Google Nexus 7 Official Thread V1, The first Jelly Bean Tablet.

Lim Wee Huat
post Aug 13 2012, 09:41 AM

262 posts

Morning to all,

Just to share, if you already own a N7, had claimed the US$25 Google credit & interested in custom kernels. I'll suggest you save it to purchase the Trinity toolbox (US$3.69) from Google Play. Currently there's 2 extremely good custom kernels (Trinity/ Motley kernel). Trinity toolbox MUST be used together with the custom kernel for full optimization. I'm currently testing Trinity, underclocked @ 1.1Ghz, undervoltaged @ -50mV across all... You'll be surprised how much battery power is saved compared to stock...

Regards...
Lim Wee Huat
post Aug 13 2012, 10:00 AM

262 posts

QUOTE(prem87 @ Aug 13 2012, 09:47 AM)
Didn't try over clock to 1.6ghz? Btw can just use the trinity kernel with the stock rom?
@prem87,

I've unlocked bootloader, rooted my N7, tried overclocked to 1.6Ghz with Trinity#50 + toolbox for a number of days d... Now testing underclock & undervoltage. For gaming, you would want as least heat generated as possible without losing much performance. Result: 1.1Ghz and -50mV seems fine...

* I'm on stock + Trinity + few unused apps freezed with TB ... The custom ROMs are still in progress, they still contain bugs,,, Better stay on stock & enjoy it 1st.

Regards...

This post has been edited by Lim Wee Huat: Aug 13 2012, 10:04 AM
Lim Wee Huat
post Aug 13 2012, 10:43 AM

262 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Aug 13 2012, 10:31 AM)
Need to change to Trinity kernel? you using TS-ALPHA63d (Aug 10 2012 22:31)?

btw, what battery monitoring app you using there??
@tenchi0205,

Yes, Trinity#63.. U need to the Trinity toolbox to undervolt..

Battery monitoring app: Battery Widget? Reborn! (free/ paid)
CPU monitoring app: CPU spy (free)
Also recommended: Camera launcher for Nexus 7 (free)

Regards...
Lim Wee Huat
post Aug 13 2012, 11:15 AM

262 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Aug 13 2012, 10:58 AM)
no simcard also can use Line on N7?

you activated line on phone then make a titanium backup then restore in N7?
@tenchi0205,

You can direct install LINE from Google Play onto Nexus 7. The password will be sent to your phone as usual. Just key into your Nexus. Messaging is good but I didn't try calling. I personally am using Viber on my phone. (Viber can sign out whenever u want, so won't run in background & consume battery & can have PRIVACY...)

Regards...
Lim Wee Huat
post Aug 13 2012, 02:37 PM

262 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Aug 13 2012, 12:58 PM)
whats the difference with motley & trinity?

i wanted to flash motley, but they got 3 versions.
GPU stock, GPU overclock,
which one better to flash?

motley cant underclock?
need app?
@mtxx,

Both developers are doing a great job at maintaining/ updating Kernels. But Trinity was the 1st to hit over 7000 Quadrant benchmark points and the developer had good feedback from Google Nexus users using his kernel... @1.6Ghz, you're already running at top speed, unless you really wanna risk frying your 7...

Nexus 7 hits 7000...

Trinity for Google Nexus

Regards...

Lim Wee Huat
post Aug 14 2012, 10:49 AM

262 posts

Morning,

Just to share...

Nexus 7 Jelly case on Ebay

Regards...
Lim Wee Huat
post Aug 14 2012, 07:27 PM

262 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Aug 14 2012, 05:35 PM)
Much faster and smoother. No contest at all. Seriously.
Based on my short try in Samsung shop. I don't own tab2,
But simple things like scroll home screen, swipe recent app icon, and launch app tray also jerky, haiz.
But nexus 7 is not perfect also.
benny say nexus has the worst screen ever in android history.
Indeed the color is not vibrant, looks very washed out compared to amoled screen. But still acceptable for me.

As long you don't compare side by side with amoled screen, it is OK.

Overall its a great product and I prefer it over tab 7.
@mtxx,

Hmmm... I think It's just a matter of time, they include this into some of the roms.

Wash out script

Regards...

Lim Wee Huat
post Sep 3 2012, 11:44 AM

262 posts

Just to share... Won this bid on Ebay. USD 1 for this... It's my 2nd N7 cover. smile.gif

Ebay - Nexus 7 cover + SP

Also to look out this week... I think it's a good time to utilize some Google credits again... NOVA3, MC3 @ USD0.99...

Google Play - Gameloft Summer Sale.

Regards...

0.0371sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 01:49 AM