-= MyForte - Naza Kia Forte Owners Club =- V13, Leaves You Speechless

fourteh
post Jun 25 2012, 10:26 AM

Hi bros, I got a problem & I hope someone with good mechanical knowledge can help me out. Mine is 1 year old 1.6SX.

My car has a vibration problem. Sometimes when I press on the accelerator, there seems to be vibration at the engine side in front of the driver. The engine is rough & pulsating like you are driving on flat tyre.

The frustrating thing is that it does not always happens. Sometimes on a journey, it happens a few times. Sometimes it does not happen at all! I have sent it to an SC twice to check but everytime I am there, it does not happen no matter how they tried. They even did an engine diagnostic but detected nothing.

Another thing is that at traffic lights in D & foot on the brake pedal, the engine vibrates loudly like it wants to take off by itself but when I shift to N, the idling becomes normal.

By process of elimination, I have:
a. change spark plugs at 20K. The set (Champion) looked carbon fouled, i.e., dry but quite brown around the tip &
b. done alignment & balancing. It is not wheels & tyres because if it is, I can feel it the whole time but now this is not the case.

I suspect:
a. gearbox or drive shaft?
b. engine firing?
c. bad fuel?

Any clues or suggestion which SC best can help me solve this problem? Thanks.
fourteh
post Jun 26 2012, 11:15 AM

QUOTE(figure8 @ Jun 25 2012, 07:16 PM)
1st day all seem perfect, after a week, all sound exist. i don't even know where it came from.. but mostly at dashboard area.. my fren's forte is a 1st batch 4 speeder cbu. already 2years+ n  don;t hear any sound coming from dashboard... sweat.gif
Mine 1 year old 6 speed. Same like you....get car no sound.....after 700km the music all come out...... what to do Malaysia Boleh assembling our car in Gurun.... wonder Peugeot cars got sounds as they are assembled in the same factory.

As for my car, the dashboard sound comes out after the car is parked in the hot sun then I think the plastics expand & touch each other creating the vibration or the foam they use is cacat one. So far I let it be because I don't want any scratches if they tear apart the whole dashboard.

Really disappointed owning this Kia. After 1 year the condition not so good already. Initially went against advices don't buy Korean car but I think it is true. Jap cars are more reliable even they are boring. I am planning to change end of next year & get rid of this stupid car & change my nick from "fourteh" to "hondteh", "toyoteh" or even "peugeoteh"!

For bros & sis still want to get this car, go for 2.0...... 1.6 power really sucks!
fourteh
post Jul 3 2012, 11:03 AM

QUOTE(Area51SE @ Jul 2 2012, 07:41 PM)
Guys, Just a question here. Does the 1.6 Forte feel underpowered? Because I've seen comments saying its underpowered.
Yes! It is damn underpowered! Get 2.0 & don't regret like me cry.gif
fourteh
post Jul 3 2012, 11:35 AM

QUOTE(nestum @ Jul 3 2012, 12:15 AM)
new shoe

enkei tuning .sc32 dark chrome and  Yokohama cdrive2 205/50/17 (better fc and xtra comfort)
[attachmentid=2926466]
Hi, nice wheels! How much did you get for trade-in ori rims? Is CDrive2 much better than stock Silverstone (which I cannot tahan the sound tho wet grip is quite) ?

By selling off ori rims, do you think it would be more difficult to sell your car off in the future? Thanks!
fourteh
post Jul 3 2012, 12:01 PM

QUOTE(Area51SE @ Jul 3 2012, 11:57 AM)
Wow from what you mentioned it seems like it's really underpowered...Mind elaborating more like the lag of response during accelerating? Require to press the accelerator more in order for the car to move?
1st gear take-off quite good but after that, a bit slow to accelerate say 30~70 km/h but after you get momentum, easier to go to 100 km/h.

When test drive, roads around the showroom was flat roads so didn't get chance to go uphill. Thats when you can really feel the underpowerness. I have not drove up to Genting yet but knowing my car, I do not want to! blush.gif

I advise you to get the 2.0, you will not regret it!
fourteh
post Jul 10 2012, 09:11 AM

Hi bro, please share with us how effective are your modifications below coz I want a bit more ommph from my 1.6SX biggrin.gif

1. Pivot MEGA RAIZIN (voltage stabilizer)
2. Pivot VCAPA
3. UTR Metal Flow air filter
4. Denso Iridium spark plug
5. HKS grounding cable
6. Lightweight rims - change to 16" or to lightweight 17"?

If you had done it step by step, you can tell the performance of each mod. As an overall, did it increase hp, torque, FC & fun much? biggrin.gif Thanks!

fourteh
post Jul 10 2012, 02:03 PM

QUOTE(izputra @ Jul 10 2012, 11:37 AM)
Maybe already got button on the HU that serve the same purpose as that lower right button..so no need redundancy by installing it there (at the lower right of the steering spoke). It's just my wild guess anyway. I dont have it (the original bluetooth functionality) in my Forte in the first place  tongue.gif
Hi, in other markets, e.g. US, there is a single button on the right side of the bottom spoke. When you press this button, you can use your voice to call someone just like the Siri button on iPhone. Here in Bolehland, we only get call answer or off, cannot talk to your HU.
fourteh
post Jul 12 2012, 09:01 AM

QUOTE(g88 @ Jul 11 2012, 09:39 PM)

SO should i get 1.6sx or 2.0x ? Felt 1.6 can easily bully by others....i just want to choose one that good FC, low maintainance, resell value (maybe plan to use the car 8-15 years if it never give me problem but at least first 5 years with me)

Errr i think 2.0 pickup is slower then 1.6 right due to 'heavier' engine ? So if majority city use.....1.6 cukup makan keh ???  doh.gif

Please AWAKE ME !@

Added on July 11, 2012, 9:41 pmBtw, anyone trip Leather-fied your 1.6 seats ? How original will it look compare to 2.0 ? I was quoted by SA done by authorised dealer (claimed appointed + 1 , 2 or 3 years warranty) around Rm2300-2800
Bro, since your usage is so low, maybe half an hour drive per day then I suggest you take 1.6. You can then use the 12K you saved from not buying the 2.0 to buy:

1. iPad or Samsung Tab (RM 1,800)
2. iPhone or Galaxy S3 (RM 2,000)
3. 40" LED TV (RM 3,500)
4. Leather seats for your 1.6 (RM 2,500)
5. Whatever you want with the balance (RM 2,200)

You don't live in your car so use the money to enjoy other things when you are not in the car! biggrin.gif
fourteh
post Jul 16 2012, 04:11 PM

Hi, this is the lowest average l/100km I have done biggrin.gif

fourteh
post Jul 17 2012, 08:48 AM

QUOTE(overNover @ Jul 16 2012, 05:33 PM)
My 2.0 could get 9l/100km when the FC meter was reset and ran for several 10 KMs. It easily get higher and found very hard to go down.
I would think that should not be the measurement point.
The last FC reading when the tank is almost empty would give a more accurate reading. I have compared manual calculation and meter, both are very similar.
biggrin.gif Actually that reading was just achieved for 30 seconds. Pumped at BHP Damansara Utama, reset FC reading and drove about 15km using LDP. Yesterday night stuck in nightmare jam in PJ, can slowly see the FC creep up to 10.5 l/100km cry.gif

Normal drive I get 10 l/100km around PJ without using highway (not counting LDP because it is not a real highway!). Mine is 1.6SX.
fourteh
post Jul 19 2012, 09:41 AM

QUOTE(g88 @ Jul 19 2012, 08:56 AM)
Did went test drive elentra 1.6 high spec n compare with Forte 1.6 sx.

What Forte win are :
- price
- body weight
- power ratio
- built quality
- full screen DVD
- pedal shift n triptonic
- foldable side mirror
- reverse camera n display
- 5 years warranty with unlimited mileage
- tilt shift steering column

What Elantra win are :
- nice body shape resign (curve roof is hard for tall ppl)
- leather seats for 1.6 even the 81k manual version

Thats all...

Added on July 19, 2012, 8:58 am

Whichever come first
What Elantra win are :
- nice body shape design (curve roof is hard for tall ppl) - [COLOR=red] Rear passenger head room much lower. Actually in the flesh, Forte looks more sporty than Elantra especially with hot rims & bodykit! rclxms.gif In brochures & web pics, Elantra wins.
- leather seats for 1.6 even the 81k manual version - can ask your Kia SA to add for you or add at leather seat shops!

fourteh
post Jul 24 2012, 04:29 PM

QUOTE(SoulReaver @ Jul 24 2012, 04:22 PM)
Just changed to Lightened Crank Pulley, Denso Orisium Spark Plug and UTR air filter...! Noticed a very slight advantage at pick up... All is well! Gonna put Strut and Rear Anti-Roll Bar next..
Hi, what is the brand of LCP & how much did you pay for it including installation? I want to do it but still hesitating... scared crankshaft problems later.
fourteh
post Jul 26 2012, 10:44 AM

Other brands cannot get 2.0 below 100K leh... almost want to give up already and buy preve....

[/quote]

Got la... Inspira, Naza Rondo & Chery Eastar biggrin.gif
fourteh
post Jul 27 2012, 01:41 PM

QUOTE(zouk88 @ Jul 27 2012, 12:39 PM)
Depend on ur oil...fully syn or semi

Added on July 27, 2012, 12:45 pm
Mine 2.0 only 300km per fill up... :-(
Hi, mine 1 year old 1.6SX 6-spd. Last refuel 10.54km/l or 9.5l/100km.

For my car, I prefer either BHP or Mobil. Shell sux as you cannot feel the power.

0.0531sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 02:59 PM