5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

(True 4G) LTE 100-150Mbps 2013-2014 Malaysia V1, LTE is going to replace 3G in future

digilife
post Jul 1 2012, 05:22 PM

The MNP guy, its me yeah.
8,025 posts

CONSISTENCY is the keyword, its useless to have highspeed one day and the next day its ding dong...........just provide consistent speed and affordable devices will do
digilife
post Jul 13 2012, 07:40 PM

8,025 posts

http://www.malaysianwireless.com/2012/07/m...vice-next-year/
digilife
post Jul 14 2012, 12:30 AM

8,025 posts

I believe its East and West Malaysia as by Sept Umobile and Maxis will start the RAN sharing in West Malaysia on DC HSPA+
digilife
post Jul 28 2012, 07:03 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(Ahn3hn3h @ Jul 28 2012, 06:29 PM)
AT&T Wireless is one of the most unreliable cell in USA. Often limited coverage and highly priced. Verizon too but offers stronger coverage through CDMA 700MHz LTE.

Americans are switching to Wi-Fi networks for calls and unlimited internet.
Examples are like Republic Wireless
http://republicwireless.com/

$19 for unlimited domestic voice, data and text.
But you need to live with spotty coverage and urban areas where partner hotpsots are widely available.

In Malaysia you can keep your mobile phone only for calls and text. Want internet try to find public hotspots and wifi zones.

Turn off your mobile data or delete your settings inside your phone.
This is similar to the YES network call , ie YESLIFE........
digilife
post Aug 15 2012, 12:51 PM

8,025 posts

Anyone know how is this LTE going to be implemented?

Will it utilise simcard like the current 3G (HSPA+/WCDMA) , just a simcard or like YES, no simcard but using ID , like Streamyx/UniFi?

Wat will happen to the current 3G users, will they be offered upgrade packages or that LTE will act as supplement to the current 3G. This is where the dual usage modem , Huawei E398 come into play, simcard for 3G/HSPA+/DC and the modem itself using ID to connect like YES?

Anyone can shed some light to this?

digilife
post Aug 15 2012, 01:48 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Aug 15 2012, 01:38 PM)
I can confirm it will be using a Simcard just like normal.
You can authenticate to LTE network like normal when 3G comes into play too, the thing is I can't confirm is whether can old user aka legacy plan user get LTE QoS

Base on today Maxis trend of keep pushing 42mbps, I highly doubt they will give normal user the 100000 QoS
so meaning, it will be 3G simcard and LTE simcard.

3G simcard QoS will be 42000/8640 and LTE simcard QoS will be 10000/20000

Will current 3G users offered new LTE package or "force" them to migrate/upgrade to LTE?

Pls bear in mind that 3G is widely available BUT NOT LTE as only major town will be LTE READY come 2013.

I would hope that current 3G customers can retain the current package, Legacy,Unlimited99 or wat ever package that they are using and offer this LTE as an added platform, but in doing so nobody will take LTE as LTE might be very costly as the "Economics of Scale" will not be met too sweat.gif

This post has been edited by digilife: Aug 15 2012, 01:48 PM
digilife
post Aug 15 2012, 03:02 PM

8,025 posts

Now Maxis is selling more Hotlink Broadband (up to 42Mbps) to jam up the network, in doing so, current postpaid Data users might be "forced" to upgrade to LTE, icon_idea.gif

See how clever Maxis is.

digilife
post Aug 16 2012, 02:38 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(coolstore @ Aug 16 2012, 01:19 PM)
no worry, won't be simless like wimax devices. look at LTE modem/phone/tablet, already know simcard needed.

and would be all in 1 simcard - ie. if LTE network no in coverage, will auto switch to 3G. no need worry about this.

both 3G and LTE will stick together - (see our 3G network case- being running so long, still got ppl saying just getting EDGE signal). other countries also doing this way now.

and this is interesting part:

imagine u r the management of telco responsible of maximising 'value' for shareholders , not to get [replaced] should members not happy at agm, what would u do to maximising profits and keep company growing.. (hehe, then with this idea behind, u would probably know how telco will do)

similarly as streamyx vs unifi, as ppl claiming streamyx quality degrading due to (xxxxx), then ppl lean to sign up unifi fiber (get the idea?)
** btw, hotlink simcard now can use maxis 3g on usb dongle also? then i go get 1 try today - to help congest the network a bit  tongue.gif  **
yeah, lets jam up the network as i only use maxis from 2am~9am, other times i use YES and intends to get the portaWiFi package at rm159 with rebates of rm120 too thumbup.gif , 4GB at rm68 is enough for my usage as i dun DL with it icon_idea.gif
digilife
post Aug 17 2012, 05:30 AM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(chuahcs79 @ Aug 17 2012, 03:11 AM)
confirm is off the chart  brows.gif
Chuah, you knoe me inside out, but for once i spill some Jelly Beans for you guys to jelly about

thumbup.gif

currently my Umobile Broadband is in passive mode and now intends to sign up Celcom Postpaid to rake in the Portawifi at rm159 (-rm120, when contract ends) as i have a few tablets to use.......

I actually like Celcom due to its lightning fast response(latency), via CSKMM as my area is strong on Celcom but the QoS is only 8640, too bad............. sweat.gif
digilife
post Aug 19 2012, 07:57 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Aug 19 2012, 05:13 PM)
This is a nice technique  rclxms.gif
I am switching to e-ink for my ebook solution, staring towards a back lighted iPad is causing too much strain to my eyes
get Retina Display Ipad bro.........
digilife
post Aug 21 2012, 07:30 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(csn @ Aug 21 2012, 06:24 PM)
I heard the portawifi modem recall From market due to some problem!can verify this ?
PortaWifi is selling too cheap, should have been rm259 but the bozos priced it at rm159 biggrin.gif
digilife
post Aug 22 2012, 08:14 AM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(csn @ Aug 21 2012, 09:43 PM)
heard the phone dealer said this portaWifi  got problem & no more selling.is it true?
this product also removed from celcom website !
PortaWifi is made by Huawei with this modem name/number E355, i am using it, no problems at all, just that u cannot use MDMA with it and i believe most ppl wont use MDMA with it too, unless the user is a Geek like us icon_idea.gif

Celcom took it down due to wrong pricing ( i strongly believed ), as usual la, u knoe wat i mean icon_idea.gif

laugh.gif laugh.gif
digilife
post Feb 22 2013, 08:36 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(alf233 @ Feb 22 2013, 08:27 PM)
wcdma 900/2100

all of these true for celcom too

digi i think dont have wcdma900

u mobile dont have gsm900
Umobile roam on Maxis GSM900 and WCDMA2100 , rite?

Umobile also have WCDMA2100 and also LTE2600 , True ?
digilife
post Feb 22 2013, 09:00 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(alf233 @ Feb 22 2013, 08:43 PM)
yes they are sharing with maxis.. so they have whatever maxis have for 2g & 3g.. but not in all places..

u mobile have wcdma2100 in service currently and lte2600 not currently in service
I thought the sharing is Nationwide , how come its not ?

sweat.gif
digilife
post Mar 19 2013, 02:11 PM

8,025 posts

Where can i sign up Celcom LTE ?
digilife
post Mar 29 2013, 05:56 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Mar 29 2013, 05:28 PM)
Nope, no priority tongue.gif

Since every Maxis SIM card got unlocked QoS, you basically just sharing aka competiting bandwidth  with one and another
Non LTE RAN , from 8am~1.59am QoS = 10Mbps Max

LTE RAN and LTE activated account ( simcard same la if its 128K type ) QoS = 30Mbps (normal time) , graveyard shift = 50Mbps
digilife
post Mar 29 2013, 06:14 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Mar 29 2013, 06:01 PM)
You get LTE SIM dy arh? brows.gif
no need LTE simcard la bro, just a Maxis Broadband or Surrmore ac/package will be fine..........maxis Cs will "upgrade" your simcard status to LTE Enabled , simcards is just a piece of copper plated plastic card which housed some memory stuff for the system to read icon_idea.gif

but Unlimited simcards wont be able to enjoy LTE because they will hog the Network for no reasons. LTE will NOT be Unmetered for sure. cool2.gif
digilife
post Mar 29 2013, 06:36 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Mar 29 2013, 06:16 PM)
Ya I know, they just need to move the SIM status in the database tongue.gif

I mean you  already tested LTE? brows.gif

Unmetered LTE = Maxis is killing themself laugh.gif
No, my area is not LTE Activated yet although i live very near a Maxis Fibre Enabled area. I guess this area will have LTE enabled come Q3 2013 because LTE will be enabled at Maxis Fibre location eventually as the backhaul is on "ready" status already..........
digilife
post Apr 1 2013, 05:54 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(alf233 @ Apr 1 2013, 10:23 AM)
Yes agree with the sim card.. but keep in mind that old sim card with low memory may not support LTE.. to be safe better check with their CS

Also wondered how do you find out about max QoS?

Hope you will get LTE coverage in your area soon!!
My wild guess based on Maxis latest offerings , its stated on its Web Sale kit

btw, have you guys tried DiGi's Tomolo's Network HSPA+ now, it improved tremendously since the upgrades were over as most of its pre upgrade customers have already moved over to Umobile or Maxis......its freaking smooth ( browsing), living up to its name Turbo 3G, even my package QoS of 384/384 run as though its 42000/8640, but on DDL its no match with DC-HSPA+ la..........
digilife
post Apr 6 2013, 08:26 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(KaiHD @ Apr 6 2013, 08:16 PM)
eh? problem also? t-mobile users in usa also didn't get their carrier update... weird. apple? what are you doing?
Apple server kena DDos attack laugh.gif

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0229sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 06:35 PM