Google Nexus 7 Official Thread V1, The first Jelly Bean Tablet.

TSRacerx
post Jun 29 2012, 06:23 PM

Tell Your World
8,461 posts

Here's another bulk for the N7,if there's more people it'll be a bit cheaper
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2407663
TSRacerx
post Jun 30 2012, 12:49 PM

Tell Your World
8,461 posts

Ffffffuuuuuuuuuuuuu USB-OTG does not support mounting storage out of the box...
http://www.anandtech.com/show/6061/mhl-and...e-not-supported

Not all is lost though,since this is a Nexus device i'm sure mods to enable just that will be available sooner rather than later.
TSRacerx
post Jun 30 2012, 01:13 PM

Tell Your World
8,461 posts

QUOTE(melvin91motorola @ Jun 30 2012, 01:05 PM)
im new, so that means i can't transfer my pdf+photo from usb to n7?  hmm.gif
Out of the box,yes. But we already have root access for the N7 so Stickmount should work. If Stickmount doesn't work then someone will make something that works sooner rather than later.
TSRacerx
post Jun 30 2012, 02:20 PM

Tell Your World
8,461 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Jun 30 2012, 01:47 PM)
what can i do when i run out of storage?

my music alone already 2gb....not yet include my full hd music video  smile.gif
You can use USB-OTG or you can get a non-Nexus device. IMO cloud storage isn't a viable alternative here in Malaysia .
TSRacerx
post Jun 30 2012, 02:52 PM

Tell Your World
8,461 posts

QUOTE(altimi @ Jun 30 2012, 02:46 PM)
Even with 10mbps Maxis FTTH?
You have a data cap don't you? IINM at 60GB?
TSRacerx
post Jul 1 2012, 02:25 PM

Tell Your World
8,461 posts

Looks like once the N7 is rooted,you can actually use Stickmount to read from external storage afterall. There goes any doubt on my part.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread...=1743052&page=2
TSRacerx
post Jul 2 2012, 02:55 PM

Tell Your World
8,461 posts

QUOTE(asil66 @ Jul 2 2012, 02:32 PM)
Agreed! It all depends on what u r using the tablet for. In this world, it's impossible to have a "one size fits all" kinda gadget.

I am planning to get a Nexus 7 for myself. Before that, I want to clarify something with all the sifus here:

1) if they said they will ship in mid-july, does it mean that it will reach the US address in July itself? My uncle is coming back in early august and I'm planning to ask him to bring it back for me.

2) about USB-OTG, i understand from the previous post that the N7 has to be rooted first before we can use pendrive with it right? how to "root" the device or where can we get it done?

3) since google play is not supported in malaysia, does that means i need to ask my uncle to use the $25 to download stuffs in US before bringing it back?

4) the only way i can download content such as ebook into my N7 is via wifi only, am i right?

Any advice/comments are welcomed. Thanks in advance.
1-Yes.

2-There's a guide on how to root on the front page,it's not hard at all. smile.gif

3-Google's Play Store is available here but you can only get apps,no movies or music available. From what i read at XDA the 25$ will be credited to the account that is added to the Nexus 7.

4-Wifi,BT,USB. That's basically it.
TSRacerx
post Jul 3 2012, 02:43 AM

Tell Your World
8,461 posts

QUOTE(Silfer @ Jul 2 2012, 11:41 PM)
nexus 7 will arrive in malaysia or not ah? I want to get one but in malaysia to save the hassle to get adapter for US set.
AFAIK the adapter is dual voltage.
TSRacerx
post Jul 27 2012, 09:53 PM

Tell Your World
8,461 posts

QUOTE(G-17 @ Jul 27 2012, 09:13 PM)
Never tried MIUI on a phone before. It looks too much like iOS, and I already have an iPhone so it would be pointless.

What I dislike about the ICS/JB dock is;

1. It sits right on top of the navigation panel (software buttons). A dock would look fine if the device had hardware buttons (like HTC of Sony phones), but if it's on-screen, you should NEVER put a dock on top of a panel. It's just wrong.

2. The center app icon is a nice minimal monochromatic one, but the icons on the left and right (unless you change them) are all colorful and overstated. Totally spoils the balance.

I suppose I'll wait for a bit for launchers to catch up to Jelly Bean. Don't really want any fancy effects like Launcher Pro or ADW Ex. Most launchers are bloated, plus they're a bit buggy, and whenever the developer fixes one set of bugs, he introduces a totally new set of bugs in the process. All I want is to find a way to remove the dock and reposition the application icon along the sides or center.
I suppose you could change the DPI so that the UI changes to the traditional tablet UI rather than the current hybrid UI.
TSRacerx
post Jul 28 2012, 06:08 PM

Tell Your World
8,461 posts

Guys,have any of you which use a Malaysian CC got the USD25 free credit?
TSRacerx
post Aug 12 2012, 12:58 AM

Tell Your World
8,461 posts

QUOTE(melvin91motorola @ Aug 11 2012, 11:52 PM)
i'm kinda noob here as this is my 1st android device, someone guide me please....should i root or not? still on welcome screen cuz no wifi on my area lols
Root it so that you can install Stickmount and mount USB drives. brows.gif
TSRacerx
post Aug 15 2012, 12:18 PM

Tell Your World
8,461 posts

Has anyone tried this fix for the screen washing out issue?
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1815414
TSRacerx
post Aug 15 2012, 12:28 PM

Tell Your World
8,461 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Aug 15 2012, 12:22 PM)
The wash out issue happens only after a video playback.
Just lock and unlock it and the screen returns to normal.
Yes,but that would be annoying imo. With that script it should be gone for good. Haven't tested it myself as the tablet's not with me atm.
TSRacerx
post Aug 15 2012, 07:15 PM

Tell Your World
8,461 posts

Update
I've installed the script I posted earlier and it fixed the screen washing out after watching videos issue.
TSRacerx
post Aug 18 2012, 08:05 AM

Tell Your World
8,461 posts

QUOTE(hussain @ Aug 18 2012, 07:41 AM)
Hey guys how do I get the free transformers movie on my nexus?
You need to use a US VPN instead of connecting it the usual way.
TSRacerx
post Sep 18 2012, 02:04 AM

Tell Your World
8,461 posts

Guys,I won't be opening a v2 thread for the N7 since i don't have the time these days to update the thread and all that. If anyone else wants to become the v2 thread's TS then please be my guest .

0.4674sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:16 AM