Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.16

f5calvin
post Jun 26 2012, 12:52 AM

starsssss
1,557 posts

Hey guys need ur advice on which lens to choose..
1. Nikon 35mm f1.8G
2. Nikon 50mm f1.8G
3. Tamron 17-50 f2.8 non vc

i'm seeking a cheap lens that can be used in events and also gr8 for taking portrait photos..
Also, i would like to have nice bokeh..
fyi, my camera body is D5100..

So which one is more suitable?
f5calvin
post Jun 26 2012, 11:33 AM

starsssss
1,557 posts

[quote=0168257061,Jun 26 2012, 12:56 AM]
What lens u got now ?

Well 17-50 certainly brings more convenient for sure.

but that two 1.8 lenses definitely win in absorbing light.

your call

[/quote]

im using kit lens 18-55 only..

[quote=tctham,Jun 26 2012, 01:04 AM]
i'd vote for #3 then add another external flash to it.. haha~

[/quote]

flash later bah..i jz started for a month leh.

[quote=mackioes,Jun 26 2012, 01:36 AM]
I m using d5100 also ... 50mm seems just right. I no need go too close also and it's cheap! Got mine for around rm 500+

[/quote]

don't u think d5100 has too much softening? i need to go to the settings to change the sharpness because b4 that all those portrait photos i took weren't sharp at all..(bt they were not out of focus either..)

[quote=celciuz,Jun 26 2012, 07:42 AM]
3, but you're going to be having issues under low light with the Tamron hunting for focus, and also focus inconsistency but it is the most versatile among all.

bt then luckily nikon has that light to assist in af..

[quote=Agito666,Jun 26 2012, 10:19 AM]
24-70 f/2.8 laugh.gif

*get whacked*

[/quote]

haha..tried that b4..really poison..and the 70-200 f2.8 vrII drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif
thx for the advice..

f5calvin
post Jun 26 2012, 01:27 PM

starsssss
1,557 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Jun 26 2012, 01:01 PM)
softening ? could it be Noise Reduction setting ?
NR will cause ur pic appear soft also. Usually I turn it all off.
Even RAW also faces the same problem..it's jz not very sharp..maybe the camera body is faulty?
f5calvin
post Jun 26 2012, 08:34 PM

starsssss
1,557 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Jun 26 2012, 02:04 PM)
soft can be due to many reasons as well
post some pic see blink.gif
QUOTE(celciuz @ Jun 26 2012, 02:17 PM)
What lens is being used first? Don't expect a kit lens to perform like a pro grade lens.
QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Jun 26 2012, 02:41 PM)
Could you post some pictures so we can help you to diagnose this problem!

Most definitely the 5100 is capable of taking awesome shots
Sample photo 1

It's Nikon 24-70 f2.8
f5calvin
post Jun 26 2012, 08:46 PM

starsssss
1,557 posts

QUOTE(razuryza @ Jun 26 2012, 08:42 PM)
looks fine to me

just need enhancement in PP
Yeah, it does look fine..no complaints though..jz that it's not that super sharp that u can see those flawed skin of the models..haha.
bt then i changed the sharpness setting now so it's better..

Added on June 26, 2012, 8:48 pm
QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Jun 26 2012, 06:53 PM)
You're using a 2.8 lens!!! Chills! biggrin.gif

Added on June 26, 2012, 6:54 pm

Piaks! Haha.. Omg so many Calvin in this forum biggrin.gif
many calvin indeed..u went to nikon walkabout in PD? i should have went thr lar..rugi..i stay so near din go..Tampin oni.

This post has been edited by f5calvin: Jun 26 2012, 08:48 PM
f5calvin
post Jun 26 2012, 08:55 PM

starsssss
1,557 posts

QUOTE(onscreen @ Jun 26 2012, 08:51 PM)
Flawless pic, nice back light and everything. I don't any problem at all smile.gif
thx~ It's not a big problem, bt if u zoom to the face u'll notice that it's smooth.. somethin like it's been edited..bt nvm lar..u guys responds really fast la..can work for NPS d..lol.

Added on June 26, 2012, 8:56 pm
QUOTE(0168257061 @ Jun 26 2012, 08:54 PM)
Looks fine on the eye,
maybe due to shallow dof u see the other side already starts to blur
the other eye confirm out of focus d..haha..this shooting event are actually contest in kluang.

This post has been edited by f5calvin: Jun 26 2012, 08:56 PM
f5calvin
post Jun 26 2012, 09:05 PM

starsssss
1,557 posts

QUOTE(onscreen @ Jun 26 2012, 08:58 PM)
Do take note of the DOF falloff on the bokeh. Depends on where you focus and where the DOF starts and falloff. Softness of skins is something that you shouldn't worry about. I love the skin actually, feels like tofu tongue.gif
yea..
tofu? brows.gif brows.gif
f5calvin
post Jun 27 2012, 01:39 AM

starsssss
1,557 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jun 26 2012, 10:57 PM)
Lighting issue on the skin. Any other photo with better lighting / exposure?
Sample 1

and sample 2

btw i don't know how to insert photo without u guys clickin the link..
f5calvin
post Jun 27 2012, 02:23 AM

starsssss
1,557 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Jun 27 2012, 02:07 AM)
seems pretty ok loh.
Maybe you can post 100% crop, so we can see directly wink.gif
okay tmw i post summore..btw, u could load the biggest file size it's the same..
f5calvin
post Jun 27 2012, 09:40 AM

starsssss
1,557 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Jun 27 2012, 02:40 AM)
hmm, i think restricted.
only accessible to 1024px img
Press action, view all sizes..that way u can choose 2048..

look at the difference,
D700:
TPF_7307 by Calvin Kohlz, on Flickr

D5100:
DSC_0008a by Calvin Kohlz, on Flickr

This post has been edited by f5calvin: Jun 27 2012, 09:40 AM
f5calvin
post Jun 27 2012, 10:47 AM

starsssss
1,557 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jun 27 2012, 10:28 AM)
Could be connection issue perhaps?
My eyes got problem I think, I don't notice differences o_O
100% crop

TPF_7307crop by Calvin Kohlz, on Flickr

and

DSC_0008acrop by Calvin Kohlz, on Flickr
f5calvin
post Jun 27 2012, 10:53 AM

starsssss
1,557 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jun 27 2012, 10:49 AM)
Let me get this right, you're expecting D5000 to perform as well as D700? DX vs FX?

Side note I don't remember D5000 sensor being that crappy... Same sensor as D90 right?

Shirneece by CY Pixels, on Flickr
im nt expecting..im jz wonderin..haha..look, ur D90 seems sharp..so it's down to two possibility, one, my camera problem, 2nd, d5100 tends to soften image..
gotto compare with another 5100.
f5calvin
post Jun 27 2012, 11:07 AM

starsssss
1,557 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jun 27 2012, 10:55 AM)
D5100 --> D7000 sensor right? Should be quite ok one leh. Or there is AF issue on your D5100.
yeah they hv the same sensor..AF isn't a problem..

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jun 27 2012, 11:03 AM)
Are you trying to show 1st photo very sharp, 2nd photo soft?

Did you apply sharpening on 1st photo? Seems like got hard sharpening.
For 2nd photo, the softness can be due to she lean a little backwards and did you apply any sharpening?

For newer models (e.g. D7K, D5100), by default, the preset has low sharpening value for JPG. It's been discussed before, for older models users, the default preset applies +7 sharpening if not wrong, while the newer models preset default to +3 (I think, forgot).

As far RAW file, you will have to apply your own sharpening as by default, it doesn't apply those presets into the RAW file, unless you load the RAW file into ViewNX or CaptureNX, as it will load the Camera Presets.
both photos are in jpeg, not edited..no sharpening or softening done..
yeah, the sharpening for d5100 is low..so now i made it higher like other models. haven't tried a portrait since i sharpen it..
n also i din try to shoot in RAW either..will try one day.
f5calvin
post Jun 27 2012, 11:15 AM

starsssss
1,557 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Jun 27 2012, 11:09 AM)
D5100 la tongue.gif

Look like some mis focus there, or could be the limitation of crop sensor

Taken with d5100 35mm 1.8g
DSC_4212 by K_S16, on Flickr
did u change ur sharpness setting? mine was at 2. now bumped to 7..urs?
f5calvin
post Jun 27 2012, 11:22 AM

starsssss
1,557 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jun 27 2012, 11:17 AM)
2 is too low.
most ppl recommend to bump it to 6 or 7.
i din notice that earlier since i jz started photography a month ago..n that was the third day since i got my dslr..lol..

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jun 27 2012, 11:17 AM)
I just noticed... your D700 and D5100 pics are on different lens le o_O Problem with that 24-70?
nothin wrong with the lens..checked..cz i used the lens on D700 on that day too..crispy and sharp.
f5calvin
post Jun 27 2012, 11:27 AM

starsssss
1,557 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jun 27 2012, 11:24 AM)
started a month ago and already own D5000 and D700?
Ur face is terrifying..lol.. D700 belongs to my uncle..Lens also his..haha,.

Added on June 27, 2012, 11:29 am
QUOTE(Agito666 @ Jun 27 2012, 11:26 AM)

this consider sharp or not?  tongue.gif

----
@everdying the scary face avatar O_O
people rich mah, 1 month straight D700 and D5100 ....you mad bro?  unsure.gif  whistling.gif

lol..as i said it wasnt mine..bt it was so poisoning tryin out those lenses..and those body..automatically it made d5100 feel like toy camera..mainly bcz of the weight..
anyway, that shot wasnt shooting human skin, cant tell..bt of course it's impressive..haha.

This post has been edited by f5calvin: Jun 27 2012, 11:29 AM
f5calvin
post Jun 27 2012, 11:40 AM

starsssss
1,557 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Jun 27 2012, 11:35 AM)
I shoot raw, i dont think lightroom can read the settings, and i forget what picture setting i use  sweat.gif
u could check ur setting now..?
f5calvin
post Jun 27 2012, 12:10 PM

starsssss
1,557 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jun 27 2012, 11:49 AM)
JPEG have default sharpening. Is both having the similar sharpening in the preset?

Just now didn't check EXIF, so I thought both from same camera, now that mmhodnor posted the EXIF, I have some additional thoughts:

1. As above, do check the sharpening on the D700 body.
2. Is it using the same lens or does your body have back/front focus issue? How you can test is, try using a tripod and shoot in liveview; Is it tack sharp now? Or still same?
D700 has higher sharpenin value..i think it's 6 or 7.. I dun think there's any front or back focus issue cz i tried shooting a measuring tape..
f5calvin
post Jun 27 2012, 12:54 PM

starsssss
1,557 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jun 27 2012, 12:24 PM)
Is it accurate?
If you have time, try this.
Put the camera on tripod or something steady, zoom to 70mm @ f/2.8, place an object as close as possible to the closest focusing distance (e.g. a logo on a cup).
Shoot through viewfinder and again using LiveView and compare both results. Is both result similar or the LiveView is tack sharp?

Oh yes, I forgot. There's also Noise Reduction.
DX body vs FX Body, the noise level and detail will be different. On D700, the ISO800 is better than D5100/D7000. Moreover, the sample for the D700 is using 70-200mm.
i'll check it out..btw, i dun have that lens with me right now..

i did this jz now.:
DSC_0175crop by Calvin Kohlz, on Flickr

is this backfocusing/front focusing? i suppose there's a lil backfocusing.. i focused on the black dot.. it's an image of a tree trunk.. captured from upwards
kit lens, cropped.

This post has been edited by f5calvin: Jun 27 2012, 01:25 PM
f5calvin
post Jun 27 2012, 02:24 PM

starsssss
1,557 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jun 27 2012, 02:18 PM)
Handheld? If handheld with shallow DOF, it's not easy to get accurate result.
What I did test before is using tripod or put the body on table or that is doesn't move.
I tested shooting and compare both Viewfinder shot and ViewFinder, the result is consistent no matter how many times I tried, and it's done with good lighting, so I'm using lowest ISO.
The difference is very minimal, the service personnel were not able to tell the difference, but because of too small difference, they won't adjust it and advice to use the in camera adjustment (which unfortunately not available for D5100)

Well, that's when you get very close to your subject and the DOF is shallow. The minor back/front focusing will be noticeable. If you shoot from further distance, then it's less of a problem because the more area will be in focus.
YEah handheld..anyway it's fine with me..sooner or later also will be upgrading so no worries.. thumbup.gif

12 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0231sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 03:23 PM