Google Nexus 7 Official Thread V1, The first Jelly Bean Tablet.

ericlaiys
post Sep 5 2012, 11:55 PM

7,570 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Sep 5 2012, 11:49 PM)
the lack of external storage slot is the deal breaker for me.  Without a sizable storage for all the goodies, how to "consume" vast content with it?  Been waiting for a better version with full features from Asus at higher price but so far not even a slight rumour.  So get the Tab 7.7 instead.
Tab 7.7 is slow. Even Tab 2-7.7 also Slow. Nexus 7 is faster. rclxm9.gif
ericlaiys
post Sep 6 2012, 12:52 PM

7,570 posts

rclxm9.gif
My package has arrive to warehouse and now ship to Malaysia.

Expected to arrive by 12 Sept 2012. Countdown 7 days to use Nexus 7. rclxm9.gif
ericlaiys
post Sep 7 2012, 10:28 AM

7,570 posts

Anyone wait for Kindle? Here is the review between Kindle HD vs Nexus 7.
Just check on amazon, it only running Dual Core.

http://news.yahoo.com/blogs/technology-blo...15.html#more-id

http://reviews.cnet.com/8301-19736_7-57507...-right-for-you/

This post has been edited by ericlaiys: Sep 7 2012, 12:22 PM
ericlaiys
post Sep 8 2012, 04:03 PM

7,570 posts

QUOTE(xyellowboyx @ Sep 8 2012, 03:19 PM)
so is it my nexus 7 fault or the OTG cable fault ?
I think it is not faulty. Just not enough power to on your external hdd. That's why previously i mentioned to use Wireless External HDD ( estimate RM570+ - Seagate)
ericlaiys
post Sep 8 2012, 07:07 PM

7,570 posts

Getting more excited. Package has arrived Hong Kong. Very fast.. just 3 days from USA.

This post has been edited by ericlaiys: Sep 8 2012, 07:07 PM
ericlaiys
post Sep 9 2012, 11:33 AM

7,570 posts

My Nexus 7 has finally reached Subang Jaya Airport. Did Malaysian Customs and DHL work today? Hmm...Clearance delay at Customs...since 830am.
ericlaiys
post Sep 10 2012, 07:38 AM

7,570 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Sep 9 2012, 04:06 PM)
please remember if you're not getting a fren to bring it back, there's shipping charges, taxes in US states, etc... I find those selling at rm999 for 16GB to be ok price.
Add-on, yes you can.Price indicate by google is without standard shipping to US Warehouse. So you need to calculate domestic shipping from google Play to warehouse, 3rd party charges for buying on your behalf and finally shipping from your warehouse (US Address) to Malaysia.

Added on September 10, 2012, 7:40 am
QUOTE(un_id @ Sep 10 2012, 06:17 AM)
Can't connect to superfreevpn. Hmmm.. any other VPN source?
Use the authentication from this site:- http://superfreevpn.com/

This post has been edited by ericlaiys: Sep 10 2012, 07:40 AM
ericlaiys
post Sep 10 2012, 07:26 PM

7,570 posts

Alright. I just received my nexus 7. So far so good and it is C80 batch. Activated Google Play and got USD25. Can start to join you guy in the forum and probably ask more question. Now waiting for my cover case and USB OTG to come.
ericlaiys
post Sep 10 2012, 07:49 PM

7,570 posts

Oh no...i'm getting RBC (grey on google play), anyone know how to solve this. Already using Superfreevpn

Offer for USD25 is going to end on 30 Sept 2012:- http://support.google.com/googleplay/bin/a...&answer=2670129

This post has been edited by ericlaiys: Sep 10 2012, 08:39 PM
ericlaiys
post Sep 10 2012, 10:08 PM

7,570 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Sep 10 2012, 08:44 PM)
I'm still unable to connect to free VPN.. hmm..
Cannot be. Try factory reset

Added on September 10, 2012, 10:10 pm
QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Sep 10 2012, 10:01 PM)
I put US address just in case and it went thru.
This means after30 sept, no more 25 bucks offer, but those that already got the credit still can use it right?  Does the credit expire?
Probably for those not activate by that date. I put US address, mastercard and amex. Wallet saw USD25 already but cannot use since got RBC error.....huh

This post has been edited by ericlaiys: Sep 10 2012, 10:10 PM
ericlaiys
post Sep 11 2012, 08:33 AM

7,570 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Sep 10 2012, 08:44 PM)
I'm still unable to connect to free VPN.. hmm..
Do you use TM Streamyx at home? Tried at home using streamyx. cannot access the superfreevpn.
Tried UNIFI, no problem

Added on September 11, 2012, 8:35 amAnyone face issue like cannot Power ON after shutdown? Press the power on button but wont boot up. But if i plug in to electricity, then i can power ON. Anyway to resolve this?

This post has been edited by ericlaiys: Sep 11 2012, 08:35 AM
ericlaiys
post Sep 11 2012, 10:24 AM

7,570 posts

QUOTE(exkaizen @ Sep 11 2012, 09:25 AM)
Will be joining you guys as the owner today... smile.gif

btw.. saw some of you guys already flashed it with custom ROM... the Stock ROM have issue. smile.gif

Sorry if this question has been asked.
No issue on stock. Some prefer use stock rom to tweak, better battery performance, etc.
So far issue using custom rom cannot mount external hdd but stock rom can.

ericlaiys
post Sep 11 2012, 11:11 AM

7,570 posts

QUOTE(exkaizen @ Sep 11 2012, 09:25 AM)
Will be joining you guys as the owner today... smile.gif

btw.. saw some of you guys already flashed it with custom ROM... the Stock ROM have issue. smile.gif

Sorry if this question has been asked.
Since you get your device today, may be you can help to try if you have this similar issue
1. Fully Charge the Nexus 7
2. Power Off Nexus 7
3. Unplug from Power supply.
4. Power On Your Nexus 7

See if can power ON. Mine cannot Power ON. Unless i plug to power for a while, boot it up. After boot up, unplug the power.

Charging everything work fine, dunno why cannot POWER ON using button.
ericlaiys
post Sep 11 2012, 11:31 AM

7,570 posts

Anyone register in the asus malaysia website? Which serial number should i use CSSN or the one with C80XXX. Please advise . Thanks
ericlaiys
post Sep 11 2012, 12:02 PM

7,570 posts

QUOTE(fantastic_giselle @ Sep 11 2012, 11:56 AM)
anyone tried to get the USD25 by using debit card? i did not own an credit card....scared that it will not work on my debit card.....
When i try to buy i got RBC error. So cannot select Google USD25. So do you have this issue?
ericlaiys
post Sep 11 2012, 12:11 PM

7,570 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Sep 11 2012, 12:02 PM)
i still couldn't get the USD$25. cry.gif cry.gif
1. Get US VPN first. You case, try using other broadband provider.
2. Eventually first time , i cannot get. Factory reset and use new gmail account. Then after a while, due to vpn disconnected, so i end up failed. Then i factory reset again and this time use my original gmail. It is working fine.

I tried use original gmail twice , but it keep detected i've already got existing gmail account. (even just add-in).
ericlaiys
post Sep 11 2012, 01:54 PM

7,570 posts

QUOTE(jpaq @ Sep 11 2012, 12:23 PM)
Try purchasing the app using web version of Google Play on your computer. Better still, try this using Chrome web browser.
Tried that on browser IE, Chrome, etc. But cannot. Give error....Found out a lot of people having the same issue either new people or existing users. Suddenly grey out. Some even factory reset but still failed.

Forum posted here:- http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread...=1838710&page=9. I check my wallet on the country, it is showing "Malaysia" and cannot change it. (grey out) even with US Address

So guy, better spend faster before it grey out like us.

Added on September 11, 2012, 1:57 pm
QUOTE(un_id @ Sep 11 2012, 12:27 PM)
ermm seems like nobody bother to help me about the screen.. huhu..
Try lower the brightness. If still problem, then bring to Asus. They probably can advise. Worse case RMA.

This post has been edited by ericlaiys: Sep 11 2012, 02:16 PM
ericlaiys
post Sep 11 2012, 02:54 PM

7,570 posts

QUOTE(exkaizen @ Sep 11 2012, 02:06 PM)
received my N7 just now... smile.gif
Newbies : Here is some 40 guides http://blog.the-ebook-reader.com/2012/07/1...nexus-7-tablet/
ericlaiys
post Sep 11 2012, 11:05 PM

7,570 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Sep 11 2012, 10:48 PM)
Tired of trying to get the $25.. no success..
forget it man. Today i can use vpn on streamyx. But the problem is now Google Wallet, Google Movie, etc has missing. Even use back VPN, but the program is still not display on my nexus.

I has rooted my nexus as well, so even flash everything also cannot get rid of RBC error on google.

After root, my laptop can see the internal storage so i can transfer movie, doc, etc to ... rclxm9.gif

Added on September 11, 2012, 11:07 pm
QUOTE(jpaq @ Sep 11 2012, 11:51 AM)
I did the exact scenario before. No issues. Try pressing your power button for like 10 secs?

Added on September 11, 2012, 11:53 am

I thought of that too... hopefully that is the case!  thumbup.gif Boleh... we keep in touch with each other.  icon_rolleyes.gif
I press Power ON- more than a minute also wont boot up. So i try press Power ON + Vol UP. Straight away the machine boot up....weird!!

This post has been edited by ericlaiys: Sep 11 2012, 11:07 PM
ericlaiys
post Sep 11 2012, 11:10 PM

7,570 posts

QUOTE(exkaizen @ Sep 11 2012, 11:09 PM)
I`ve managed to get the USD25
Using PC
========
- remove current credit card details from Google wallet
- go to Google account > edit email > change country to US > leave time zone empty and save

Nexus 7
========
- factory reset
- turn off
- connect to wifi
- have gmail account > no > not now
- setup superfreevpn
- connect superfreevpn
- setting  > add account
- add credit card details
- enter your credit card details... leave country as united states... zip code 10002 > phone try use US phone number
Yes correct. I also can get USD 25 but try go to Google Play and buy a stuff. You can see USD 25 but with (RBC).
Check it out and let us know

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0441sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 08:05 AM