27 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

No qualified ppl even fresh grad RM100k pa., Investment banking is so hard to hire

Alvin330000421
post Dec 14 2012, 02:55 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(IBank BeanBag @ Jun 15 2012, 07:35 PM)
hey all, i am here to b****.

At first i thought hiring ppl is easy, always tell CF frens, u all sure not serious, always get lousy candidates.

Now i really feel like vomitting blood.

Front office investment banking job, just need 2 real good fresh  grad, interview until i pusing...
where r good ppl?

willing to pay also canot find  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
Eh, many years ago I apply to CIMB, they also reject my application.

Who say nobody want to apply?

But if you ask me now, I don't want..old oledi.

Added on December 14, 2012, 2:57 pm
QUOTE(IBank BeanBag @ Jun 15 2012, 07:35 PM)

At first i thought hiring ppl is easy, always tell CF frens, u all sure not serious, always get lousy candidates.

Front office investment banking job, just need 2 real good fresh  grad, interview until i pusing...
where r good ppl?

Last time I apply to CIMB, they oso don't want me.

Who say got nobody want?

But you ask me now, I dont want lah, I too old and tired to take up this job.

This post has been edited by Alvin330000421: Dec 14 2012, 02:57 PM
mercury8400
post Dec 14 2012, 02:59 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(yellowflashdude @ Dec 14 2012, 02:22 PM)
My dad is in  oil and gas engineering and this is considered a very well paying profession. So I am well aware of the potential pay, the catch is that it is based on experience.

My plan is to work as an analyst for two years and the ciao/off to private equity or something.
1. There are not many private equity firms in msia worth joining. Mutual funds maybe. Btw do you know the difference between those and hedge funds?
2. Even if you were to move overseas for a PE job 2 years exp in IB is not sufficient enough to land even a PE junior analyst role especially if you come from msian IB which is not recognised outside msia (fyi - yes, even cimb considered 2 or 3 tier).
3. PE -esp in junior level don't pay very well as compared to IB but working hours just as long.(bonus aside)
fino_abama
post Dec 14 2012, 11:53 PM

520 posts

QUOTE(Alvin330000421 @ Dec 14 2012, 02:55 PM)
Eh, many years ago I apply to CIMB, they also reject my application.

Who say nobody want to apply?

But if you ask me now, I don't want..old oledi.

Added on December 14, 2012, 2:57 pm

Last time I apply to CIMB, they oso don't want me.

Who say got nobody want?

But you ask me now, I dont want lah, I too old and tired to take up this job.
They are just being selective in hiring.
edmundchong
post Dec 15 2012, 08:06 AM

pm me more infor

edmundchong29@yahoo.com.my

Thx
Dolphee
post Jan 2 2013, 05:31 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(IBank BeanBag @ Jun 15 2012, 06:35 PM)

where r good ppl?

Brotha, this is a little late, I'm no fresh grad but are you still hiring?

May I know which division? The requirements are somewhat similar to what I'm doing now, I'm working in IB as well only in the Dealing room with a degree in Economics

This post has been edited by Dolphee: Jan 2 2013, 05:34 PM
SUS<Ultraman>
post Jan 2 2013, 05:40 PM

117 posts

Up your offer to Rm10k per month.

RM5k is not much now.
ethanyong
post Jan 2 2013, 07:08 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(<Ultraman> @ Jan 2 2013, 05:40 PM)
Up your offer to Rm10k per month.

RM5k is not much now.
+1
marcus1522
post Jan 9 2013, 10:59 AM

Bean
still hiring ?
mankok0415@gmail.com
this is my email =)
TSIBank BeanBag
post Feb 10 2013, 08:40 PM

619 posts

QUOTE(marcus1522 @ Jan 9 2013, 10:59 AM)
Bean
still hiring ?
mankok0415@gmail.com
this is my email =)
Yes, still hiring. Two fresh grads with little experience, if any, required.

Same stringent requirement but needed somebody who can withstand some alcohol in the medium term as eventual development will require you to have constant meeting with fund managers to pitch ideas.

atlantiz0
post Feb 11 2013, 12:17 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(IBank BeanBag @ Feb 10 2013, 08:40 PM)

Same stringent requirement but needed somebody who can withstand some alcohol in the medium term as eventual development will require you to have constant meeting with fund managers to pitch ideas.
Can't believe the same job is still available after 8 months ... is it really that hard to find good candidate ? lol

may I ask what's your opinion on the prospects of doing market/treasury risk in CB/IB?
fino_abama
post Feb 11 2013, 03:56 PM

520 posts

QUOTE(atlantiz0 @ Feb 11 2013, 12:17 PM)
Can't believe the same job is still available after 8 months ... is it really that hard to find good candidate ?  lol

may I ask what's your opinion on the prospects of doing market/treasury risk in CB/IB?
Market risk? Bright prospect with good pay as you gain experience but lower bonus as compared with IB, CF, ECM (random order).
atlantiz0
post Feb 11 2013, 10:12 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(fino_abama @ Feb 11 2013, 03:56 PM)
Market risk? Bright prospect with good pay as you gain experience but lower bonus as compared with IB, CF, ECM (random order).
i wonder how the local bank works in term of their risk mgmt structure? Would the market risk team deal with treasury (FX, IR) risk as well? I know some (CIMB) have separate risk analytic and modeling team ... that does sound really interesting but a few linkedin profiles I checked... people in that team are all phds from no less than ivy leagues or oxbridges... =(

fino_abama
post Feb 11 2013, 11:41 PM

520 posts

QUOTE(atlantiz0 @ Feb 11 2013, 10:12 PM)
i wonder how the local bank works in term of their risk mgmt structure?  Would the market risk team deal with treasury (FX, IR) risk as well? I know some (CIMB) have separate risk analytic and modeling team ... that does sound really interesting but a few linkedin profiles I checked... people in that team are all phds from no less than ivy leagues or oxbridges...  =(
At the bank I'm working at, the market risk setup is small (market risk monitoring & compliance section and market risk management section). They monitor the FX, IR, Bonds, Swaps, etc.

Are you from a Quant background? For risk modeling, banks would look for those with tertiary education in Math, Statistics, Financial Engineering, Quantitative Finance, etc., packed with programming knowledge like C++, Java, VBA.
goldconnection
post Feb 12 2013, 12:41 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(IBank BeanBag @ Feb 10 2013, 08:40 PM)

Sounds like a sales job.
Imdarren
post Feb 12 2013, 12:50 AM

370 posts

QUOTE(goldconnection @ Feb 12 2013, 12:41 AM)
Sounds like a sales job.
It is normal to have to build relationship with clients and understand their needs prior to important "sales" pitch.
atlantiz0
post Feb 12 2013, 01:49 AM

154 posts

QUOTE(fino_abama @ Feb 11 2013, 11:41 PM)
At the bank I'm working at, the market risk setup is small (market risk monitoring & compliance section and market risk management section). They monitor the FX, IR, Bonds, Swaps, etc.

Are you from a Quant background? For risk modeling, banks would look for those with tertiary education in Math, Statistics, Financial Engineering, Quantitative Finance, etc., packed with programming knowledge like C++, Java, VBA.
Yep .. have a maths degree with comp science minor (so i can do Java, VBA, matlab and SAS) and done some masters course-works in financial engineering .. working towards CFA too .. but now it seems less relevant to me if I don't do ECM/CF .. almost all of level 2 are valuations related ... not the kind of arcane maths I'm looking for. haha.

i'm actually working in bank too... but it's at the consumer division doing mostly risk modeling .. still, it is more statistical than mathematical to my liking due to the volume consumer businesses are dealing with.

i wonder if msian banks do derivative products origination ? or that's the big boys' game ?
TSIBank BeanBag
post Feb 12 2013, 05:24 AM

619 posts

QUOTE(atlantiz0 @ Feb 11 2013, 12:17 PM)
Can't believe the same job is still available after 8 months ... is it really that hard to find good candidate ?  lol

We hired three juniors but now still expanding the team. Yes! Eventually, we sell, with facts and figure.
SUSMaterazzi
post Feb 12 2013, 09:13 AM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(atlantiz0 @ Feb 12 2013, 01:49 AM)
Yep .. have a maths degree with comp science minor (so i can do Java, VBA, matlab and SAS)  and done some  masters course-works in financial engineering .. working towards CFA too .. but now it seems less relevant to me if I don't do ECM/CF .. almost all of level 2 are valuations related ... not the kind of arcane maths I'm looking for. haha.

i'm actually working in bank too... but it's at the consumer division doing mostly risk modeling .. still, it is more statistical than mathematical to my liking due to the volume consumer businesses are dealing with.

i wonder if msian banks do derivative products origination ? or that's the big boys' game ?
Is cfa important to climb ladder?
fino_abama
post Feb 12 2013, 10:32 AM

520 posts

QUOTE(atlantiz0 @ Feb 12 2013, 01:49 AM)
Yep .. have a maths degree with comp science minor (so i can do Java, VBA, matlab and SAS)  and done some  masters course-works in financial engineering .. working towards CFA too .. but now it seems less relevant to me if I don't do ECM/CF .. almost all of level 2 are valuations related ... not the kind of arcane maths I'm looking for. haha.

That's good. It doesn't always have to be in ECM/CF, there's still DCM, Fixed Income Analysis. Everything is about valuation in CFA, the math level is not very high (no stochastic calculus or Ito's Lemma, PDEs) but the practical side of things is incorporated into the syllabus. If you want to have a chance to apply what you have learn about FE, best place is SG or HK.

Are you in consumer credit risk? Credit scorecard modeling?
atlantiz0
post Feb 12 2013, 10:47 AM

154 posts

QUOTE(fino_abama @ Feb 12 2013, 10:32 AM)
That's good. It doesn't always have to be in ECM/CF, there's still DCM, Fixed Income Analysis. Everything is about valuation in CFA, the math level is not very high (no stochastic calculus or Ito's Lemma, PDEs) but the practical side of things is incorporated into the syllabus. If you want to have a chance to apply what you have learn about FE, best place is SG or HK.

Are you in consumer credit risk? Credit scorecard modeling?
yeah man. Spent countless excruciating hours studying stochastic and some more did my numerical differential methods programming and I have no chance to use them.. quite a waste. Yea... been thinking of trying my luck in SG/HK or even London ... but the market is really tight now.. i wonder when will the recovery truly comes.

yeap consumer portfolio credit. Dealing more with portfolio-wide stress testing, ICAAP and some BASEL modeling ... nowadays start doing on scorecard and decision tree modeling too. It is honestly not that boring too but the pay could have been better.. haha.

how about you ? Are you in market risk ?

27 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0256sec    0.65    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:25 PM