RAM Handbook, updating ... zlol 23/12/07
GuyzNexDoor
Mar 3 2007, 10:34 AM
Hi, Need advise here. Can 3GB RAM (2 x 1GB + 2 x 512MB) operate as dual Channel?? My MOBO got 4 slot for RAM. The 1st & 3rd slot in white colour while the 2nd & 4th slot are black. So i put my 2 x 1GB RAM in 1st & 3rd slot and the others 2 x 512MB RAM in 2nd & 4th slot. The problem is when i check using CPU-Z, it doesn't show the RAM currently operate in dual channel mode. The 'Channel' box just blank. What should i do to make it dual?? Thanks
GuyzNexDoor
Mar 10 2007, 12:38 PM
QUOTE(elico @ Mar 4 2007, 06:35 PM) in order to have all 4 RAM run at dual channel, is best u use all identical ram, meaning all 4 slot were using 1gb or 512mb ram, dun cross mix, and same latency, clock speed n brand too. in ur condition, best is u take out ur 2x512mb so that ur 2x1gb could run at dual channel. btw is ur 1gb ram identical to each other?? and of course plug at the same color slot. correct me if I were wrong Thanks... I'll try it later... BTW, what do u think is the best.. 3GB RAM run not in dual channel mode or 2GB RAM run dual channel??? Need advise / opinion here.  Thanks again This post has been edited by GuyzNexDoor: Mar 10 2007, 12:41 PM
GuyzNexDoor
Apr 12 2007, 09:06 PM
Since this is RAM thread and there are many RAM experts out there, mayb i can get some help here. Wanna get 2 x 1GB DDR2 Kingston Value RAM during PC Fair this week, so as far as i know there are different kind of chipset using by Kingston. Could anyone help me to list the code number for other chipsets besides the one i oledi listed below??
Chipset Code Micron D9GKX & D9GMH Hynix FP-Y5 & FP-S5
Thanks a lot.
This post has been edited by GuyzNexDoor: Apr 12 2007, 09:16 PM
GuyzNexDoor
Jul 3 2007, 06:40 PM
QUOTE(karom @ Jun 27 2007, 07:50 PM) It depends on which model that you use. If System 32-bit, it can support only 3.2 GB memory while for AMD 64 bit can support up to 8 GB memory. So, if i'm on OS 32 bit, and i have 4GB RAM, does it means i can't fully utilised the RAM?? Actually, my PC is using 4GB RAM and until now, using device manager, it only stated that my RAM value is 3GB. I thought something wrong with my PC. But, does it possible for the RAM to run dual channel??
GuyzNexDoor
Jul 4 2007, 08:11 AM
QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jul 3 2007, 11:52 PM) Yes. It will still run at dual channel. Your system will run at 4GB. Infact your system will run faster, it's only that windows is not able to recognize ram size is more than 3.5GB.  QUOTE(karom @ Jul 4 2007, 12:45 AM) Yes, I agree with shawty. The overall system (not OS) could detect the 4GB ram but it is the matter of OS only. Ok, thanks a lot. Now, no need to worry anymore...