Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> Sony RX100, New standard for compact camera ? (Photography)

views
     
lwliam
post Jul 31 2012, 02:56 AM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
Group Icon
Elite
6,075 posts

Joined: Jan 2006
From: 3.1553587,101.7135668


QUOTE(0300078 @ Jul 27 2012, 08:54 AM)
yup camera looks nice but still it is Sony to me.... need to wait till the mass got the camera and more review come out first then only decide.
Got feeling next year compact will all come with big sensor. Especially something from canon. G1x already fitted with big sensor but then come a EOS-M which fit a even bigger sensor into a body. So now i am looking forward on what is the G2x and S105 gonna look like. Bigger sensor + faster lens.
*
So basically you're just branding yourself as a sheep.. who only follow what others do, without having any standpoint of your own. How sad.
lwliam
post Jul 31 2012, 09:36 AM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
Group Icon
Elite
6,075 posts

Joined: Jan 2006
From: 3.1553587,101.7135668


as quoted from my friend:

Ferrari good meh?
I read from a proton reviewer said lousy wei...
the brake no as good as BMW
Low power vs veyron
no aero like lambo
Lousy la
Lucky I didn't test drive it...
Problem?

This post has been edited by lwliam: Jul 31 2012, 09:46 AM
lwliam
post Jul 31 2012, 10:56 AM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
Group Icon
Elite
6,075 posts

Joined: Jan 2006
From: 3.1553587,101.7135668


Sniper, I've tested the rx100. Overall it's a good PnS. But coming from a dslr background, the only thing lacking in a PnS is the ability to quickly shift focusing points. Something which can be easily overcome with a touchscreen. Wide area AF sometimes just doesn't cut it. It's unpredictable. My dad's GF3 is nice to use because of that, can't say the same of my nex3. Makes me feel like wanting to upgrade to NEX 5n for the same reason. In the rx100, I feel it's missing this feature. Else it's a very very capable camera esp with the f/1.8 at the wide end.
lwliam
post Jul 31 2012, 11:56 AM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
Group Icon
Elite
6,075 posts

Joined: Jan 2006
From: 3.1553587,101.7135668


Can, but it's very slow to move from one side of the screen to the other. It's faster on a dedicated system like a dslr/t, and not to mention, touchscreen.
lwliam
post Aug 13 2012, 02:41 PM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
Group Icon
Elite
6,075 posts

Joined: Jan 2006
From: 3.1553587,101.7135668


Sniper, I don't think aperture size works that way with respect to crop factor. Crop factor only determines view angle/focal length, not on f-number.
lwliam
post Oct 8 2012, 12:42 AM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
Group Icon
Elite
6,075 posts

Joined: Jan 2006
From: 3.1553587,101.7135668


QUOTE(kelvin_hata @ Oct 8 2012, 12:27 AM)
today go sony center can hand on the rx100... still feels not my type la.. too small for me tongue.gif

but the af is damn fast!! and low light quality vy nice smile.gif

the best price they giv me is rm2299+ cover+ 16gb class 4 sd
*
When lens is retracted, it fits easily into any pocket, even in some jeans. No mirror less can do that, not even with Panasonic's pancake combo.


Added on October 8, 2012, 12:46 amidoblu, try get at least 45mbps rated SD cards for 20Mp burst shots. Even class 10 will not be enough to clear quickly.

This post has been edited by lwliam: Oct 8 2012, 12:46 AM
lwliam
post Oct 8 2012, 11:28 AM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
Group Icon
Elite
6,075 posts

Joined: Jan 2006
From: 3.1553587,101.7135668


QUOTE(idoblu @ Oct 8 2012, 04:32 AM)
is this based on specs or your own experience? if i put in a 45mpbs rated card and shoot in continuous mode, there wont be any blank screen and waiting time for my next shot?
*
I can't say for sure for rx100, but that's the case for my A77's 12 fps. You'll have to look for a friend who has the card to test it out to be sure.

One more thing, if you're on shooting at high speed and your buffer fills up, and your finger is still pressing the shutter, any card also can't stop you from having slowed down frame rate, in my case, it will drop to 1fps, until buffer clears up. But my screen wouldn't black out though, I'd still be able to shoot at the reduced speed, but I've hardly ever need to hit the limit. If I do controlled bursts, I'll basically never hit the limit with my 45mbps card, press and release the shutter button after 5-6 bursts and press again for another 5-6 bursts and repeat.


This post has been edited by lwliam: Oct 8 2012, 11:34 AM
lwliam
post Oct 11 2012, 10:09 PM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
Group Icon
Elite
6,075 posts

Joined: Jan 2006
From: 3.1553587,101.7135668


strik3, u have an RX100?
lwliam
post Oct 19 2012, 05:42 PM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
Group Icon
Elite
6,075 posts

Joined: Jan 2006
From: 3.1553587,101.7135668


don't be lazy bro, go walk around the shops and ask, everyone's looking for the same thing as well.
lwliam
post Oct 19 2012, 09:59 PM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
Group Icon
Elite
6,075 posts

Joined: Jan 2006
From: 3.1553587,101.7135668


Lazy means lazy la, still want to give reason banyak2.
lwliam
post Oct 20 2012, 08:54 PM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
Group Icon
Elite
6,075 posts

Joined: Jan 2006
From: 3.1553587,101.7135668


QUOTE(enviro @ Oct 20 2012, 04:05 PM)
He, He...... the hardworking fellow angry  tongue.gif
*
user posted image

QUOTE(mls_gamer @ Oct 20 2012, 06:01 PM)
My sister want to buy a compact camera ...i will poison him this rx100..hehe~
*
haha, anyways... tried poisoning my friend this afternoon as well with this..
lwliam
post Oct 24 2012, 04:04 PM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
Group Icon
Elite
6,075 posts

Joined: Jan 2006
From: 3.1553587,101.7135668


Wow strik3. So nice ahhh..
lwliam
post Nov 7 2013, 03:13 PM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
Group Icon
Elite
6,075 posts

Joined: Jan 2006
From: 3.1553587,101.7135668


QUOTE(Everdying @ Nov 6 2013, 09:46 PM)
hmm OT abit i think.
i tried QX100 today, dissapointing.
slow focus, slow write time to phone...
maybe the sony phone they use is hopeless...but there was no option to set center AF only...so the camera has its own mind of where it wants to focus on.
*
IINM, you can tap the phone screen to select where to focus.
lwliam
post Nov 7 2013, 05:34 PM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
Group Icon
Elite
6,075 posts

Joined: Jan 2006
From: 3.1553587,101.7135668


QUOTE(Everdying @ Nov 7 2013, 05:11 PM)
uhh yes, im well aware of touch focus.
i said to select center only AF, ie. lock it to center only / disable touch focus - not sure how else i can make it clearer tongue.gif
you can do this on sony phones, but the option wasnt there when paired.
*
Maybe I wasn't being clear enough then, you can touch the centre to use centre focus? (it's a workaround, not a solution)

This post has been edited by lwliam: Nov 7 2013, 05:35 PM
lwliam
post Nov 7 2013, 06:00 PM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
Group Icon
Elite
6,075 posts

Joined: Jan 2006
From: 3.1553587,101.7135668


QUOTE(Everdying @ Nov 7 2013, 05:45 PM)
yes workaround isnt a solution, but the AF isnt locked and the touch screen still isnt disabled, so any accidental touches and have to touch center again etc.
and yes there is the option in my sony xperia to do this, and which it locks to center AF and disables touchscreen, but the option wasnt there when i tried the qx100 in sony store.
*
Isn't that what I just said? hmm.gif

Someone tweaked the settings perhaps..

This post has been edited by lwliam: Nov 7 2013, 06:02 PM
lwliam
post Nov 27 2013, 06:38 PM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
Group Icon
Elite
6,075 posts

Joined: Jan 2006
From: 3.1553587,101.7135668


Hey, I have something similar too

user posted image

30s f/6.3 ISO 100

user posted image

58s f/14.0 ISO 200

user posted image

67s f/16.0 ISO 200

This post has been edited by lwliam: Nov 27 2013, 06:40 PM
lwliam
post Nov 28 2013, 11:09 AM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
Group Icon
Elite
6,075 posts

Joined: Jan 2006
From: 3.1553587,101.7135668


QUOTE(epo @ Nov 28 2013, 12:24 AM)
Wow... 1 minute duration w/out a sign of wind...
What time above pics were taken ?
*
Between 7-9pm iinm..
lwliam
post Dec 2 2013, 10:07 PM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
Group Icon
Elite
6,075 posts

Joined: Jan 2006
From: 3.1553587,101.7135668


zoe33, yes it does.. at the widest end, you get a very bright aperture, so that your shutter speed will be fast enough to capture moving subjects quickly.

Only the RX100 ver.II has the wifi capabilities... The 1st RX100 doesn't have wifi
lwliam
post Dec 12 2013, 08:55 AM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
Group Icon
Elite
6,075 posts

Joined: Jan 2006
From: 3.1553587,101.7135668


QUOTE(epo @ Dec 12 2013, 12:29 AM)
What aperture use if take selfie pix to get sharp focus from ur face till background (eg : landscape) ?
*
The smaller the sensor, the larger the aperture size you can use the achieve the same depth of field when using a larger sized sensor.

How much of the background you want in focus is another question. You want full subject and background in focus? Get the smallest sensor you can find, ie. handphone camera.

On APSC, usually f/8 would be more than enough. You can use a larger aperture size on a 1" sensor.
lwliam
post Dec 23 2013, 09:02 AM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
Group Icon
Elite
6,075 posts

Joined: Jan 2006
From: 3.1553587,101.7135668


QUOTE(pds_disi @ Dec 22 2013, 11:36 PM)
thanks. smile.gif
just sucessfully paired cellphone  and camera after many error message, i can zoom, auto focus, shoot, but too bad cannot touch focus  sad.gif

another question, during preview photo (on camera, not cellphone), once i zoom-in it will zoom-in to maximum. how to i set zoom-in it will zoom-in only a little bit, just like any other camera?
*
It's default that way. You zoom out instead of zooming in. The logic behind it, you zoom because you need to check the focus point at the largest magnification to confirm sharpness. Why take many clicks to do it, when you can do it with just one click? So it's 'any other camera's' that is having the flawed approach imho.

This post has been edited by lwliam: Dec 23 2013, 09:03 AM

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top
 

Switch to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0300sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd June 2020 - 02:21 AM