 AM
QUOTE(damned_dude @ Jul 5 2012, 01:10 AM) Erk.. nope. Got a mail from HopShopGo and my order has been place by the BuyForMe and estimated delivery to Portland US is 19th July. So I give them another 7 days to ship to me. The only members here who have made the pre-order is jackdon and mikelanding. I'm having a little problem with the shipping charge. Wanna see how market develop here first jackdon Added on July 5, 2012, 11:19 am QUOTE(mikelanding @ Jul 4 2012, 11:02 PM) Just to clarify more. Citibank Visa called me this morning asking if I made a transaction of USD1/= which is validation. Hmmm... I think I made a mistake and use my Amex for this transaction. If I use Citibank Visa it would not have the validation problem I think. Looks like I may not be able to lift the suspension because the verification process requires document with the US HopShopGo address. Oh well ... time to get another gmail account.My google wallet was long time setup. More than 2 years ago. First Purchase is May 2010. I not sure about that time need any address verification. I did remember correctly that I use US VPN with bogus US address to register. From below, I got Malaysia address AND Shipito US address.. ![]() My steps to purchase Google Nexus 7 are: 1) Add in Shipito US address in my address book. 2) Use US VPN. Got to Google Play shop. 3) Make order. Select US address. 4) Check out using my google wallet. Hope this clear thing out. jackdon This post has been edited by jackdon: Jul 5 2012, 11:19 AM |
Jul 9 2012, 09:02 AM
QUOTE(nick_vll @ Jul 9 2012, 01:01 AM) I also use HopShopGo to preorder the 16GB. This is the actual break down assuming that shipping weight is less that 1KG.Nexus 16GB - USD 249.00 Google Play shipping charge - USD 13.90 BuyForMe Services Charge - USD 24.90 ShipForMe Freight Charges Express USD28.80 Insurance .065% USD 2.63 FedEX Fuel Surcharge 12% USD 3.40 Total USD 322.63 So assuming exchagne is 3.25 RM1048/= So the local bulk purchase @990/= is actually very cheap. We may also have problem with custom so better keep my finger cross. jackdon. |
Jul 9 2012, 10:40 AM
Jul 16 2012, 08:38 PM
I am having second thought on giving the preordered Nexus 7 16GB to my son, It should arrive soon from HopShopGo BuyFoMe services. So would anyone be interest to take this off me when it arrive. No markup just the cost of hopshopgo charges. I already have New Ipad 3 and giving the Nexus 7 to my son during his A Level may be distraction. jackdon |
Jul 16 2012, 11:51 PM
Alamak looks like I will be swamp with PM. anyway I will post the final decision together with the landed price when I get it next week i hope.
Jul 22 2012, 12:49 PM
HopShopGo - BuyForMe services update
Just got an email from HopShopGo that my orders is being ship by Google. So I should gets an email early next week to select my shipping method. So looks like another 7 to 10 days to go. Damn... Google preorder sucks. jackdon. |
Jul 22 2012, 01:32 PM
QUOTE(palmjack @ Jul 22 2012, 01:08 PM) Beware, there may be a screen defect in some Nexus 7 tablets: Hmm that is not good news. Hopefully a firmware update should solve this.http://www.geek.com/articles/gadgets/video...efect-20120720/ |
Jul 23 2012, 01:57 PM
| Change to: | 0.0481sec