20 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Hardware 2012 NEW MacBook Pro | MacBook Air Users Thread, Version 9.0 - 95%/92% score on Gdgt.com!

BRY7
post Jun 24 2012, 11:03 PM

Siri: I'm your humble personal assistant
7,924 posts

QUOTE(porkchop @ Jun 24 2012, 10:56 PM)
I have a problem...my macbook is taking forever to shut down, its running the circle moving thing at the bottm...already 2 hours, what should i do?? or more like what can i do? is this mac's way of blue screen??
what OS are you running?
if you're gonna say you updated from SL to Lion directly, that could be the cause
BRY7
post Jun 24 2012, 11:18 PM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(porkchop @ Jun 24 2012, 11:08 PM)
hmmm mine is the MBPR i think should be on Lion already...today is only day 3 using worr
i believe it could be software issue. have you managed to switch it off?
BRY7
post Jun 24 2012, 11:31 PM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(shankar_dass93 @ Jun 24 2012, 11:28 PM)
Just got myself a 15inch mbp and fell in love with it wub.gif

Btw, i tried browsing youtube at Machines and it was fine, after connecting to my internet connection, I'm unable to play any videos from youtube and it comes up with an error message that says unable to view the video. How do i solve this issue ?

Thanks in advance.
you have to install flash, i don't think its preinstalled
BRY7
post Jun 25 2012, 12:01 AM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(shankar_dass93 @ Jun 24 2012, 11:41 PM)
so where do i download it from ? I mean when i used my mbp at machines, youtube worked well.
download from adobe, they surely have installed it on all their demo units
BRY7
post Jun 25 2012, 09:43 PM

7,924 posts

While waiting for my RMBP to arrive, i was wondering whats the best way to transfer my files over.
Time machine? or do it manually?
also worried about iTunes synchronization of my iPhone, don't wish to reset it sad.gif
BRY7
post Jun 25 2012, 10:15 PM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(erymanthus @ Jun 25 2012, 10:13 PM)
After reading Anandtech review, it seems that the 256 Gb SSD is of a different brand compared to the 512GB SSD. Is that right.?

He seems to say the 512 Gb is good. What about the 256 Gb?  In Apple Store website they don't tell us the brand of the SSD, how can we check?

from about this mac, can check manufacturer ID.
but come on, does 10mb/s-20mb/s faster makes a difference?
BRY7
post Jun 25 2012, 11:04 PM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Jun 25 2012, 10:59 PM)
If I were you, I'll transfer my files manually... and since I have the habit of keeping my files on my external drive since my SSD is only 240GB...

as for iTunes, copy the entire damn iTunes library folder to your new rMBP, then prep iTunes to read from that folder...
you mean copy the iTunes folder from my current Mac, then paste it on the same directory of my new Mac?
will i be able to continue synchronization on the new Mac without resetting my iPhone to factory setting?

BRY7
post Jun 26 2012, 12:22 AM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Jun 25 2012, 11:14 PM)
yeah... providing all your media and app contents are within the iTunes folder... iTunes folder is like an ecosystem by itself... Whatever shit you have on your iTunes, it should be organised from within iTunes folder... but if you enjoy double-clicking media files every now and then from other locations, then that I cannot help...

I've been moving my iTunes folder from Snow Leopard to Lion and back and still manage to sync my stuff to my iPod touch without issue... Heck I've even tried copying iTunes folder from Windows-based iTunes into my Mac, also no issues...
i will try out this method, thanks for the idea rclxms.gif

Added on June 26, 2012, 12:25 am
QUOTE(Edoras @ Jun 25 2012, 11:20 PM)
Use Migration Assistant and Time Machine backup. Simplest and hassle free. Not only data, but all your apps and previous settings are maintained.
i used this method previously, what i didn't like about it was it brings the App Store purchases as well.
basically, Time Machine is like a clone.
so theres this one app that has already been uninstalled but it still appears on my "update" section of Mac App Store.
this really annoys me.
and i was thinking of starting fresh, just copy over files that i need.

This post has been edited by BRY7: Jun 26 2012, 12:25 AM
BRY7
post Jun 26 2012, 08:24 PM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(nairud @ Jun 26 2012, 08:20 PM)
LOL

85 load cycles
Current batt capacity 2556
Original batt capacity 5770
you can send to AASP to get your battery replaced if your Mac is still under warranty
BRY7
post Jun 27 2012, 12:16 AM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(SurpriseZZZZZ @ Jun 26 2012, 11:36 PM)
Coconut battery is not updated.
Need to find some others tools to track the battery.
Battery Health Monitor or just get the info from system reports
BRY7
post Jun 27 2012, 06:53 PM

7,924 posts

my preorder at Taylor's Campus store is delayed for 1-2 weeks.
makes me think twice if i should wait for 2 weeks or wait a little longer for a unit that comes preinstalled with Mountain Lion.
what do you guys recon?
hope to get the pro and cons
BRY7
post Jun 27 2012, 09:23 PM

7,924 posts

my preorder at Taylor's Campus store is delayed for 1-2 weeks.
makes me think twice if i should wait for 2 weeks or wait a little longer for a unit that comes preinstalled with Mountain Lion.
what do you guys recon?
hope to get the pro and cons
BRY7
post Jun 28 2012, 10:45 AM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Jun 28 2012, 05:30 AM)
Installed Google Chrome after my Safari became so slow and laggy. Much faster now smile.gif
on RMBP?
BRY7
post Jun 28 2012, 02:34 PM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(THTgadgets.com @ Jun 28 2012, 12:31 PM)
Guys, I'm using the older-version MacBook Pro and am still happy with it, which means I won't be upgrading to the newer one as yet...

I need your advice here with regards to those external hard drives for backup purposes, via the Time Machine... I have used a Western Digital and Seagate, but both crashed later, and cannot be backed up after that... As such, I'll need to claim the warranty for the WD but as an alternative, if I have to buy another new HDD, which are the recommended brands to go for?

I hope the new unit does not cause the same inconvenience as the two earlier ones, when it comes to getting faulty... Thank you for your advice, in advance!
that seems to be your HDD failure, nothing to do with Time Machine.
I'm using Seagate, no problems so far
BRY7
post Jun 28 2012, 09:48 PM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(SurpriseZZZZZ @ Jun 28 2012, 09:33 PM)
MBP spec?

Added on June 28, 2012, 9:34 pmBut regardless of spec, it should be at least 4GB RAM.
Won't freeze that fast, try to check is it any app that eats your ram?

Try "Activity Centre"
"Activity Monitor"
BRY7
post Jun 28 2012, 10:13 PM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(llsphinxll @ Jun 28 2012, 10:01 PM)
6-8months eh? okay den i would consider the iMac. im currently using c2d 15' mbp. its been about 3 years already, and being in the design field i kinda need something more updated to handle the rendering and editing needs. hence im now considering either an iMac or the new mbp. but i think the iMac seems to be the better option as its more  capable. i could use my old mbp den for portability.

you guys agree? hmm.gif
i don't think it would be that long, you should wait till next month's Mountain Lion launch.
they could launch together
Benchmarks already appeared for the next iMac.
BRY7
post Jun 28 2012, 10:47 PM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(dinodog_Jr @ Jun 28 2012, 10:34 PM)
I am having the c2d 15 mbp too. Same age like yours. But i am planning my next mac is going to be mba 11 inch.. Haa.i think it can handle the works i am doing especially video editing. The upgradeable to 8GB RAM is the most hype to see from MBA.

Well, not appropriate for painting works anyway due to screen size which i have to face it everyday.

After these years, MBP is darn heavy whenever i traveling back and forth from hometown..
The "feather" weight and powerful processor on MBA seems to beyond my MBP spec. But the built-in GPU card and Big Screen which makes me think twice to sell off my MBP.

the GPU card is already a few years out-dated but it still can manage most latest games that i interested. So, it don't really becomes an obsolete machine in my daily usage.

From 15inch downgrade to 11inch screen... Hmmm..

Anyone doing this and no regret?

If got a car to carry MBP is perfectly fine.. but by walking... Ewww...
get the MBP with Retina Display, easily last you for 5 years if no damage
BRY7
post Jun 28 2012, 11:05 PM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(dinodog_Jr @ Jun 28 2012, 10:58 PM)
talk bout damage... i got my mbp logic board replaced twice. That's one of the ideas to get rid of something already out of warranty.

Thanks for the retina model recommendation. if last time, my money spent on c2d can get the highest spec of R. model..haha

After these years survey, research and study on apple product....i won't go for their newly release product..

RMBP 15" still heavier than 13" MBA, right?
700gram difference.

BRY7
post Jun 29 2012, 08:03 AM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(FishnChipx @ Jun 29 2012, 07:15 AM)
hi sifu, may i know what is "must have" software which is very usefull for macbook pro? search it in googled but there are almost all outdated 1.. so wonder what do you all master and sifu recommend ? sry cos 1st time use mac sad.gif
Appzapper
MS Office
Clean my mac
VLC
Unrarx
MPlayer X

BRY7
post Jun 29 2012, 08:14 AM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(olivur @ Jun 29 2012, 08:12 AM)
the list is pretty outdated