Maxis Connect to Maxis using Custom Router!, Guidelines

kenjixx
post Aug 2 2012, 12:20 PM

my home hero
741 posts

QUOTE(wiind @ Aug 2 2012, 12:13 PM)
There is a setting to input custom vlan but it doesn't make any difference.
refer to the image
did you connect to the correct port after you input the custom vlan which is 621 for internet.
kenjixx
post Aug 6 2012, 03:31 PM

my home hero
741 posts

QUOTE(icecubemoon @ Aug 6 2012, 02:41 PM)
Then how to enter to modem interface so i can use custom router?
all the tutorial i see was only teach using other modem~ unsure.gif
there's a way that you don't need to touch the Modem(BTU)
you just need a router that is capable to do Vlan tagging(like TP-Link TL-WR1043ND)
kenjixx
post Aug 9 2012, 06:49 PM

my home hero
741 posts

QUOTE(Mad_Mac @ Aug 9 2012, 05:50 PM)
Darn it. It seems that not-VLAN-tagging capable router capability mentioned here is only works for Unifi.

http://www.azim.my/unifi/

Need to buy a new router then. Damn you Maxis
i'm not really sure but that method should work for maxis fiber also
just a bit modification & you need to do some trial and error
the chance of you using your own router is higher because u can actually access the btu

good luck smile.gif
kenjixx
post Aug 13 2012, 12:48 PM

my home hero
741 posts

QUOTE(kayage @ Aug 12 2012, 11:02 AM)
Sayboon,

May I know where I should be tagging the VLAN621?..  Thanx, Sifu!

Added on August 12, 2012, 1:55 pm
anyone can advise me on the steps needed to perform a VLAN621 tagging on a TL-WR841ND, pls?.. been searching the net but could not find any guide.. sad.gif

Added on August 13, 2012, 9:55 amPeacelover, how did you configure your TP-Link router to talk to your Maxis modem?.. I am still unable to establish the connection.. From the error log, it seems I kept hitting 'timeout on PADO'.. Seems like the modem is refusing to reply to my TP-Link router..

Sayboon has suggested that i do a VLAN621 tagging. How do I go about doing such tagging on myTP-Link router, pls? or is the tagging done on the modem end?.. 0.o
not using the same router as you but you can try flash openwrt at your own risk
http://downloads.openwrt.org/backfire/10.03.1-rc4/ar71xx/
find your router here... flash the openwrt firmware
and follow this guide and do some changes...
http://klseet.com/index.php/tl-wr941nd-ver...-unifi-on-trunk
on the vlan set 621...
it's all on your own good luck smile.gif
kenjixx
post Aug 14 2012, 08:01 PM

my home hero
741 posts

QUOTE(rootlinux @ Aug 14 2012, 06:56 PM)
Is there a way to login to Huawei HG850a 192.168.100.1?
TM already block the access... unless you can find a way to go through the block then no way...
kenjixx
post Aug 17 2012, 12:33 PM

my home hero
741 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Aug 16 2012, 11:05 PM)
Which Wireless router model will work with Maxis Home Fibre (without flashing custom firmware) out-of-the-box ?
Asus router support Vlan tagging with official firmware... but it has it's own problem according to the Asus thread.
kenjixx
post Sep 18 2015, 11:16 AM

my home hero
741 posts

QUOTE(xllzxc @ Sep 18 2015, 09:40 AM)
any sifu's here can help me?
i wish to use custom router to replace the lousy thomson router
i was using the same wireless modem router as below & follow the steps given
http://klseet.com/index.php/225-tm-unifi/u...60n-unifi-setup
but at the end i just getting dns server isn't responding
maxis provide me alcatel-lucent ONT not the huawei ONT
anyone know how to solve my problem?