Private swimming pool (worth or not?)

PJusa
post Jun 12 2012, 10:16 PM

2,027 posts

ok some first hand experience:

1. usage: in the beginning you use the pool a lot (almost every day) but it slows down until eventually you ask yourself why do i maintain the water. nobody swam this week. of course your mileage might vary

2. maintenance: not so much of a hassle for a small pool such as 4m x 8m. ideally you buy a cover so you can protect the pool from attracting leaves and such.
if chlorine pool: every two/three days have to add in chlorine, monitor water quality blah blah. tideous. if you engage a company they use way to much chlorine to be on the safe side. but in fact they know next to nothing about ph-levels and such. better you handle yourself and get a good testing kit. if properly maintained and pumped you will not have any cleaning issues. if you let it slide you*re in trouble.

if you choose salt water pool it's less hassle ( a friend of mine has one). just fish the leaves if no cover and you're good. but you need special pump that can tahan the salt water. no corrosion issues on nearby metal so i gues no other issues.

3. cost: if you have access to an alternative pool a small pool is not worth the money. for example we found that we much rather go to PJ palms and pay 5 bucks per person. its way larger and you get to keep your garden. also you dont have to bother about maintenance. even if you go to a nearby hotel pool once a week its cheaper. do the maths: 50k for a small pool : forgone interest at 3% = 1500 RM p.a. entrance to a hotel pool around 20 bucks per person (multiply by 4) = 80 bucks. already can go 18 times. then add the maintenance, water and electrictiy cost (easily 100 bucks on top per month) so you end up with 34 trips to a nice pool. thats more than every two weeks.

that of course ignores maintenance costs on the pool wich tips it further down.
cay_nd
post Jun 13 2012, 08:39 AM

153 posts

QUOTE(AMINT @ Jun 12 2012, 06:36 PM)
Ok cay_nd. what are the cons if you dont mind?
i did some digging on the pro's and cons of portable pools.. especially from intex.

pro: cheaper, low maintenance. in terms of repair wise, far cheaper if u accidentally poke the pool wall.. btw, its made out of thick double layer canvas/pvc ..

cons : the water level is same for the whole stretch.. 4 feet.., its made out of canvas/pvc.. conventional pool are either from fibre glass or tiles..

try and visit the show house located beside lrt kelana jaya...

they have a lot of beautiful design to cover up the pool..

the cost is around 6k for 18x9x4 feet... plus the wet work ie digging, design you can put a side around 5-6k ...

as i'm a bit on the tight budget, i'm opting for this kind of pool.. cheaper but fit the purpose..and if in 10 years time you decide not to have a pool anymore, since its portable, you can just remove it and do something else at your land plot.. thumbup.gif
mywii
post Jun 13 2012, 08:44 AM

239 posts

bro.....join a club cheaper la....no headache...go there got changing room, swim, nice powerful shower, hairdryer, makan and go home....no worries...
cay_nd
post Jun 13 2012, 08:53 AM

153 posts

as for me, my house built up is 28x70.. big enough...plus the empty land is about 2000sqft.. so donno what to do with the land plot... :-)
ozak
post Jun 13 2012, 09:06 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(mywii @ Jun 13 2012, 08:44 AM)
bro.....join a club cheaper la....no headache...go there got changing room, swim, nice powerful shower, hairdryer, makan and go home....no worries...
Cannot enjoy with mermaid at club pool wor.
mywii
post Jun 13 2012, 09:35 AM

239 posts

u'll b surprised to find more than one mermaid ... brows.gif
TSAMINT
post Jun 13 2012, 10:12 AM

7,446 posts

cay_nd, in the website you recommended there is one design that I like. hmm, u got a point there. if one day dont like, just take out and do something else. heehe. need to go to kelana jaya to check out.

Added on June 13, 2012, 10:17 am
QUOTE(mywii @ Jun 13 2012, 08:44 AM)
yes cheaper but sometimes u just want private moments with ur children and relatives

This post has been edited by AMINT: Jun 13 2012, 10:17 AM
cay_nd
post Jun 13 2012, 10:20 AM

153 posts

agreed on the private moments with ur children and relatives...

the cost is a bit expensive if you dig a hole for the pool, but the cost is cheaper if you place the pool off ground..
TSAMINT
post Jun 13 2012, 11:22 AM

7,446 posts

i think for safety wise, better go for stage type. dig type quite dangerous even though you have barriers. kids nowadays like to panjat2. my colleague's son drowned in a swimming pool a month ago due to negligence. for those with swimming pool, please be alert of your children. My colleague is a totally different person now after that incident. I pity him very much
weikee
post Jun 13 2012, 01:08 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(cay_nd @ Jun 13 2012, 08:53 AM)
as for me, my house built up is 28x70.. big enough...plus the empty land is about 2000sqft.. so donno what to do with the land plot... :-)
If I have that much of space, I'll build a play ground, and save some space for a garage buy some half cut for my own car mod hobby.

TSAMINT
post Jun 13 2012, 01:20 PM

7,446 posts

weikee, dont put halfcut at home. a mechanic friend of mine put halfcut at home and got rat living there
weikee
post Jun 13 2012, 03:02 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(AMINT @ Jun 13 2012, 01:20 PM)
weikee, dont put halfcut at home. a mechanic friend of mine put halfcut at home and got rat living there
A container will do the trick :-)
mywii
post Jun 13 2012, 04:06 PM

239 posts

QUOTE(AMINT @ Jun 13 2012, 10:12 AM)
cay_nd, in the website you recommended there is one design that I like. hmm, u got a point there. if one day dont like, just take out and do something else. heehe. need to go to kelana jaya to check out.

Added on June 13, 2012, 10:17 am
yes cheaper but sometimes u just want private moments with ur children and relatives
well if your "sometimes" is not very regular then I would assume you are rich lor smile.gif ...then by all means get one...
genielee_83
post Jun 13 2012, 05:08 PM

120 posts

wonder how much for rectagular 1500 and 2500 litre capacity.
when u visit the show room, help ask ya. ^^
cay_nd
post Jun 13 2012, 08:00 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(mywii @ Jun 13 2012, 05:06 PM)
well if your "sometimes" is not very regular then I would assume you are rich lor  smile.gif  ...then by all means get one...
if you compare 50-70k worth of swimming pool and 6k of swimming pool...

its not a crime to dream...hehe...i'm still figuring out where to find the money... rclxms.gif
weikee
post Jun 13 2012, 08:09 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(genielee_83 @ Jun 13 2012, 05:08 PM)
wonder how much for rectagular 1500 and 2500 litre capacity.
when u visit the show room, help ask ya. ^^
This is just a slightly water storage tank, cannot classified as pool. Multiply by the factor of 10 can consider a pool.
woengx2
post Jun 13 2012, 10:34 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(twins9 @ Jun 12 2012, 09:12 AM)
Go to Bukit Puchong and check out Aqua and Reflexion show houses.  It gives you an idea of a private pool and if you want it.

How big is your house/land area?  Do you want to put it on your rooftop or in your garden?

My friend told me that a swimming pool adds Rm100k valuation to a house.
Aqua and Reflexion show houses are NOT LOCATED at Bukit Puchong ! tongue.gif

twins9
post Jun 14 2012, 06:36 AM

1,371 posts

Opps, what is that place called? Nusaputra?

noien
post Jun 14 2012, 09:07 AM

3,184 posts

wat material they use to built the surrounding of the pool?
how to the make the waterproof layer so strong?
matthewctj
post Jun 14 2012, 11:51 AM

1,304 posts

QUOTE(AMINT @ Jun 12 2012, 05:08 PM)
Yes, thanks everybody for giving your opinions. I appreciate it because sometimes we overlook a few things ourselves and make bad judgments
Just don't get carried away with having a pool to impress others. Assess your own interest and know how often you would jump in. If you're only going into the pool once a month, I probably would say don't bother. At least on weekends to make it worthwhile. But hey, it's your money. As long as you've got the space for it and maintain it properly, it should be fine. There are canvas pool covers if you are concerned with breeding mosquitoes, manual and automated.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0219sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:52 AM