Reno and ID in Melaka, where to shop and to avoid in melaka...

TSfinestq
post Jun 26 2012, 10:22 AM, updated 2y ago

158 posts

I saw many of us are from melaka and am thinking of starting a new thread to share information here. Our price is somehow quite different from Klang Valley. i would say workmanship charge is normally cheaper but 'things' might be more expensive... competition is not as high as in KV i guess.... besides, i think it is important to share bad experience too as to avoid having another victim... melaka also ada orang jahat.... hahaha...

let me start with my own experience... trying to recall as much as possible... some information might have been shared in other thread before...

electrical :
1. d/l installation - rm8
2. ceiling fan installation - rm20
3. crystal light installation - rm20
4. d/l looping & installation - rm25
5. t5 in l-box (looping & installation) - 8w - rm 15, 14w - rm18, 28w - rm25

gate :
gavanised with powder coated - 17' main gate and 2 1/2' small gate - rm6800

auto gate :
model : gm 328 folding swing including sensor and siren excluding wiring - rm1600

curtains railing (diy installation) :
1. curtain rail - rm1.2/foot
2. roller - rm0.08 each
3. end cap - rm0.40 each
4. double bracket - rm1.2 each

aluminium doors :
7'6" x 10' powder coated white aluminium frame with 5mm glass - rm5100
8' x 8' powder coated sliding door with 5mm glass - rm3200
6'6" x 7' 12mm tempered glass fixed panel - rm1100

PA system & Karaoke Set:
Rawind Trading in Muar (excellent service)
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Rawind-Tradi...157257161130463

Big No No shop :
Golden Deluxe furniture shop ... opposite the oldest KFC in Melaka...

This post has been edited by finestq: Nov 12 2013, 11:07 AM
TSfinestq
post Jun 26 2012, 11:11 AM

158 posts

QUOTE(napoli26 @ Jun 26 2012, 10:28 AM)
yo, TS, i m also from melaka, nice to meet you, now i m looking for people to do for kitchen cabinet and also wiring, and i hvnt apply for tnb and syarikat air, some people told me apply meter muz find certified contractor to do for you, some said no need, we can go and apply ourself, so do you know which 1 is true?
TNB was applied by my developer and they only asked for my IC copy. Not really sure what other documents they submitted. as for water, it is much easier. i applied at samb building at jalan hang tuah. since, i applied my water much later and i only showed them the tnb bill of my new house and a copy of my ic. get it done in less than 10 mins. they went to install the meter within 3 days... quite efficient...
TSfinestq
post Jun 27 2012, 12:08 AM

158 posts

buying leather sofa in Melaka is the hardest thing to do. Price is very expensive. Most of the half leather are priced at 4k to 5k for 123 seater (westcourt and cavenzi are not in my choice as they look too fake!). End up buying from rozel although reputation not that good here...
TSfinestq
post Jun 28 2012, 12:22 AM

158 posts

QUOTE(leeandy @ Jun 27 2012, 10:29 PM)
As for curtain, I will recommend a husband and wife team. Whereby husband will do the measurement and wife will do the sewing job. In terms of selection of materials and curtain colour need to go to their house. Very reasonable and nice to deal with. I recommended is because after shop around and accidentally found out fr my friend that earlier on they also engage the hubby/wifey team. Price wise surely reasonable as earlier I had gone to Top Master and a few, lastly last minute lucky me met this uncle. His phone is 0136261934(mr koh). Pls speak to him in mandarin or hokkien ah... nod.gif
Huh...too bad I already did all my curtains and blinds.even after diy on the railing and buying from Nagoya, my total spending on it still exceeded rm 5.3 k...

Added on June 28, 2012, 12:23 am
QUOTE(mav_850 @ Jun 27 2012, 10:44 PM)
sofa go for custom made maybe also around that price...  hmm.gif
Got custom made in Melaka?

Added on June 28, 2012, 9:32 amMega home in mitc starts today.anybody going? I'm going to hunt for TV...

This post has been edited by finestq: Jun 28 2012, 09:32 AM
TSfinestq
post Jun 28 2012, 02:36 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(leeyung @ Jun 28 2012, 11:40 AM)
wow, DIY still exceeded 5.3K? ur house got a lot of big windows?
Haha...I mean railing + blinds + curtains = rm 5.3 k. My house got a lot of windows... hired a part time maid to wash the windows before moving in, she only managed to wash the ground floor windows and doors the whole 8 hours...
TSfinestq
post Jun 28 2012, 11:11 PM

158 posts

just got back from mitc...nothing much to see. Price of the tv is not cheap.. A few hundred more compare to the price in KL. Btw, anyone know where i can get those oil painting in Melaka? Also, can share where do you all buy your tv?
TSfinestq
post Jul 1 2012, 11:49 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(alrockan @ Jul 1 2012, 11:18 PM)
How about Grenzo Furniture Design which is located just beside rozel? Anyone bought furniture from there?
are you looking for sofa? I went there before and their half leather sofa is all 4k and above. Not cheap. Other furniture quality is not bad but not really sure if they are cheap. I bought my bar stool there at a very good price and the sales person is very nice too.
TSfinestq
post Jul 10 2012, 11:48 PM

158 posts

For wet work,I engaged a Chinese uncle to do it. He is very reliable and neat in his work.but he is terribly slow and not the cheapest.I prefer someone reliable.pm me if you want his contact.

Btw, for TV, I got it from tuan hoe in gajah berang.so far, their price is the cheapest.
TSfinestq
post Jul 12 2012, 07:05 PM

158 posts

[quote=leeyung,Jul 12 2012, 04:57 PM]
Yes, that is the one

[/quote

3 star has another shop in semabok perdana if I'm not mistaken
TSfinestq
post Jul 13 2012, 11:03 PM

158 posts

anybody knows where i can buy oil painting in melaka? I mean those paintings to hang on the wall for decoration...
TSfinestq
post Jul 14 2012, 02:29 PM

158 posts

choosing my karaoke set...hurray! :-p
TSfinestq
post Aug 1 2012, 10:30 AM

158 posts

QUOTE(napoli26 @ Jul 31 2012, 05:22 PM)
hi all, any contractor recommend for kitchen extension? finestq gv me ah huat contact, but he said krubong perdana a bit far for him to come......
haha... 2 old uncles working... they got many jobs lining up and a bit selective on where to go... anyway, hope you could find a contractor soon... smile.gif
TSfinestq
post Aug 3 2012, 04:29 PM

158 posts

[quote=napoli26,Aug 3 2012, 12:29 PM]
tat day went to 3 star peringgit, lady boss recommend me mitshubishi peti sejuk and LG washing machine with direct drive, after tat i went to tmn asian, got 1 elec shop called u audio or something like tat, the price is higher more than rm150 compare with 3 star. somemore they seems like not really know about the spec of those refrigerator.

And, they act like ah long,the way they talk is not friendly at all, when i ask for best price they can give, the salesman said, i can only discount for you if you really wan to buy, i really like wtf, then i said if i dun wan to buy then y i come here? then he straight away throw the calculator to me and said: how much you want? you sendiri tekan, i throw back the calculator to him and walk out from the shop, its really like wtf, the way they do business and the way they talk, make you feels like they are forcing you to buy,is not much different with those scratch and win, what a stupid tactic, may be they think like they can get more business with this sales tactic, but sorry, for me, they are really sux.

i will never step into tat shop anymore, 3 star is much much more better than this u audio

yo... so scary... luckily i never been to that shop before.... but the furniture shop next door (furniplus) is good.... bought my coffee table there, with marble top for rm900. the exactly same item is selling at rm1190 at kennen merdeka permai...
TSfinestq
post Oct 7 2012, 08:30 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(leeyung @ Sep 25 2012, 11:16 PM)
Hi bro, usually cheap thing no good and good thing not cheap biggrin.gif By the way I am getting my whole house from Avalon, please never step into New Style Lighting (no matter which branches, either semabok or cheng), the price not tally with the quality, quality wise, very poor, and they are very rude and not good in customer service, especially u buy single item, they will parang u like no tomorrow, I asked the same thing from 2 different shops, one offer RM18, where New Style offer RM38! Exactly the same thing, same brand. biggrin.gif After sales service also very bad, I got a wall lamp purchased from them, after 1 month burst, and he told me got warranty before I purchase, when I bring there to claim warranty, he said my house voltage not stable la, this n that la etc, nonsense and end up, the so called warranty is nothing, so buy at ur own risk if you wan to step into New Style Lighting biggrin.gif
wow bro, so bad experience ah? i bough my crystal pendant light from new style lighting and they actually served me quite well. the price is also quite reasonable to me as i have surveyed almost all the lighting shops in melaka... but that was almost a year ago... maybe the have changed boss??

avalon lights are very expensive o.. but they do have some very special designer lights which are very difficult to find in melaka.

Added on October 8, 2012, 10:42 am
QUOTE(skyzz @ Oct 7 2012, 06:11 PM)
Hi there,

I'm new here. Hope to learn from all the sifus here  biggrin.gif 
Am currently  looking around for some good n reliable  contractors for moving in into my new house later on,  expected to be completed early next year. If any of u have any reccommendations or contacts for plaster ceiling n wiring, kitchen cabinet n wardrobe hope can share here.

Btw has anyone had any experience with cassero? Is it any good? Is the price of aluminium kitchen cabinet rm 300 pfr reasonable here? (sorry for my ignorance..still doing my homework here in lyn forum)

Any help is much appreciated!  Thanks!  smile.gif
hi, welcome to this thread... for wiring, you may look for mr liow 013-3511169.. a chinese guy... very good after sales service and will come after a day or two everytime i call him. as for the price, i think it is quite standard in melaka...

cassero's products are quite expensive if i am npot mistaken... survey a few more shops to compare the price... i bought some from furniplus in taman asean... and also some small furniture from qts in taman merdeka... as for bed, i bought from internatioanl bedding gallerly (GA Bed) in taman merdeka permai...

hope these help...

This post has been edited by finestq: Oct 8 2012, 10:42 AM
TSfinestq
post Jun 12 2013, 05:01 PM

158 posts

omg... did anyone of you engage this how metalworks? he is a very irresponsible man. no doubt his workmanship is not bad but the problem is, his after sales service is the worst i ever seen in melaka. never keep his promise and doesn't pick up call at all there is something wrong with your gate. i had a really bad experience with him.

QUOTE(drewn123 @ May 11 2013, 04:27 PM)
He does all metalworks incl gates, railing, grille, etc.

How Metalworks
016-6920809

PS, u can say Andrew from Vista Kirana recommend.. Wish u have a good quotation and service, cuz his service is good flex.gif
TSfinestq
post Nov 12 2013, 11:04 AM

158 posts

hi, long time since i update this thread... just wanna share a new shop that I came across with.

I bought my PA system and karaoke set with Rawind Trading... Owned by a very nice young guy. Actually, I have been looking for one for a long time but most of the one in Melaka are not so good with very limited choice. Saw his shop in Muar when I went back to my parents' place few weeks back and decided to stop to look see look see. Surprisingly, he is very friendly and patiently introduces his products one by one. My family and I tested his sets one by one for almost 2 hours.. hehe... He is still nice and friendly when we left his shop without commiting to buy anything (I can't decide which one to buy and worry buying from Muar which is not in Melaka). But after thinking for a good few days, I still think his is the best and drove all they way down to Muar again to buy from him. In the same week, he send the set to my house and fixed them nicely. I like his way of tidying the cables... Nice! Two days ago, my set has a little problem and I called him that morning and by the afternoon, he is already at my house to fix it. Seldom can see such a nice guy nowadays and that make me decided to praise him a bit here. Hehe... hopefully he could get some business from my sharing. I always believe after sales service is very important.

Here's the link of his shop:
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Rawind-Tradi...157257161130463

By the way, does anybody know where I could find people to polish parquet floor in Melaka? How do they charge? Per sqft?

TSfinestq
post Nov 12 2013, 11:38 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(Zelda85 @ Nov 12 2013, 02:20 PM)
Anyone know where we can find something like below link?
I would like to have the contact biggrin.gif
Many Thanks.
http://www.mywallart.com/
I think you are looking for something like this. Found it at city explorer's website. Hope it helps...

TSfinestq
post Mar 19 2014, 11:21 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(SlowCiken @ Mar 16 2014, 11:08 PM)
Looking for kitchen designer in melaka. Any recommendation? Anyone having experience deal with numberg?
Not sure bout numberg but their price might be expensive. Get a few quotations and compare. If you already got the design you want, better to get those carpenter to do for you.

TSfinestq
post Apr 2 2014, 11:35 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(moonbat @ Apr 2 2014, 03:01 PM)
Hye.

anyone can provide contact no for alarm system?
My location is alor gajah.

tq!
My house alarm is done by Tamico at malim. Good service but not sure whether they are cheap or not. Use them because they are recommended by a friend.
TSfinestq
post Apr 2 2014, 11:37 PM

158 posts

Going to revive this thread as i am renovating my 2nd house now.... But this time, the reno is on a smaller scale since it is only a weekend house.

0.0263sec    0.83    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 12:54 PM