6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

No qualified ppl even fresh grad RM100k pa., Investment banking is so hard to hire

TSIBank BeanBag
post Jun 15 2012, 06:35 PM, updated 2y ago

619 posts

hey all, i am here to b****.

At first i thought hiring ppl is easy, always tell CF frens, u all sure not serious, always get lousy candidates.

Now i really feel like vomitting blood.

Front office investment banking job, just need 2 real good fresh grad, interview until i pusing...

where r good ppl?

willing to pay also canot find cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

Note: new package is up to 100k cos bonus now up to 36 months

Update: Now hire for transformation office only

This post has been edited by IBank BeanBag: Jul 2 2021, 01:07 AM
TSIBank BeanBag
post Jun 15 2012, 06:38 PM

619 posts

5k i can provide leh, but they must be good enough la... if no skill 1k intern oso i duwan
TSIBank BeanBag
post Jun 15 2012, 06:47 PM

619 posts

they cant get me my super star fresh grad...den i need to keep doing their job... 1 person do 3 persons job...mati aku
TSIBank BeanBag
post Jun 15 2012, 06:59 PM

619 posts

send me your email in PM, i send you the scope. which uni u grad?

Added on June 15, 2012, 7:01 pm
QUOTE(vey99 @ Jun 15 2012, 06:49 PM)
well looks like problem with ur reqs, like many employers.

as a recruiter i do remind some employers that superman, as far as i know, is fictional and they should revisit their requirements, or shell out more money.
Our requirement rather realistic. our package 70k a year oso not bad, manufacturing oso 40k to 50k only

Added on June 15, 2012, 7:31 pmanyone need to communicate with me pls pm me ur email. i cant send PM

This post has been edited by IBank BeanBag: Jun 15 2012, 07:31 PM
TSIBank BeanBag
post Jun 15 2012, 07:57 PM

619 posts

Good degree from ranked foreign university, specialising in economics, accounting, business administration, finance and engineering.

In-depth knowledge of accounting and finance; CFA candidates who have passed at least the CFA level 1 examination are preferred.

Analytical, self-driven, a team player and able to excel under pressure.

Diligent and meticulous. Willing to work up to 70-100 hours / week during peak period.

Excellent interpersonal, communication and writing skills.

Highly proficient in Microsoft Office (Word, Excel and PowerPoint) applications.

Added on June 15, 2012, 7:57 pmranked uni just give u free entry ticket only.... not ranked den bulldoze, gate crash, pitch through

This post has been edited by IBank BeanBag: Jun 15 2012, 07:57 PM
TSIBank BeanBag
post Jun 15 2012, 11:51 PM

619 posts

QUOTE(feynman @ Jun 15 2012, 08:37 PM)
I don't think it would be productive to recruit through lowyat.

Why don't you go through linked-in? I'm sure you can find a bunch of IB job seekers in the KL area. Instead of flooding your inbox with a ton of e-mails, you can instead choose who you want to contact through linked-in.

I know a few fellows in the industry, 2 of them particularly well. They won't settle for RM70k a year. One expects RM20k per month. Another was getting US$7k a month in SG. Both are base figures.
I dun think they r fresh grad. Only cowgate ppl get this pay as fresh grad in malaysia ib
TSIBank BeanBag
post Jun 16 2012, 11:04 AM

619 posts

Forumer quality r not bad.

Just once a while u get ppl who think they r good.
TSIBank BeanBag
post Jun 16 2012, 11:51 AM

619 posts

Depends if they send me cv via LYN or go click job street lor. If click job street, bank h.r. Will filter through.

If u r not great uni, den u need to pitch ur way through
TSIBank BeanBag
post Jun 16 2012, 03:38 PM

619 posts

Sum time can b quite free though...

Last six month no boss I work 50 hours on average for 6 months. Yet, no pay cut. Syok.
TSIBank BeanBag
post Jun 16 2012, 05:52 PM

619 posts

Pm me ur email, I drop u an email n u send ur cv across.
TSIBank BeanBag
post Jun 17 2012, 01:22 AM

619 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jun 17 2012, 12:17 AM)
70k live like a king? dude... 70k u cant even pay off vios ... still king?
Vios spec J can lor. Malaysian IB standard lor. U go cimb b junior cf mayb add 10 to 15k lor.

If u get 100k u sure got 2 yrs bonus le.

Added on June 17, 2012, 1:23 amGood ecm ppl not tat many. Cannot afford to hav wrong person on the team

This post has been edited by IBank BeanBag: Jun 17 2012, 01:23 AM
TSIBank BeanBag
post Jun 17 2012, 02:21 AM

619 posts

Yes. I will consider. So u dun send via jobstreet. U pm me ur email, I drop u a line using official email. U send ur cv through. Den we discuss.

If u r good uni, n grade is good, n can demostrate the quality, we will put u through an assessment centre.
TSIBank BeanBag
post Jun 17 2012, 06:40 PM

619 posts

QUOTE(xplodingbomb @ Jun 17 2012, 02:56 PM)
Wah...rm70k p.a. and can't find people? When I started out doing CF in a big4 I was getting only around rm30k p.a. I'd expect you to get much better talent with your package if for freshies. For experienced hires I'd say 70k is v.low.
Bro, 70k p.a. all in.

Surprisingly not easy to get freshies that are good.

May be can get those they think they are good.

Gone are those days where junior looked at your comments and put through all of them meticulously.

These days just whack 5 in, ignore another 5 out of 10. Vomit blood bro.
TSIBank BeanBag
post Jun 17 2012, 08:14 PM

619 posts

QUOTE(tianlong_2020 @ Jun 17 2012, 07:29 PM)
Hey, I heard that hav to do presentation in the final stage, right??
how many candidate so far in the stage??
Not many. Less than 10. Slowly pick.

Y? wanna try? send me a PM in your email and i drop u an email, which u can reply with ur cv

Added on June 17, 2012, 8:16 pm
QUOTE(EquinoX @ Jun 17 2012, 07:59 PM)

And also, earning 70k p.a. is not much for those with that kind of reqs.
Requirement not that tough. Increment always come faster than you thought.

Not many engineers get those thousand RM increment year after year.

Ask those lady auditors and you know how many of their bf so sore that their pay rise so slow vs their auditor gf.

This post has been edited by IBank BeanBag: Jun 17 2012, 08:16 PM
TSIBank BeanBag
post Jun 18 2012, 05:05 AM

619 posts

No need to convince. Cimb is not adding headcount at ECM, so no opening. Anyone that want to join them can wait till cow come home while doing other job.

U probably can't even get into cimb cf for being fresh grad. Ask cimb MT, how many ppl they filter through.

Less than 10 can also be two, btw.

We dun hurry, as in we smell talent quite accurately. For now, I am worried bout the quality I get.

There r two type of ppl. 1, u r tap to come, I really kEen to explore. 2, I let u try, u dun impress the hell out of me, but manage to justify y I should giv u a chance.

So far not many number 1 type.

Added on June 18, 2012, 5:08 amAnd if u ask standard chartered how they hire international graduate, they will tell u we get few thousand application, we interview 100+ for the first round after screening and essay questions, and showed 20+ to the big boss. He choose 5.

Tat is why stanchart IG is good. Ask sum of the IG around where r they working now. U will know.

This post has been edited by IBank BeanBag: Jun 18 2012, 05:08 AM
TSIBank BeanBag
post Jun 20 2012, 09:52 PM

619 posts

sianz. i will do 16 hours a day too until i get my fresh grads in.

Fresh grads where r u. Big package available
TSIBank BeanBag
post Jun 21 2012, 08:38 PM

619 posts

QUOTE(Gaius B @ Jun 21 2012, 02:36 PM)
Perhaps it is better to review the filtering process.
Maybe, but my boss said,"beanbag, do u noe y i want u to hire superstar? Once u have staff, i wan u to work even more. if u get cap X (cap palang) staff, u will collapse."

Beanbag replied, "yes, boss"

so with this, ECM and CF will launch a management trainee programme with two years direct placement into one of the department.

But if u normally dun study through all your degree, pre U, SPM.... straight lousy results, u have to be impressive in a way or another lor.

if not u ended up wasting time and we can be quite mean. I know 1 lazy guy get 1,500 bonus while other fresh grad get RM20+k.
TSIBank BeanBag
post Jun 21 2012, 10:41 PM

619 posts

QUOTE(Gaius B @ Jun 21 2012, 09:57 PM)
o
Your main focus was on academics, not a question about soft skills. What if your candidate not telling you his/her actual results but seeking on what the interviewer wants? From what I see, your aim is to look for candidate with good academic results, rather than soft skills. Perhaps changing your topic title may help filter out certain candidates and save your time reviewing each candidate one by one.

Through your post knowing that you're busy with long working hours, can understand that maybe you don't have the time to read through the resume and mainly focus in academic results. My humble advice, academic, knowledge can be improved by time, personality is hard to change. Also, don't judge the book by its cover, people may be judging you the other way round.
Normally ppl dun under declare their results when going through IB interview.
every IB will ask ur results. Big or small.

Even if no more ppl queuing outside IB, we dun need to drop standard.
I am a kinder Ibanker around, giving most people a chance to explain why their results are full of BCD along the way. Others wont even look at it at all.
The fact that you are not impressive, it could well mean u r just not ready for my type of IB.

We are not looking for candidate with good academic results. We are looking at hard working ppl, who can learn really fast. Fast learner dun need to be very hard working and can score reasonably well. For most ppl, C are hard to come by.

The real investment banker quality kinda brain, even he go to school and play everyday, chances are they score half A half B. or average B. If you have average C, I seriously doubt u would be able to do investment banking.

TSIBank BeanBag
post Jun 21 2012, 10:59 PM

619 posts

i wish u good luck in your search for IB job.

Dun b too upset, but dun give up.

the again, it is not the end of the world if u dun b ibanker.

I understand being told that u r not good enough can b quite a tough thing to accept, but at least i have filtered through some internal comments i get to not disappoint u.

Thanks for ur wish

-lousy ibanker-
TSIBank BeanBag
post Jun 21 2012, 11:29 PM

619 posts

submission is anytime now, we started reading / vetting resume. selected candidates will join in two batches, mid to late july and mid to late august, tentatively.

Can be via HR or the biz unit ppl like me.

u can PM me for my email and email it to me ur 1-page IB CV with 100 word cover letter (in the email body).

This post has been edited by IBank BeanBag: Jun 21 2012, 11:31 PM

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0304sec    0.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 10:55 AM