PROTON SAGA BLM, FL, FLX CLUB V24, "Drive so fast for what???" EDITION

MR_alien
post Jun 25 2012, 05:38 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Jun 25 2012, 04:43 PM)
new car until 68k now din service brake at once, i think is time to... unsure.gif
mine already 80k tongue.gif
what else to change?...the brake fluid?...upgrade to 5.1?
i've already change the brake pad once

Added on June 25, 2012, 5:40 pm
QUOTE(iskazulka @ Jun 25 2012, 05:30 PM)
one question, what is the pricing for the brake pads?
i forgot how much i paid for mine already..u can PM the seller
if price is your concern...thn use back the OEM brake pad which is bosch but alot of dust IMO

This post has been edited by MR_alien: Jun 25 2012, 05:40 PM
MR_alien
post Jun 25 2012, 09:18 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(Noneluv @ Jun 25 2012, 09:04 PM)
today morning just receive an email remapping 1.3 campro engine rm1900 so exp@_@
i got a boss who can do it @ RM60 only tongue.gif
MR_alien
post Jun 26 2012, 03:58 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

just finished my 80k major major service
i went in 8AM and they only finished 2.30PM
i changed engine oil, filter
gearbox oil(aisin AFW)
timing belt(bosch)
water pump(aisin)
A/C belt(i didn't ask the brand, i ask the workshop boss to buy for me since proton stockist out of stock)
coolant(toyota long life coolant)*i went back to see the old receipt by proton edar SC and i noticed they NEVER change the coolant for me for 60k KM, they just topup only cuz i saw they only charged me for 1 bottle of coolant*
labour - RM145 for all
total is RM727

and yes...the tak tak sound that is mentioned by the proton SC's mechanic, he said it was the timing belt problem but i suspect IAFM...and the sound did dissapear...but i'm going to monitor longer a few more times 1st
and the belt i saw i think still in good condition but thats my opinion only cuz i dn't know how to see the belts is still good or not
MR_alien
post Jun 26 2012, 04:06 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(iXora.ix @ Jun 26 2012, 04:01 PM)
727 for!! sakit jantung! hahaha

but is okay at least we maintain with proton!
nope..i did it outside
if u do it at proton...the timing belt set, water pump and the A/C belt...this 3 thing alone(not including other EO change, spark plug ..etc)
this 3 thing alone cost u RM900+ already if u did it in proton SC
my timing belt set and water pump with postage only cost me RM300
A/C belt is only RM65
MR_alien
post Jun 27 2012, 04:29 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

wheres omara's turbo?..hehe
MR_alien
post Jun 27 2012, 08:17 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Jun 27 2012, 07:10 PM)
So much down force du wat? Better stop faster in my opinion. Many time heard people say change exhaust want bigger than their head, how about a disc rotor bigger than my foot?

disc rotor of course bigger is better...but material used is also very important
exhaust...smaller is actually better...the bigger u mod it, the less power u have
MR_alien
post Jun 27 2012, 09:35 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Jun 27 2012, 08:24 PM)
Mane ade logic camni. sleep.gif

Exhaust setup also involves the extractor design, muffler type (straight flow, S-flow), piping diameter etc. etc.  Which in turn is influenced by your intake setup and engine displacement as well.

in fact the size of your muffler tip probably has the least affect on the car's performance  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
not sure but i've followed alot of car that have modded their muffler to big ones
each and every one of them have no power at all....no pickup at all when they accelerate..the sound very loud only
even my underpower BLM have to break becuz they're going so slow
the ones that are unmod, i can see their pickup is somewhat normal/fast
not sure is the muffler's problem or the driver problem
i've also driven a proton arena with modded muffler..rev until 2.5K RPM also no power...sound loud only
i can basically archive the same pickup with my waja @ 1.5-2k RPM

if u say won't have effect, thn it must be the driver's problem

Added on June 27, 2012, 9:37 pm
QUOTE(jerrymouse @ Jun 27 2012, 09:32 PM)
My car got the tak tak sound d sad.gif always happen during cold start or morning..some time afternoon or after awhile of driving also will hear the sound...it is coming front the engine there, dont know whether is it timing belt or what..

Is this tak tak sound normal? recently 1 month back started to have this tak tak sound.
how old is your car already?...how many KM already?
my case, the mech say its the belt problem...yesterday change, the sound did dissapear but have to monitor awhile longer on cold start and when its hot...see if the tak tak sound still there or not

This post has been edited by MR_alien: Jun 27 2012, 09:37 PM
MR_alien
post Jun 27 2012, 10:17 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Jun 27 2012, 09:53 PM)
I mean just by looking at the size of the muffler tip, you can't judge the car's performance.

The important part is how the exhaust system is set up UNDERNEATH the car. Maybe those cars that you follow are tuned to deliver power at high end, that's why low end (low speed city driving) will suck.

Next time you encounter these cars, find an opportunity and challenge them by overtaking them at high speed, then you'll see whether their exhaust mods are worth the sound they are making  brows.gif  brows.gif
the sound they make are no where near super car stage
the sound their car made are more to sound pollution and irritation to the ears...its not like a pleasant sound at all

Added on June 27, 2012, 10:19 pm
QUOTE(jerrymouse @ Jun 27 2012, 10:03 PM)
what is tappet sound? belt sound?
if cold start then the tak tak tak sound is very loud, after driving for lest say 30 minutes then the sound will slowly disappear but some time after you turn off engine and on back, the tak tak tak will appear again but not so loud like during cold start.

Edit: car aly 1 years and 4 months old....around 43k KM aly.
if the tak tak sound thn can confirm its not IAFM problem
its the belt problem....
cuz my tak tak sound isn't consistent as well...cold start will be the most obvious....thn after than it will dissapear
but mine have to confirm 1st...need to monitor mine for a few drives thn only can confirm its really the belt said by the mech

This post has been edited by MR_alien: Jun 27 2012, 10:19 PM
MR_alien
post Jun 27 2012, 10:28 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(jerrymouse @ Jun 27 2012, 10:22 PM)
ic, but the belt so fast worn off d? How much to replace it btw? thanks for the tips bro...
not worn i think...it just made an annoying sound only
i check the one taken out by the mech ...both the timing belt and A/C belt doesn't seem worn
none of those dried out/wrinkles as well
MR_alien
post Jun 28 2012, 12:34 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Jun 27 2012, 10:42 PM)
Would be interested to find out what material used is good for disc rotor icon_idea.gif  You seemed a lot of experience with brakes thumbup.gif  So many philosophy I not even heard of. Normally I get disc brakes by judging from the thickness and diameter, follow by caliper arm/extender if need be. Never heard of anyone talking about material so far, please enlite us.
not sure but what material is good...follow super car thn
now they're using those ceramic disc...if not wrong, it will not warp..not sure is this or not
am not very good in braking material......if u want good...go for VTTR
MR_alien
post Jun 28 2012, 12:26 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Jun 28 2012, 06:59 AM)
Ceramic - Track racing, too expansive, high working temperature, will not warp - but crack, had to blend with ceramic brake pads

VTTR - Taiwan brand, already tried their product, custom made twin pod + 12" drilled slotted rotor with 800'c racing pads. Very good indeed, to have it custom made is way too expansive as I do not have a sponsor right now. Tell me if they produce anything for BLM.
if u want cheap thn use back the OEM disc
brake pad change to performance brake pad or ceramic brake pad..cheap only
brake fluid change/mix with dot 5.1
MR_alien
post Jun 28 2012, 02:04 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Jun 28 2012, 01:45 PM)
2008 for less than RM20k?  hmm.gif  hmm.gif

Truth be told I also dunno what's the market price for used BLM  tongue.gif
is it to high or too low?
"roticanai" in automotive garage also sell his BLM less than 20k
the time we bought it, its only merely 40k only....only after that it start to increase price
MR_alien
post Jun 28 2012, 02:17 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Jun 28 2012, 02:14 PM)
Sounds too low to me  hmm.gif . I did a quick search at mudah.my, most are above RM20k, some between 25k to 30k.
are they the BLM without the side signal?
if no side signal thn its the ori BLM which is 40k...if have side signal one is few k higher in price
but when we buy 5 years ago RM40k
after 5 years still can get RM25-30k?...wow...better than toyota oh.. tongue.gif brows.gif

This post has been edited by MR_alien: Jun 28 2012, 02:18 PM
MR_alien
post Jun 28 2012, 06:24 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(jerrymouse @ Jun 28 2012, 05:50 PM)
may I know where can I find spare part shop selling Saga FL light bulb? Prefer Seri kembangan or PJ area. Does it cost around RM10~?

i dn't think its that cheap
and it depends on which kind of bulb u want
and as saga FL...u need 2 bulb each...meaning total of 4 H7 bulb
your bulb how old already?..so fast die already?

This post has been edited by MR_alien: Jun 28 2012, 06:25 PM
MR_alien
post Jun 28 2012, 09:54 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(yshiuan @ Jun 28 2012, 09:43 PM)
gt crash test video on saga n myvi or not? tongue.gif
my dad said myvi is from toyota bla3, so sure better than saga.
engine wise, which one better? i notice tat myvi still uses old engine from 1st gen myvi.

saga nw using IAFM+ or IAFM?
scare saga gt lots of prob only sweat.gif
any major problem from users?
lol...myvi isn't from toyota la..its from perodua
only engine is from toyota...other part is pretty much the same as proton
engine wise..of course perodua better
it really depends what road u want to travel
if u travel city..thn get maivee la
if u travel highway more..better get saga
FLX now uses IAFM+
major problems no...smaller problem sure got, but maivee is no exception to minor problem as well

if u insist on FLX...try say u need the boot and u need a colder a/c
and since you're getting FLX...why not just get the FLX SE?
MR_alien
post Jun 28 2012, 10:07 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(yshiuan @ Jun 28 2012, 10:02 PM)
FLX se expensive ma.
the boot i told my dad ald, still same.
just come out work, dun wan waste money on car 1st.

nid go for test drive between these 2 cars yawn.gif

i drove the 1st gen myvi before, when go 100km/j whole car feel lk flying, not stable at all.
FLX SE more expensive also less than 50k...still consider cheap if compare to maivee
and its more futureproof with its 1.6L
myvi can't drive fast...anything over 90KM/h already start to float
saga can still be stable even @ 130KM/h because of the steel of the body..using HTS which makes the body heavier..thus much more stable during high speed
using better/heavy steel also 1 reason the FC cannot as good as myvi
so..got good side and bad side
MR_alien
post Jun 28 2012, 10:36 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Jun 28 2012, 10:22 PM)
HTS is to make the body lighter, yet rigid la, bro... doh.gif
lighter meh?
hmm...from what i see...gone heavier only
1.X ton compare to myvi's weight
MR_alien
post Jun 29 2012, 12:24 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Jun 29 2012, 12:20 AM)
SE is the best balance between specs and price, in my opinion. You tell your dad la, those leather seats, bodykit etc. can be purchased outside for less money and does not add performance or anything important.

Don't waste RM5k just for the looks.
since its his dad that want it
his dad will come out excuse say that bodykit can +10hp one tongue.gif
MR_alien
post Jun 29 2012, 09:37 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(GRexer @ Jun 29 2012, 08:43 PM)
I'm also not exactly sure why is Fire Red being discontinued for the Prevé, supposedly, due to paint issues.

Well, actually, yes, it's recommended to wax the car ASAP, before contaminations start to build up, but it's still recommended to at least clay it first to remove any bonded contaminants(if any).
maybe is becuz its metallic paint?
solid paint gone metallic in proton doesn't usually last long
the pearl white previously in persona also only last 1st batch if not wrong
MR_alien
post Jun 29 2012, 10:07 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Jun 29 2012, 09:43 PM)

UR really damn fast... blink.gif
have money earn...surely fast

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top