Fitness The Runners Thread V5, RUNINSPIRED !!!

gannicholas
post Jul 5 2012, 10:54 PM

655 posts

Hey guys, just wanna ask. Especially those who participated Stand Chartered Run smile.gif This Sunday, there's an Olympic Run under McD. Will i be able to park at Dataran Merdeka? Knowing it's gonna be really crowded and most of the roads will be closed or isit advisable for me to take the LRT to Masjid Jamek and walk to Dataran? If so, does the LRT open that early? Registration starts at 6.30 if im not mistaken. Thanks alot! Sorry, first time participating a run smile.gif
gannicholas
post Jul 5 2012, 11:34 PM

655 posts

QUOTE(yogi_bear @ Jul 5 2012, 11:26 PM)
I took part in Nike KL Run last year where it was held near to Dataran Merdeka too. I parked my car just behind it without any problem. Standard Chartered was different since there were a lot more participants, hence it's not advisable to drive there. For McD I guess the number is not that big compared to SCKLM so it's up to you how you would like to get there.
My father advised me to use the LRT. Any idea what time do they open for service? And during Nike KL run, was the parking crowded?
gannicholas
post Jul 6 2012, 10:47 AM

655 posts

QUOTE(dude1218 @ Jul 6 2012, 09:01 AM)
race start at 7am, their register means u need bring along your register coupon and 2 bib. They will give u a ribbon so u can go in to their kandang...If u go by LRT, please take 6am LRT and u will reach by 6.30, walk to dataran just around 5min. So no way u going to be late.... biggrin.gif
The LRT opens at 6? Wow thumbup.gif Thanks!!
gannicholas
post Jul 6 2012, 12:11 PM

655 posts

QUOTE(dude1218 @ Jul 6 2012, 10:50 AM)
yes, kl lrt start at 6am smile.gif
thanks!
gannicholas
post Jul 6 2012, 11:30 PM

655 posts

Hey runners, any idea how to get rid of sore calves? :/
I ran 7km last night, around 7pm. Calves still aching till now. I did applied those deep heat muscle sore medicine and stuff. My calves hurt cause i straight away run after doing leg workouts and ermm.. i didnt stretch before i ran. Lol. And i dont usually run, seldom run in other words. I have a run this coming Sunday morning, any ideas how can i get an 'instant' heal? I'm feeling a lil bit paranoid that my calves wont heal by Sunday morning, thanks! It hurts to the extend where i find it difficult to climb up the stairs.
gannicholas
post Jul 6 2012, 11:49 PM

655 posts

QUOTE(dude1218 @ Jul 6 2012, 11:46 PM)
thats normal, cause u seldom run....muscle strength and stamina wont come overnight, need time to train and practice. If u plan keep join race, then u need be hardworking and start training daily or weekly. Then all race will become easy and u will enjoy it.
And there is no instant heal, just let it be....if still until raceday day still pain, do some warmup then apply some deepheat or pendoskin that u can get at any guardian or caring, that will help hold your pain for that 7km biggrin.gif
1 thing that i stick with, DUNT EVER TAKE PAINKILLER. It works and it will revile your pain, but u dunt know what happen inside your body... biggrin.gif  happy running biggrin.gif
During race day if its still aching, its recommended me to apply deepheat la? smile.gif
Ahaha, i will never take those kind of stuff
gannicholas
post Jul 6 2012, 11:59 PM

655 posts

QUOTE(dude1218 @ Jul 6 2012, 11:55 PM)
yeah, apply abit...once run around 2-3km then u will feel better
thanks icon_rolleyes.gif
gannicholas
post Jul 7 2012, 10:08 AM

655 posts

QUOTE(norizan @ Jul 7 2012, 09:16 AM)
plseas use ice only for sore calf or muscle...it was advise by m'sia no 1 marathoner....using deep heat will burn ur muscle.... icon_rolleyes.gif
Woops... i've been constantly applying deepheat every one hour sweat.gif sweat.gif
gannicholas
post Jul 8 2012, 10:46 AM

655 posts

My first run tongue.gif
Calves wasnt aching, thank God! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by gannicholas: Jul 8 2012, 10:46 AM
gannicholas
post Jul 8 2012, 12:01 PM

655 posts

QUOTE(fastreader @ Jul 8 2012, 11:21 AM)
congrats 2u!!!! hopefully u will get addicted to running~~~ rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  thumbup.gif
QUOTE(90Boyz @ Jul 8 2012, 11:06 AM)
well done ...  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
QUOTE(dude1218 @ Jul 8 2012, 11:53 AM)
Good job bro...keep it up
Thanks guys!Appreciate your support!

Added on July 8, 2012, 12:03 pm
QUOTE(Buffalo Soldier @ Jul 8 2012, 11:50 AM)
Any barefoot runners in here? I'm quite new to barefoot running (baru 6-7 months) and looking for other barefoot runners to share/exchange experience and knowledge.

I guess I should share first. I used to be overweight. My height is 172cm. End of 2010 my weight was 94kg. I practically didn't give a damn about my health. I lack sleep, smoke heavily, eat anything and anytime i want and zero exercise.

But the death of my two uncles opened my eyes. They died before reaching the age of 50. And my lifestyle is about the same with them... makan anything. I said to myself, "I can't follow this same path".

So starting in February 2011 I started with slow jog. Even before reaching 500 meters I sudah mengenah macam nak mati. But luckily my wife, parents n friends give a lot of encouragement. So I just keep on my slow jog and healthy eating.

Cut story short, I ran the SCKLM 10KM in 2011... I finish in 1h 17m. And very happy with myself. Since then I try to consistently jog two or three times a week. But my feet, knees n hips sometimes sakit. And I have to rest for a week before I continue with my routine.

Then my friend kasi pinjam his book "Born To Run". After reading the book, I said "what the heck, cuba je lah". I took me 3 months to adapt. I started with 500m and now I ran 3-4km barefoot. And pain free smile.gif

But all this barefoot running is in the Bukit Kiara jogging park. Even though its tarmac, I can ran without worrying about glass, nails and etc.

So far i tak berani run barefoot on the real open road or any organized marathon. Looking forward to hear from other barefoot runners who have done so. How's your experience running barefoot on the open road? Is it safe enough to run 100% bare or need to wear VFF?

Regards,
Budak Baru Belajar.

P/S Sorry for the mix of BM and English.
I'm not a runner but i saw lots of barefoot runner at McDonald's Olympic Run just now smile.gif

This post has been edited by gannicholas: Jul 8 2012, 12:03 PM
gannicholas
post Aug 6 2012, 11:15 AM

655 posts

Nike We Run KL 2012!
Organizer PMed Taylor's University Students

Date : 13th October 2012
Time : 5.30pm (reach before 5.30)
Race distance : 10km (must be completed in 2 hours)
Starting Point: Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur
End point: Dataran Merdeka, Kuala Lumpur
Race owner : Nike
Price : RM35 per student
Jersey : 2 jerseys (1 when you start the run and the 2nd is when you complete the run)
Category : College and Uni Challenge
Registration ends on 18th of August 2012.

Asked for proof, this is what we got
hmm.gif

0.0414sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 11:55 AM