4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Fitness The Runners Thread V5, RUNINSPIRED !!!

Sky.Live
post Jul 14 2012, 12:14 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(zerigemok @ Jul 14 2012, 05:32 AM)
Anyone ever done a standardized beep test? The 20m one. If yes, what level did you reach and how fast are you on a 10k race (so that i can get a rough idea how i'll do)?

I have a beep test coming up and i most probably need to reach level 12 :S I don't think i can do that with my current fitness level. How to best train for it?
how come u need to do beep test? haha hardly seen anyone who did it b4
Sky.Live
post Jul 15 2012, 09:02 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ Jul 15 2012, 08:47 PM)
Seremban hills are not joke ...
haha.. i was having the impression it's a flat course
Sky.Live
post Jul 15 2012, 10:39 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ Jul 15 2012, 09:30 PM)
haha .. raining all the way till the last 8km and sun came out ..
wets you than roast you, taste yummy after that
Sky.Live
post Jul 18 2012, 09:35 AM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(yewkhuay @ Jul 18 2012, 09:31 AM)
this sat LSD. AMmah hill
This sat long sleep, at your own sweet bed =)
Sky.Live
post Jul 18 2012, 11:43 AM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(norizan @ Jul 18 2012, 11:33 AM)
i dont receive ur pm

Added on July 18, 2012, 11:34 am

got la...very small like name card....check ur inside racekit goodies beg
I heard my friend from 10k category dont get it
Sky.Live
post Jul 18 2012, 02:42 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(dude1218 @ Jul 18 2012, 02:16 PM)
hard?? not so hard, last year MH 200only smile.gif
i rank 1010 haha
Sky.Live
post Jul 19 2012, 04:35 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(zzzhhhzzz @ Jul 19 2012, 11:29 AM)
hi guys.. any nice race in august and september ? I have nothing in line till BSN Night race in October sad.gif ... and didnt manage to register for AKOTR T___T ... any suggestion ?
September - KOTR tak sempat?

then join me for this

http://www.themarathonshop.com.my/events/jungle-run-2012/

August is raya + puasa, no event unless u go overseas.

Take it as a break la. training or rest up to you.
I realised I joined 14 events from January to date.. nowonder feeling a bit tired now
Sky.Live
post Jul 23 2012, 12:27 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Jul 23 2012, 11:09 AM)
technique of running to run faster? or to run longer as your long term sustainable goal?

Sprinting no need to learn, just all out. best if you able to stimulate a fiece dog is chasing you behind, you're naturally will turn into best sprinting form you ever can discover yourself.

it's will automatic come to you without realising. but you wont able to learn ur self concious-ness sprinting technique as you're in panic chasing by dog...

Guess, when small, you never play "police catch thief" games right...  laugh.gif
Mother / teacher holding cane and catch me works better, number of cane mark on my skin determine if my running has improved

Added on July 23, 2012, 12:28 pm
QUOTE(dude1218 @ Jul 23 2012, 11:33 AM)
1)Rm65 for me quite ok, now days 1 race aldy cost us rm50+
2)mostly we do LSD at puchong kinrara, cause alot hill, wider road, alot trees...
3)Slowly increase the mileage, always listen to your body...if not it will lead u to injury (true story)
4)Last time i using Micoach, quite nice...but i keep running in same place and i aldy know the distance. So i dint use it anymore...just use my normal digital watch to count my time and my memories  to measure my distance, pace and speed, By the way this will help keep my mind fresh all the way smile.gif

Added on July 23, 2012, 11:42 am
How to run n running technique??
i think every1 know how to run when 2-3yrs old...
by the way when i start my long distance running, im a heelstriker that most people running in this style, but it will damage your shoes faster and it might cost injury to your knee. (what is heelstiker?? GOOGLE IT)
After that i hear alot runner said midfoot running, so i use google and youtube, found a video bout midfoot running, slowly i learn from youtube...and keep practicing till today and i still practicing to make it perfect biggrin.gif
Bout sprinting, guess every1 know how to sprint...cause we learn it during 2-3yrs old too
Sprinting is bout how many energy u can put down and how much breath u had...
same as above practice make perfect  biggrin.gif
heel strike and fore foot strike alternate will prolong the shoe life more ? hahahaha

after heel worn off switch to fore or vice versa

This post has been edited by Sky.Live: Jul 23 2012, 12:28 PM
Sky.Live
post Jul 23 2012, 04:54 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(joonming @ Jul 23 2012, 04:32 PM)
isn't the li-ning advertisement in this page, the sport person demo what is heel strike?
correct me if i'm wrong, newbies here just start now how to run tongue.gif
Yes that's a perfect heel striking movement. I cant do that also..

Dogs I would need to admit hospital a few times b4 i can outrun him
Sky.Live
post Jul 24 2012, 11:36 AM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(Amika @ Jul 24 2012, 09:36 AM)
well, i think most beginner will have this problem, it's just second nature.. if you think like this is how normally people will walk that is they will land on their heel first..
Hmm heel strike is actually not a nature. Have you seen small babies who heel strike. Forefoot is actually the nature of how we run.

learn from small babies, look at how they breath. All the way til diaphragm, what you put your hand on their tummy, it's moving up and down.

Look at them how they run, always forefoot and so naturally.

Look at how they fall, they would climb up and run again.

can you forefoot walk? I tried many ways it's not really possible..
Sky.Live
post Jul 24 2012, 11:46 AM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(ChipZ @ Jul 24 2012, 11:45 AM)
I have been running for quite a number of races and only know I've noticed I heel-strike and also overstride, but I guess I'm already used to this running pattern. Should I just let it be?
no harm learning to run forefoot, although it can be very frustrating cause you will need to slow down..
Sky.Live
post Jul 24 2012, 12:34 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

Is the cushion shoe that promote your to land on your heel, coz it feels good =)
Sky.Live
post Jul 24 2012, 01:37 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(ChipZ @ Jul 24 2012, 12:35 PM)
SO you like judging someone based on their question. I wonder how on the earth can you know that I am 'new' to running when I personally do not really know you. You must have a heck of the brilliant mind-reading power any human would ever possessed.

Dude, I'm just asking for opinion, there is seriously no need for you to use the word silly here. I guess we need to propose to the moderator to impose some STRICT guidelines that disallow people from posting SILLY question here, with the definition of SILLY provided by you, that is.
no la dont take it personally, he simply means:
enjoy your running, worry less
Sky.Live
post Jul 24 2012, 04:00 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(dwk2112 @ Jul 24 2012, 02:37 PM)
Ok...long time din post here...

The topic about Forefoot vs Heel strike is never ending. Though there is no distinct correct way of running, forefoot does reduce the risk of injury.

When i start as a newbie, i have no idea that there is so much science and method in running. Its like we are born to eat...u do not know how to chew food....But having say that, it is something that we need to relearn and learn again.

When i was heel striking due to my pose or shoe, i got several injuries and started looking into forefoot running. Do some research. There are pose running, chi running etc that teach people the right way to run. And yes, it is un-natural at the beginning and it take a lot of conscious awareness whenever you running. How i did it was to run on treadmill cause the speed is consistent and i start with slow speed running for 1 hour...noticing how i land my feet, bending my knee, adjusting my gait...till i feel the pose and get comfortable with it.

And Tenno is right, when you run a marathon, towards the end, its getting very difficult to maintain the pose and you may be running on heel. Your forefoot will be so sore and your body will change the pose and your mind is tired to force yourself to maintain it.

My 2 cent
I think sometimes heelstrike is not a bad thing. I wear VFF heelstrike is not really an option. During my marathon somehow repetitively striking the muscle lands me having very painful ankle after the race. Took me a week to recover and on my next run which is only 5km it comes back again.

Sky.Live
post Jul 25 2012, 08:36 AM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

newton having heavily padded mid foot soles haha..
Sky.Live
post Jul 25 2012, 03:21 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(zzzhhhzzz @ Jul 25 2012, 03:03 PM)
Hi guys.. wanna ask the sifus out there.. how do u all keep urself hydrated during ur LSD training ? If you are going to train for 3 hrs.. do u carry water with you ?
bring money
bring botol
bring hydration pack
Sky.Live
post Jul 25 2012, 05:06 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(joonming @ Jul 25 2012, 03:37 PM)
KLCC park got water drink.
u wanna run 20km in that loop? @@""

Added on July 25, 2012, 5:06 pm
QUOTE(black_howling @ Jul 25 2012, 04:36 PM)
Wah....such a long debate on how to run and how to fall and how to land....
Well if you are looking for competitive running then you might need to hire a coach for that.

Here we run cause we love running. We run for fun and the advise should be on how to look after yourself while running. Not create a debate on other matters. Information that we have here is all shared information based on experience and advise.

I myself dont post much messages but then reading from what the rest post and etc, teaches me how to run well.
Running is something you need to enjoy. if you are to strict and rigid on how you are going to take ur next step and how you going to land and etc, then you will for sure stress yourself up.

Chill...relax and enjoy the run...ur body will know how to adjust itself as you run.
AND make sure u get proper shoes too. LOL!!
dont forget IC ya....suddenly u pengsan no ID to identify u.  thumbup.gif
no need identified la.. just burn and put my ask to river klang

This post has been edited by Sky.Live: Jul 25 2012, 05:06 PM
Sky.Live
post Jul 26 2012, 10:17 AM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(mimi89 @ Jul 26 2012, 09:55 AM)
how often u guys change the running shoe?

i bought my nike dual fusion this year January at royal sport house. 25 weeks till now..run around 35-40km / week,sometimes may up to 50+km,  875-1000km total mileage, should i change my shoe ?
That's the first time i ever heard a nike that can last that long.. you sounds like a season runner for that kind of consistent mileage.

my shoe has only run like 400km+ since january and it has been worn out, probably something to do with my heavy weigth
Sky.Live
post Jul 26 2012, 11:09 AM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(mimi89 @ Jul 26 2012, 10:25 AM)
is it considered long ? half year saja wor...

around 3- 5 times/week, 8km - 13km/time, btw even sick i also got run, my weight is 60kg with 168cm height

thinking of what shoe should i get next hmm.gif
I would say, go to all the shop, test as many as you want (thick face a bit), then buy the one you feel comfortable..
Sky.Live
post Jul 26 2012, 11:52 AM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(yewkhuay @ Jul 26 2012, 11:33 AM)
bcoz u terror ma.....biggrin.gif
I was reading your signature then I wonder how come you never bring all your pro cameras only to realise these are wishlist, haha.

Have you gotten any of them?

On the note of New Balance MR00
I really like the shoe, I have been running in Vibram Five Fingers Exclusively for sometime, but the shoe is difficult to get in Malaysia and it's expensive. Therefore I am giving this shoe a try.

initially thought:
this shoe is damn light, something not even my VFF KSO can be compared (one of the lighest VFF after SeeYa I believe).

1st Run:
First day I have a 800m warm up + 3x800m, recovering from Blisters got in my shape run, I vow to take them easy.
It feels odd to my arch because this shoe is not mean for flat footer like me I think.

2nd Run:
I joined the Athlete's Circle training circuit in front of Amcorp mall, we did some speed work on that day. Din really run fast because my dinner is too heavy and I still feel bloated from the dinner. Did around 3x650m for warm up follow buy 3x800m with recovery jog in between. I am wearing it sockless this time to test the line seaming in the shoe.

The shoe feels good, I am able to run a good foam just that minor complain. I wish the shoe base is a little big bigger. Well that's me personally since my arch is quite flat and it actually gave me a small blister near my arch which never occurs in my other run.

Will run more to find out more about this shoe

This post has been edited by Sky.Live: Jul 26 2012, 12:17 PM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0432sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:25 AM