Waja Convert To 6A11 engine, ok or not?

TSsilverridge
post Jun 8 2012, 05:35 PM, updated 14y ago

2 days ago, my mechanic just pronounce my waja's 1.6 mitsu engine dead. After trying to revive 2 times by overhaul also cannot.
He suggested me to change to another engine. We found 1 halcut which is Mitsubishi 6A11 which is 1.8L V6 SOHC. My mechanic told me that complete total cost for converting is RM6,400 include dashboard.

My question is :-

1) Is this engine good?
2) Is the total cost consider good deal ?

hkh_88
post Jun 8 2012, 05:36 PM

315 posts

go for 4g93 terbalik.

4G93 turbo

4G93

This post has been edited by hkh_88: Jun 8 2012, 05:39 PM
TSsilverridge
post Jun 8 2012, 05:38 PM

QUOTE(hkh_88 @ Jun 8 2012, 05:36 PM)
go for 4g93 terbalik.
Yeah. That was what I thought. However my budget is around 7k. For 4G93, the halfcut want around RM10k-RM12k
hkh_88
post Jun 8 2012, 05:40 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(silverridge @ Jun 8 2012, 05:38 PM)
Yeah. That was what I thought. However my budget is around 7k. For 4G93, the halfcut want around RM10k-RM12k
no la. 10 to 12k is those wira type 1.8 turbo. for 4g93 terbalik whole halfcut 6k+ only. u got half car. refer the second link i post, RM6800 include installation.

This post has been edited by hkh_88: Jun 8 2012, 05:41 PM
raclette
post Jun 8 2012, 06:08 PM

428 posts

Good to know this. If ever blush.gif
conan1
post Jun 8 2012, 06:13 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(hkh_88 @ Jun 8 2012, 05:36 PM)
go for 4g93 terbalik.

4G93 turbo

4G93
this one gooding biggrin.gif
love the dashboard.. blush.gif

ouh btw TS..how ur engine dead? 4g18 right? hmm.gif
dunno about that..but for my dad 4g18 really tahan wo..rough usage...sometimes late for services and etc etc... doh.gif
always told my dad need to take care the engine..but seems my father too busy working rolleyes.gif ..but the engine never broke down nod.gif
the only things broke down is starter..thats all from around 2004 until today...everyday travel form port dickson to bangi... icon_rolleyes.gif

good luck with ur conversion! wink.gif

k3v_84
post Jun 8 2012, 06:41 PM

69 posts

Saw few sets of engines for waja today in Mudah... 1.6 mivec and 4g93t smile.gif
h4dRi
post Jun 8 2012, 07:14 PM

97 posts

donno bout the performance but the v6 exhaust note very goooding,

i thot the 4G18 very tahan engine, my mom's waja still running strong since 2001
amad108
post Jun 8 2012, 07:53 PM

too much of something is bad enough
1,008 posts

last time i found it at 'kedai potong' too.. full halfcut auto at rm3k, but that few years back.. so price maybe ok, but then not sure about spare parts like
- timing belt
- water pump
- belting
etc all that wear n tear for engine parts.. kinda same with 6A10? or 6A12? not sure tho.. if me i advice u dont.. because rare engine tend to be rarely found its parts..

This post has been edited by amad108: Jun 8 2012, 07:56 PM
Nightstalker1993
post Jun 8 2012, 08:33 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

my question is why can't your mech fix the engine after overhauling? My suggestion, change mech.
TSsilverridge
post Jun 8 2012, 08:49 PM

QUOTE(hkh_88 @ Jun 8 2012, 05:40 PM)
no la. 10 to 12k is those wira type 1.8 turbo. for 4g93 terbalik whole halfcut 6k+ only. u got half car. refer the second link i post, RM6800 include installation.
Will try to call the seller.

QUOTE(conan1 @ Jun 8 2012, 06:13 PM)
this one gooding biggrin.gif
love the dashboard.. blush.gif
ouh btw TS..how ur engine dead? 4g18 right? hmm.gif
dunno about that..but for my dad 4g18 really tahan wo..rough usage...sometimes late for services and etc etc... doh.gif
always told my dad need to take care the engine..but seems my father too busy working rolleyes.gif  ..but the engine never broke down nod.gif
the only things broke down is starter..thats all from around 2004 until today...everyday travel form port dickson to bangi... icon_rolleyes.gif
One day my steel hose to the water pump leaking. After fix it, it was ok. 1 week later, the temperature wt up. So i went back to the mechanic and he told me that my gasket "patah". So asked him to do top overhaul instead. After that it was ok for a month. Until the temperature went up again. I checked there's no water in radiator. So i went back to the mechanic and he told me that my head is bengkok. He skim the head and do the water test etc also cannot. When running, the water from radiator tendang jugak. Lastly, he told me to change to another engine.

good luck with ur conversion! wink.gif
Thanks..hopefully the new engine will not have any problems.

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Jun 8 2012, 08:33 PM)
my question is why can't your mech fix the engine after overhauling? My suggestion, change mech.
I did. The other mechanic also told me that its better to change engine since the head has already repair 2 times.
Nightstalker1993
post Jun 8 2012, 08:50 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

you must know that, half cut engines are used. theres no guarantee that the particular engine you've chosen is in good condition. All in all, it boils down to luck and how good you are in choosing an engine. But if you overhaul your engine, you have peace of mind that your engine is in perfect running condition with every wear and tear part replaced. Its up to you to make the call.
amad108
post Jun 8 2012, 08:54 PM

1,008 posts

if u want xtra power from ur engine also can be done..
but with limited budget like urs so its kinda a bit difficult.. better go with full overhaul like Nightstalker1993 suggested..

shiyau
post Jun 8 2012, 09:12 PM

**KilleRom-no more**
693 posts

change mech
amad108
post Jun 8 2012, 10:24 PM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(shiyau @ Jun 8 2012, 09:12 PM)
change mech
to better mech..
shiyau
post Jun 9 2012, 01:06 AM

**KilleRom-no more**
693 posts

QUOTE(amad108 @ Jun 8 2012, 10:24 PM)
to better mech..
who has better knowledge..
ThunderGod_Cid
post Jun 9 2012, 01:43 AM

158 posts

From my experience, change mech like what everyone said. If he says skim head twice, why twice? He could've gone a better way by using a thick metal headgasket to compensate compression.

If budget is an issue, there is a 1.8 single cam Waja engine for sale. Just the head block. You will re-use your gearbox, wiring and ecu, etc. The price?

RM2500 WITH installation.

Cheap, not?

Added on June 9, 2012, 1:43 amthe rest of the money? Bolt-on-turbo

This post has been edited by ThunderGod_Cid: Jun 9 2012, 01:43 AM
theanswer
post Jun 9 2012, 02:36 AM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(h4dRi @ Jun 8 2012, 07:14 PM)
donno bout the performance but the v6 exhaust note very goooding,

i thot the 4G18 very tahan engine, my mom's waja still running strong since 2001
true! v6 sound from perdana 6a12 is nice... smile.gif
ivan1717
post Jun 22 2012, 06:41 PM

QUOTE(silverridge @ Jun 8 2012, 05:35 PM)
2 days ago, my mechanic just pronounce my waja's 1.6 mitsu engine dead. After trying to revive 2 times by overhaul also cannot.
He suggested me to change to another engine. We found 1 halcut which is Mitsubishi 6A11 which is 1.8L V6 SOHC. My mechanic told me that complete total cost for converting is RM6,400 include dashboard.

My question is :-

1) Is this engine good?
2) Is the total cost consider good deal ?
bro, is the 6a11 come with tiptronic gearbox?
amad108
post Jun 22 2012, 07:26 PM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(ivan1717 @ Jun 22 2012, 06:41 PM)
bro, is the 6a11 come with tiptronic gearbox?
bro, its not.. its the same generation engine with 6A12 n 6A10.. using electronic autobox like wira 1.6, perdana sei, n perdana v6..

0.0200sec    1.91    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 05:34 AM