Blacksmith Smithing Guide, coz Haedrig says "ITS HAMMER TIEM"!

TSThe Amateur Working Bee
post Jun 8 2012, 11:18 AM, updated 14y ago

1,646 posts

Diablo3 Blacksmith Smithing Guide

TLDR Introduction

Leveling your smith:Source
Total Blacksmith Leveling Cost and Materials
*will update soon since patch 1.0.3 made it cheaper*

Items used for smith and where to get it:
Pages of Blacksmith(Nightmare Mode-random drop)
Tome of Blacksmith(Hell Mode-random drop)
Tome of Secrets(Inferno Mode-random drop)
Blacksmith Plans/Recipe (Drops vary according to your current difficulty level, for example, if you are at Nightmare you will get lvl40 plans that are around that level, if you get it at Inferno you will get lvl60 plans[except staff of herding plan]-random drop)

Salvage list:
Normal: ilvl1-39
-Subtle Essence: 100% drop from both magic and rare equips
-Fallen Tooth: 100% drop from rare BUT chance drop from magic equips, x3 from salvaged legendary equips

Nightmare: ilvl40-49
-Shimmering Essence: 100% drop from both magic and rare equips
-Lizard eyes: 100% drop from rare BUT chance drop from magic equips, x3 from salvaged legendary equips

Hell: ilvl50-59
-Wishful Essence: 100% drop from both magic and rare equips
-Encrusted Hoofs: 100% drop from rare BUT chance drop from magic equips, x3 from salvaged legendary equips

Inferno: ilvl60-?
-Exquisite Essence: 100% drop from both magic and rare equips
-Iridescent Tears: 100% drop from rare BUT chance drop from magic equips
-Fiery Brimstone:100% from Legendary lvl60 equips BUT low chance drop from lvl60 rare, VERY low chance from lvl60 magic equips

Teaching Mr.Haedrig the blacksmith plans you found:
Mr Haedrig must be trained to that particular lvl  requirement listed on the plan, open up your smithing page, double click the plan, and you will find it listed on your smithing page

Sidenote:
-as you lvl up Mr.Haedrig, additional recipes will be automaticly learnt along the way till max lvl10
-plans need to be learnt only once, so if you get a 2nd book of same plan, you can either donate it to me laugh.gif or sell it.

Types of plans:

Full list of Recipe

-normal ilvl plans (for example: staff of herding)

-magic ilvl plans

-rare ilvl plans
*there are 3 lvls for rare ilvl plans (Exalted, Fine Exalted, and Grand Exalted)
*the difference are normal Exalted plans have only 4 attributes, Fine Exalted has 5 attributes and Grand Exalted has 6 attributes (thats why Grand usually cost much more)

-legendary ilvl plans

-set plans
*when you learn this plan, you learn the whole combo recipe

possible attribute allocations:
for example if you are smithing a 4 attribute gear, there are chances where you would get slotted ones or non slotted ones, the slot does consume one spot of your attributes, example:

1.slotted:
-random attribute
-slot

2.non slotted:
-random attribute

p/s:Weapon/armor damage, defense, stats, slots, attributes etc etc are totally random

Smithers List
Current weapon smith service available:
Exalted Grand Massacre Axe (1 hand mighty) PM me
Exalted Grand Galraki (1 hand axe) PM me
Exalted Grand Piercer (1 hand dagger) PM me
Exalted Grand Strike Wand (1hand wand) PM Azurues
Exalted Grand Crag Hammer (1hand wand) PM eehtsitna

Current armor smith service available:
Exalted Grand Sovereign Mail (Torso) PM VinluV
Huge list of other armors and weapons PM ifourtos
Helm of Command (helm) PM heaven

This post has been edited by The Amateur Working Bee: Jul 27 2012, 02:12 PM
post Jun 8 2012, 11:52 AM

1,646 posts

QUOTE(nightshade_nova @ Jun 8 2012, 11:43 AM)
You can also get Fiery Brimstone from lvl 60 rare, but very low chance.
My friend got it, and he never salvaged a legend before.

I salvaged a lame legend and got 3 hoofs.  rclxub.gif

I think its also worth mentioning that crafting multiple times will yield better result (as claimed by the game, and some players)

Some ppl craft high mat cost gears like this:

Craft 9 cheapo item, and every tenth item will craft expensive item, rinse and repeat.
Supposedly give better result than just simply crafting high mat cost consecutively.
This is all still just speculation, though.

Early stages of the game, I did some crafting for my friends, and the stats DO improve after a number of crafting, giving me not one but 2 great weapons    thumbup.gif
So if you play with friends, its also good to craft for your friends too, or you could also give crafting service to boost your chance to get better rolls.
thx bro! good info! interesting, id nvr expect 3 hoofs lololol Mr Haedrig scammed u brows.gif

but yeah, if i manage to get my hands on some proper plans ill do smithing services for the ppl here n friends, proper plans dont come cheap lol sweat.gif even the cheapest proper legendary ilvl60 plan cost like 3m the lowest in AH (gahena something*pants) fiery brimstone cost like 30k for 5 or so i think, or 30k for 1, forgot, gonna observe the market abit when i get back home xD now no gold

Added on June 8, 2012, 11:57 am
QUOTE(yuhhaur @ Jun 8 2012, 11:47 AM)
If I remember correctly NM only capped you to upgrade jeweler/BS to level 6 without purchase any tomb from AH. level 4 (I think, forgot liao) on normal difficulty.
iirc we did purchase a tome back then coz a friend of mine was mad, he wanted to make higher lvl gems lol, and we actually manage to purchase 5 to upgrade, but honestly imo i wouldnt suggest upgrading artisans, unless ur already in Hell mode, thats prolly when u have that extra gold to spend and roll out all the smithing and jewelry

This post has been edited by The Amateur Working Bee: Jun 8 2012, 11:57 AM
post Jun 8 2012, 12:02 PM

1,646 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Jun 8 2012, 11:59 AM)
eh how to check item level? besides the "level required" thing.

bcos max level is 60

how to check if an item is ilvl61 ilvl62 ilvl63 etc?
if im not mistaken ilvl61-63 not yet released yet, prolly future patch since it was stated there? so far i only notice while salvaging based on the lvl requirement only xD ill try to dig up more info when i get back, or hopefully someone can give us an answer on that
post Jun 8 2012, 12:07 PM

1,646 posts

QUOTE(yuhhaur @ Jun 8 2012, 12:04 PM)
I am hermit, I like to DIY all by myself...

Radiant star here I come!  flex.gif
im not gonna do jewelry yet till the future patch when they tone down the gold requirement lol, my gold bag pain~ xD sumore i wanna save up for purchasing smith plans
post Jun 8 2012, 12:17 PM

1,646 posts

QUOTE(fotosintesis @ Jun 8 2012, 12:14 PM)
TS, this plan list might help..norm till legendary set smile.gif
BS Plan n lvl req
thx xD i do have that list at home, but damn office dont let me open bnet pages luuulz blocked every single link i wanted to add here
post Jun 8 2012, 12:21 PM

1,646 posts

QUOTE(3ternal @ Jun 8 2012, 12:18 PM)
I sometimes get to create rare equipments from the blacksmith upon lvl up...how does that work? is it completely random?
its a fixed set of items that you are gonna be able to craft when you lvl your smith xD so you do automatically get rare recipe when u lvl it till 10, so for example when u hit lvl7 smith u get to craft a rare belt, the other players that hit lvl7 smith will get the same thing, the only part where the differences are is the attributes you get when u craft that belt, its random
post Jun 8 2012, 03:49 PM

1,646 posts

QUOTE(moodswingfella @ Jun 8 2012, 03:42 PM)
this tered makes me feel like wanna max up my blacksmithing.

tgn sudah gatal  rolleyes.gif
go bro! when you go black, u cant turn back! brows.gif
post Jun 8 2012, 04:47 PM

1,646 posts

QUOTE(hcstwb @ Jun 8 2012, 04:27 PM)
My wife just MSN me that she looted this legendary Barbarian 1 Handed Legendary plan: [Plan: Harvest Moon] while she is doing powerleveling in Hell Mode Act II. Lucky she tongue.gif
wife that plays D3, i envy you son LOL

wanna sell the plan? ;D
post Jun 8 2012, 06:51 PM

1,646 posts

QUOTE(selenium @ Jun 8 2012, 06:22 PM)
my wife only knows how to back seat playing.. "run run heal heal.. stun stun wahhhhh"

neways my black smith is already maxed out level.

how do i get reciepe?
blacksmith plans are random drops in Inferno lvls

Added on June 8, 2012, 7:01 pm
QUOTE(icecolddamncold @ Jun 8 2012, 05:40 PM)
but one thing i dont understand, i rmb i need to use gold to upgrade the blacksmith level only, and i collected tonnes of pages of blacksmith and dont know what to do with it.. so i assume i can use those to upgrade the level of my blacksmith also?

how to craft weapon using blacksmith? does it works like the gem combiner? say i got a weapon from a loot, i throw into the blacksmith and it will enhance it? as far as im aware of, there's no crafting of equipments, only buy out the ready crafted eq offered by the blacksmith? or maybe the level of my blacksmith is not there yet? too long never visit him d lol.. will check him out again tonite biggrin.gif
ive updated the 1st post with the details and cost of the blacksmith lvling, apprentice till master lvl yes it will only cost u gold to lvl up, after that it will start adding pages of blacksmith as requirements, and then tomes etc etc accordingly

basically there is no specific tools required, the only thing you need is the materials and/or plans required to craft. All you need to do is have the required materials in your inventory, go to the blacksmith, choose the equip you want to craft and just click and it will appear in your inventory when done

This post has been edited by The Amateur Working Bee: Jun 8 2012, 07:02 PM
post Jun 9 2012, 03:52 PM

1,646 posts

QUOTE(icecolddamncold @ Jun 9 2012, 10:51 AM)
what is the level that the blacksmith starts to show some descent crafted gears? mine at lvl5 and those forge weapon appear 50+dps only.. how to craft blink.gif
when u say decent, id say lvl10 lol, i honestly nvr touched the ones bellow lvl10, my friend forged one for me when we were low lvl, we easily outgrew it in a short period of time, so yeah, so far i forged some exalted sovereign mail, got some decent stats

on the side note, anyone has any idea which grand plan is worth buying? saw a WD helm and monk helm grand plan going for less than 400k, if the request is there, id buy it and do some smithing services, abit tired of killing stuff everyday for gold, feel like doing some trade stuff more
post Jun 11 2012, 08:48 PM

1,646 posts

QUOTE(Amedion @ Jun 11 2012, 07:23 PM)
I remember chatting with a guy in the general chat. He said he earned 25m+ so far by just making grand shoulder piece and sell in AH.
Don't know if its true or not. I love crafting too but the cost is really killing. I'm saving up for patch 1.03.
id suggest waitin for the next patch 1st, they said they are going to reduce BOTH artisan cost, but so far they've only revealed the reduced cost for gems, so idk, no problem waiting i guess, i think currently my problem is how plans are so over priced lately, i rly wish i can get one decent one thru hunting, but so far only get non fine or grand ones...which is quite a bummer lol
post Jun 12 2012, 01:48 PM

1,646 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Jun 12 2012, 01:36 PM)
even maxed black smith level liao also no high base dmg weapon? O_O
when you max your smith, it allows you to learn certain blacksmith plans(have to hunt) depending on the ilvl plan, some weapons even thou the shown base dmg is like 300+, when you forge, its a random chance of rolling the dmg, some ppl get 3xx,7xx, if you are lucky you get 9xx dmg, so far havent heard of ppl rolling 1k dmg yet, so yeah...the reason why smithed weapons would out class farmed weapons would be coz its 6 attributes, meaning its CONFIRMED 6 attributes, sure you can farm a 9xx weapon from mobs, but what are the chances that the weapon has 6 attributes or socket?

thats my logic in thinking smithing high tier weapons is worth it IF YOU ARE LUCKY to get 9xx. LOL!
post Jun 12 2012, 01:57 PM

1,646 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Jun 12 2012, 01:51 PM)
^ oooo okies thanks!
eh plans only drop in inferno when we have maxed the blacksmith level?

or they drop also before maxing black smith level?

i think i found a list:
http://diablo.incgamers.com/forums/showthr...cksmith-s-Plans
erm at the bottom all plans. the artisan useless one dunno plans need us give them plans. doh.gif
from my experience it drops in inferno only regardless of your smith level, smith lvl comes to play when you want to learn the plans since some plans have lvl requirement for smith, other than that the plan still drops randomly inferno.

so far ive havent heard from any confirm source that plans do drop outside inferno yet, have to check

ive added a link at the 1st post of the official page of the recipes and plan lists, sry cant check that link now, in office lol! they block sad.gif
post Jun 12 2012, 02:12 PM

1,646 posts

QUOTE(aLertz @ Jun 12 2012, 02:09 PM)
so far i play until inferno act I oni drop 1 staff of herding plan...
so i guess the plans are drop oni in inferno mode...

btw, fyi, after salvaging like 29 magic and 2 rares oni get 1 fiery brimstone and it's from a magic eq smile.gif
yep, found out bout that last week, ive updated it on the salvage list already lul
post Jun 12 2012, 08:08 PM

1,646 posts

well honestly, sometimes i feel salvaging is not worth it, depends on the market, if you can get mats cheaper than the total sale amount that you npc, might as well npc all the items u wanna salvage and buy the mats lol

This post has been edited by The Amateur Working Bee: Jun 12 2012, 08:08 PM
post Jun 13 2012, 01:11 PM

1,646 posts

QUOTE(nightshade_nova @ Jun 13 2012, 01:09 PM)
lul I salvaged 43 lvl 60 rare straight, 0 brimstone.
Salvage still untung most of the time, if the wep isnt AH worthy+lvl60.

If selling mat isnt profitable, ppl wont sell.
Just now got emergency, sold all my mat and got almost 400k.  shocking.gif
inferno lvl mats in AH? whats your pricing on it? O.o
post Jun 13 2012, 01:55 PM

1,646 posts

QUOTE(nightshade_nova @ Jun 13 2012, 01:53 PM)
no, I mean if the item is crap, sell npc lower than 1k gold better salvage and sell the (inferno) mats
sell mats on AH got tax, but quickest.just did quick search, essence is about 2k, tear is about 1.4k each.
so if you sell rare npc low than 2.7k[3.4kx0.85] (which is the case most of the time), better salvage and sell mats on ah/forum.
interesting, have to go home and check the market again, if the numbers are favourable, salvage might actually earn more lulz

This post has been edited by The Amateur Working Bee: Jun 19 2012, 02:00 AM
post Jun 20 2012, 04:45 PM

1,646 posts

QUOTE(heaven @ Jun 20 2012, 04:35 PM)
Hmmm, I got my Blacksmith to Level 10 for quite some time, and a few plans trained, can help smith some if anybody is interested, btw does NV effect Haedrig's performance?
welcome to the club mate! if u can list me the plans you own, ill add your name to the list of service available

sadly NV does not affect the smithing results
post Jun 20 2012, 06:44 PM

1,646 posts

QUOTE(Azurues @ Jun 20 2012, 06:27 PM)

6 properties wand forging service for sale biggrin.gif

if u do not trust me, then i will stream for u to avoid cheating
will add your name to the list of forging service, welcome to the club mate!
post Jun 21 2012, 06:30 PM

1,646 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Jun 21 2012, 10:40 AM)
looks like bs plans not in favor of DH, the highest DH ready item i see in weapon category is exalted grand quiver only
prolly just the quivers and Grand Doomcaster, the rest....not worth it imo lol

0.0699sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 04:14 PM