Maths in A level vs mathematics T in STPM, what's the difference between them?

LightningFist
post Jun 15 2012, 02:10 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

Syllabus wise, ask someone currently doing STPM, cause it changed I think.

Grading wise, top 10% of all candidates sitting for Maths get an A*, period. If it is so difficult that you cannot score 80+ or 90+ (aggregate score of AS and A2) but you perform better than 90% of students, you will succeed.
LightningFist
post Jun 16 2012, 09:10 AM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

QUOTE(Wei Feng @ Jun 16 2012, 02:16 AM)
but i heard that the new syllabus for Maths T is easier compare to the old syllabus.why is this so?

still, there are a huge difference between maths T in STPM and maths in Cambridge A level?

Added on June 16, 2012, 12:18 am
ok thanks.

only top 10% may get an A*? how do u know?
Check the statistics. A* was introduced a few sittings ago (somewhere in 2009 or 2010). I won't swear on it but I'm fairly sure the proportion is around there and should be relatively unchanged from sitting to sitting.

0.0184sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 03:45 AM