price of, chicken breast

TSfacelol
post Jun 27 2012, 05:45 PM, updated 14y ago

333 posts

hello, can u guys share out the price of chicken breast u guys bought?
BlueBean
post Jun 27 2012, 07:26 PM

197 posts

1 kg of chicken breast is RM 10.00, by alien9.
Ibrahimovic
post Jun 27 2012, 09:03 PM

*HolyHunk*
1,578 posts

Anyone knows the content of protein in chicken breast per kg or gram?
BlueBean
post Jun 27 2012, 09:05 PM

197 posts

average, 100g = 31g
rideon
post Jun 27 2012, 09:51 PM

239 posts

1kg for 10 is rather cheap..
theCrab
post Jun 28 2012, 01:44 AM

1,093 posts

rm 8.5-9
wetmarket
MelForC3
post Jun 28 2012, 09:16 AM

957 posts

perhaps u can do it in BB Q & A thread smile.gif

well, u get the reply from others..
TSfacelol
post Jun 28 2012, 11:10 AM

333 posts

looks like bodybuilding aint a cheap sport.
SilentSerpent
post Jun 28 2012, 12:13 PM

It sucks to be you
699 posts

so roughly, one piece of chicken breast is how many grams?
alien9
post Jun 28 2012, 01:23 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(facelol @ Jun 28 2012, 11:10 AM)
looks like bodybuilding aint a cheap sport.
Sure it doesn't but there is a way of keeping the price low such as, don't let your ego controlled you. Once you are injured, it will going to be an expensive experience and operation.
Ibrahimovic
post Jun 28 2012, 01:49 PM

*HolyHunk*
1,578 posts

Well not that expensive considering that if you eat 400g chicken breast a day mean that you would not need to spend more on protein shake. (lol I just realized this biggrin.gif)

Being a beginner, there is no need to spend more on other supplement like creatine and amino acid pills etc. right?
alien9
post Jun 28 2012, 01:58 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(Ibrahimovic @ Jun 28 2012, 01:49 PM)
Well not that expensive considering that if you eat 400g chicken breast a day mean that you would not need to spend more on protein shake. (lol I just realized this biggrin.gif)

Being a beginner, there is no need to spend more on other supplement like creatine and amino acid pills etc. right?
That is why I've never need to take whey protein biggrin.gif

It totally depends on you. Well, since most beginners didn't even have any idea about their diet especially macro nutrition, they didn't bother to get to know about other supplementations except for the magic instant muscle builder mass gainers and whey protein thinking by just consuming this, they can become three times muscular than what they are currently.

As you can see, the more advance bodybuilder would start to get pre w/o supps, fish oils, glutamine, creatine, ZMA and etc. Why? Because they know they stuff.
theCrab
post Jun 28 2012, 05:38 PM

1,093 posts

QUOTE(Ibrahimovic @ Jun 28 2012, 01:49 PM)

400 g only provide around 120g protein
maybe 1 kg ..
kicksense
post Jun 28 2012, 11:26 PM

285 posts

At tesco/Giant/Carefour (Damansara PJ area) the price around RM9 - RM11.00. Price vary from time to time. Quite hard to find wet market at my place. I did compare price with Pasar Tani at my place and their price are more expensive than those supermarkets.

theCrab : u normally buy from wetmarket? where's ur area?
TSfacelol
post Jun 29 2012, 11:22 AM

333 posts

so basically 100g of chicken breast equals to how much protein?
jAck66
post Jun 29 2012, 02:46 PM

123 posts

at mydin...

-Dan
post Jun 29 2012, 04:17 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(facelol @ Jun 29 2012, 11:22 AM)
so basically 100g of chicken breast equals to how much protein?
20-25g, raw. 100g of cooked chicken breast has approx 31g of protein.

This post has been edited by -Dan: Jun 29 2012, 04:21 PM
TSfacelol
post Jun 29 2012, 04:41 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(jAck66 @ Jun 29 2012, 02:46 PM)
at mydin...
like tht can last for how many days?
jAck66
post Jun 29 2012, 05:46 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(facelol @ Jun 29 2012, 04:41 PM)
just for lunch n my dinner... rclxm9.gif
theCrab
post Jun 29 2012, 06:08 PM

1,093 posts

1 meal
TSfacelol
post Jun 29 2012, 06:17 PM

333 posts

wtf man..only 1 meal. hmm in tht case let me calculate...
.. .. in 1 week.u spend more than rm200 just on chicken breast FFUU!
kicksense
post Jun 29 2012, 10:30 PM

285 posts

No need to depend on single source of protein. U can choose other source of protein. There is alot more. Eggs, tofu, etc.. Those also cheap.

I eat chicken breast almost every day but never reach rm200 per week.
ChipZ
post Jun 29 2012, 11:53 PM

1,330 posts

How do you guys define chicken breast? There are chicken ribs and chicken keels which actually pretty much make up the breast part.
harris92
post Jun 29 2012, 11:57 PM

-
536 posts

QUOTE(ChipZ @ Jun 29 2012, 11:53 PM)
How do you guys define chicken breast? There are chicken ribs and chicken keels which actually pretty much make up the breast part.
Should be the keel. Not ribs.
alien9
post Jun 29 2012, 11:58 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

1 meal for me.

QUOTE(facelol @ Jun 29 2012, 06:17 PM)
.. ..  in 1 week.u spend more than rm200 just on chicken breast FFUU!
Can you elaborate more on how you calculate the price?

If I need 200g protein, I need 1kg of raw chicken breast (22g protein per 100g chicken breast). 1kg chicken breast would cost me RM10.90 and multiply it by 7 days, it will only cost me RM 77.00. Correct me if I'm wrong. Unless you need 400g of protein per day, still the price would only be RM 140.00.
SUSDJJD
post Jun 30 2012, 12:55 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(kicksense @ Jun 29 2012, 10:30 PM)
No need to depend on single source of protein. U can choose other source of protein. There is alot more. Eggs, tofu, etc.. Those also cheap.

I eat chicken breast almost every day but never reach rm200 per week.
Do not eat tofu too much as a main source of protein.

Wouldn't claim it produces estrogen but the protein from soy is highly inferior to that in eggs and meat.

Chicken breast is expensive in Malaysia. If you can't afford it, try cheaper cuts like keel, ribs, thighs, etc.
jAck66
post Jun 30 2012, 01:48 PM

123 posts

normally i buy chicken fillet, no bones and skin..wash and cook..

theCrab
post Jun 30 2012, 09:42 PM

1,093 posts

QUOTE(facelol @ Jun 29 2012, 06:17 PM)
.. ..  in 1 week.u spend more than rm200 just on chicken breast FFUU!
boss
....how you count 200 ?

9.50 give me a kg chicken breast
i take roughly 500-600 g per day

iloveavenger
post Jul 1 2012, 01:03 PM

22 posts

erm can explain how many protein intake i should take daily? i hear a comment said that 100lbs u take = 100g of protein u need? plz correct me
alien9
post Jul 1 2012, 01:28 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(iloveavenger @ Jul 1 2012, 01:03 PM)
erm can explain how many protein intake i should take daily? i hear a comment said that 100lbs u take = 100g of protein u need? plz correct me
general rule of thumb is 1g of protein per 1lbs bodyweight.
irshadim
post Jul 2 2012, 03:44 PM

25 posts

roughly at around RM 10 - 11 per kg at major supermarkets.
Kyoyagami
post Jul 2 2012, 04:40 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

While the Mydin option is good, do also check out the 3 for RM 10 promos done by Giant. Normally per pack is 250gram of raw chicken. It's more of a steal if you go for the fillet (since you don't need to cut whatsoever. hehe)

But the best option would be to look for keels. Usually it's RM 11 per kg. And it's a also a good choice. Since 1kg nets you quite a few keels.
mazer6446
post Jul 3 2012, 08:42 AM

81 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Jul 2 2012, 04:40 PM)
While the Mydin option is good, do also check out the 3 for RM 10 promos done by Giant. Normally per pack is 250gram of raw chicken. It's more of a steal if you go for the fillet (since you don't need to cut whatsoever. hehe)

But the best option would be to look for keels. Usually it's RM 11 per kg. And it's a also a good choice. Since 1kg nets you quite a few keels.
i bought chicken keel at bukit antarabangsa Giant.. daym expensive.. RM 13! .. bought 2 kg, it lasts me for the whole week.. even got to tapau it to work.

ermm.. how about another source of protein? how much protein does they carried? tofu? lean beef? fish? etc..
Kyoyagami
post Jul 3 2012, 09:11 AM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

Dude, I mentioned the usual being RM 11 per kg. What you got was a deal. And like you said, it lasted the whole week.

That's a whole lot more cooler.

Don't forget the good old beef. That's awesome.
ILECHZ
post Jul 3 2012, 12:35 PM

399 posts

how you people cook chicken breast? share recipe please biggrin.gif
jAck66
post Jul 3 2012, 12:46 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(ILECHZ @ Jul 3 2012, 12:35 PM)
how you people cook chicken breast? share recipe please biggrin.gif
same question here..pls... blush.gif
manejist
post Jul 3 2012, 01:18 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(jAck66 @ Jul 3 2012, 12:46 PM)
same question here..pls... blush.gif
i only marinated it with black pepper & little of soy sause. if lasy to marinated just boil it and eat it biggrin.gif
ILECHZ
post Jul 3 2012, 01:47 PM

399 posts

can we grill it? marinate with bbq sauce and grill it?
jAck66
post Jul 3 2012, 01:54 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(manejist @ Jul 3 2012, 01:18 PM)
i only marinated it with black pepper & little of soy sause. if lasy to marinated just boil it and eat it biggrin.gif
serious dude just boil and eat?..how the taste?.. blink.gif
me always do same recipe, cut to small pcs, put olive oil, chicken seasoning, broccoli or carrot or green pea..
see photo..now im getting bored! latest one i boil with meggi curry flavor..LoL!

iloveavenger
post Jul 3 2012, 11:50 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(alien9 @ Jul 1 2012, 01:28 PM)
general rule of thumb is 1g of protein per 1lbs bodyweight.
75kg mean i one day need around 150g onli?
alien9
post Jul 3 2012, 11:52 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(iloveavenger @ Jul 3 2012, 11:50 PM)
75kg mean i one day need around 150g onli?
165g of protein to be precise. 1kg = 2.204lbs
iloveavenger
post Jul 3 2012, 11:53 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(alien9 @ Jul 3 2012, 11:52 PM)
165g of protein to be precise. 1kg = 2.204lbs
oo i see.. tat is the amount of protein i need to take daily right? how about day of workout? it should be more but how much ya?
alien9
post Jul 3 2012, 11:58 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(iloveavenger @ Jul 3 2012, 11:53 PM)
oo i see.. tat is the amount of protein i need to take daily right? how about day of workout? it should be more but how much ya?
whether you are working out on that day or not, the amount of protein would be the same. Supposedly, all three values should be the same (carbs, protein, fat). But some people tend to take more cabs on the workout day instead of non-workout day, maybe 55% instead of 40% and adjust the remaining fat ratio. Sticking to your ratio the whole week be it you are working out or not is ok.
iloveavenger
post Jul 4 2012, 12:05 AM

22 posts

okay thx alot for ur useful info... one last question... due to $ constraint, should i take real food only (as long as it reach the amount of carb, protein, fat) and stop taking supplement? erm i would said that i am intermediate since workout in gym for 2 years..
SUSDJJD
post Jul 4 2012, 12:49 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(iloveavenger @ Jul 4 2012, 12:05 AM)
okay thx alot for ur useful info... one last question... due to $ constraint, should i take real food only (as long as it reach the amount of carb, protein, fat) and stop taking supplement? erm i would said that i am intermediate since workout in gym for 2 years..
Yes but for real food try to eat within 90 mins of post workout, as well as make sure you enter the gym in a fed state (ie eaten 1-2 hrs before ideally).
alien9
post Jul 4 2012, 01:05 AM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(iloveavenger @ Jul 4 2012, 12:05 AM)
I am also in the same boat as you. As a student, money is always a constraint; unless you have a rich family. I found out that by cooking, I can easily hit my macro and daily calorie intake for just well below than RM 10.00. I do have time to cook so why not? For people who have time constraint, they may opt for supplements to help them hit their macro. It all depends on you.

All in all, real food is much better than supps but by hook or by crook, you need to reach that macro and calorie target.

iloveavenger
post Jul 4 2012, 07:51 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(alien9 @ Jul 4 2012, 01:05 AM)
I am also in the same boat as you. As a student, money is always a constraint; unless you have a rich family. I found out that by cooking, I can easily hit my macro and daily calorie intake for just well below than RM 10.00. I do have time to cook so why not? For people who have time constraint, they may opt for supplements to help them hit their macro. It all depends on you.

All in all, real food is much better than supps but by hook or by crook, you need to reach that macro and calorie target.
oo so do u mind to share ur diet and cooking style here? haha...
alien9
post Jul 4 2012, 10:50 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(iloveavenger @ Jul 4 2012, 07:51 PM)
oo so do u mind to share ur diet and cooking style here? haha...
My cooking style? I fry what I want to eat using butter. biggrin.gif Being in a Keto diet makes me consume lots of fat (60% of my diet comes from fat). I ate minced meat which is high in protein and fat, lots of eggs including the yolk, butter and lots of butter.
iloveavenger
post Jul 5 2012, 12:05 AM

22 posts

oo i see.. how about egg? i mean breakfast, lunch and dinner in detail if possible?
alien9
post Jul 5 2012, 12:14 AM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(iloveavenger @ Jul 5 2012, 12:05 AM)
oo i see.. how about egg? i mean breakfast, lunch and dinner in detail if possible?
This is more or less my daily diet
My lunch would be:
1 can of Tuna
2 tablespoons of CED Peanut Butter
3 first Choice Eggs
4 tablespoons of Planta

Dinner:
200g minced meat
3 tablespoons of Planta
3 first Choice Eggs
1 can of Tuna, 3 eggs
SUSDJJD
post Jul 6 2012, 01:32 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(alien9 @ Jul 5 2012, 12:14 AM)
This is more or less my daily diet
My lunch would be:
1 can of Tuna
3 first Choice Eggs
4 tablespoons of Planta

Dinner:
200g minced meat
3 tablespoons of Planta
3 first Choice Eggs
1 can of Tuna, 3 eggs
No veggies in this diet?
No carbs?

I hope you accidentally missed those out because seriously, IMHO this diet is a disaster without any of those - it looks incredibly unbalanced.............

You need carbs to work out (and you need carbs so you won't get low test).
You need greens for a whole lot of reasons!!
alien9
post Jul 6 2012, 01:38 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(DJJD @ Jul 6 2012, 01:32 PM)
No veggies in this diet?
No carbs?

I hope you accidentally missed those out because seriously, IMHO this diet is a disaster without any of those - it looks incredibly unbalanced.............

You need carbs to work out (and you need carbs so you won't get low test).
You need greens for a whole lot of reasons!!
I'm on Keto diet so there is no Carbs involve in my diet. I left out the veggies, because of the word 'This is more or less my daily diet'. I do take them, brocolli to be precise whenever available.

Btw, test are from fats, not carb.

This post has been edited by alien9: Jul 6 2012, 01:38 PM
SUSDJJD
post Jul 6 2012, 01:48 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(alien9 @ Jul 6 2012, 01:38 PM)
I'm on Keto diet so there is no Carbs involve in my diet. I left out the veggies, because of the word 'This is more or less my daily diet'. I do take them, brocolli to be precise whenever available.

Btw, test are from fats, not carb.
Nope.

Google ultra-low-carb/keto diet and hypothyroidism. I'm not taking a pop at you, that stuff can have long-term serious effects on your health and your sex drive.

I wouldn't ever recommend any of those diets - low(er) carb diets shouldn't be reduced to under 50g a day and any proper diet (with training program) will need a carb-heavy day(s) weekly.
alien9
post Jul 6 2012, 02:51 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(DJJD @ Jul 6 2012, 01:48 PM)
Nope.

Google ultra-low-carb/keto diet and hypothyroidism. I'm not taking a pop at you, that stuff can have long-term serious effects on your health and your sex drive.

I wouldn't ever recommend any of those diets - low(er) carb diets shouldn't be reduced to under 50g a day and any proper diet (with training program) will need a carb-heavy day(s) weekly.
I'll do some research about that after I've done with my exam. Here is the link for my primary source of info on Keto, and I have few others but they doesn't touch anything about hypothyroidism. In fact, there is a forumers that lost 150lbs from Keto and didn't get this problem.

http://forum.bodybuilding.com/showthread.php?t=132598293

This post has been edited by alien9: Jul 6 2012, 02:52 PM
SUSDJJD
post Jul 6 2012, 03:42 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(alien9 @ Jul 6 2012, 02:51 PM)
I'll do some research about that after I've done with my exam. Here is the link for my primary source of info on Keto, and I have few others but they doesn't touch anything about hypothyroidism. In fact, there is a forumers that lost 150lbs from Keto and didn't get this problem.

http://forum.bodybuilding.com/showthread.php?t=132598293
Heres one first hand experience:
http://tnation.t-nation.com/free_online_fo...242070&pageNo=0

No doubt there'll be differences in body response (because everyones body and diet is different) but when you see experiences like this:

I started eating a low carb paleo diet about 10 months ago because it sounded like it might help with my Ulcerative Colitis. It was kind of a miracle at first because within a couple months or so I was off all of my meds and doing awesome. It continued to go well for a few more months as I got more ripped and my stomach was doing great.

About 6 months in I started noticing little bald patches in my hair near the hairline on my forhead. It seemed very strange and had me freaked out, but thought maybe it was due to aging (I'm 33). They continued to get worse and a couple months later I started noticing very fine wrinkles in the skin on my arms. I noticed that I get them all over my body if I take the slack out of my skin. I definitely never had this before and I'm starting to freak out that I'm going to start looking like a 60 year old man by the time I turn 34.

I recently found some websites where they talk about low carb diets causing hypothyroidism. I looked up the symptoms and I feel like I have several. I have hair loss, dry and wrinkly skin, and decreased sex drive. I feel like my memory is worse than it was a year ago (however it is impossible to tell, and I could be imagining that one).

Also my temperature is always below 97 now, and it wasn't that low in the past, which apparently is another symptom. I realize that many of these are signs of aging, and I'm not sure how old people typically are when they start getting wrinkles and stuff, but it does not seem natural to age this much within such a short timeframe.

I'd rather not see my abs if I had to choose between the two..........seriously! biggrin.gif
ArthurMickey
post Oct 21 2013, 12:25 PM

801 posts

QUOTE(BlueBean @ Jun 27 2012, 08:26 PM)
1 kg of chicken breast is RM 10.00, by alien9.
Boneless and without skin?

0.0411sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 12:19 PM