13 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Google Nexus 7 Official Thread V1, The first Jelly Bean Tablet.

mtxx
post Aug 9 2012, 04:53 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Aug 9 2012, 04:46 PM)
have you tried it? but the developer had stop developing the rom liao sweat.gif
not yet try. but the description says its good to be a final release.
dont have fast internet to download the rom.
mtxx
post Aug 9 2012, 05:02 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Aug 9 2012, 04:59 PM)
rclxub.gif my N7 tend to hang when I swipe to clear those recent app...and need to press hard on the power to reboot cry.gif
har? how come? never happen to me before.
what app you swipe away?

you just got yours?
you got upgrade 4.1.1?
stock is 4.1

go settings>about>software update,
the update just 12MB
mtxx
post Aug 9 2012, 05:20 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(jackdon @ Aug 9 2012, 05:12 PM)
Update and good news for some

Location is at Lowyat Ground Floor near Samsung and HP concept store. Renovation has begin and you can see the Nexus Store sign big on the renovation partition. I spoke to the one in charge of renovation and officially opening is September but will have soft opening toward end of August. "I was told" that Nexus 7 stock should be here by the 20th August. You should be able to view 1 or 2 units of Nexus Q there also smile.gif

smile.gif so no need to pay and wait for 2 to 3 weeks like I did.

jackdon
are you close to that area?
some pictures will be nice:-)

nexus theme shop.
how weird can it get?

a shop that only has 3 products.
nexus 7, galaxy nexus, nexus Q. (nexus S & nexus 1 are too outdated, safe to assume not selling already)
how do do business? perhaps loads of overprices casing, pouch, and accessories for nexus 7 & galaxy nexus?

thats not a bad idea. can go there shop for decent case.

This post has been edited by mtxx: Aug 9 2012, 05:22 PM
mtxx
post Aug 9 2012, 05:46 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(gin&tonic @ Aug 9 2012, 05:42 PM)
Just change UI to tablet setting 175 but how come my JB wallpaper all hilang? Weird. Where cam i get it back?
i not using stock wallpaper. but now that you mention it, mine also missing.
weird.

can get the pics back using google image search. haha. attached.

just some fun fact for home screen grid size,
213 dpi, 6x6
175dpi, 7x6
160dpi, 8x7

lower dpi more compact home screen

mtxx
post Aug 9 2012, 06:02 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(jackdon @ Aug 9 2012, 05:53 PM)
Question: What is the advantage of change DPI?
to get tablet UI.

i just took some screen shots of the settings menu, in different DPI.
later i upload for you guys to see. smile.gif

resize the images to 50%, so that it wont look too big on your monitor, and more similar to 7inch size for comparison.

battery usage at settings, with notification bar pulled up, fonts are set to largest in display settings.

keyboards at color note app

you can explore more dpi settings and post your screen shots here.
213 is stock, the phone UI

i use 175 because i found a guide in google and said this is the dpi to get tablet UI.

160 is default dpi for 10 inch tablet. using this will give you exactly same look in 10 inch tablet, just scaled everything to be smaller.

This post has been edited by mtxx: Aug 9 2012, 06:17 PM
mtxx
post Aug 9 2012, 10:36 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(juoin @ Aug 9 2012, 09:58 PM)
Isn't change to tablet UI best on 160dpi? Anyway, I downloaded a "True Tablet UI" patch off XDA's and its wonderful. Much better than changing the dpi manually. The apps in the app drawer don't squeeze altogether and the fonts and icons are just nice. =)
Is it reversible? If wan to change back to default ui
Need to be in deodex ROM only can flash, mine is odex :'(

This post has been edited by mtxx: Aug 9 2012, 10:46 PM
mtxx
post Aug 10 2012, 10:41 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(soulseeker6187 @ Aug 10 2012, 10:37 AM)
RM1199 sweat.gif
must be the 16 GB model.
seems abit steep.
luckily i bought from garage sales early batch, able to get for <1100 for 16GB.

now seems many garage sale people also increase to 1200 already.

but still, its a much better buy than samsung tab2 7inch, or tab 7+

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...3935&hl=nexus+7
by the way, this is a reeeeaaallllyyy nice case.
but the price abit doh.gif

This post has been edited by mtxx: Aug 10 2012, 10:47 AM
mtxx
post Aug 10 2012, 10:51 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(gin&tonic @ Aug 10 2012, 10:48 AM)
wow 88sales prices drop a bit ....

16GB RM1080
8GB  rm900
wow, the magic of competition. biggrin.gif

hope accessories also quickly got more competition.
best is wait for the next pc fair. accessories are much cheaper during pc fair.

mtxx
post Aug 10 2012, 02:16 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(juoin @ Aug 10 2012, 12:08 PM)
I bought from Vicgray 16GB only 950. Seems like its the cheapest based on this discussion. =P

Added on August 10, 2012, 12:10 pm

This is exactly the thread I got the "True tablet UI" patch from. But a word of warning, you have to be deodexed and running an AOSP rom. I tried it originally on the stock rom albeit rooted and the launcher would crash and render the tablet unusable. I tried again flashing an AOSP deodexed rom and now it works like a charm.  biggrin.gif
isn't AOSP pure android from google?
stock nexus 7 rom is not AOSP? rclxub.gif

mtxx
post Aug 10 2012, 10:30 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(rodent @ Aug 10 2012, 10:21 PM)
Check this out:
Link
So limited function, and so expensive.
Not worth la.

Don't get what's the point of hooking a tablet to a TV.
Tablet meant for on the go. If hook to TV just for movies, might as well plug my laptop and play the movie. rclxub.gif

Added on August 10, 2012, 10:34 pm
QUOTE(juoin @ Aug 10 2012, 10:29 PM)
It is, I just put it there in case someone was running AOKP or something else and wanted to try this patch. The deodexed part is important too cause apparently it didnt work on my N7 which was running stock but not deodexed.  smile.gif
Anyway, its working now that I switched to an AOSP rom and this is by far the best way to get the tablet UI IMO cause it doesn't edit the DPI but instead modifies the build.prop.
Oic, thanks for clearing my confusion.:-)

Right now my DPI is 175, with system font largest.
Chrome font increase to 150%, really comfortable for my eyes.
Not free now to try the deodex thing.
Maybe after my busy period.

May I ask what's the stock home screen grid size after using this patch?

This post has been edited by mtxx: Aug 10 2012, 10:34 PM
mtxx
post Aug 11 2012, 11:48 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(juoin @ Aug 11 2012, 09:20 AM)
Right now the home screen is 6x7, app drawer is 4x7 evenly spaced. Fonts are of a nice size too. Not too big and not too small.
My home screen is 7x6,
App drawer is 7x5

Fonts are good after set to largest.

I'm very curious bout the patch. But I dare not try it.
I'm on stock odex ROM.
And I can't enter cwm recovery by the combo keys.

Worry I screw up. Not a risk worth taking right now.
Besides, gotten very accustom to current ui.

Added on August 11, 2012, 11:52 am
QUOTE(jackdon @ Aug 11 2012, 10:48 AM)

I was informed that there will be 100 units of Nexus 7 stock for the new Nexus Shop in LowYat BUT the price has not been finalize.

jackdon
Excellent news!
Some of my friends wan to buy but they don't trust online purchase.do keep us updated. Thanks!

This post has been edited by mtxx: Aug 11 2012, 11:52 AM
mtxx
post Aug 11 2012, 03:59 PM

5,011 posts

My dad bought this wireless keyboard and mouse set.

Its not Bluetooth, it needs a usb dongle only cn work.

I plug into my tab via usb otg just for fun.
Surprisingly it worked!

Both the mouse and keyboard very responsive. Amazing!:-D
mtxx
post Aug 11 2012, 06:24 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Aug 11 2012, 06:11 PM)
[attachmentid=2995637]

brows.gif The nexus shop as said by jackdon.

Looking forward for its opening  rclxm9.gif
hmm.gif what happen to spacebar?
doh.gif

maybe its done on purpose to make passer-by stare at the signboard longer and attract attention. laugh.gif
mtxx
post Aug 11 2012, 10:44 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(juoin @ Aug 11 2012, 10:40 PM)
Won't Google sue them for that? I know they aren't Apple but it seems pretty misleading, people might mistake it for an official Google shop.
Time will tell, right now just sit back and enjoy the show.
Waiting for them to open. Hope the accessories there won't be sold at a cut throat price like apple store
mtxx
post Aug 12 2012, 01:01 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(melvin91motorola @ Aug 11 2012, 11:52 PM)
i'm kinda noob here as this is my 1st android device, someone guide me please....should i root or not? still on welcome screen cuz no wifi on my area lols
Get your tab running first only talk about rooting la.

Find a WiFi asap. Or grab someone smartphone use their tethering
mtxx
post Aug 12 2012, 09:21 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(gin&tonic @ Aug 12 2012, 08:09 AM)
Anybody on custom ROM?
I'm very tempted o flash glazed ROM.
But after reading 60+ pages, that ROM got a notification bar icon cut off bug.
Wrong version number, and some other small things.

Unless the custom ROM offer some really unique creative features or extra function,
Don see the need o flash.

Stock ROM really solid. Till today nv hang or slow down.
mtxx
post Aug 12 2012, 01:43 PM

5,011 posts

Just notice something after reading lots of nexus 7 news.

For galaxy nexus, I often hear Samsung galaxy nexus in advertisement
Even without Samsung name, the term galaxy is enough to remind people of Samsung.

This tab is always called GOOGLE nexus 7.
There's barely any mention of asus, even our thread also call Google.
Kesian Asus. Haha...
mtxx
post Aug 12 2012, 09:05 PM

5,011 posts

Flashing glazed jellybean
First time try custom rom
Nervous, hope it boots.
mtxx
post Aug 12 2012, 09:34 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Aug 12 2012, 09:21 PM)
waiting for your review rclxms.gif
yeah, manage to boot, just restore everything with titanium backup.

last time dare not flash any rom, cos worry if screw up cant boot, i cant enter recovery.
my cwm cant use the volume down + power to enter, need to use app to enter.

but i ask in xda they say plug usb cable and connect to computer, then only the combo keys will work.
i tried and indeed can enter cwm.
so since i can enter cwm, no harm trying new rom.

let me play around with the settings and other stuff first.
everything looks very strange and different to me bacause i use tablet mode by 175dpi change since day one.
this one kindda like weird hybrid tablet phone mode with stock dpi. rclxub.gif need to get use to it.

it has a very cool boot animation by the way.
and it boot very fast. i was expecting need to wait very long for first boot.
maybe its the quad core.
mtxx
post Aug 12 2012, 10:19 PM

5,011 posts

i cant handle this rom. dont like it. sad.gif

the good:
~overall tab feels abit faster. because all stock jellybean animation time has been reduced by about half. when you press app tray, it takes half the time to open, because the animation has been speed up.

~superb, fantastic, beautiful beautiful animations. every thing, every event, every pop up has an animation, either fly in from left, slide down, fade. even press option button, the option bar rolls down like a scroll. i notice the play store has the most animation, since it involved lots of popups, thus loads of animations. even unlock screen has its own slick animation.

~volume slider at notification bar (only in tablet mode)

~customize toggles at notification bar

the bad:

~ the home screen is fix to have 6x6 grid. cant change anything bigger. max option is 6x6. whether you change the DPI, use phone UI or tablet UI, the max is just 6x6. a big margin, and all apps cluttered in the center, really ugly.

~ fake tablet UI. its not complete UI, its just phone UI, but with notification bar moved to the bottom right like tablet mode. there is no fixed google search on upper left, and no fix app tray icon at upper right.

~launcher dock exist in tablet UI, ugly as hell, but if you remove it, there is NO way to get into app tray. *facepalm!!
since there is no fix app tray icon at upper right.

~even after set to tablet UI, the settings layout is still the phone UI layout.

~despite beautiful animations all over, there is a bug in settings animation, when you move from different settings category, there is a very very noticable animations shadow/trail. this was mentioned as a bug in the xda thread. i was expecting it, but never thought it was that bad.

~for phone UI, the notification icon at the notification bar is bigger, resulting being cut off abit. this is known bug, again is mentioned in xda thread.

~i really miss the real complete tablet UI, so i change dpi to 175, but i still dont get the full tablet UI i wanted, it just make the UI smaller. sigh....

this is really a good rom if you are a phone UI fan, the only draw back is the notification icons abit cut off, just a tiny bit. its not entirely a bad thing if you prefer larger icons, its easier to see.

the animations throughout the entire UI are really nice, enjoy them alot. really makes me feel the tab is much more alive, faster and fluid.

but finally i prefer the real tablet UI, not some weird hybrid half half thing.
restore back to stock rom.

very surprised at the restore speed. not sure is cwm6 or the quad core, but backup and restore is much faster than my sgs2.

13 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0487sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 10:35 AM