(wta)Toyota vios 2011 rim change unstable help!, Help!hope all sifu can help me.
TSensonjw
Jun 8 2012, 01:19 PM, updated 14y ago

My vios 2011 change to 16 inch rims with tyre 16/185/55,after I change it everytime when I drive more than 130 kmh the car will be very unstable like the front of the car is shaking.i had went to Toyota for balancing but it still remain the same problem,may I know any sifu here know what's the problem?or any guys having the same problem?pls help,I have no idea what to do.
myva
Jun 8 2012, 01:27 PM
i gt a friend camry 2.2 15inch change to 17inch shake alot high speed.
he said put spacer ok...
This post has been edited by myva: Jun 8 2012, 01:28 PM
TSensonjw
Jun 8 2012, 01:37 PM

Ur fren after put spacers then no more problem?i am very worry about this cause already done many time balancing still the same,ppl is steering vibrate when high speed but mine very stupid is when high speed the whole car shaking.even the left side passenger also can feel the car vibrate.
k3v_84
Jun 8 2012, 06:24 PM

QUOTE(ensonjw @ Jun 8 2012, 01:37 PM) Ur fren after put spacers then no more problem?i am very worry about this cause already done many time balancing still the same,ppl is steering vibrate when high speed but mine very stupid is when high speed the whole car shaking.even the left side passenger also can feel the car vibrate. Is the rims 100% fit? Did u install center cone? Coz sometimes aftermarket rims will loose a bit, so need to install center cone... Added on June 8, 2012, 6:26 pmQUOTE(myva @ Jun 8 2012, 01:27 PM) i gt a friend camry 2.2 15inch change to 17inch shake alot high speed. he said put spacer ok... Spacer or center cone? Coz sometimes spacer makes situation goes worse... This post has been edited by k3v_84: Jun 8 2012, 06:26 PM
amad108
Jun 8 2012, 07:47 PM
QUOTE(ensonjw @ Jun 8 2012, 01:19 PM) My vios 2011 change to 16 inch rims with tyre 16/185/55,after I change it everytime when I drive more than 130 kmh the car will be very unstable like the front of the car is shaking.i had went to Toyota for balancing but it still remain the same problem,may I know any sifu here know what's the problem?or any guys having the same problem?pls help,I have no idea what to do. why u using 185/55/16? izzit got any particular reason? even my vios use 195/55/15.. think of changing to 205/45/16, but that size tyre kinda expensive.. so need to live with 15 for now.. n wht brand is that? mine is PS3..
frantic912
Jun 9 2012, 12:47 AM
QUOTE(amad108 @ Jun 8 2012, 07:47 PM) why u using 185/55/16? izzit got any particular reason? even my vios use 195/55/15.. think of changing to 205/45/16, but that size tyre kinda expensive.. so need to live with 15 for now.. n wht brand is that? mine is PS3.. 15" ok what...why want to change to 16"
cyberskull
Jun 9 2012, 12:49 AM
try speed balancing then.. see how..
TSensonjw
Jun 9 2012, 10:23 AM

No,I didn't install any center cone,the boss ask me to install I will bring it go for install later,the tyre is the boss choose for me one,he said fuel comsuption ok with this tyre.i am really sad now,even Toyota say nothing wrong with the tyre,rim don't dent,after balancing still remain the same problem that means is the rims problem.
kulaan
Jun 9 2012, 10:31 AM

Maybe install centre cone will solve ur problem. My myVi also like this after put 15" rim....
hkh_88
Jun 9 2012, 10:45 AM
no center cone of coz vibrate la. aftermarket rim center hold is bigger than ur stock rim. Just put a set of center cone will solve ur problem
TSensonjw
Jun 10 2012, 03:32 PM

Ok,I tried,will let you guys know soon,thank you very much,will go to workshop add the center cone,hope it can solve the problem...
amad108
Jun 11 2012, 12:17 AM
QUOTE(hkh_88 @ Jun 9 2012, 10:45 AM) no center cone of coz vibrate la. aftermarket rim center hold is bigger than ur stock rim. Just put a set of center cone will solve ur problem i dont install the center cone no vibrate.. its just waste of money tho, kinda expensive too.. if vibrate either rims got obvious dent or tyre got problem lor.. a bit dent at rim will not causing vibrate, my wira using aftermarket rims 16' last time using dent rim no effect at all.. the car runs on tyre, not rims.. Added on June 11, 2012, 12:21 amQUOTE(frantic912 @ Jun 9 2012, 12:47 AM) 15" ok what...why want to change to 16"  OEM rims bro.. kinda bored oredy.. wanna try larger, 17' are the nicest but cant afford the tyre.. huhu.. but for 16' still can i think.. huhu.. This post has been edited by amad108: Jun 11 2012, 12:21 AM
k3v_84
Jun 11 2012, 02:47 AM

QUOTE(amad108 @ Jun 11 2012, 12:17 AM) i dont install the center cone no vibrate.. its just waste of money tho, kinda expensive too.. if vibrate either rims got obvious dent or tyre got problem lor.. a bit dent at rim will not causing vibrate, my wira using aftermarket rims 16' last time using dent rim no effect at all.. the car runs on tyre, not rims.. Every Rims have different center hole size... Maybe u are lucky to get 1 that fit yours nicely or maybe the vibration is very minimal for u to feel it...... My Wira experienced car vibrating problem also when I first install... After installing center cone, problem solved... And yes, tires will cause same prob also, but I assume TS 1 is new tires coz his rims also new, so possibilities for it to have problem is lower... That's why we suggest TS try to fit in center cone 1st... And other thing, tires is not directly stall on a car... It is stall on a rim, rim stall on knuckles, knuckles need drive shaft and bearings to spin it, and so on... Therefore, a lot of parts that can cause a car vibrate... Just that other parts faulty don't spoil so easily, and moreover it is a Toyota... And lastly, RM 60 for a set of center cone considered expensive?! This post has been edited by k3v_84: Jun 11 2012, 03:24 AM
amad108
Jun 11 2012, 10:24 AM
QUOTE(k3v_84 @ Jun 11 2012, 02:47 AM) Every Rims have different center hole size... Maybe u are lucky to get 1 that fit yours nicely or maybe the vibration is very minimal for u to feel it...... My Wira experienced car vibrating problem also when I first install... After installing center cone, problem solved... And yes, tires will cause same prob also, but I assume TS 1 is new tires coz his rims also new, so possibilities for it to have problem is lower... That's why we suggest TS try to fit in center cone 1st... And other thing, tires is not directly stall on a car... It is stall on a rim, rim stall on knuckles, knuckles need drive shaft and bearings to spin it, and so on... Therefore, a lot of parts that can cause a car vibrate... Just that other parts faulty don't spoil so easily, and moreover it is a Toyota... And lastly, RM 60 for a set of center cone considered expensive?!  kinda expensive, coz its only small pieces of metal.. n my rim oversize the size of center hole which not fit nicely.. maybe the vibrate come from other thing i suspect.. hermm.. new tyre n new rims, why the vibrate occur after using aftermarket rims? maybe tyre? or izzit nowadays aftermarket rims so lousy in manufacturing which they did not balance it well ? anyway depend on TS wht he gonna do, we here only to discuss..
k3v_84
Jun 11 2012, 12:44 PM

QUOTE(amad108 @ Jun 11 2012, 10:24 AM) kinda expensive, coz its only small pieces of metal.. n my rim oversize the size of center hole which not fit nicely.. maybe the vibrate come from other thing i suspect.. hermm.. new tyre n new rims, why the vibrate occur after using aftermarket rims? maybe tyre? or izzit nowadays aftermarket rims so lousy in manufacturing which they did not balance it well ? anyway depend on TS wht he gonna do, we here only to discuss..  Yup, just a discussion...  Just wait for TS to identify the actual prob lar, coz we're just sharing our experience only... Not all cars same prob...
TSensonjw
Jun 13 2012, 09:28 PM

Haha,yes it work,my car no more vibrating and very stable d...thanks guys!after installed the center cone everything solve...
low yat 82
Jun 13 2012, 09:45 PM
good to hear dat... mine install new rim also vibrate... problem solved after instal spacer wit centre cone.. some rim ok, some rim will cause vibrate.
k3v_84
Jun 13 2012, 09:47 PM

QUOTE(ensonjw @ Jun 13 2012, 09:28 PM) Haha,yes it work,my car no more vibrating and very stable d...thanks guys!after installed the center cone everything solve... Nice to hear that... Enjoy your ride... :wink:
TSensonjw
Jun 14 2012, 12:18 AM

Is it the spacer expensive ?
mysql2779
Jun 14 2012, 08:17 PM
Perhaps wider tires and not too high Psi for tires might be able to solve this issue. Follow standard Psi given by Toyota. Pump higher Psi might give you better FC and handling but lost comfort for sure.