Streamyx Help me - Applying 4 Streamyx, Need help from experienced ppl ...
TScoolguy_mahen
Jan 14 2006, 10:01 PM, updated 20y ago

Hi, I want to apply for Streamyx. Ii's available in my place, (sp,kedah). The holiday promotion(extra 28 hrs for RM44 package) has just passed. I just missed it. Pls help me with the following questions.
1.Anyway, do u have any idea when will there be another promotion ?
2.And how much speed will i be getting (for p2p,btorrent n normal webpage) for the 512kbps and the 1mbps?
3.I think i will get the Aztech 206U ADSL USB Modem. It's the basic one, only RM95. How is the modem? Anyone using it?
Thoose who have answers to the questions above,pls post. Thanks(very much) in advance............
imr4n
Jan 14 2006, 10:05 PM

Torrenting for 512kb At the max usually downloading around 60kB only
prasys
Jan 14 2006, 10:07 PM
Heros Never Die
1.Anyway, do u have any idea when will there be another promotion ?
...Not sure
2.And how much speed will i be getting (for p2p,btorrent n normal webpage) for the 512kbps and the 1mbps?
Well , in "Real life" speeds..It could be anywhere from 0Kb/s - up to 53Kb/s (for 512Kbps) and as for 1Mbps , it could be anywhere from 0Kb/s to 115Kb/s . So it depends , on many factors...There is no exact way of telling this. If both your sNr (for up and down) is really bad , then you might never know what kind of problems you might face (packet drops , disconnections , slower speeds)
3.I think i will get the Aztech 206U ADSL USB Modem. It's the basic one, only RM95. How is the modem? Anyone using it?
Better get a Ethernet Modem if possible. USB Modem tends to "suck" up CPU Usages a lot
soul_project
Jan 15 2006, 12:02 AM
512k user here .. at most 55kb/s
other questions can't reali help out sorry
freako
Jan 15 2006, 12:24 PM
heh... abt the question on the speed package.. wuds do u really do on the net?
BT , DL big files? or juz gaming and chat.. bla bla bla..
if its juz gaming.. u wont need 1mbps.. if u dl alot .. go for 1mbps..
soul_project
Jan 15 2006, 10:26 PM
y gaming no need 1mbps ? online game ma ..
milfordyg
Jan 16 2006, 12:31 AM
online games doesn't consume alotz of bandwidth, but 3~5kB/s.
milfordyg
Jan 16 2006, 12:35 AM
when u ask for tm's promotion, i can say TM's birthday, and independence day.
soul_project
Jan 16 2006, 01:03 AM
QUOTE(milfordyg @ Jan 16 2006, 12:31 AM) online games doesn't consume alotz of bandwidth, but 3~5kB/s. depends online game ma not meh ? BF2 3~5 kb/s meh ..