Collectibles 12+"(Scale:1/6-1/4) Action Figure Fan Club V12, HT|Medi|EB|3A|etc|ModularPartsOnBaseBody

SUSagewisdom
post Aug 14 2012, 11:24 PM

729 posts

Hi All,

I'm a newbie here, never collected any Hot Toys figure before but I'd really like an Iron Man Hot Toys cos' I got poisoned by the movie. I would really appreciate some advice on the following:

1. Is there any major quality issues with Hot Toys now? I read somewhere earlier that there's some quality issues such as broken peg and missing parts out of the box. A bit uneasy cos' its' such a pricey figure.

2. I only have enough moolah to buy ONE Iron Man figure. So if I could get one, which would you recommend? Understand if there's difference in opinion, but just like to know. I actually wanted to get the Mark 7 but something's off with Tony Stark's headsculpt, looks a bit goofy/off somehow.

Or should I wait for Mark 8?

SUSagewisdom
post Aug 14 2012, 11:34 PM

729 posts

QUOTE(judge-the @ Aug 14 2012, 11:28 PM)
my mark4 have a little bit fading on the underwear section. mark 6 is the worst fading off all.
when i'm back in seremban tomorrow night will try to snap a pic of my ironman collection; mark 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6

i might be wrong but mark 7 will be at least 10months from now. so mark 8 definitely about 2 years from now smile.gif
Thanks for the kind feedback sifu... notworthy.gif
Fuuyoh... don't post... I don't wanna look drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif kena poison...

1. Wow... which one you like the most?
2. What's the articulation like? I see most poses quite rigid, leg cannot really bend like Gundam MG one?
3. I'd like to play a bit with it, but from what I've seen - most people just keep for display, no fun lar... blush.gif

SUSagewisdom
post Aug 21 2012, 11:43 AM

729 posts

QUOTE(judge-the @ Aug 21 2012, 10:45 AM)
Sorry too busy hari raya at home. This morning only can do group shot

1. Personally i prefer mark 5, mark 6 and warmachine
2. You can do poses but really need to bit more careful many fragile parts
3. cost approx rm550 each and i don't intend to play with these collectables so just display them in the cabinet
A belated Selamat Hari Raya to you, bro tongue.gif Great photo shoot.... make sure the kids at your house or visitor's kids don't get their grubby hands on it.... sekali jatuh doh.gif

Fuyoh, canggihnya, all the Iron Man... rclxms.gif
I WANT Iron Man Mark IV and War Machine.... drool.gif Now, prices soo high... think min RM700 per figure, can only see, no touch. cry.gif

Prices have increased a lot for the Hot Toys, bro... no more RM550... increase up to RM700 for new Avengers set... I only want one, but wallet sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif Try to avoid poison by not looking at the pix.

Still deciding on Mark VII cos:
1. Price is too high see rclxub.gif
2. Need to pry out battery... aiseh, leceh scared scratch the nice paint
3. Pink panties issue... some say use Mr. Color 47 to airbrush the part so that the red returns, but dunno why Hot Toys never fix this issue on their own.

Thanks for sharing biggrin.gif
SUSagewisdom
post Aug 21 2012, 12:35 PM

729 posts

Is it me or is Mark II silver more silvery than Mark V? Mark II silver seems more metallic but Mark V seems plasticky.

Even War Machine seems better with silvery matte finish compared to Mark V silver.
SUSagewisdom
post Aug 22 2012, 02:02 AM

729 posts

QUOTE(jason_tan1980 @ Aug 22 2012, 01:42 AM)

Haven't pre-order the Mk 7? then you might be getting price higher than 750 when it comes to stock.
I wasn't border so much of the issue, the new Mark 6 Avengers version seems that HT has resolved their pink panty issue.

Battery issue, it won't leak within a year or two. no worry much about this.
Hi Jason, nice to meet you smile.gif

I'm usually quite thrifty, so the thought of spending so much money on an action figure makes me sweat.gif doh.gif sweat.gif Only reason I'm even considering is because of the thumbup.gif Iron Man movie thumbup.gif with excellent acting by Robert Downey Jr. When he suited up in the Iron Man armor... drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif

Only can afford 1 and only 1! So far I like Mark IV best. Mark VII is ok-lar, but I don't like silver, prefer gold and red scheme mar...

Trying to resist and wait for Iron Man 3 movie to come out. Hopefully got reissue version of Mark 4. Or more canggih Iron Man armor... Seems like there's going to be a reverse color scheme... aiyah, milk(Iron)man doh.gif

SUSagewisdom
post Aug 22 2012, 11:02 PM

729 posts

QUOTE(jason_tan1980 @ Aug 22 2012, 10:46 PM)
Nice to meet you Bro~
I discover HT too late, only after avengers movie, hahaha...
So far I can see the new version of iron man that will shown in Iron Man 3 would be Mark 8 and new war machine.
Mark 8 are mainly Yellow (Gold) and some red also, maybe suit your taste.

I am waiting for war machine reissue also.
I like Mark VII as for me it seems like combination of Mark 3, 4 and 6...

War Machine now way too expensive in Ebay...mostly over 750 now...
Next year would be a year of Iron Man
Yep, that pix is the Iron(milk) Man, shakehead.gif ... not my cup of tea...
Mark VII is nice but a bit too busy, with the silver pads etc.

Still hoping for an reissue of Mark IV. Heard War Machine in Iron Man 3 will be Iron Patriot, look a bit like Captain America color except it's an armor.

SUSagewisdom
post Aug 22 2012, 11:16 PM

729 posts

Hi BeastX,

I've looked around but most shop is selling pre-orders with Gantry @ RM1,599... If can get reissue Mark IV at RM600, please let me know where.

Really tempted to get one biggrin.gif
SUSagewisdom
post Aug 23 2012, 12:19 AM

729 posts

Hehe... RM700 for Mark 4 don't think worth it, might as well get Mark 7 at the same price during pre-order. Might as well wait next year or 2014...
SUSagewisdom
post Aug 23 2012, 09:00 AM

729 posts

QUOTE(shai_razi @ Aug 23 2012, 07:40 AM)
Actually 800 is reasonable coz it retails at 680 bout 2 years ago.. Adjusted for inflation, i'd say it's about right.. Inflation - one of the fundamental reasons for pre-ordering  nod.gif
I don't see it that way. Sure, there's inflation but we're not talking about gold or some landed property. The figure, whilst great is just like any other consumable asset, like cars. It will:

1. Deteriorate over time, no matter how good one keeps it
2. Colors will fade
3. Technology will be improved e.g. articulation which will render the old model obsolete once the new version is issued.

Of course, this is just from an outsider (non-collector) perspective. I've seen the values of some old models of Hot Toys go to WTF rclxub.gif prices, so in terms of supply and demand, there's still (limited?) demand even at very high prices. I wouldn't pay at those prices though, couldn't afford to either.

Having said all that, I still find it hard to resist. blush.gif

This post has been edited by agewisdom: Aug 23 2012, 09:14 AM
SUSagewisdom
post Aug 23 2012, 09:48 AM

729 posts

QUOTE(shai_razi @ Aug 23 2012, 09:38 AM)
Well said bro.. But i'm referring to the inflation of money - The general increase of price over time.. Not the appreciation of value of the figure.. RM1 now may not be worth RM1 in a few years time.. How i miss those days where u can buy an ice cream for only 20 cents  nod.gif

Just imagine if HT were around in the 80s.. It would have cost only RM50 each  brows.gif
Haha... ya I understand... but inflation offset against depreciation = same price mar smile.gif
At least that was what I was thinking blush.gif when looking for 2nd hand Iron Man Mark IV.... but prices now is approx RM700 cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

QUOTE(alvinwh @ Aug 23 2012, 09:42 AM)
agreed wat u said, those new collector better wait for new version or take new released figure, unless u really cant resist n like it so much, then just pay higher, like me, i bought my mark6 bib at a higher price.. cos i cant wait n i felt mark6 is the best ironman so far for me.. its diorama stand is diff n BD effect..
Haha, we think alike... now, I just try to stay away from looking at pix or watching Iron Man or Avengers movie, very poisonous sweat.gif

This post has been edited by agewisdom: Aug 23 2012, 09:50 AM
SUSagewisdom
post Aug 23 2012, 11:07 AM

729 posts

Yep, you're right... Cheaper to buy preorder, if the model I want is reissued smile.gif
SUSagewisdom
post Aug 23 2012, 02:39 PM

729 posts

QUOTE(jason_tan1980 @ Aug 23 2012, 02:31 PM)
Way to expensive for VI...I rather order VII which i get below 700, and still i think the feature is comparable/better with VI (personal opinion)
Mark 5 is great, but for me the feature is a bit too "thin", i prefer muscular type of robotic body shape.
Anyway, everyone's preferences is different, no matter how much it cost, as long as you like it, and you think is worth it, then go ahead  rclxm9.gif

btw, beware of the pink panty of VI, this is one of the disappointing thing happen in the figure.
Yep, pink panties are horrible.... I see on Youtube some fix with Mr. Color 47 and air brush... can really see a huge difference.

Mark V not only thin but the silver is not very nice... looks plasticky unsure.gif . They should have used the Mark II's silver scheme, looks more metallic.

SUSagewisdom
post Aug 23 2012, 02:54 PM

729 posts

QUOTE(jason_tan1980 @ Aug 23 2012, 02:41 PM)
Say about Mark II, what you think about Mark II and Mark II AU?
the paint used totally different, the first version are much more brighter, but second version is much more metallic and dark...
Not too sure, but think Mark II AU looks like it's given a bit more matte finish compared to the chrome like of Mark II. I like my bling bling laugh.gif , so prefer the original. Best would be if someone that ones both posts them side by side.

I saw on a blog of a side by side comparison between Mark III and Mark IV. After that I think Mark III doh.gif , Mark IV so much better, red is so bright and nice... Mark III red like blood... yucks!
SUSagewisdom
post Aug 23 2012, 04:21 PM

729 posts

Is it... picture look a bit dark... must be lighting issue...

I dun like the screws though.... still like Gold and Red - smexy smile.gif
SUSagewisdom
post Aug 23 2012, 04:47 PM

729 posts

QUOTE(mywii @ Aug 23 2012, 04:39 PM)
you dont like this ???  rclxub.gif

courtesy of godofcat
It's good rclxms.gif but not as good as

this drool.gif

SUSagewisdom
post Aug 23 2012, 05:03 PM

729 posts

Sorry... no picture by picture comparison mah... tot MkII AU is darker... hmm.gif

but I still think Mk II v1 more silvery... brighter ... or is it because of lighting? sweat.gif

Ok, I see Mark II AU has chrome but the silver seems a bit toned down, probably so that it looks like real armor. The Mark II v1 armor is silvery white, but less chrome..., still prefer v1 though cos' it's brighter...

Maybe if the lighting on Mark II AU is right, can bring out the bling x2 better. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by agewisdom: Aug 23 2012, 05:16 PM
SUSagewisdom
post Aug 23 2012, 08:34 PM

729 posts

Hey, anyone knows a bit of history of Hot Toys? When did their product line suddenly took off and became so popular? Quite surprising a small HK outfit could take on giants like Hasbro etc. and become the market leader in 1/6 scale figures.
SUSagewisdom
post Aug 23 2012, 09:11 PM

729 posts

QUOTE(BeastX @ Aug 23 2012, 09:06 PM)
HT "took off" with the talents of Yulli and JC Hong... with the MMS series. Realistic face sculpts that hardly anyone now can match (except maybe EB), they found a niche with realistic figures... eclipse the big players like Medicom/Takara... etc that fell behind... Sideshow/EB are the other big license players now.

Then they expended with computer aided design from weapons/guns... then to full figures... robocop/ed209/power loader.... then they start to increase complexicity of CAD design figures with IM Mk. 3, and ever more complex vehicles and robots/armors since... /////Bandai ... and Takara/Hasbro still have the better designs at the moment with the PG series... and Master Piece series respectively./// not entirely related/// In license robotic/armor action figures a possible emerging player is 3A.

There also the emerging market 1/4 scale action figures by EB & HT... and Bandai getting into 1/6 action figure as well...
Wow... thanks for the interesting history pointers, BeastX. Definitely good starting point for me to do some research to satisfy my curiosity. rclxms.gif
SUSagewisdom
post Aug 23 2012, 09:35 PM

729 posts

QUOTE(azizul9736 @ Aug 23 2012, 09:33 PM)
yes nice drool.gif  pre-order 1 today sweat.gif
Bro, where to pre-order? Also scared to ask, but what price? sweat.gif blush.gif
SUSagewisdom
post Aug 23 2012, 09:44 PM

729 posts

BeastX sifu,

You remarked that one of HT's weakness:
4. Lacking body design mechanics (joints & articulation).. (related to Advantage no. 3)

Just want to ask, what's the articulation like? Can it match Bandai's MG kit level of articulation?

From all the Youtube videos I've seen, it seems there's minimal articulation. For instance, can the Iron Man really do the iconic landing pose, kneeling with one hand on the ground.

Added on August 23, 2012, 9:46 pm
QUOTE(azizul9736 @ Aug 23 2012, 09:41 PM)
sorry the one that i pre-order is MKVII notworthy.gif my mistake

But when i compared MK 6 Battle Damage more realistic than Mk  7 , hmm.gif  what do u guys think? hmm.gif

or should i buy MK6 as well hmm.gif
If got vitamin $, can follow Pokemon motto "Gotta catch em' all!" biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by agewisdom: Aug 23 2012, 09:46 PM

0.0473sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:12 AM