27 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Bottom

No qualified ppl even fresh grad RM100k pa., Investment banking is so hard to hire

adam_phantom
post Aug 21 2013, 03:29 AM

15 posts

-deleted

This post has been edited by adam_phantom: Aug 21 2013, 03:31 AM
snai85
post Aug 21 2013, 04:34 AM

My opinion:

i) Don't expect your subordinate can perform job as you do..Some people need to adapt with the environment before they can start to perform

ii) Only foreign Uni graduate? Local grads can't do any job?? I saw a lot of "Foregn Uni" grads unable to perform compared with the local grad. Mostly come-out from their uni with an egoism as a package but unable to perform and always ask question without effort to find answers by themselves.

iii) 70 hours for 5 days a week (14 hours)..is that your minimum working hours? It is totally not worth even you pay them with 5k...as I mention, the new joiners need some time to adapt..but at the same time not to pampered them.

iv) If you do want people to work that hard...why don't you take 2 person and pay them rm2.5k? Atleast if they can work 9 hours (normal working hour) daily, with 2 of them, you can get around 90 hours per week consistently. At the same time don't be too strict on the requirement.

atlantiz0
post Aug 21 2013, 09:54 AM

154 posts

QUOTE(snai85 @ Aug 21 2013, 04:34 AM)
My opinion:

i) Don't expect your subordinate can perform job as you do..Some people need to adapt with the environment before they can start to perform
Don't work in investment bank then. The expectation is that you either have it in you when you join, or you learn darn fast. Hence the stringent selection bro.

ii) Only foreign Uni graduate? Local grads can't do any job?? I saw a lot of "Foregn Uni" grads unable to perform compared with the local grad. Mostly come-out from their uni with an egoism as a package but unable to perform and always ask question without effort to find answers by themselves.
I think it is not an absolute requirement to be foregin grads. I dont think the hiring team cares , given if you can perform well.

iii) 70 hours for 5 days a week (14 hours)..is that your minimum working hours? It is totally not worth even you pay them with 5k...as I mention, the new joiners need some time to adapt..but at the same time not to pampered them.
pretty normal hours I thought - have you heard how long the management consultants need to work?

iv) If you do want people to work that hard...why don't you take 2 person and pay them rm2.5k? Atleast if they can work 9 hours (normal working hour) daily, with 2 of them, you can get around 90 hours per week consistently. At the same time don't be too strict on the requirement.
you mean to say - we can replace one warren buffett with 100 snai85? Dont think so leh.

By the way, read an old article recently on IB/WallSt. "Much of what investment bankers do is socially worthless" ... pretty neatly elaborated
http://www.newyorker.com/reporting/2010/11...fa_fact_cassidy
iceypain
post Aug 21 2013, 10:10 AM

503 posts

My opinion:

lol dude. no one's forcing you to take the job...
hercules899
post Aug 21 2013, 01:39 PM

322 posts

My opinion:

I do agree that overseas graduate might not be better than local graduates in some cases . But why are you saying that asking question without putting the effort to find effort by themselves is a bad thing ? Are you expecting we all keep quiet and just do our work ?

This is the BIGggest difference between 2 graduate , 1 went for overseas and the other one went for local educational system . There is a stark difference there.

Local university student are expected to keep quiet and find the answers themselves ? Then since he/she spends so much time looking for a simple answer which could be solved by asking , he/he gonna be VERY SELFISH TO SHOW OTHERS . It is a vicious circle there .

I am working in a rather small office , where all the fresh are from overseas brand . Some are genuine overseas graduates and some are 4+0 degree holders. I can easily see the difference between people who went through local and western education system . Those who went through genuine overseas university education tend to have to traits of not afraid to ask, proactive, WILLING TO SHARE WITH OTHERS.

While the others are very quiet, selfish , and then when they are being asked, they will answer "you questions by bring you around in the jungle" because you are already posing threat of replacing him/her in their point of view .

This post has been edited by hercules899: Aug 21 2013, 01:46 PM
thelws
post Aug 21 2013, 03:11 PM

291 posts

IBank,

I have an interesting question for you which will undoubtedly put a spin on things.

Are you willing to take people who want to switch careers? I'm referring to myself in particular. I graduated with engineering degree in 2007. Worked in IT networking for Cisco the next 5 years in US and most recently Singapore.

I have been self studying finance and economics with the intention of doing a career switch because I discovered after working in the world for a bit that finance is my ultimate passion. I fit almost all that you are looking for except that I don't have a formal finance background.

Since you don't seem to indicate that you need real working experience (this is an entry level position), are you willing to consider someone who actually has the drive and motivation except that he doesn't have formal backgrounds.

I can say up front that if you ask for a CV, there will be almost nothing of interest to you. Unless you enjoy looking at me explaining my school of hard knock.

I do believe however, that I will fare decently given a face to face interview.

This post has been edited by thelws: Aug 21 2013, 03:35 PM
TSIBank BeanBag
post Aug 22 2013, 01:00 AM

619 posts

QUOTE(thelws @ Aug 21 2013, 03:11 PM)
IBank,

I have an interesting question for you which will undoubtedly put a spin on things.

Are you willing to take people who want to switch careers? I'm referring to myself in particular. I graduated with engineering degree in 2007. Worked in IT networking for Cisco the next 5 years in US and most recently Singapore.

I have been self studying finance and economics with the intention of doing a career switch because I discovered after working in the world for a bit that finance is my ultimate passion. I fit almost all that you are looking for except that I don't have a formal finance background.

Since you don't seem to indicate that you need real working experience (this is an entry level position), are you willing to consider someone who actually has the drive and motivation except that he doesn't have formal backgrounds.

I can say up front that if you ask for a CV, there will be almost nothing of interest to you. Unless you enjoy looking at me explaining my school of hard knock.

I do believe however, that I will fare decently given a face to face interview.
Ya.

PM me your CV still.

We look at engineers. In fact, it is in our ads that we seek engineering grads.

Unfortunately, I have a look blind policy, unless you are qualified for round 3,4 and 5, we likely won't have face to face.

Ah bean needs to work, no time to entertain 100 such requests.

TSIBank BeanBag
post Aug 22 2013, 01:03 AM

619 posts

QUOTE(hercules899 @ Aug 21 2013, 01:39 PM)
I do agree that overseas graduate might not be better than local graduates in some cases . But why are you saying that asking question without putting the effort to find effort by themselves is a bad thing ? Are you expecting we all keep quiet and just do our work ?

This is the BIGggest difference between 2 graduate , 1 went for overseas and the other one went for local educational system . There is a stark difference there.

Local university student are expected to keep quiet and find the answers themselves ? Then since he/she spends so much time looking for a simple answer which could be solved by asking , he/he gonna be VERY SELFISH TO SHOW OTHERS . It is a vicious circle there .

I am working in a rather small office , where all the fresh are from overseas brand . Some are genuine overseas graduates and some are 4+0 degree holders. I can easily see the difference between people who went through local and western education system . Those who went through genuine overseas university education tend to have to traits of not afraid to ask, proactive, WILLING TO SHARE WITH OTHERS.

While the others are very quiet, selfish , and then when they are being asked, they will answer "you questions by bring you around in the jungle" because you are already posing threat of replacing him/her in their point of view .
Selfish your head, talk to my ivy league interns or the 1 from imperial college and you know you are no where near them, doesn't matter which uni u grads.

Your thinking is even backward compared to a lot of non Uni grads.
siew14
post Aug 22 2013, 09:53 AM

845 posts

QUOTE(IBank BeanBag @ Aug 22 2013, 01:03 AM)
Selfish your head, talk to my ivy league interns or the 1 from imperial college and you know you are no where near them, doesn't matter which uni u grads.

Your thinking is even backward compared to a lot of non Uni grads.
can give some example on how they talk? Nvr met ivy league or imperial college people or genious people before..
blush.gif
sendomike
post Aug 22 2013, 10:09 AM

855 posts

QUOTE(siew14 @ Aug 22 2013, 10:53 AM)
can give some example on how they talk? Nvr met ivy league or imperial college people or genious people before..
blush.gif
During my time, my uni (UTP) takes all the best students as PETRONAS scholars. We are "considered" the best of the best..
we are still talking like normal people.

If you really want to see people from ivy league and how they talk, look at some of our politicians, so called Harvard or ivy league graduates doh.gif
Tirek
post Aug 22 2013, 01:53 PM

49 posts

i've been following this thread from the beginning

everytime i read the requirements by mr beanbag, i think become politician is a lot easier than try to become his candidate
fletcherwind
post Aug 22 2013, 02:19 PM

273 posts

I must say that IB recruitment is getting really competitive these days. You'll be seeing CVs that you'll never see in the past in KL. The demand for jobs far exceed supply.

There are too many good graduates out there. At the same time, SG and HK are not hiring like how they used to in the past. So even if you do hold a degree from a top uni in the world, don't assume that a KL IB job is almost a guarantee. 2-3 years ago, that was still the case.
TSIBank BeanBag
post Oct 1 2013, 12:20 AM

619 posts

QUOTE(Tirek @ Aug 22 2013, 01:53 PM)

everytime i read the requirements by mr beanbag, i think become politician is a lot easier than try to become his candidate
Mana ada?

We still continue to speak to candidate.
TSIBank BeanBag
post Oct 1 2013, 12:21 AM

619 posts

QUOTE(fletcherwind @ Aug 22 2013, 02:19 PM)
I must say that IB recruitment is getting really competitive these days. You'll be seeing CVs that you'll never see in the past in KL. The demand for jobs far exceed supply.

There are too many good graduates out there. At the same time, SG and HK are not hiring like how they used to in the past. So even if you do hold a degree from a top uni in the world, don't assume that a KL IB job is almost a guarantee. 2-3 years ago, that was still the case.
I have to agree but if you have a degree from top uni, ah bean still wants to hear from you.
wkphang
post Oct 1 2013, 03:04 AM

264 posts

QUOTE(sendomike @ Aug 22 2013, 10:09 AM)
During my time, my uni (UTP) takes all the best students as PETRONAS scholars.  We are "considered" the best of the best..
we are still talking like normal people.

If you really want to see people from ivy league and how they talk, look at some of our politicians, so called Harvard or ivy league graduates  doh.gif
ahhh ic, unfortunately, they are looking for fresh grad... else experience speaks louder than qualification. smile.gif
love2ks
post Nov 20 2013, 09:05 AM

QUOTE(IBank BeanBag @ Oct 1 2013, 12:21 AM)
I have to agree but if you have a degree from top uni, ah bean still wants to hear from you.
Hi there,

PM-ed you recently. Are you still looking for recent grads? If so, could I have an email address to forward my CV to? Thanks.
TSIBank BeanBag
post Nov 25 2013, 09:42 PM

619 posts

QUOTE(love2ks @ Nov 20 2013, 09:05 AM)
Hi there,

PM-ed you recently. Are you still looking for recent grads? If so, could I have an email address to forward my CV to? Thanks.
Replied.

Very good teaser. I like your uni.

PM your CV over. Let's have a chat ASAP.
xin123
post Dec 2 2013, 11:18 PM

Hi, i was just wondering.
(I'm not in this field)
Can you guys Define "exceptionally good" in the IB industry?
Thx

This post has been edited by xin123: Dec 2 2013, 11:25 PM
UnknownDave
post Dec 3 2013, 12:13 AM

303 posts

Got any connections to join IT Technical Support position within RHB?

Just trying my luck. laugh.gif
evanesence117
post Dec 3 2013, 09:10 AM

769 posts

QUOTE(Tirek @ Aug 22 2013, 01:53 PM)

Isn't it fairly easy to become a politician though? If you have good connection or well connected parents you're almost guaranteed a spot.

27 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0285sec    0.19    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 10:14 AM