~~~*** GUINEA PIGS CORNER V9 ***~~~, The Wheekangers Unite!

sianghung
post Mar 19 2013, 01:01 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(gn9746203 @ Mar 18 2013, 01:44 PM)
anyone know where can I find guinea around subang area ? desperate to get one/two sad.gif
those from petshop are usually not healthy at all.. i suggest u take a look at adoption thread http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/443156

sianghung
post Mar 19 2013, 02:29 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(gn9746203 @ Mar 19 2013, 01:57 PM)
too bad i read ur post late, i just bought two from the pet shop yesterday. i went through the adoption page and i should really go there first but i do not know there is such thread exist sad.gif
which pet shop u buy them from?? maybe u can post some pic of them to let people here have a look at them @@ or bring them to vet for body check.. i bring mine to vet once in a while too, oni RM15/pig biggrin.gif cheap enough..

This post has been edited by sianghung: Mar 19 2013, 02:30 PM
sianghung
post Mar 19 2013, 05:56 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(gn9746203 @ Mar 19 2013, 04:04 PM)
i bought mine from the pet family ss24 taman megah ~ is that shop fine ?
aww.. i saw their gp in pets fair last year in midvalley, terribly infected by mites, they put too many gp babies together in a small dirty cage sad.gif i got 1 of mine from there too last year, also infected by mites but my sister like her look too much so we bought her and send her to vet. now fully recover d biggrin.gif

hope urs isn't infected lor.. if they scratch too much then u should be careful d..

sianghung
post Mar 19 2013, 10:56 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(gn9746203 @ Mar 19 2013, 09:57 PM)
i think mine is fine  smile.gif  my issue now is when i try to play with them they just give me the sound "MUM I AM GOING TO DIE"  doh.gif
what should i do to bond with them ? cry.gif
better let them get used to the environment 1st before playing with them @@ i think 1st page got the guide on how to take care of them..
sianghung
post Mar 25 2013, 09:23 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(gn9746203 @ Mar 24 2013, 11:14 PM)
I am still new so have to learn moreĀ  tongue.gif
I realized one of my pig is very picky ... she only want to eat fresh food and ignore the pellet in the bowl
one more thing they will suddenly run like crazy ... why ? how to check for mites ?
mites are too small to be noticed by us.. but u can check their butt, forehead and ears, usually mites will feed on their ears and forehead, if u see closely sometimes u will notice some black or brown dots on their fur..

if really seriously infected, their fur will drop, leaving the infected area empty, then u should really go to vet immediately

using hay as bedding is common practice in those western country but seldom have ppl do it in msia i guess (our hay is not cheap tongue.gif ) coz u have to change those hay everyday otherwise those dirty hay will carry some germs tat might make ur gp sick..

This post has been edited by sianghung: Mar 25 2013, 09:25 AM
sianghung
post Mar 26 2013, 03:55 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(tiffanychan88 @ Mar 26 2013, 02:14 PM)
hi everyone! i'm new here...
thinking of having a guinea pig as a pet...
currently doing research and reading about gp to prepare myself.
i have a few questions though, i've tried asking in petshops but i'm not very satisfied with the answer given.

1. how much pellets should i give a gp a day? izzit ok to feed pellets in the morning and fruits/vege in the evening?
I refill whenever their bow is empty =X vege everynite (but sometimes finished d then dint feed them)

2. i've seen petshops selling the metal ball thingy to put hay inside (for rabbits), can i use that for gp as well?
u can use anything to hold the hay as long as they can eat it, the metal ball is not bad, was thinking to buy 1 too..

3. can i toilet train my gp, as in only poo poo and pee pee at a certain corner in their cage?
i tried to train them too but at the end gave up coz i upgraded their cage (see picture below)

4. about how much do i need to have a gp (comfortably) for the cage, bedding, toys, food, etc?
i make the cage myself, spent about RM50, could not rmb the exact amount.. feeding them Oxbow (RM50++)/1 n 1/2 month, hay about 1kg/month (RM10 - buy from dealer), vege just few ringgits and can eat for whole week. u can diy some toys for them too like making tunnels using water bottle, etc. My advice is dun waste $$ on running wheels.

bring them to vets for body check once in a while, each gp rm15  smile.gif

5. any other advice for a new gp owner?
they are easy to maintain and cute to have =)
sianghung
post Apr 8 2013, 09:15 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(BoobiTrap @ Apr 7 2013, 08:56 PM)
Allow me to introduce my 4 new piggies. They are a family, 1 father and 3 sons.
[attachmentid=3381702]
This is "Poppy", the father. He is very gentle.
[attachmentid=3381705]
This is "Chum". Very active and always looking for food.
[attachmentid=3381706]
This is "Sweet P". He is really shy.
[attachmentid=3381707]
This is "Mocha". He has the coffee, milk, and chocolate. Just the way I like it. This 1 is a biter, better watch out!
[attachmentid=3381708]
This is their cage. It's not very fancy and still under construction. I'm thinking of building 2 watch towers for them!
ur cage is so nice drool.gif drool.gif
sianghung
post Apr 10 2013, 03:19 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(sontuc @ Apr 9 2013, 04:21 PM)
Hi everyone.

Anybody knows what are the black dots on the fur?

Is it lice, mites or fleas?

Any idea how to self treat, or must send to vet?
those are fleas eggs if im not wrong.. better bring to vet
sianghung
post Apr 17 2013, 09:57 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(saddient @ Apr 17 2013, 03:25 AM)
my one month old guinea pig had mites everywhere on his body.... how did you guys get rid of them ? read from the articles that bring my guinea pig to vet for the injection of advantages cat something bla bla bla.... is this the only way to solve this matter or there is another solution ?
advantage is put behind the neck but the dosage nid to calculate correctly, else might kill ur gp if put too much ohmy.gif

i tried advantage but dint really work out so i bring mine to vet.. 3 or 4 injections then everything solved biggrin.gif and each injection is less than rm50, ady 1 year ago so cant rmb clearly sweat.gif but my gp are free from mites n fleas since then thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
sianghung
post Apr 18 2013, 09:25 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(saddient @ Apr 18 2013, 03:23 AM)
ever everyday u keep refill the hay ? no mites and fleas at all ?

and the advantage thingy how much ? is it a powder ? where can i get it ?
hay should be unlimited..

mine infected by mites n flea when they are still in pet shop, after bringing them to vet, till now no more mites n flea biggrin.gif

advantage is around rm50, couldn't rmb already.. its in liquid form, have to calculate the dosage base on ur gp's weight, use syringe to get the exact amount and apply it behind their neck..

if it is skin burrowing mites, the Advantage cat will not work.
it can only work on fur mites, lice and fleas.
above was the reply from dr. jenny when i told her my gp has mites, so i think its still better to bring them to vet instead of trying to treat them ourselves :hmm
sianghung
post Apr 19 2013, 03:29 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(yahiko @ Apr 19 2013, 02:23 PM)
ya.. the cat advantage i using 1 bottle can use 3 time ( 1 time in 1 month)...
i no dare bring him go injection la  sweat.gif
mine is fur mite

.. lice i settle with delto mix with warm water bath (everyday bath until the lice is gone.. almost 2 week).. got the lice when i brought him from breeder as well ..
i 0 confident coz sked overdose + cant wait to see the result so bring to vet lor, and tat time my gps' ears gt scar like tat, after seeing dr jenny she said those are wound from mites coz mites like to eat their ears ><

injection is quite painful for them though, but no choice coz have to kill those mites fast.. at the end the vet dint let me down biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

sianghung
post Apr 19 2013, 06:01 PM

25 posts

true also, most vet only treat dogs and cats sweat.gif

luckily KL got a few that take small pet biggrin.gif
sianghung
post Apr 20 2013, 06:45 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(saddient @ Apr 20 2013, 12:53 AM)
how much it cost ? how old that u bring to your gp to vet ? just checked mine nearly one month old only.. still young

btw how to differentiate between lice and mites ..... i meant those eggs
1st time i go is around 100 - 150 for 2 gps, the price include pills, vaccinate and shampoo to kill remaining mites, im not sure about the price already.. they are both 2 months old that time, still, its better to ask the vet what kind of treatment is better for them =X

i think u cant really see mites coz they are too small to be seen by naked eye.. those eggs should be lice or flea i guess..

0.0403sec    0.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:17 AM