Photography Sony RX100, New standard for compact camera ?

ben3003
post Nov 2 2013, 06:07 PM

10,604 posts

QUOTE(kernel123 @ Nov 2 2013, 12:55 AM)
anyone has tried and compare between rx100 II and lumia 1020? which is better in image quality?  icon_question.gif
i think we got a clear winner, without thinking, lumia 1020 is a phone with a better camera, period.
ben3003
post Jul 4 2014, 11:55 AM

10,604 posts

price of rx100mk3 can get a a6000 >< but rx100mk3 wipes the floor with a6000+stock lens.. tough decisions, how does rx100 perform at fast moving photography? or low light?
ben3003
post Aug 19 2015, 08:22 AM

10,604 posts

can rx100m1, m2, m3 take really good low light photo? I saw my fren using nikon d5100, even with stock lens and auto mode, taking photograph inside mulu cave with little light is so nice even with flash on, compare to my xz-1 that is completely useless. I dont mean to get rx100 same level as d5100 but at least the lowlight photography can be decent enuf, not unusable.
ben3003
post Nov 3 2016, 11:43 AM

10,604 posts

rx100 iv around 2.5k used one is it a good buy? i planning to upgrade from my xz-1..
ben3003
post Dec 7 2016, 01:04 AM

10,604 posts

if i am less of a video taker, should i consider rx100 iii instead of iv? image quality wise not much diff right?

This post has been edited by ben3003: Dec 7 2016, 01:05 AM
ben3003
post Dec 8 2016, 11:08 PM

10,604 posts

QUOTE(kingkingyyk @ Dec 8 2016, 08:30 AM)
III will do the job without slow motion. The video feature in III is actually very decent with it's full sensor readout. The lacking of S-Log can be overcame by using flat picture profile.

Yes, image quality is identical. wink.gif
ok thanks! will the optical EVF quality really lousy for RX100 3? Another thing is rx100 doest it suffer for and barrel distortion? let say take photo some ppl will get stretch out become looks fat.. don wanna later take photo of a girl then later it came out looking stretched.. i saw alot group photos nowadays will have such effect, kena stretch..
ben3003
post Mar 3 2017, 01:56 PM

10,604 posts

anyone know where can i get best deal for rx100 iv? gemfive foto-shangrila seems to be the best but out of stock sad.gif

http://www.gemfive.com/my/sony-rx100-iv-th...ked-cmos-sensor

ben3003
post Mar 11 2017, 01:49 PM

10,604 posts

anyone know any waterproof pouch for rx100 iv? i saw diapac seems decent but dunno which one gives a good fit to rx100 iv..
ben3003
post Mar 11 2017, 01:56 PM

10,604 posts

QUOTE(Pinnacle1295 @ Mar 11 2017, 01:55 PM)
Diapac pouch? Can you give the link of this pouch?
http://www.lelong.com.my/dicapac-wp-570-wa...6-05-Sale-P.htm

sorry is dicapac

This post has been edited by ben3003: Mar 11 2017, 01:57 PM
ben3003
post Mar 11 2017, 02:18 PM

10,604 posts

QUOTE(Pinnacle1295 @ Mar 11 2017, 02:12 PM)
Oooo ... so it's a waterproof UNDERWATER casing that you meant. Meaning you intend to shoot underwater, right?

If you are just looking for a waterproof casing, maybe you can have a look at these links ...

RX100II + Pelican 1010 hard case = Win
https://www.dpreview.com/forums/post/53710424

Sony RX100 II Waterproof Case Pelican 1010
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MXF5pWaz3cw

Gear Destruction Test : 12g Shotgun Vs Pelican 1010 (Micro Case)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bknwxn3aIsU

Pelican 1010 Micro Case, Black with Clear Lid
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001CCZF6...tag=camguide-20
nono, i just want a decent pouch that i can use them when going to beach or like going to an island, not need something tat can go until 30-40m deep.. things like the dicapac looks decent enuf to protect my camera from splash while not being too bulky.. but not sure that fits or not.. from youtube saying that it might not it too well..
ben3003
post Mar 11 2017, 02:30 PM

10,604 posts

QUOTE(Pinnacle1295 @ Mar 11 2017, 02:25 PM)
I worry this DiCAPac WP-570 Waterproof Casing may not allow you to access the camera control button & dial. In fact the product specs only specified compatible models are ...

Compatible Camera Models Sony Cybershot: H3, H10, H20, H30, DSC-V1, HV-5V.
ah damn.. so any other alternative? other than the bulking underwater housing..

got this fitting guide.. saying wp-570 is suitable for rx100, mk2, mk3 which i assume mk4 also can fit. bUt saw ppl saying problem is can fit but hard to use and the lens barrel is a tight fit, so wanna ask if got anyone using such thing or not. What you guys use if u go for like beach activities or go for a boat ride, i think it is better to keep the camera inside a case or pouch while taking photo right?

Attached File  Dicapac_fitting_guide_camera_150701.pdf ( 180.85k ) Number of downloads: 7

This post has been edited by ben3003: Mar 11 2017, 02:38 PM
ben3003
post Mar 12 2017, 08:53 PM

10,604 posts

QUOTE(Pinnacle1295 @ Mar 11 2017, 07:57 PM)
Saw this waterproof case that allow you to use the RX100 for shooting while still inside the case.

Sony RX100 in a waterproof camera case from Aquapac
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ljvw_klG31I
Great thanks.. dont know where can i get it in Malaysia..
ben3003
post Mar 13 2017, 08:12 AM

10,604 posts

QUOTE(Pinnacle1295 @ Mar 12 2017, 09:02 PM)
I couldn't find at Lazada nor lelong.com. It's available from amazon.com for US$34 though.
https://www.amazon.com/Aquapac-Waterproof-S...8/dp/B0044LXGJI

According to the comments in that YouTube video, someone recommended Aquapac Waterproof Small Camera Case 418 model for RX100.
BTW, a search on Lazada.com.my site came up with a few models of the Dicapac Waterproof Case ....

DICAPAC WP-510 Waterproof Digital Camera Case
http://www.lazada.com.my/dicapac-wp-510-wa...81.html?rb=4331

DiCAPac WP-570 Waterproof Case for Mid-Size Digital Camera
http://www.lazada.com.my/dicapac-wp-570-wa...85.html?rb=4331

DiCAPac WP-610 Waterproof Case for High-End Digital Camera
http://www.lazada.com.my/dicapac-wp-610-wa...86.html?rb=4331

DiCAPac WP-710 Waterproof Case for Compact Digital CamerasĀ 
http://www.lazada.com.my/dicapac-wp-710-wa...87.html?rb=4331
http://www.lazada.com.my/dicapac-wp-710-wa...04.html?rb=4331

DiCAPac WP-ONE Waterproof Case for Compact Digital Camera
http://www.lazada.com.my/dicapac-wp-one-wa...84.html?rb=4331
http://www.lazada.com.my/dicapac-water-pro...77.html?rb=4331
http://www.lazada.com.my/dicapac-wp-one-wa...04.html?rb=4331
i saw we can order directly from aquapac tho.. the aquapac looks more promising tho, aftter the lens is extended looks ok..

Dicapac their website saying rx100 iii can fit WP-570, but some review saying its tight fit for rx100 mk1.. rx100 iii is bigger than rx100 i? they say only when the lens fully extended will like very tight for rx100 i.. cant find dimensions for lens barrel of rx100..

update: got an email from Dicapac singapore sales rep, they say WP-570 can fit rx100 iv.. Dont know wan to try aquapac or wp-570.. aquapac i am worry it might put stress on the lens barrel, especially on the motor.. if there is a slight pressure on the lens that it is unable to fully extend, it will owes show error on the screen right?

This post has been edited by ben3003: Mar 13 2017, 02:59 PM
ben3003
post Mar 16 2017, 01:30 PM

10,604 posts

bought a 2nd hand mk4, now ordered extra ori batt and 1 3rd party batt with charger, ori vertical leather case to accomodate the grip, sandisk extreme pro 64gb. still learning how to use the camera.. love the size, but easily get hot and battery life is miserable haha
ben3003
post Mar 16 2017, 03:36 PM

10,604 posts

QUOTE(realjazzcoke @ Mar 16 2017, 01:38 PM)
same here, there is too much control in such small package lol, i just got mine yesterday brand new, whats the brand of the 3rd party battery? if any 3rd party can do 3/4 stamina from the original and the price is right (of coz i dont expect them to be long lasting as the original), i dont mind using it for target practice lol

Again, thank you smile.gif
bought from lazada, those comes with external charger.. few pages back u can see it..

i ordered a aqapac 418 if not mistaken waterproof pouch too, i be the white mice haha.. if not working than i will keep that as a small pouch to keep small stufss
ben3003
post Mar 16 2017, 05:44 PM

10,604 posts

QUOTE(Pinnacle1295 @ Mar 16 2017, 04:29 PM)
I bought the USB charger from Lazada too & just received 2 days ago. Apparently the price has dropped from RM38.20 to RM34.13
http://www.lazada.com.my/usb-charger-for-s...e-11757113.html

BTW, where did you buy from the Aquapac 418? Do let us know the outcome when you receive it. I am also thinking of getting one for travelling purpose.
got it from amazon then get 1 reseller to bring it in. Werent really too much markup tho.

https://www.amazon.com/Aquapac-Waterproof-S...rds=aquapac+418

little increase in price, bought it when it is like usd28. u can try aquapac website too, they ship from UK worldwide.

how long it takes to ship to ur place? i hope to get it before apr..

This post has been edited by ben3003: Mar 16 2017, 05:44 PM
ben3003
post Mar 27 2017, 01:20 PM

10,604 posts

A is m4?

This post has been edited by ben3003: Mar 27 2017, 01:20 PM
ben3003
post Mar 31 2017, 08:50 AM

10,604 posts

i updated smile.gif so far so good
ben3003
post Apr 15 2017, 07:06 PM

10,604 posts

anyone know how to do timelapse with rx100 iv?
ben3003
post Sep 2 2017, 07:00 PM

10,604 posts

QUOTE(Pinnacle1295 @ Sep 2 2017, 04:52 PM)
ben3003, can you provide some feedbacks on the Aquapac 418 Waterproof Pouch?

I am looking for a "weatherproof" pouch for my RX100M3. The pouch MUST be able to allow me to take photos while the camera is inside the enclosure. More for protecting the camera in the rain during photo shoot, rather than using the camera underwater. Any suggestions?
i havent got a chance to try it out but i think it is a tight fit.. i just put inside and try only

0.0167sec    0.20    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 01:17 AM