Global Trading Accounts, Investing in shares other than KLSE

TSgc68
post Jun 8 2012, 11:06 AM, updated 14y ago

132 posts

Hi, I am planning to invest in foreign share markets, namely NYSE, NASDAQ, Singapore, Australia, Hong Kong and the UK.

Has anyone here opened a Global Trading Account before? I heard that Maybank Investment Bank does offer such a service.

I would very much appreciate some advice on the following :

1. Trading fees - has anyone made a comparison of fees and charges for trading? Which provider in KL has the lowest fees?

2. Taxes - I understand that in some countries, one has to pay capital gains tax. How much is it for US, Australia and Singapore etc?

3. Which country should I start? The US market sounds promising ... hoping to get Apple, Google, Facebook or even IBM shares ...

4. Is there a minimum amount to start investing ?

Thanks!

SUSlowya
post Jun 8 2012, 03:33 PM

4,821 posts

by now there should be many brokers contacted u already.. maybe u can share with us who approached u so far? as i understand to trade overseas markets in, malaysia brokers are not so competitive, i might be wrong..
rayng18
post Jun 8 2012, 04:02 PM

1,481 posts

Most major investment banks imn Malaysia already have these cross border trading and the fees depend on each banks. You just need to call them to find out from them
TSgc68
post Jun 8 2012, 04:26 PM

132 posts

So far I have approched Maybank and ECM Libra.

For Maybank :

SGX Shares - 0.4% or US$25 per transaction min
NYSE, NASDAQ - 0.4% or US$25 per transaction min
ASX Shares - 0.4% or AUD65 per transaction min

For ECM Libra
SGX - 0.07% or SGD$20 per trx
ASX - 0.2% min or AUD$35 per trx
NYSE, NASDAQ - 0.15% min or US$15

john123x
post Jun 8 2012, 06:00 PM

3,019 posts

QUOTE(gc68 @ Jun 8 2012, 04:26 PM)
So far I have approched Maybank and ECM Libra.

For Maybank :

SGX Shares - 0.4% or US$25 per transaction min
NYSE, NASDAQ - 0.4% or US$25 per transaction min
ASX Shares - 0.4% or AUD65 per transaction min

For ECM Libra
SGX - 0.07% or SGD$20 per trx
ASX - 0.2% min or AUD$35 per trx
NYSE, NASDAQ - 0.15% min or US$15
so expensive!!!!!
thats why most malaysia trade locally...

TSgc68
post Jun 9 2012, 10:04 AM

132 posts

QUOTE(john123x @ Jun 8 2012, 06:00 PM)
so expensive!!!!!
thats why most malaysia trade locally...
Yeah, Malaysian share market has quite limited options.

We do not have any global companies that give good dividends and have strong track records like IBM, Google and Apple.

rosdi1
post Jun 9 2012, 10:42 AM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(gc68 @ Jun 9 2012, 10:04 AM)
Yeah, Malaysian share market has quite limited options.

We do not have any global companies that give good dividends and have strong track records like IBM, Google and Apple.
I use Interactive Broker...USD 1 per trade and USD 0.75 per trade for options
opening of a/c USD 10K Margin 4 : 1
to day trade a/c must be maintained above USD 25K ( applied to all us based brokers)
phoenix87
post Jun 9 2012, 10:44 AM

709 posts

investing is acceptable the fee........but trading the fee will kill you
TSgc68
post Jun 9 2012, 11:12 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(rosdi1 @ Jun 9 2012, 10:42 AM)
I use Interactive Broker...USD 1 per trade and  USD 0.75 per trade for options
opening of a/c USD 10K  Margin  4 : 1
to day trade a/c must be maintained above USD 25K ( applied to all us based brokers)
Thanks for the tip Rosdi1.

How do you manage your cash and foreign currency?

Do you have to TT the money to the broker in the US? Somehow TT rates are not very attractive.

Do you have to maintain a foreign currency account? If so which bank do you use? Maybank's foreign currency rates are not very good ....
rosdi1
post Jun 13 2012, 12:21 PM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(gc68 @ Jun 9 2012, 11:12 PM)
Thanks for the tip Rosdi1.

How do you manage your cash and foreign currency?

Do you have to TT the money to the broker in the US? Somehow TT rates are not very attractive.

Do you have to maintain a foreign currency account? If so which bank do you use? Maybank's foreign currency rates are not very good ....
Yes I TT my fund to my account.with them .
They will deposit in the trust accout with the bank there.
You don't have problem to TT less than RM100K per year if not have to get Bank Negara approval
The cost of TT is generally cheap and cleared the same day/ next day there.
To make sure you don't get taxed you must not have any US address and you have to fill in the declaration form.
To cash out I asked them to TT back the fund but your tarding a/c name and your bank a/c name here must be exactly the same.
Good Luck to you.
yokaze
post Jun 19 2012, 11:34 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(rosdi1 @ Jun 9 2012, 10:42 AM)
I use Interactive Broker...USD 1 per trade and  USD 0.75 per trade for options
opening of a/c USD 10K  Margin  4 : 1
Hi rosdi1, I'm interested to open an international a/c as well (mainly US), but mainly for investment purposes. Don't plan to trade frequently. As such, Interactive Broker's minimum activity fees of USD 10 per month kinda negate their low commissions.

Do you know what other online brokers offer accounts for non-US customers? It's difficult to find a listing of such info... so far I've only found Zecco, and it's fee structure appears much more suited for my needs (no activity minimums, USD 5 per trade), but it also looks rather "immature" compared to Interactive Broker.
rosdi1
post Jun 20 2012, 08:21 AM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(yokaze @ Jun 19 2012, 11:34 PM)
Hi rosdi1, I'm interested to open an international a/c as well (mainly US), but mainly for investment purposes. Don't plan to trade frequently. As such, Interactive Broker's minimum activity fees of USD 10 per month kinda negate their low commissions.

Do you know what other online brokers offer accounts for non-US customers? It's difficult to find a listing of such info... so far I've only found Zecco, and it's fee structure appears much more suited for my needs (no activity minimums, USD 5 per trade), but it also looks rather "immature" compared to Interactive Broker.
Sorry I couldn't help you. I also have TD Ameritrade and option Express which I had stopped using.
yokaze
post Jun 23 2012, 12:18 AM

30 posts

Hi, for anyone else interested in opening an international broker account, here's what I've found so far:
(I'm mainly interested in US ETFs for now, and buy-and-hold non-margin investment rather than active trading. So the figures here will reflect that)

Interactive Brokers
The most established of all the lot. Covers many other markets besides the US. Supposedly newbie unfriendly trading platform though. Also, the minimum activity fee makes it less attractive for non-active trading.
Minimum starting deposit: USD 10,000 (ouch!)
Commissions: min USD 1 per trade / USD .005 per share (very nice!)
Minimum activity fee: USD 10 per month (wish they didn't have this, else it would be the clear choice)

Zecco
Supposedly its trading platform has less features than other established online brokers. Quite attractive commissions though.
Minimum starting deposit: none
Commissions: flat USD 5 per trade (not bad)
Minimum activity fee: none

SureTrader
Appears to be based in the Bahamas, for reasons that have to do with side-stepping US margin leverage and short sell rules. I don't feel very comfortable about that. Appears to be popular with margin traders though.
Minimum starting deposit: unsure
Minimum activity fee: USD 50 per quarter if less than 15 trades (wish they didn't have this)

E*Trade
One of the more established online traders. Supposedly very newbie friendly.
Minimum starting deposit: USD 1,000
Commissions: flat USD 20 per trade (ouch! but can qualify for USD 10 if over USD 50,000 in account)
Minimum activity fee: none (not very sure about this)

Internaxx
International bank in Luxembourg. Expensive commissions, but it's backed by a major CA/US broker (TD Ameritrade).
Commissions: flat EUR 20 per trade (not very sure about this, but ouch!)
Minimum activity fee: unsure

One thing I'm still unsure of are the TT fees for topping up accounts. Local charges are clear (e.g. Maybank2U at RM 10 per transfer), but charges at the US end are unclear. I'm hearing of charges up to USD 25 per transfer? Painful...
Patrick-Star
post Jun 24 2012, 11:00 PM

80 posts

CIMB iTrade also has cross border trading facility
fttrader
post Jul 2 2012, 01:33 AM

35 posts

I use Interactive Brokers for day trading. Superb trading platform. Quotes and trade executions all in 1 screen, but I feel its charting platform less superior than Thinkorswim.

This post has been edited by fttrader: Jul 2 2012, 01:33 AM
TSgc68
post Jul 22 2012, 10:43 AM

132 posts

Folks,

Some progress updates - I have successfully opened Maybank Global Trading account and have been actively buying in the last 2 weeks.

Why MBB instead of international foreign brokers? Legal recourse. If there are any issues with the local broker, I can go after them.

As for international brokers, things can be more complicated.

Moreover, my local broker has been very helpful [surpirisngly].

My general impression is that local brokers don't give you much attention until you have more than RM100K. The one I used to have with Affin totally sux, she is not even interested to chat any longer than 1 minute!

I am starting small but this broker of mine has been patient and responsive.

I have been focusing on banking shares in NYSE and HKEx since they are all very undervalued now. Their PE ratio are all single digit, DY is at least 2%, most are 3%.

I also get access to all the stock reports by S&P, it is a good source of information that summarized the profile of the stock. You CANNOT get that kind of quality report from local research houses.

For example - they even provide you with the total $$$ worth now if you had invested US$10,000 in the stock 5 years ago. And a lot of US banking stocks are way below the US$10K mark!

HKEx banking shares DY are even better and I'm talking about banks with assets size of more than RM500 billion.

Energy stocks are also down for this year and it is worth watching and see if it goes any lower.

One last thing - while ECMLibra per trx rates are lower, there is a local charge of RM40 per trade. So if you add up all that cost, it is more expensive than MBB Global Trade.

Anyone here has CIMB global trading rates?

Added on July 22, 2012, 12:06 pmGreat list yokaze.

I just got the June 2012 copy of SmartMoney and it has an article on 2012 Broker Rankings.

Here's the Top 10 & theri commissions :

1. Fidelity - $8
2. Scottrade - $7
3. TD Ameritrade - $10
4. E-Trade - $10
5. Schwab - $9
6. TradeKing - $5
7. Zecco - $5
8. Merrill Edge - $7
9. ShareBuilder - $10
10. WellsTrade - $9

Fidelity, Ameritrade and e-TRade has the best trading tools and research tools ranking - 5*.

QUOTE(yokaze @ Jun 23 2012, 12:18 AM)
Hi, for anyone else interested in opening an international broker account, here's what I've found so far:
(I'm mainly interested in US ETFs for now, and buy-and-hold non-margin investment rather than active trading. So the figures here will reflect that)

Interactive Brokers
The most established of all the lot. Covers many other markets besides the US. Supposedly newbie unfriendly trading platform though. Also, the minimum activity fee makes it less attractive for non-active trading.
Minimum starting deposit: USD 10,000 (ouch!)
Commissions: min USD 1 per trade / USD .005 per share (very nice!)
Minimum activity fee: USD 10 per month (wish they didn't have this, else it would be the clear choice)

Zecco
Supposedly its trading platform has less features than other established online brokers. Quite attractive commissions though.
Minimum starting deposit: none
Minimum activity fee: none

SureTrader
Appears to be based in the Bahamas, for reasons that have to do with side-stepping US margin leverage and short sell rules. I don't feel very comfortable about that. Appears to be popular with margin traders though.
Minimum activity fee: USD 50 per quarter if less than 15 trades (wish they didn't have this)

E*Trade
One of the more established online traders. Supposedly very newbie friendly.
Minimum starting deposit: USD 1,000
Commissions: flat USD 20 per trade (ouch! but can qualify for USD 10 if over USD 50,000 in account)
Minimum activity fee: none (not very sure about this)

Internaxx
International bank in Luxembourg. Expensive commissions, but it's backed by a major CA/US broker (TD Ameritrade).
Commissions: flat EUR 20 per trade (not very sure about this, but ouch!)
Minimum activity fee: unsure
One thing I'm still unsure of are the TT fees for topping up accounts. Local charges are clear (e.g. Maybank2U at RM 10 per transfer), but charges at the US end are unclear. I'm hearing of charges up to USD 25 per transfer? Painful...
This post has been edited by gc68: Jul 22 2012, 12:06 PM
stockerzzz
post Jul 24 2012, 09:33 PM

425 posts

QUOTE(gc68 @ Jul 22 2012, 10:43 AM)
Folks,

Some progress updates - I have successfully opened Maybank Global Trading account and have been actively buying in the last 2 weeks.

Why MBB instead of international foreign brokers? Legal recourse. If there are any issues with the local broker, I can go after them.

As for international brokers, things can be more complicated.

Moreover, my local broker has been very helpful [surpirisngly].

My general impression is that local brokers don't give you much attention until you have more than RM100K. The one I used to have with Affin totally sux, she is not even interested to chat any longer than 1 minute!

I am starting small but this broker of mine has been patient and responsive.

I have been focusing on banking shares in NYSE and HKEx since they are all very undervalued now. Their PE ratio are all single digit, DY is at least 2%, most are 3%.

I also get access to all the stock reports by S&P, it is a good source of information that summarized the profile of the stock. You CANNOT get that kind of quality report from local research houses.

For example - they even provide you with the total $$$ worth now if you had invested US$10,000 in the stock 5 years ago. And a lot of US banking stocks are way below the US$10K mark!

HKEx banking shares DY are even better and I'm talking about banks with assets size of more than RM500 billion.

Energy stocks are also down for this year and it is worth watching and see if it goes any lower. 

One last thing - while ECMLibra per trx rates are lower, there is a local charge of RM40 per trade. So if you add up all that cost, it is more expensive than MBB Global Trade.

Anyone here has CIMB global trading rates?

Added on July 22, 2012, 12:06 pmGreat list yokaze.

I just got the June 2012 copy of SmartMoney and it has an article on 2012 Broker Rankings.

Here's the Top 10 & theri commissions :

1. Fidelity - $8
2. Scottrade - $7
3. TD Ameritrade - $10
4. E-Trade - $10
5. Schwab - $9
6. TradeKing - $5
7. Zecco - $5
8. Merrill Edge - $7
9. ShareBuilder - $10
10. WellsTrade - $9

Fidelity, Ameritrade and e-TRade has the best trading tools and research tools ranking - 5*.
So, is there any minimum deposit needed in order to trade foreign shares using MBB global trade? just wanted to park some of the unused money in foreign blue chip stocks. hehe
TSgc68
post Jul 30 2012, 05:45 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(stockerzzz @ Jul 24 2012, 09:33 PM)
So, is there any minimum deposit needed in order to trade foreign shares using MBB global trade? just wanted to park some of the unused money in foreign blue chip stocks. hehe
There is no minimum deposit BUT please keep in mind that this account is non-interest bearing.

This post has been edited by gc68: Jul 30 2012, 05:54 PM
zamans98
post Jul 31 2012, 04:13 PM

oquıÉɹ ÇÉ¥‡ ɹnjo 'ÇɹÇÉ¥Çɯos
8,510 posts

For small traders, MBTrading $4.95.
Better tools than TD or E-Trade.
Why the heck u want all the tools when 95% u will not use it?

Most of retailers just use Charting and Options tools.

For mid-long term traders which is buy and hold - none of those also required. Just click the BUY/SELL button, enough.

lovelypastels
post Aug 10 2012, 06:03 PM

15 posts

Anyone has CIMB's cross border trade rates?
SANGKANCIL2000
post Sep 28 2012, 10:39 PM

164 posts

hows the experience with malaysia broker so far?
lostandfoundlove
post Aug 14 2013, 11:03 AM

123 posts

hi guys new here, have been investing in the local market but i now want to explore outside

just a question which broker do you guys use for foreign share trading? I have a maybank account thinking of opening it up to trade foreign shares but i was wondering whether i could also trade options on maybank

appreciate the inputs, thanks.
kimyee73
post Aug 16 2013, 12:13 PM

1,007 posts

I've been using TD Ameritrade for more than 10 years. I started with Datek Online before it merged with Ameritrade in 2002. Not sure why but my fee is now $5 per transaction, down from usual ~$10. It has many trading platforms. The normal web based tool is sufficient for buy-and-hold stocks but for active trading especially trading options, it's ThinkOrSwim (TOS)platform is superb.

This is from Wiki:

TD Ameritrade earned five stars and finished second overall in the StockBrokers.com 2011 Online Broker Review with the thinkorswim platform taking top honors. In 2012, they earned five stars, a first place finish, and a slew of Best in Class awards along with thinkorswim once again taking top trading platform. For 2013, TD Ameritrade repeated their #1 Overall performance, earning four and a half stars, a first place finish, thinkorswim as top trading platform, and finished first for new investors.

This post has been edited by kimyee73: Aug 16 2013, 12:15 PM
zamans98
post Aug 16 2013, 07:32 PM

oquıÉɹ ÇÉ¥‡ ɹnjo 'ÇɹÇÉ¥Çɯos
8,510 posts

MBtrading is good enough.

Charting ok, options trade OK, fast execution, easy withdrawal/deposit.
Online customer support (skype, chat etc).

Fee $4.95/trade.

ta5851
post Sep 21 2013, 12:18 PM

57 posts

Hai, just have a question. When we open a new global trading acc with maybank, do we need to open another current acc with them? ( I already have a current non margin acc link with a local trading acc with them) If we have to open a new one, can we see the current acc listed together other current acc in our normal m2u bannking acc or it is just a trust acc which is not listed with other bank acc? Thanks. Just summit the application and now can see the global trading logo but show invalid acc when click rclxub.gif

duckaton
post Sep 21 2013, 01:50 PM

Progress is Imminent
1,216 posts

with the violent fluactuation of exchange rate.
every trade oso got effect and must calculate rates before commit.

TCBiP
post Mar 31 2014, 12:33 PM

20 posts

Hi Rosdi1,

I have just opened an trading account in Interactive Brokers but have no idea how to transfer fund from my local bank (Maybank) account to IB trading account, could you please assist on this issue ? Thanks a lot smile.gif

QUOTE(rosdi1 @ Jun 13 2012, 12:21 PM)
You don't have problem to TT less than RM100K per year if not have to get Bank Negara approval
To make sure you don't get taxed you must not have any US address and you have to fill in the declaration form.
To cash out I asked them to TT back the fund but your tarding a/c name and your bank a/c name here must be exactly the same.
Good Luck to you.
normanTE
post Apr 3 2014, 05:23 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(TCBiP @ Mar 31 2014, 12:33 PM)
Hi Rosdi1,

I have just opened an trading account in Interactive Brokers but have no idea how to transfer fund from my local bank (Maybank) account to IB trading account, could you please assist on this issue ? Thanks a lot smile.gif
eh u all realise either etrade/sogotrade/ameritrade/ upon dividend collection there is 30% non-us citizen witholding tax. where as if u are buying same stock from LSE eg gsk.l british petroleum.london or hsbc.london there is no taxation for british stock. which at the moment local bank trading fees for uk stock is 0.7% or minimum 97 GBP per trade and stamp duty 0.5%

eg if u bought 100share of GSK at 1590pence = 1590 + 97 gbp + 7.95 = total is GBP 1694.

agree local share non have good track record of dividend increase and stable pricing for the last 20yrs.
china shadow banking have made many private equity to flee china stock at the moment. no doubt if u have 20-30 yrs of investing horizon will have a very bright future. i am a diversified investor
my portfolio. (anything had no miss his earning for the last 10 yrs + high dividend yeild)
bank of china 3988.hk 7% no tax
hsbc
standard chartered
coca-cola
kraft
tesco (bought recently below 290pence)
gsk
PM
unilever
shells
china mobile and petroleum
british petroleum
berkshire b class
altria group
macdonald
visa mastercard and american express.
nestle lindt7sprungi swiss reinsurance zurich insurance munich reinsurance,
burberry
LVMH
vanguard s&p 500 index funds (can only use tdameritrade to buy)

above mentioned non of the local equity can match their size or competitive advantage.

as for transfer easy la. go to ure local bank and ask for assistance.

This post has been edited by normanTE: Apr 3 2014, 05:55 PM
konchy
post Oct 2 2014, 03:25 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(normanTE @ Apr 3 2014, 05:23 PM)
eh u all realise either etrade/sogotrade/ameritrade/ upon dividend collection there is 30% non-us citizen witholding tax. where as if u are buying same stock from LSE  eg gsk.l british petroleum.london or hsbc.london  there is no taxation for british stock. which at the moment local bank trading fees for uk stock is 0.7% or minimum 97 GBP per trade and stamp duty 0.5%

eg if u bought 100share of GSK at 1590pence = 1590 + 97 gbp + 7.95 = total is GBP 1694.

agree local share non have good track record of dividend increase and stable pricing for the last 20yrs.
china shadow banking have made many private equity to flee china stock at the moment. no doubt if u have 20-30 yrs of investing horizon will have a very bright future. i am a diversified investor
my portfolio. (anything had no miss his earning for the last 10 yrs + high dividend yeild)
bank of china 3988.hk 7% no tax
hsbc
standard chartered
coca-cola
kraft
tesco (bought recently below 290pence)
gsk
PM
unilever
shells
china mobile and petroleum
british petroleum
berkshire b class
altria group
macdonald
visa mastercard and american express. 
nestle lindt7sprungi swiss reinsurance zurich insurance munich reinsurance,
burberry
LVMH
vanguard s&p 500 index funds (can only use tdameritrade to buy)

above mentioned non of the local equity can match their size or competitive advantage.

as for transfer easy la. go to ure local bank and ask for assistance.
Hi Norman,

What's the least expensive way to buy ETFs on the London Stock Exchange? There's quite a nice selection of ETFs. Furthermore, vanguard just launched 4 new ETFs on LSE today.

http://www.morningstar.co.uk/uk/news/12976...et-cheaper.aspx

Also, some of the ETFs come in GBP currency and some in USD currency.
For instance, the new Vanguard FTSE North America UCITS ETF code is VNRT for GBP and VDNR for USD. Does the currency make any difference?

Selectt
post Nov 28 2014, 08:19 PM

wattttt!!
1,708 posts

park
hangus
post Nov 29 2014, 10:39 PM

49 posts

I would suggest flying to Singapore and open an OCBC Securities broker account. Check out their website http://www.iocbc.com/ . They have 14 markets to choose from. Got access to Asia Pacific, US, Europe and Australia. Really comprehensive if you ask me.
wodenus
post Nov 30 2014, 03:55 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(hangus @ Nov 29 2014, 10:39 PM)
I would suggest flying to Singapore and open an OCBC Securities broker account. Check out their website http://www.iocbc.com/ . They have 14 markets to choose from. Got access to Asia Pacific, US, Europe and Australia. Really comprehensive if you ask me.
What are the commissions like?

This post has been edited by wodenus: Nov 30 2014, 04:01 PM
BabyZebraCrossing
post Dec 7 2014, 08:30 AM

194 posts

I have a silly question, if we trade any foreign stock and our ringgit continue to depreciate then it is good or bad to us?
repusez
post Dec 7 2014, 05:36 PM

669 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Nov 30 2014, 03:55 PM)
What are the commissions like?
i think you can download from here
http://portal.iocbc.com/assets/pdf/ospl/Co...sionCharges.pdf

usd min per trade is 0.30% per trade , min usd $20

wodenus
post Dec 7 2014, 07:05 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(repusez @ Dec 7 2014, 05:36 PM)
i think you can download from here
http://portal.iocbc.com/assets/pdf/ospl/Co...sionCharges.pdf

usd min per trade is 0.30% per trade , min usd $20
Wow more than 60 bux. min.. about Rm20K per counter if you want to get 0.30%?

This post has been edited by wodenus: Dec 7 2014, 07:06 PM
Ken.B
post Dec 9 2014, 11:48 AM

163 posts

QUOTE(BabyZebraCrossing @ Dec 7 2014, 08:30 AM)
I have a silly question, if we trade any foreign stock and our ringgit continue to depreciate then it is good or bad to us?
If MYR depreciate, our foreign stock holding in USD will worth more (assuming stock price is the same). If you want to buy more after the MYR depreciate, then it will be more expansive.
ahwai
post Dec 9 2014, 04:04 PM

448 posts

QUOTE(ta5851 @ Sep 21 2013, 12:18 PM)
Hai, just have a question. When we open a new global trading acc with maybank, do we need to open another current acc with them? ( I already have a current non margin  acc link with a local trading acc with them) If we have to open a new one, can we see the current acc listed together other current acc in our normal m2u bannking acc or it is just a trust acc which is not listed with other bank acc? Thanks. Just summit the application and now can see the global trading logo but show invalid acc when click rclxub.gif
No need to open another current account. Just the usual direct trading acc is enough to trade global shares via m2u online stock / powerbroking2u
ahwai
post Dec 9 2014, 04:05 PM

448 posts

QUOTE(BabyZebraCrossing @ Dec 7 2014, 08:30 AM)
if you hold US shares then very good.. u gain on forex
ahwai
post Dec 9 2014, 04:07 PM

448 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Dec 7 2014, 07:05 PM)
Wow more than 60 bux. min.. about Rm20K per counter if you want to get 0.30%?
i can offer 0.4% flat minimum usd25
felixmask
post Dec 9 2014, 04:14 PM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(ahwai @ Dec 9 2014, 04:07 PM)
i can offer 0.4% flat minimum usd25
1) i have USD cash; do u accept banking into CDS foreign acc pool?
becoz i dont like to use Maybank exchange rate.
2) I have stock at nominee CDS can you convert.transfer to mine Direct CDS. Both also maybank. Can do for FREE.

This post has been edited by felixmask: Dec 9 2014, 04:16 PM
ahwai
post Dec 9 2014, 04:25 PM

448 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Dec 9 2014, 04:14 PM)
1) i have USD cash; do u accept banking into CDS foreign acc pool?
    becoz i dont like to use Maybank exchange rate.
2) I have stock at nominee CDS can you convert.transfer to mine Direct CDS. Both also maybank. Can do for FREE.
1) yes. USD held in a foreign currency a/c Maybank Nominees under your name
2) just open a direct CDS and transfer your shares.
BabyZebraCrossing
post Dec 9 2014, 09:42 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(ahwai @ Dec 9 2014, 04:05 PM)
Thank You,

Anyway , are you a remiser of maybank investment bank? If so,
1)can you list down all stock exchanges that
can be traded with maybank?

2) what are the brokage fees and any other feature that
are provided thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by BabyZebraCrossing: Dec 9 2014, 09:44 PM
wodenus
post Dec 9 2014, 10:51 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(ahwai @ Dec 9 2014, 04:05 PM)
Well yes but if the RM is weak, US shares cost more to buy. And since it is weak it will possibly be stronger some time in the future. So if you buy now, you pay more, and you might not make as much profit in a few years if the RM gets stronger from now.

Best time to buy foreign shares is when the RM is strong. That way you pay less (in RM) to buy them, and in the future when it weakens you will gain more profit smile.gif

This post has been edited by wodenus: Dec 9 2014, 10:52 PM
ahwai
post Dec 10 2014, 10:40 AM

448 posts

QUOTE(BabyZebraCrossing @ Dec 9 2014, 09:42 PM)
Thank You,

Anyway , are you a remiser of maybank investment bank? If so,
1)can you list down all stock exchanges that
can be traded with maybank?

2) what are the brokage fees and any other feature that
are provided thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
1) online - SG, HK, US
offline - Japan, UK, Thai, Indonesia, Australia, Germany, Swiss, Canada, Korea, Philipines, Taiwan, China, Vietnam, India

2) brokerage fees +/- 0.5%
feature provided - 24 hour dealing desk, global research coverage

normanTE
post Dec 10 2014, 05:01 PM

259 posts

seriously this maybank foreign stock is pretty screw up
for the london stock exchange it will cost you 0.7% or 100gbp whichever is more
and they dont offer foreign currency account or foreign currency credit or debit card.
which is another drawback.
seriously if we are living in open market this bank will kena screw big time. ( i can guarrantee you most of the local bank cant survive with the rock bottom trading fees that foreign bank is offering.)

https://www.cimbanque.com/
https://www.sc.com/sg/ways-to-bank/online-trading.html

normanTE
post Dec 10 2014, 05:04 PM

259 posts

if for low us securities account. no minimal to start or maintain can even be 1000us

try http://www.sogotrade.com/
https://www.zecco.com/
normanTE
post Dec 10 2014, 05:10 PM

259 posts

u pandai pandai trade first with 1000usd if at all it earned to 10,000 us can keep with banking as they do come with debit card/
another fantastic broking account is
http://www.investorseurope.com/
this account allow you to access moscow stock exchange and shanghai stock exchange directly with no minimal requirement
repusez
post Dec 19 2014, 03:57 PM

669 posts

QUOTE(normanTE @ Dec 10 2014, 05:04 PM)
if for low us securities account. no minimal to start or maintain can even be 1000us

try http://www.sogotrade.com/
https://www.zecco.com/
hi, how long have you been using this two company to trade US stocks? are they reliable and allow for account opening via online frm malaysia?

ahwai
post Dec 19 2014, 04:01 PM

448 posts

open foreign account overseas.. susah no office in malaysia
could be scam also.. please beware. do at own risk
talexeh
post Dec 23 2014, 12:21 PM

One man's meat is another man's poison.
3,094 posts

QUOTE(ahwai @ Dec 19 2014, 04:01 PM)
open foreign account overseas.. susah no office in malaysia
could be scam also.. please beware. do at own risk
I kinda agree. When it comes to hard-earned money, you either go with those trusted foreign brokerage like IB / Ameritrade or accept those local brokerage with killer fees. sweat.gif
Butcherator
post Jan 7 2015, 04:13 PM

58 posts

Can I ask how much is the foreign (Singapore) shares dividend handling charges for local brokers other than HL e-broking (e.g Maybank/CIMB iTrade).

I am using Hong Leong e-Broking and the charges are high in my point of view. 10 SGD for every dividend you receive. Is it normal ?

This post has been edited by Butcherator: Jan 7 2015, 04:30 PM
ryan18
post Jan 7 2015, 10:54 PM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(Butcherator @ Jan 7 2015, 04:13 PM)
Can I ask how much is the foreign (Singapore) shares dividend handling charges for local brokers other than HL e-broking (e.g Maybank/CIMB iTrade).

I am using Hong Leong e-Broking and the charges are high in my point of view. 10 SGD for every dividend you receive. Is it normal ?
CIMB also charge $10
Butcherator
post Jan 8 2015, 04:07 PM

58 posts

Thanks Ryan18. My friend confirmed that Maybank doesn't have any charges on the dividends. Looking to change from HL to Maybank.

This post has been edited by Butcherator: Jan 8 2015, 04:07 PM
jo3456
post Mar 25 2015, 06:02 PM

hi guys,

Which local broker is best to use for HGX stock?

thanks alot
wodenus
post Mar 25 2015, 06:55 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(ahwai @ Dec 9 2014, 04:25 PM)
1) yes. USD held in a foreign currency a/c Maybank Nominees under your name
2) just open a direct CDS and transfer your shares.
Share transfer will involve a cost right?

wodenus
post Mar 25 2015, 07:15 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Butcherator @ Jan 8 2015, 04:07 PM)
Thanks Ryan18. My friend confirmed that Maybank doesn't have any charges on the dividends. Looking to change from HL to Maybank.
The downside is this :

(1) You never know if your dividends are in.. you won't find out until you call your broker.

(2) Dividend crediting can take a while.. sometimes weeks. If your broker says dividend is in, you pretty much have to take his word for it, until the statement arrives.

(3) You have no idea of knowing how much funds you have in any currency until you call your broker.

In short you have to call your broker. A lot lol. If you are a trader you have to keep your own records. With HLB it's more expensive, but you can see same day when your dividends go in. Also the lag time is less, Maybank KE's order execution is not as fast as UOB Singapore (HLB's foreign partner) but they are much cheaper.

In short, HLE : less trouble, faster execution, more expensive.

Maybank KE : not as fast, a bit more troublesome, cheaper smile.gif

This post has been edited by wodenus: Mar 26 2015, 11:23 AM
ahwai
post Mar 26 2015, 08:48 AM

448 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Mar 25 2015, 06:55 PM)
Share transfer will involve a cost right?
RM10 only
wodenus
post Mar 27 2015, 12:15 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Butcherator @ Jan 8 2015, 04:07 PM)
Your friend seems to be mistaken. There does seem to be a charge, it's just lower than HLB's smile.gif

This post has been edited by wodenus: Mar 27 2015, 12:22 PM
wodenus
post Mar 27 2015, 01:16 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(ahwai @ Mar 26 2015, 08:48 AM)
RM10 only
So any idea of the actual nominee and foreign agent rate on foreign equity?
ahwai
post Mar 27 2015, 02:38 PM

448 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Mar 27 2015, 01:16 PM)
So any idea of the actual nominee and foreign agent rate on foreign equity?
depends on which exchange... some have some don't have
wodenus
post Mar 27 2015, 05:01 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(ahwai @ Mar 27 2015, 02:38 PM)
depends on which exchange... some have some don't have
Ok is there anywhere a list of exchanges with the corresponding foreign agent and nominee rates for dividends? should be one, or at least broker should do one as a service to clients smile.gif

ahwai
post Mar 27 2015, 05:07 PM

448 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Mar 27 2015, 05:01 PM)
Ok is there anywhere a list of exchanges with the corresponding foreign agent and nominee rates for dividends? should be one, or at least  broker should do one as a service to clients smile.gif
check your pm
kenviro
post Apr 2 2015, 05:13 PM

144 posts

But I don't think the trading a/c name and bank a/c name here will be the same.

Let's say your name is Tan Boon Huat. Tan is your surname or last name. Boon Huat is your first name. In the online form, they ask you for "First Name" and "Last Name" so you type Tan as your last name and Boon Huat as your first name. Your name will appear as Boon Huat Tan. However, your local bank account shows that your name is Tan Boon Huat.

Since the order of the first name and last name differs, would there be a problem when it comes to the broker processing the withdrawal of funds?

QUOTE(rosdi1 @ Jun 13 2012, 12:21 PM)
Good Luck to you.
aspartame
post Apr 2 2015, 08:11 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(kenviro @ Apr 2 2015, 05:13 PM)

Let's say your name is Tan Boon Huat. Tan is your surname or last name. Boon Huat is your first name. In the online form, they ask you for "First Name" and "Last Name" so you type Tan as your last name and Boon Huat as your first name. Your name will appear as Boon Huat Tan. However, your local bank account shows that your name is Tan Boon Huat.

Since the order of the first name and last name differs, would there be a problem when it comes to the broker processing the withdrawal of funds?
I don't think you will have problems if you fill in as you have mentioned.
netmask8
post Apr 2 2015, 08:20 PM

Validating
1,525 posts

QUOTE(kenviro @ Apr 2 2015, 05:13 PM)

No issue on last name (Surname) and First name , during buy/sell/transfer the money to/back on ETRADE, TRADEKING, UBS, as well as few local banks here. The trading / bank account number and SWIFT CODE are the
important information too.
Akkarin
post Aug 7 2015, 09:43 PM

35 posts

Hi, I am looking to trade at NYSE. Any suggestion on which broker that is good? I tried Maybank, but the trading platform is lousy
AVFAN
post Aug 7 2015, 10:02 PM

24,454 posts

there have been many threads where people ask about foreign bourses - singapore, usa ,etc., most of which goes unanswered.

maybe this thread should be pinned as there isn't one that has captured good info and links.

here are some the links i can remember, pls read them as there is some useful stuff:

Buy Singapore Stock. Singapore Stock Broker?
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3600727

What platform is used, to buy stocks from foreign country?
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3595816

All about ETFs, Exchange traded funds
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3396549/+40
carrer
post Sep 1 2015, 07:42 PM

453 posts

QUOTE(ahwai @ Mar 27 2015, 05:07 PM)
check your pm
Hello,

I believe that you are a remisier/broker representing Maybank.

I would like to know what is your commission for local stock trading?

CIMB iTrade is about 0.42% while Hong Leong is 0.1%.

If you can offer a competitive commission, please leave your contact or you may PM me.
gotham11
post Feb 29 2016, 11:29 PM

171 posts

Anyone know whether AM esecurities can do global trading?
SUScocbum4
post Mar 1 2016, 02:06 AM

57 posts

Most Malaysia trading platform can do HKSE AMex and SGX for example Maybank/Rhb/Publicbank/Cimb/HLB
AVFAN
post Mar 24 2016, 11:54 AM

24,454 posts

bumped...

every week, somebody will ask in the us stocks thread "how to trade us stocks" or "is there a cheaper broker to trade foreign stocks".

there is no pinned thread or list of FAQ's on the subject.

but the info is available, bits and pieces spread over many threads.

these threads are probably most useful:

All about ETFs, Exchange traded funds
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3396549/+160#bottom

What platform is used, to buy stocks from foreign country?
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3595816

Buy Singapore Stock. Singapore Stock Broker?
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3600727

0.0575sec    0.48    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:10 AM