ASUS-N56VZ (i5/i7), 15.6" HD/FHD, GT650m. Discussion of N56

clon12
post Jun 14 2012, 05:36 PM

let's learn together!
2,911 posts

Dammit..now they are like having a competition. Thought DELL seems more secured in terms of after sales service.... but this fella is prettier and nicer spec. Really having dilemma.

Anyone know that the 750gb is 7200rpm or 5400rpm?
clon12
post Jun 23 2012, 10:29 PM

let's learn together!
2,911 posts

Just bought n56vz thumbup.gif
clon12
post Jun 23 2012, 11:10 PM

let's learn together!
2,911 posts

QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Jun 23 2012, 10:49 PM)
Don't tease! Post where, version, and a review!  drool.gif
Bought from itking at RM2580. His store is located at 3rd floor TTE Technology (beside sony centre that is located beside ALL IT).
Still exploring the lappy
clon12
post Jun 24 2012, 10:44 AM

let's learn together!
2,911 posts

QUOTE(cskean @ Jun 24 2012, 03:19 AM)
Clon12:
Nice price you got there...

Any freebies come along?
Only the backpack since the shop was actually a distributor rather than a proper shop.
clon12
post Jun 24 2012, 02:18 PM

let's learn together!
2,911 posts

Built quality is quite nice.. the palm rest place isn't so plasticky as i thought.. it was something like aluminium in MBP (SOMETHING LIKE, NOT IDENTICAL). Keyboard feels nice but numpad is a little small compared to the normal desktop keyboard though I don't fully depend on it. The screen is nice although not FHD. So far I tried BFBC2, playable settings at 1366x768 with HIGH SETTINGS.

This post has been edited by clon12: Jun 24 2012, 02:56 PM
clon12
post Jun 24 2012, 02:52 PM

let's learn together!
2,911 posts

Well, I'm not too sure about that. Will try to run it again... but I did a 3dmark11 on it. Max temp is 77C for the GT650m.

This is the score

Edit:
Ran at a very playable settings with 1366x768 with HIGH settings biggrin.gif
Temp max at 86C with the above settings.

This post has been edited by clon12: Jun 24 2012, 03:00 PM
clon12
post Jun 24 2012, 05:49 PM

let's learn together!
2,911 posts

QUOTE(ddr3 @ Jun 24 2012, 05:48 PM)
alright, gonna grab it then, hahaaa biggrin.gif keyboard backlit nice?
Yea. By the looks of it really resembles mbp
clon12
post Jun 24 2012, 10:32 PM

let's learn together!
2,911 posts

Some poisoning photos
cry.gif
Facebook really messed up with my Galaxy Nexus camera quality cry.gif

clon12
post Jun 25 2012, 08:51 AM

let's learn together!
2,911 posts

QUOTE(deepcool0922 @ Jun 25 2012, 04:30 AM)
My Y580 just slightly higher 352 marks than you.
Considering Y580 has GTX 660M and also i7, the score is relatively logic too thumbup.gif

QUOTE(sefiroth @ Jun 25 2012, 07:59 AM)
yaya..this laptop model is perfect except the FHD..still considerate whether to get it now or wait for another spec got FHD..
previous n56vm i7 one initially din have FHD, currently n56zm i7 one got FHD already....
dono this will come out with FHD or not.....
I don't think so... if it does then the whole idea of having ZM would be totally useless...
clon12
post Jun 25 2012, 09:38 AM

let's learn together!
2,911 posts

Yeah the left corner touchpad is not able to press it one. I guess the design is made like this. Just move a little to the right and you can press it. This goes sames with the right corner.

clon12
post Jun 25 2012, 09:49 AM

let's learn together!
2,911 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Jun 25 2012, 12:01 AM)
Can u run 3DMark Vantage? Thanks in advance.  notworthy.gif
3DMark Vantage score

Running at max 77C this time. I guess its because the ambient temperature now is lower than yesterday when doing 3DMark11.

This post has been edited by clon12: Jun 25 2012, 09:50 AM
clon12
post Jun 25 2012, 06:27 PM

let's learn together!
2,911 posts

QUOTE(cskean @ Jun 25 2012, 12:31 PM)
Guys, when we play games, does the GT650M auto kicks in or need to do some setting for it to run?

Sorry for such a noob Q, cause this is my 1st lappy with GC after more than a decade I didn't play games with a laptop liao...

Plus the backlit keyboard is nice during night time, looks cool and easy to identify the keys...

Right now updating the Windows 7, then will install programs.

Is the any latest update drivers for the HD4000 and GT650M?
There is a setting under Nvidia contorl panel > Manage 3D settings. The preferred graphics processor is "Auto Select" but you can change it to either Intel HD4000 or GT650m
clon12
post Jun 27 2012, 12:05 AM

let's learn together!
2,911 posts

QUOTE(ratloverice @ Jun 26 2012, 11:31 PM)
Okay. Thank you. Gonna try to get 1 on tomorrow .__.
Good luck finding one, lol.
clon12
post Jun 27 2012, 11:48 AM

let's learn together!
2,911 posts

One more cool feature I discovered is that the touchpad can act like Macbook's trackpad too! You can tap using two fingers to act like right click (this is freaking useful to me when using touchpad and one of the features I like in MBP also). Three fingers swipe up to switch windows (the windows button + tab button slide). Three fingers swipe left to BACK and swipe right to NEXT. Makes it easy to back and next in webpages. Just FYI for those that got the laptop and might be another buying point for those that still in doubt icon_rolleyes.gif
clon12
post Jun 27 2012, 01:46 PM

let's learn together!
2,911 posts

QUOTE(nivelij @ Jun 27 2012, 11:58 AM)
Wah cool! how about the subwoofer? and how is the build material? last time i have asus a8sc and after a year and plus, the color start to blackish, especially the touchpad.. sad.gif
Subwoofer is OK only. Add some boost to the song quality as you can hear the boom boom a bit. The build is great and you feel that its aluminum but its not tongue.gif

QUOTE(PhungTM @ Jun 27 2012, 12:13 PM)
Wow I did not realise that is possible  tongue.gif  Great feature.
Is it only applicable for some laptops? I only use mouse as I'm more familiar with it...
It is. It comes with a preinstalled software call elan touchpad if I'm not wrong. I think yes. I also use mouse often but sometimes want put laptop on bed so use touch pad better

clon12
post Jun 27 2012, 03:48 PM

let's learn together!
2,911 posts

QUOTE(nivelij @ Jun 27 2012, 03:02 PM)
Thank you bro for the reply. Do you think need extra protection? biggrin.gif
Extra protection? You mean cover those? I think no need cause its quite solid build but then dont purposely drop it la lol. If you meant warranty, I don't think that ASUS can extend warranty? Even if do... their after sales service sucks one..haha
clon12
post Jun 28 2012, 12:11 AM

let's learn together!
2,911 posts

I didn't charge for 8 hours LOL. Just charge it to full charge then take it off. biggrin.gif
clon12
post Jun 28 2012, 08:57 PM

let's learn together!
2,911 posts

Don't know why but my ethernet port is not working. Not sure whether its my port problem or driver problem. Other laptop works fine.
clon12
post Jun 29 2012, 12:06 PM

let's learn together!
2,911 posts

There is no indicator that you on/off the numpad. Just do trial and error.
clon12
post Jun 29 2012, 12:13 PM

let's learn together!
2,911 posts

QUOTE(onomatopoeia @ Jun 29 2012, 12:57 AM)
Just normal backpack, and default accessories in box.

Video:
I have tested Skyrim, it detected Ultra settings by default. Gameplay really smooth even with dragon flying around. This GT650 is no joke, outperformed my desktop 4870 with same settings.

Sound:
The little woofer add some bass, music is warm...But do not expect it to outperform any branded 2.1 speakers..

Heat:
After 30 minutes gameplay, hotzone is near the fan on the left side, I don't feel the hotness when my palm on WASD area..I'm not in Air cond room, so it could be different if gaming in a cooler place.

Added on June 29, 2012, 1:01 am

You guys really wanna backup the provided stuff? Really waste of storage and resources for me..the default apps consume so much ram and storage..180mb for a screensaver, few hundreds more for powerdvd.
I have stripped the OS clean, just left some Asus apps which essentials...
how did you do that?

0.0361sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:44 AM