Samsung Galaxy S III I9300 Official Thread V7, VooDoo Sound......Y U NO out yet

SUSKuLi
post Jun 7 2012, 10:32 PM

You won't like me when I'm angry
1,293 posts

QUOTE(youloke @ Jun 7 2012, 10:26 PM)
who is uncle benny?
The geek android god here. Got plenty of worship pets here.
What he says here is the scripture.

Lol.

Seriously, he is a retiree with keen interest in gadgets, especially high end androids.
He has knowledge in flashing, esp Samsung galaxies.

His advice had helps many geeks here ady.
SUSKuLi
post Jun 8 2012, 07:22 AM

1,293 posts

QUOTE(riziger @ Jun 8 2012, 03:42 AM)
Hows everyone finding the S-voice? I can't seem to wake the phone up using my wake-up "command". But once I open S-voice it seems to hear my instructions fine.
Oh no! Oops, kimchi did it again. It might end up badly for them!

The moment I saw the big button wt microphone at the bottom center, it's so familiar wt Siri.

Hopefully this gets sorted out soon. At the moment, all s3 users shld stop using s voice until the court case clears up. It's a matter of principle u see.

Excited shoppers weren't the only ones buying Samsung's latest flagship smartphone, the Galaxy S III, when it went on sale in the U.K. last month.
Apparently Apple bought one too and wasn't too happy about what it found in the box.
In a new court filing (PDF), picked up by intellectual property-tracking blog FOSS Patents, Apple says the S III infringes on two of its patents, both related to software features. As a result, the company wants to keep it from being sold in the U.S.
"Because the Galaxy S III contains two of the exact infringing features already at issue with respect to the Galaxy Nexus, the S III is not more than colorably different from the Galaxy Nexus," Apple wrote in the motion, which was filed yesterday.
The two patents in question are U.S. Patent No. 8,086,604 and No. 5,946,647. The '604 patent covers "unified search," while the '647 patent covers "links for structures."
The S3 is due to launch on five U.S. carriers beginning June 21. As the name suggests, it's the third major iteration in the Galaxy S series, which runs Google's Android OS. That line, along with a number of other Samsung devices, was targeted in a patent infringement suit filed by Apple last April, accusing the company of making "slavish" copies of its iOS devices, including the iPhone and iPad.
"Samsung believes Apple's request is without merit. We will vigorously oppose the request and demonstrate to the court that the Galaxy S III is innovative and distinctive," a Samsung spokesperson said in an e-mailed statement. "We would also like to assure consumers that the U.S. launch and sales of the Galaxy S III will proceed as planned. The Galaxy S III has already been highly received in markets where it has been introduced. Samsung looks forward to bringing the Galaxy S III to the U.S., and we believe that Apple's actions would only serve to disrupt consumers' access to the latest innovative mobile technology.

Meanwhile, an Apple spokesperson told CNET in an e-mailed statement today, "It's no coincidence that Samsung's latest products look a lot like the iPhone and iPad, from the shape of the hardware to the user interface and even the packaging, This kind of blatant copying is wrong, and we need to protect Apple's intellectual property when companies steal our ideas."
The spat is just a part of a larger battle between the two companies, and the latest in an effort by Apple to keep certain Samsung products from being sold. The CEOs and legal counsels from both companies met to discuss settlements last month, however no agreements were reached.
SOS

SUSKuLi
post Jun 8 2012, 10:33 PM

1,293 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jun 8 2012, 09:41 PM)
dropped my phone for 2nd time just now but lucky it was on the carpet too.. tongue.gif
Tendency to drop s3 is quite high due to its big size and shape.
Somehow it doesn't offer a reassuring grip for me.

Sometimes, ppl may try to use one hand to operate the phone, and may result in frequent drops.
Kimchi shld've focused on getting right such basic thgs 1st. rclxub.gif

SUSKuLi
post Jun 8 2012, 10:43 PM

1,293 posts

QUOTE(rickarch @ Jun 8 2012, 10:36 PM)
according to Maxis TTDI staff, will have 60 units for tomorrow with RM999 promo. first come first serve...
Hmmm, other than heat generated by a few ppl in this forum, s3 is really not that hot actually.

Poor maxis must have overanticipated and not finished their quota.

Lol.

Hopefully kimchi will improve their design and include super amoled plus HD in the s4! thumbup.gif

SUSKuLi
post Jun 8 2012, 10:46 PM

1,293 posts

QUOTE(cstanley @ Jun 8 2012, 10:45 PM)
For those who finally got your phone at the RM999 promotion, hold your breath... There will be another promotion at RM599 starting tomorrow...
Wahh, really throw price like rubbish.

But...are u sure? Show ur source!
SUSKuLi
post Jun 8 2012, 10:51 PM

1,293 posts

QUOTE(bodo123 @ Jun 8 2012, 10:41 PM)
greeting sifu2 and fellow member, i'm new here.
first i want to ask which is telco is suitable?
i'm want to by sgs3 maybe next week if got stock.
second could everyone tell me the process of buying phone from telco?

thx.
Before u even ask questions, tell what is ur requirement and usual hang out places. Then at least ppl can give basic recommend. doh.gif

Ppl who answer u won't know who u are, and probably their reply is useless.

For example, if u r student who just wants to play phone and surf Internet, and stay in sabah, digi is suitable.

Every1 requirement is different.

rolleyes.gif
SUSKuLi
post Jun 8 2012, 10:58 PM

1,293 posts

QUOTE(calvin_kenni @ Jun 8 2012, 10:54 PM)
went to digi@Aeon bandaraya melaka.. they just sell the phone with contract.. blue and white available tho..

why they no sell separately? cry.gif
doh.gif is digi main business selling phone or line?
Ain't it obvious? yawn.gif
SUSKuLi
post Jun 8 2012, 11:08 PM

1,293 posts

QUOTE(bodo123 @ Jun 8 2012, 11:03 PM)
thx lemon and Kuli.. biggrin.gif

really apreciate..
more info, me as student and doing part time job.
living in KL

thx
Then u shld save money and forget abt s3.
Concentrate on ur studies to get a good job.
Once u have a job wt stable pay, then save ur money to invest and buy asset.

If I continue, way out of topic ady...anyway

Use a good value phone like s2, very cheap now.
Get together wt digi pkge or umobile which is good value.
SUSKuLi
post Jun 8 2012, 11:27 PM

1,293 posts

QUOTE(lvoonjian8888 @ Jun 8 2012, 11:25 PM)
They said ok, will change the LCD for me but need two working days. And I asked him to check properly before I go take the phone. They are friendly service but just dont believe that there are yellow tint issue in amoled screen.
Ur phone might come back wt more problems after it gets disassembly and assembled again.

SUSKuLi
post Jun 9 2012, 04:55 PM

1,293 posts

QUOTE(ice-green-tea @ Jun 9 2012, 04:37 PM)
How responsive is android push mail notifications by the way, mail plays big part in my job. (no experience with any android device)

Have been years with BB and thinking to switch to S3, wanna feel young with a phone that filled with apps.....lol
depends on ur data connection.

however last time when i did a comparison (all was on wifi) btwn my s2, iphone 4, bb9900 and notebook...iphone was the received the mail fastest, followed by notebook, then bb9900 and last was s2.
SUSKuLi
post Jun 9 2012, 05:14 PM

1,293 posts

QUOTE(ice-green-tea @ Jun 9 2012, 04:54 PM)
Does it sync/push work with domain mail account too?

Let's say if I delete from device, it will be remotely deleted in the account itself right when I log in later on a desktop pc.
yes it will. but make sure u refresh on the android device.

BB advantage is no longer push email but data security bcos evrythg goes thru BB servers.
SUSKuLi
post Jun 10 2012, 12:24 AM

1,293 posts

QUOTE(blackcaz @ Jun 10 2012, 12:19 AM)
i thought the stock rom already powerful enough?
Huh?

The main purpose of getting an android phone, especially the top line kimchis is to FLASH FLASH & FLASH.

And it's expected that s3 will hv great geek community support.

SUSKuLi
post Jun 10 2012, 12:44 AM

1,293 posts

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Jun 10 2012, 12:30 AM)
Don't care about what the kimchi guy said, he won't understand this phone smile.gif
Stock rom is already sufficient.  However some people might wanna remove bloatwares or have extra features that's why they use custom roms.
OTA won't undo root?
Yes, flashing is never ending fun for droid fans. One custom ROM will increase benchmark score a bit, but Bluetooth may be broken. Then after fix Bluetooth, may be another thing lost.
Cycle will continue until s4 launch.

LOL

So it becomes additive and many choose it to become hobi.

SUSKuLi
post Jun 10 2012, 11:37 AM

1,293 posts

QUOTE(Kevin_Low @ Jun 10 2012, 11:15 AM)
Yes, lol wireless is just some kind of marketing purpose. September out and it is expensive. Not gonna waste my money on this one.
no, it's not. very useful for clumsy ppl who might trip over wires and drop the fragile phone.

but Ku Li hopes it won't cause much heat issues. whistling.gif
SUSKuLi
post Jun 10 2012, 11:56 AM

1,293 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Jun 10 2012, 11:55 AM)
how do u proof your phone is stolen? ask the thief to confess? can get new phone by lying.
make a police report. then the sarjan will investigate.
SUSKuLi
post Jun 10 2012, 12:09 PM

1,293 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Jun 10 2012, 12:06 PM)
so in what condition will they give u a new phone? the sarjan manage to catch the thief and manage to find the phone but the phone is not in working order. like that? ok, i buy 100 please.
if sarjan determines that phone is really stolen, and that u r not a cheapskate who tries to take advantage of the situation.

the more ppl do that, no insurans company will offer such service again. it will deprive those really genuine cases.
icon_question.gif
SUSKuLi
post Jun 10 2012, 01:28 PM

1,293 posts

QUOTE(Kevin_Low @ Jun 10 2012, 01:22 PM)
I don't mean anything, just you have to explode yourself and even read the manual before asking us. You bought the phone yourself, you should master it by yourself also. tongue.gif
explode urslf?

LOL

s3 doesn't put in the manual inside the box. ppl have to go download.
really cannot blame them.

many ppl who buy this phone are just remaja, still studying so they really jimat.

kimchi shld've put the manual inside the phone memory instead of relying on internet.

many using internet on prepaid have to be careful summore in case over quota. grumble.gif

or kimchi shld make take effort to make their phone easy to operate and discover features.

whistling.gif
SUSKuLi
post Jun 10 2012, 01:34 PM

1,293 posts

QUOTE(Chocobos @ Jun 10 2012, 01:31 PM)
He said it was becos of your godly iOS auto correct function
LOL

if he tells u he got wings and can fly, u will also believe. doh.gif

anyways,

latest rooting guide, for those nbtd.

We now finally have our hands on the easiest and most user-friendly root for the Galaxy S3 yet. The root (CF-Root 6.1) for the Galaxy S3 was released a couple of days by a member of XDA forums known as Chainfire, the same guy who rooted the S3 ahead of the release.

CF-Root 6.1 is a root for people who’re new to rooting their devices and would like to use root in combination with their stock firmwares. Before beginning with this how-to, do make sure to check your device model from: Settings > About device > Model number. This root is only compatible with the model “GT-I9300″ (the exact same model, no name variations). If you’re thinking of using this root with any other model number of the Galaxy S3, DON’T. You might end up bricking your device.

The following applications are installed by this root: SuperSU, ClockWorkMod and ClockWorkMod Manager. To begin with rooting your Galaxy S3, follow the steps below:

Note: Follow these instructions carefully.

Step 1. Download CF-Root 6.1 and Odin3-v1.85.zip.
Step 2. Unzip the Odin3-vX.X.zip file.
Step 3. Unzip CF-Root-SGS3-vX.X.zip file. Note: Do not extract the .tar file.
Step 4. Disconnect your phone from your computer.
Step 5. Run Odin3-vX.X.exe.
Step 6. Click the “PDA” button. Select CF-Root-SGS3-vX.X.tar.
Step 7. Prompt your phone into download mode. (Turn off phone, then hold volume-down + home + power to boot.)
Step 8. If it asks you to press a button to continue, press the listed button, or run adb reboot download command.
Step 9. Connect your phone to your computer through USB.
Step 10. Make sure Repartition is NOT checked
Step 11. Click the Start button. Wait for the Android boot process to complete.
Step 12. Done! Your Galaxy S3 is now successfully rooted.
SUSKuLi
post Jun 10 2012, 01:56 PM

1,293 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Jun 10 2012, 01:46 PM)
typing on ios is slow ok. autocorrect is old technology la. people now talking about auto perdicting the next word. before u bash me, i must say even samsung s3 keyboard very dissapointing. the swype function is half bake bullshit. and the samsung keyboard is like ios keyboard. galaxy s1 has the best keyboard. i swear i type faster on my s1 than on a pc keyboard.
swype is good. Ku Li likes to use it too but needs to getting use to.

for normal users, needs a few weeks.
but the big screen of s3 makes it difficult to use swype bcos travel distance is longer.

imo the most comfortable and intuitive touch keyboard still belongs to iOS.
it has the amazing capability to know exactly which alphabet u wanna press almost 100% of the time!

hope kimchi can improve their touch keyboard significantly also, which is more practical compare to smart stay, s voice, etc.

SUSKuLi
post Jun 10 2012, 01:58 PM

1,293 posts

QUOTE(Zhao @ Jun 10 2012, 01:53 PM)
samsung sep pyramid selling s3 rm2199 pre order

but

htc concept store selling s3 rm2150 pre order ...

samsung really need to recheck their elite partner...
dun expect "elite" partner to sell for cheaper. rclxub.gif

sep will make full use of opportunity to earn as much $$$ as possible bcos they need to commit high volume to kimchi.

0.0505sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 05:48 PM