Hardware 2012 NEW MacBook Pro | MacBook Air Users Thread, Version 9.0 - 95%/92% score on Gdgt.com!

kevink82
post Sep 14 2012, 09:37 AM

1,134 posts

So how many ppl in this forum who bought the new retina macbook pro actually have image retention problem?

And if i walk into a lowyat plaza shop will they let me test it first? I dont wanna find out later on i got a defective one.....
kevink82
post Sep 14 2012, 10:07 AM

1,134 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ Sep 14 2012, 10:01 AM)
as far as i know, no one has such problem.
you cant test before buying, its standard procedure that you inspect after paying
Ok so after payment if i inspect and got such issue they replace it on the spot like they do in the states? Or am i expecting them to give me excuses and they send for repair for a machines thats turn on for 15 mins.....

I have a bad experiences with an ipod touch before flicker issue on screen after i bought it and check on the spot they wont give me a replacement straight away and the salesperson just keep saying there is no problem with it vmad.gif
kevink82
post Sep 14 2012, 10:54 AM

1,134 posts

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ Sep 14 2012, 10:15 AM)
Mind telling which shop is that? We would glad to know and put it in blacklist laugh.gif
Its call I.T Store they open a new apple retail store here in miri but after the incident i never went to buy another item from that shop and advise all my friend to go another shop.

Also reason im going to KL to buy the macbook pro retina, any recommended shop with good service? I do see a lot of lowyat shop advertising on garage section for cheaper price but no idea if their service is good or not. If i have to pay retail price to get a good one then so be it. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by kevink82: Sep 14 2012, 10:57 AM
kevink82
post Sep 17 2012, 10:14 AM

1,134 posts

QUOTE(Mac Man @ LYF @ Sep 17 2012, 09:49 AM)
Those who plan to use more than 1 year, get the ACPP.

Use as long as it could until major repair needed like changing screen or logic board, by then can consider changing to current model.
How much exactly is apple care for retina macbook? I click the option on the apple site it showed me 1,199 ringgit??..... sweat.gif
kevink82
post Sep 17 2012, 10:55 AM

1,134 posts

QUOTE(limkj @ Sep 17 2012, 10:42 AM)
I think you are looking at MacBook Pro 13"  which starts at USD1199. Retina Display Starts at USD2199 for the 15" from the US Store.

Try looking at http://store.apple.com/my  for the local Apple Store.

Hope that helps
No no i mean apple care warranty if i add it on the apple site it says add 1199 ringgit, is it really that expensive?
kevink82
post Sep 17 2012, 11:36 AM

1,134 posts

QUOTE(beelze_gpwk @ Sep 17 2012, 11:27 AM)
yes. ACPP price goes in line with the price of your gadget purchase...
Quite costly then, i remember when i was oversea buying extended warranty from places like harvey norman or d*** smith for apple product or computers isnt quite as costly and u can max it to 5 yrs.
kevink82
post Sep 17 2012, 11:41 AM

1,134 posts

QUOTE(gailfriz @ Sep 17 2012, 11:37 AM)
Well you can get it for a slightly cheaper price if you buy it from the apple education store.
Actually my friend told me i can just click education and buy it even though im not a student.... but still want to try find a floor unit with a sammy panel to save me future trouble.

The apple care i can buy it on the last day right? like on 364 days after purchase?
kevink82
post Sep 17 2012, 12:11 PM

1,134 posts

QUOTE(Mac Man @ LYF @ Sep 17 2012, 11:54 AM)
Try not to abuse the student pricing benefits, those are for students ONLY.

Last week my friend bought a unit of CTO rMBP, Apple hold the shipment, calls and email were received to ask prove of student card and card detail of purchaser, took one week to verified, then shipment was sent out
I know when i bought my air 11 i paid full price as well, but i dislike malaysia apple policy though. Other country can do return within 14 days and we cant.... thats y ill opt for floor units if any shop have a samsung panel ill buy it even if its a demo unit. biggrin.gif
kevink82
post Sep 18 2012, 10:23 AM

1,134 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ Sep 18 2012, 12:32 AM)
people over at the states is still complaining about image persistence
http://www.macrumors.com/2012/09/17/retina...ge-persistence/
I saw that yesterday, however someone on macrumors call an senior apple staff and they assure him that if the problem become too serious they will replace the screen within warranty still. Its just a hassle for ppl who use it for their main workstation thats all.

I went to try a LG panel retina macbook yesterday and i dont notice any really, but the brightness of the screen is a bit low honestly on LG panels.
kevink82
post Sep 18 2012, 10:51 AM

1,134 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ Sep 18 2012, 10:34 AM)
i never bothered doing any image retention test on mine, used it for 1 month and no problems so i cant be bothered to do test as long as it doesnt bothers me working on my daily tasks.
warranty to replace the screen would take atleast 7-10 days i believe if we do it at AASP
But is ur one LG though?? Maybe u got lucky and get samsung out of the box keke. rclxms.gif
kevink82
post Sep 18 2012, 07:48 PM

1,134 posts

Most of the initial ppl who complain are cad users which happens to have a solid grey background for their program.

Its only really noticeable when the background is solid grey..

Added on September 18, 2012, 7:52 pm
QUOTE(DjKenji @ Sep 18 2012, 05:32 PM)
i prefer buy with local store, we can check on-the-spot and exchange if you don't like the unit until we satisfy.
I doubt any shop will let u change more than 3 on the spot..... If i can change as many until i get the one i wanted then the shop will probably ban me lol. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by kevink82: Sep 18 2012, 07:52 PM
kevink82
post Sep 19 2012, 09:31 AM

1,134 posts

If its mura it should be there all along. Image retention ppl reported it takes 2 months or so to developed and began to be noticeable...
kevink82
post Sep 26 2012, 05:25 PM

1,134 posts

Bought my rmbp, ended up with the 2.6 and 512 ssd version. Performance is generally great however with autocad and opening dwg files is very slow compare to my windows rig with lower spec and it sometimes crashes anyone else having this issue?
kevink82
post Sep 26 2012, 06:15 PM

1,134 posts

QUOTE(cielBleu @ Sep 26 2012, 06:08 PM)
i'm considering purchasing my first macbook... just to experience using diff os...
my usage, not to heavy, just surfing net and some typing.
should i get the retina mbp or just normal one?
Macbook air seems best the weight means u can just bring it anywhere without trouble or feeling tired. biggrin.gif
kevink82
post Sep 26 2012, 11:46 PM

1,134 posts

QUOTE(erymanthus @ Sep 26 2012, 11:39 PM)
Oh, that is worrisome.

I just ordered a MacBook Pro Retina display. Will use Autocad too. From your feedback, looks like it is laggy for Autocad?

Is yours 8GB or 16GB RAM?
mine is 8 gig version, sometimes it just stuck opening my dwg files so i have to forced close it. Im trying a clean install of the os now and c how it goes from there. flex.gif
kevink82
post Sep 27 2012, 11:03 AM

1,134 posts

QUOTE(CPURanger @ Sep 27 2012, 09:31 AM)
Nothing beats Retina MacBook Pro at the moment.

How Windows 8 scaling fails on high-PPI displays
Thats an os fault not much to do with a retina macbook?
kevink82
post Sep 28 2012, 06:53 PM

1,134 posts

QUOTE(ychwang @ Sep 28 2012, 03:12 PM)
agree, because apple is making a very mass production compare to asus, no way Asus can beat apple price.
For now the best ultrabook is zenbook and the rest is really... thick,
Actually the thinnest and popular overseas windows ultrabook atm is the samsung series 9. Anyone here own a Joli Originals Sleeve here?? Wanna ask about the quality.
kevink82
post Oct 1 2012, 02:25 AM

1,134 posts

Problem is even in big cities like hong kong only 2 official genius bar even and according to most individual from the states the geniuses arent that pro at all anyways.....
kevink82
post Oct 1 2012, 09:55 AM

1,134 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Oct 1 2012, 04:29 AM)
My contention isnt whether they're "all that pro anyways", it's about their authority to tell on the spot whether the device is repairable  and/or replaced one-to-one. That is the privilege of having actual physical Apple presence in your country. These shitty third-party AASPs we have here have neither the clout nor authority to decide such decision until they liaise back to the "Mothership". With the Apple Store Geniuses, on the spot decisions can be made straight for replacement if the situation warrants it. Some of us cant be parted with our Macs longer than required in fear of losing productivity. These red tapes and procedures and lack of authority only prolongs the time the Macs being serviced, be separated from its owner longer than it should.
Not really true my friend brought his rmbp to the sydney one cause he have major ir issues with his bto rmbp. He argue for 2 mins with them cause they gave all kind of excuse like if u open and repair it it wont be as good anymore, and they cant really c it and parts are hard to get atm etc etc.

So my friend got fired up, and gave them 2 choices. Refund the money under consumer rights act or fix the thing until he is happy (also under consumer rights act) since it is not wut was advertised.
kevink82
post Oct 2 2012, 03:11 PM

1,134 posts

QUOTE(loisjeans @ Oct 2 2012, 11:42 AM)
thanks for the reply.
I can just bring it to any apple authorized dealer to claim my warranty right?
Standard policy is 3 dead pixels and depends on the area affected. If the dead or stuck pixel is in the middle as far as my experience they will replace.

If they give u excuse just say u r a graphic designer and u can noticed it very clearly. Best to state it wasnt there went u got it and u r worry more will appear later.

0.0292sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 12:55 AM