MRTA & MLTA is it a must?

cfa28
post Dec 18 2014, 09:08 AM

4,830 posts

QUOTE(kksg2000 @ Dec 18 2014, 08:28 AM)
Hi all sifu do you know how much is the mtra for a 750000rm loan?
You need to give more details such as

Your Age, Gender, Smoker/Non-Smoker and tenure of MRTA

But off the cuff, for a 20-year tenure, in range of RM20K+/-
cfa28
post Dec 18 2014, 11:10 AM

4,830 posts

QUOTE(kksg2000 @ Dec 18 2014, 11:07 AM)
Hi 35year old, non smoker, 30 years. By the way is it a one time payment of 20k? And what happened if i sell off the property? Tks
Okay, 35-yrs old, a bit cheaper.

The MRTA Premium is a single premium, meaning payable one lump sum and Banks are willing to finance it

If you sell of the property, you can get a refund / rebate of the remaining premium but it will not be on a straight line basis

cfa28
post Dec 18 2014, 12:43 PM

4,830 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Dec 18 2014, 11:17 AM)
Noted. Your calculation for MRTA is as shown below. However, keep note that all banks will have their MRTA premium calculated differently. This is just a guide.

MRTA is always paid in 1 lump sum; the only differences is between you financing the cost into the loan VS you pay for it by yourself. 

Also, I can help you with MLTA. MRTA is usually financed into the loan since you have to pay it in lump-sum, thus will incur interest. It is also absolute-assigned to the bank, which means the bank owns the policy although you paid for it; the insurance payout/claims is payable to your loan account though, so you (your beneficiaries) still own the house that is not encumbered (mortgage fully paid off) anymore. MLTA is yours, that you can carry it wherever you are, not tied to any loan facilities at all. In the even of death, TPD, and critical-illness, the claims are payable to you and/or your family to decide whatever you want to do with that money.

Usually it is between paying off the mortgage in full VS pay it as normal and reinvest the money elsewhere. It is up to you, unlike with MRTA

Hi Sifu, based on your quotation, the profit rate is 4.50%. This is the Interest Rate right? Current BLR is 6.85% less 2.40% = 4.45%

But there should be a buffer right, perhaps say up 2.0% over the next 30-yrs. If Interest Rate is pushed up to say 6.50%, what would be the MRTA Quotation?
cfa28
post Dec 22 2014, 03:08 PM

4,830 posts

MRTA stand for Mati Rumah Tetap Ada.

So for own stay, it highly advisable to buy either MRTA or some form of MLTA.

If you are not sure whether its gonna be own stay or long term investment,then buy some form or Regular Premium MLTA.

you can choose to stop when u are going to be sure it's not gonna be for own stay. The premium paid might be burn but cheaper than u finance the MRTA or MLTA into the Loan.

But wait, some ppl say that if you finance the MRTA or MLTA into the Housing Loan, you cannot terminate the MRTA or MLTA unless your Loan is fully settled.

This post has been edited by cfa28: Dec 22 2014, 03:09 PM

0.0185sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 01:36 AM