65 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Bottom

RAM Handbook, updating ... zlol 23/12/07

general_odin
post Feb 5 2008, 12:15 AM

no work, no money
904 posts

QUOTE(hsienming @ Dec 17 2007, 08:15 PM)
just 1 2 ask whether can a mobo that supports 667mhz can it support 800mhz  hyperX ram?
can... but no point...
it will still be running at 667MHz and face some bottlenecking.
performance might be worst that using 667MHz RAM
it also depends on your motherboard....

QUOTE(IceBikers @ Dec 25 2007, 09:39 PM)
My laptop is using sodimm ddr2 533, can i use ddr2 667 instead of 533(533 is very expensive)

if yes, it will run on 533Mhz or 667Mhz ?

thank u
check your laptop using what kind of chipset...
coz it all depends on the chipset used...

QUOTE(iman_210 @ Jan 16 2008, 04:35 PM)
currently what is the best performance ddr2 800 ram under the region of rm350?
i suggest Corsair XMS2 Twin 2X 2048-6400C4 DHX

Added on February 5, 2008, 12:15 ami'm using the 2048-6400C5 DHX

cost less than Rm200...

This post has been edited by general_odin: Feb 5 2008, 12:15 AM
nelienuxe_sara
post Feb 7 2008, 08:32 AM

noob im ur father
2,546 posts

rm350 can get crucial tracer wor
got blink2 if dun want can get ballistix oni

DragonMebius
post Feb 7 2008, 09:51 PM

ZGMF-X20A
1,282 posts

QUOTE(hsienming @ Dec 17 2007, 07:15 PM)
just 1 2 ask whether can a mobo that supports 667mhz can it support 800mhz  hyperX ram?
hmm.gif
I think cannot...
hmm.gif
nelienuxe_sara
post Feb 8 2008, 07:10 AM

noob im ur father
2,546 posts

softmod it...
btw u can ask that in the oc thread
some says that 800mhz mobo can support 1066mhz
actually it depends on the bus on the mobo...
tech_frix
post Feb 16 2008, 08:11 AM

Boo Yah!
5,656 posts

QUOTE(DragonMebius @ Feb 7 2008, 09:51 PM)
hmm.gif
I think cannot...
hmm.gif
can support la but d ram is running @ 667mhz.... doh.gif doh.gif
ir1z
post Feb 20 2008, 12:04 PM

The God of Death
1,629 posts

it will run at the lower speed the mobo allows at......
yujin86
post Feb 24 2008, 09:31 PM

1,737 posts

erm i hav a noob question........
can i mix ram wif two diff DDR Memory Speeds?
like one ram is 466 another is 566?
Rowan23
post Feb 25 2008, 08:28 PM

432 posts

sorry abt this too, i'm new to this as well...but i would like to ask, which RAM is the best for gaming, performance and such...like multi-tasking...currently i'm looking at the TEAM Xtreem which costs abt RM469 for 2GB, but now i see that you guys said others would do, so i would like to cut down on it as low as possible....
bryanyeo87
post Feb 25 2008, 08:32 PM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

QUOTE(Rowan23 @ Feb 25 2008, 08:28 PM)
sorry abt this too, i'm new to this as well...but i would like to ask, which RAM is the best for gaming, performance and such...like multi-tasking...currently i'm looking at the TEAM Xtreem which costs abt RM469 for 2GB, but now i see that you guys said others would do, so i would like to cut down on it as low as possible....
ask your self 3 questions before buying "performance rams"

1) will you overclock (1% increase is still an overclock)
2) what mobo + cpu are you using, and do you overclock them
3) will you overclock in the future

Rowan23
post Feb 25 2008, 09:04 PM

432 posts

i will overclock the RAM yes, MOBO, i'm looking at Gigabyte EP-35-DS3, well that's the recommended for me thru the shop sales person when he was helping me sketching out my new PC...
OC4/3
post Feb 25 2008, 09:48 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(Rowan23 @ Feb 25 2008, 09:04 PM)
i will overclock the RAM yes, MOBO, i'm looking at Gigabyte EP-35-DS3, well that's the recommended for me thru the shop sales person when he was helping me sketching out my new PC...
If overclock then yes.But we are talking about DDR 2 1200++.Handpick Value can go 11xxmhz,some even 1200mhz.Some performance ram can operate DDR 2 1200@Cas 4 so that is where the premium is.

Rowan23
post Feb 25 2008, 10:31 PM

432 posts

so it's good then huh?...
bryanyeo87
post Feb 25 2008, 11:51 PM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

the xtreem's are generally good smile.gif

and just get the normal p35 ds3, you wont use the DES of the EP35DS3 mainly because if you increase the speed by just 1 fsb, the DES is automatically turned off
Rowan23
post Feb 26 2008, 08:10 AM

432 posts

oh...so the MOBO i can change it then huh...heh
Lefty
post Feb 26 2008, 09:19 PM

Designer Piece
750 posts

if currently i using 2gb dual channel kingston hyperX DDRII 800

later can i mix it with OCZ 2gb DDR II 800 reaper as well ?

both have same tming and 800mhz, but chipset diff. can mix ? what is the effect? performance drop ? tq
OC4/3
post Feb 26 2008, 11:31 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(Lefty @ Feb 26 2008, 09:19 PM)

both have same tming  and 800mhz, but chipset diff. can mix ? what is the effect? performance drop ? tq
Can can.No problem one.Speed and timing no guarantee.

Bigblock
post Mar 2 2008, 06:31 PM

|| F(R)έǎжy ||
2,275 posts

both have same tming  and 800mhz, but chipset diff. can mix ? what is the effect? performance drop ? tq
Will work but its better if u use the same chipset if you wanna OC... flex.gif Its like having a car with diff weels mah
cyberfly
post Mar 3 2008, 03:20 PM

Web Dev Zero to Hero
706 posts

Actually it is more hard to oc the ram if you use diff chipset.
Some chipset can go higher frequncies with tight timing and some not.
thats where the problem will come.
fastguy
post Mar 3 2008, 04:11 PM

where can i buy Mushkin performance RAM & how much??
Q2modules
post Mar 6 2008, 11:02 AM

QUOTE(ShinAsuka @ Jan 14 2006, 10:06 AM)
should pin this thread tongue.gif
The UTT as per the statement claimed here is not true.
UTT is untested memory, but it has yield guarantee by the wafer foundry like Samsung, Hynix and etcs.
Normally the guarantee is 80 to 95% from the wafer foundry so that the wafer foundry can save
1. Testing cost and wafer probing cost
2. Wafer probing/testing error is about 2-5%. Means, during the wafer probe, the consistency of the location/pin continously probe at the same tested area has some variable scope. Therefore it will create the lost of 5% of the quantity chips per batch.
Testing error, it happens for the same reason.
3. Time to market issues - the normal cycle of wafer being fabricated out to market, takes at least 3 to 4 weeks and this is subjected to the schedule/avaibility of the production of wafer probe and test
4. Each test under Advantest is very costly. We call it ATE = advance test equipment. for 64pcs test jig or 64pcs test equipment it costs usd5 to 8 millions. And the testing time is very long.

Therefore, for the production scheduling, demand and supply, the factory guys will give the UTT to the memory modules guys such as Kingston, Apacer, Kingmax, Corsair, OCZ, and etcs.

So if the UTT is not good , do you think kingston is good? kingmax? corsair?

q2modulesnews.blogspot.com

Added on March 6, 2008, 11:32 am
QUOTE(TomatomanzSeedlezz @ Feb 15 2006, 02:59 AM)
Good info there.. btw, did i miss anything abt "1-sided / 2-sided" rams?.. does it makes a diffs?... unsure.gif

Cheers smile.gif
Mar 4 2006, 09:50 AM Show posts by this member only | Post #39

Group: Junior Member

Er... 1-sided RAM means that you can only find a number of chips (usually 4 or 8) on a side of the DIMM module but none on the other side. 2-sided RAM means that there are chips on both sides.

For DIMM module, 1-sided RAM means that it'll occupy 1 memory bank on your motherboard's RAM slot, while 2-sided RAM occupy 2 memory banks. However, 1 DIMM module (no matter 1 or 2-sided RAM) uses up 1 RAM slot on your mobo.

The differences between "1-sided / 2-sided" rams are as follow:
1) 1-sided RAM usually has denser capacity compare to 2-sided RAM (eg. 512MB RAM = 64Mx8 on 1-sided RAM = 32Mx16 on 2-sided RAM)
2) 1-sided RAM usually has higher latency compare to 2-sided RAM, due to larger capacity. (Those premium RAM usually comes in 2-sided RAM)
3) 1-sided RAM is harder to manufacture, due to larger capacity
4) 1-sided RAM use up less memory banks on your mobo. Some mobos cannot support 8 memory banks, which means that you can't use 4 2-sided RAM at once.

I guess that's about 1-sided/2-sided RAMs

my comments:

1. normally 1 sided is : for 512MB RAM = 64mx8 with 8 chips, 2 sided will be 32mx8 with 16chips. For notebook memory or graphic card, 32mx16 is used to increase the performance which means 16bits are used rather than 8bits per single clock pulse.
2. not neccessary 1 sided ram has high latency.it depends on the fabrication process, technology, prices + testing cost. All need to factor in before u produce or manufacture
3. not neccesary and not true. But the testing and probing time will be double but doesnot mean it is harder. Yes it is harder for wafer foundry but not the memory manufacturer like kingston or corsair..or anyone.

in fact, looking back at 1 or 2 sided,
if you have 8 chips versus 16chips ..with 1 byte of data out...8 chips will be having more stressful than 16chips. Therefore, when comes to the memory 's heat problems, 8chips has more heating up problems.
Therefore, 16chips is better. But due to the cost factor, 8chips is much easier to assemble coz requires less passive components. Hence factory can earn more.

q2modulesnews.blogspot.com

This post has been edited by Q2modules: Mar 6 2008, 11:32 AM

65 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0196sec    0.12    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:19 AM