~~~*** GUINEA PIGS CORNER V9 ***~~~, The Wheekangers Unite!

TobbyChan
post Aug 25 2014, 04:38 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(jimmycth @ Aug 25 2014, 11:28 AM)
Hi all, does anyone know where I can get a Guinea Pig neutered in KL? Thanks.
Hand N Paws
C-17g Jalan PJU 1/45, Petaling Jaya
03-7804 6539

I spayed both my female there. Dr Jenny is a great vet.
TobbyChan
post Oct 29 2014, 09:50 AM

119 posts

QUOTE(Piggy101 @ Oct 27 2014, 08:33 PM)
Urgent and need Help!!!
My guinea pig not eating any foods since tis morning..
Wat happen on him? Any suggestion or advice?
Thanks a lot!
[attachmentid=4188969]
Vet immediately. Not eating means it serious.
Is the chin area watery?

The first I could think of is the teeth have grown and it is very hard for him to chew the food.
Need vet to trim the teeth.
TobbyChan
post Nov 6 2014, 05:55 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(carmenyta @ Nov 5 2014, 02:18 PM)
hi! sorry i need to post this question again.

can anyone recommend a boarding house/hotel for guinea pigs?
quite desperate need to make early bookings.

or if anyone willing to help me babysit my babies? i am willing to pay.
hmm where are you from? location?
TobbyChan
post Nov 13 2014, 06:03 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(carmenyta @ Nov 6 2014, 09:27 PM)
in puchong.
Sorry, I normally send mind to one boarding place in Selayang. That is quite far from your place.

QUOTE(huiyin_hsu @ Nov 10 2014, 11:43 PM)
Hi guys. Just wanna ask i have two guinea pigs n they seem to have black spots on their fur all over their bodies. How do i treat this? The spots doesnt seem to be moving and they dont seem too bothered about it. Never noticed the, scratching n stuff when i take them out for playtime.

Could you please advise? I would upload a pic of them perhaps tomorrow when i get on my phone sad.gif i have not tried bathing them so im not sure if it would help? I clean their c&c cage once a week, their toilet once in two to three days and sweep up their poo daily sad.gif not sure whats wrong with them cry.gif  cry.gif

if i need to take them to the vet which vet would you recommend? Dr jenny or dr yeoh? I have not seen any recent reviews on them so im not sure if they are still practicing? If you have recently been there, could i have their numbers so that i can set up an appointment to bring my piggies there?

Thank you so much in advanced! biggrin.gif
Maybe mites. Try to bath them with vinegar + water. 1 part vinegar 2 part water and see if the black dot disappear or not.
Its good to have your gp checked up once in a while. Both Dr.Jenny and Dr Yeoh still practicing.
Make sure you do an appointment first if you want to meet Dr Jenny. She always got a tight schedule. Both are good vets though smile.gif
TobbyChan
post Nov 19 2014, 06:52 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(huiyin_hsu @ Nov 14 2014, 12:19 AM)
Hey tobby! Thank you for your reply. I have just actually gave them a warm bath with baby shampoo and soaked them in vinegar and water. The dots definitely has lessend but still there. Do you have any idea where dr jenny is practicing at? I saw in another post that shes no longer in hands and paws. If you could give me the contact number to reach her i would be very grateful. Thanks once again tobby! smile.gif
She is still at hand and paws. try called them asking for her email details. smile.gif
TobbyChan
post Dec 22 2014, 10:42 AM

119 posts

QUOTE(Thalmes @ Dec 15 2014, 12:15 AM)
Hi all,

May I know how do you clean your GP?

I have recently gotten myself a hairless guinea pig and I think a weekly clean is essential to maintain cleanliness (avoid parasites or sickness)

He is a lot more active and friendly compared to day 1 but it still is quite hard to actually carry him and him not running around due to fear.

I purchased GP shampoo but it is quite hard to handle the GP as he is still very shy. Pet shop is recommending me like a powder wipe where I will just wipe the powder on him and wipe him clean.

So may I know what brand powder are you using and where did you get them?

Thanks!
here you go..got some reading you need to do smile.gif
http://www.guinealynx.info/records/viewtopic.php?t=43

TobbyChan
post Jan 14 2015, 10:12 AM

119 posts

QUOTE(kaai @ Jan 10 2015, 10:37 AM)
hi. new GP owner here. would like to hear few comment regarding ;

i) is it okay if i feed my GP with carrot only everyday?
ii)i saw a rough/hard/dry skin near my GP eye. is it serious?
iii)i saw a bit hair hair loss too. should i be worried or its normal for GP?

Many Thanks

i) Nope - They need to have variety of vegetables and fruits occasionally. High Vit C veges such bell peppers, spinach is recommended. To tell you the truth, I rarely feed my GPs with carrot smile.gif . Hay need to be in their cage 24/7 and for pellet mine I top up twice a day - morning and after back from work.

ii & iii) I always find it is better for us to bring any new GPs, or any pets to the vet for thoroughly checkup. So you will know what you getting yourself into.

QUOTE(shermainelahh @ Jan 11 2015, 01:42 AM)
Hi all,

I intend to get a guinea pig as a pet as my hamster died a few months back and I am feeling lonely without a furry animal T.T

Question is, where will the pigs poop/pee? do they do it amongst their bedding which then I will have to do spot cleaning?

Is it more advisable to get a bottom wired cage (but I'm afraid it might hurt their feet but I read at forums they said its better as the poop will frop to them bottom making it easier to clean ) or a plastic bottom with bedding?

Wired bottom is recommended. You can cover it up with toilet mat on top so it wont hurt their tine little feet.

QUOTE(beer8bottles @ Jan 12 2015, 03:58 PM)
RIP Milo. sad.gif
Sounds like he have overgrown incisor.

This post has been edited by TobbyChan: Jan 14 2015, 10:13 AM
TobbyChan
post Mar 26 2015, 10:17 AM

119 posts

Oxbow user here. Been using Oxbow for more than 5 years now.Tried Genesis before, I found my pigs better with Oxbow. So will going to stick to it smile.gif

QUOTE(shermainelahh @ Mar 19 2015, 06:32 PM)
From what I know, it is true that too much calcium is harmful to adult GPs.. For baby GPs it's ok cause they are still growing.

Oxbow can buy at Pet lovers centre branches, and oxbow is more expensive than genesis. Based on other forums I've read so far best recommended pellet is oxbow la..

And my Gp loves oxbow, finish it most of the time. I guess I'll stick to Oxbow for now cause his fur and stuff all looks good to me (soft and shiny) plus I feed him veggies everyday

Only problem is he hates alfalfa hay , never touch them. So I have to give him Timothy hay only he will eat.

As for the cream, I found it at PLC also called Natural Pet.
How old is your pig? If he is more than 6 month old stick to timothy hay. Alfafa got too much calcium for them.
TobbyChan
post Aug 10 2015, 03:16 PM

119 posts

wow so senyap the thread.

share your piggies picture.

May I know how old is everyone piggy? share please! smile.gif
TobbyChan
post Aug 11 2015, 03:08 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(dewking @ Aug 10 2015, 04:41 PM)
hi, I just got a female gp, she is so adorable.

Any places I can get cheaper bedding?

I just bought the CHIPSI bedding and seriously, it is so dusty compared to paper bedding.
its been a while i use a bedding. I tried Woody Pet and Drypetz before. Both is fine for me.
Nowadays I just use wee wee pad since my cage is a wired C&C cage. Here is how it looks like.

This post has been edited by TobbyChan: Aug 11 2015, 03:11 PM
TobbyChan
post Sep 30 2015, 04:00 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(emino @ Aug 11 2015, 04:26 PM)
I miss rearing GPs. cry.gif
Aww..haha my final 2. not sure if I want to add anymore after this. both my girls is 5 years old this yr. going 6 next year! flex.gif

QUOTE(dewking @ Aug 17 2015, 11:08 AM)
eh, what flooring are you using? looks good so that the droppings can be cleaned easily!
i only layered my bedding with weepad and paper bedding on top
Got it from Daiso. Its rm5 per piece. below I build a chloroplast tray line with wee wee pad. change it every 2-3 days. smile.gif

QUOTE(carmenyta @ Aug 19 2015, 11:26 AM)
ur cage looks so cool! Too bad I live in limited space so I can't make a big C&C cage. sad.gif
where to get wee wee pad? how much do they cost? advisable to put in the normal cage?
the wee wee pad can get from local store. not sure on the normal pricing tho. I use the high end quite expensive sweat.gif
TobbyChan
post Sep 30 2015, 04:02 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(lynalim @ Sep 9 2015, 04:47 PM)
[attachmentid=4924391]

my tommy's cage smile.gif

2 X 4 grid DIY
Nice cage! I use fleece before but its too time consuming for me to change and i found malaysian weather is too humid and it become smelly easily. Unless u change it daily or every 2 days biggrin.gif I am a lazy ass tongue.gif
TobbyChan
post Dec 21 2016, 11:04 AM

119 posts

QUOTE(lawl @ Dec 9 2016, 11:45 AM)
Thanks emino. Will start that. Then the bigger gp seems to be bullying the smaller gp. how to solve things like that ar?
they will do that until reach to agreement who is the dominant. A pair? or same sex?

Its been a while I am here biggrin.gif
I only left with my one and only Ms Toffy - going strong at 6 years old. flex.gif Next year March will be 7 years old.
Eat like a champion! Sleep like a champ too sweat.gif

Hows everyone pigs going?

This post has been edited by TobbyChan: Dec 21 2016, 11:05 AM
TobbyChan
post Dec 21 2016, 11:19 AM

119 posts

QUOTE(emino @ Dec 21 2016, 11:05 AM)
No pets now. Nak bela baru karang mati heartbroken pulak.

How's married life? laugh.gif
Go adopt a pair of white mosaic from Kelvin lah.
oh the heartbroken tu will heal with time. But I am preparing myself for Toffy. Dr Jenny said the time will come. She is super old dah. cry.gif

haha married life so far so good.

TobbyChan
post Dec 21 2016, 12:02 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(emino @ Dec 21 2016, 11:22 AM)
Mana tau after Toffy dapat your very own young one. Hahahaha
haha one day maybe tongue.gif
TobbyChan
post Dec 22 2016, 02:17 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(lawl @ Dec 21 2016, 04:51 PM)
Same sex - Female. I think now they already know who is dominant, the fatter one. =_= Btw, if the fat one is in the box, the other one is not allowed to go in? They don't share house?
Depends on the pig. but mostly nope. they do not share sweat.gif
Mine never share. haha
TobbyChan
post Jan 17 2017, 01:46 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(Felbian5853 @ Jan 13 2017, 05:15 PM)
GUYS HELP....! My pig get ear infection. Anywhere i can get antibiotic for my GP
Go to vet lah.

QUOTE(Joey Christensen @ Jan 16 2017, 09:57 AM)
Five days ago, (as a morning surprise) came another White Crested guinea pig into the family.  laugh.gif Will take pictures and share soon.
Its good to have companion!. mine since very old already vet suggest not to stress her out. so we got a daily tv watching session together every night smile.gif
TobbyChan
post Feb 3 2017, 11:15 AM

119 posts

QUOTE(Joey Christensen @ Jan 17 2017, 02:58 PM)
Noodles (big mama) & Midnight (baby boy)  laugh.gif

wah. crested brows.gif

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0403sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 11:05 AM