LENOVO Y480/580 feel the need for SPEED, lowest price at higher specs cpu

guilt79
post Nov 20 2012, 09:47 PM

149 posts

I got my Lenovo Y580 yesterday. mad.gif

Haven't update to Win 8 Pro yet. According to SE, Win 8 Pro not stable now. mad.gif

Dunno wanna trust him or not. mad.gif

This post has been edited by guilt79: Nov 20 2012, 09:48 PM
guilt79
post Nov 20 2012, 10:04 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(ndragon @ Nov 20 2012, 09:56 PM)
n y end of every sentence got angry face.. @@
Because I've been searching for Blu Ray combo and went to some Lenovo Exclusive Shops.

1 in Low Yat, say got stock, when wanna pay, suddenly say out of stock. mad.gif

2nd shop, say got the Win 8 version. Oklah, take it. Went there, say it's Win 7 HB. mad.gif

So, don't trust those bloody computer boys. all played too many games, dunno what they talking about. vmad.gif

But overall, it a great laptop and value for money. thumbup.gif
guilt79
post Nov 20 2012, 10:22 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(ndragon @ Nov 20 2012, 10:08 PM)
but i actually prefer the win7hb ver.
cuz can upgrade to win8  pro ma.. win8 ver about 30 bucks more expensive.. so add like 20 more can get the pro ver... nth much diff la.. but still pro better ma.. haha

normal 1.. sometimes their stock probably take from other place.. den probably didnt keep track until they ask again when buyer confirms..

i bought mine after searching high n low in forum.. at last found win7hb version at a nt bad price.. comes with a backpack n p950 head set..  rclxm9.gif
I also get a P950 headset but didn't give backpack. Instead, shop say add another RM99 for the backpack from Targus. mad.gif

Then say cannot give any other more. mad.gif
guilt79
post Nov 21 2012, 07:41 AM

149 posts

QUOTE(kuroneko0509 @ Nov 20 2012, 10:30 PM)
probably dicota backpack is out of stock.....
relax bro.... i never get that p950 headset when i bought it eventhough it's clearly stated in the promo leaflet... eventhough if i'll get it, probably will be unused since i got my sennheiser headphone already
True. The headset actually not comfortable and not really good quality. But still you should claim it or else the sales guy will take home, give their friends or people bodek them. brows.gif
guilt79
post Nov 26 2012, 11:17 PM

149 posts

I want to know what is this 3D on Y580

This laptop got 3D function meh?
guilt79
post Dec 1 2012, 09:47 AM

149 posts

I'm playing iTunes, surfing net now and McAfee security on, rainmeter on.

Only use 34% RAM. I'm 8GB

seldom exceed 50% so 4 GB is good enough but 8 GB is recommended.
guilt79
post Dec 1 2012, 10:13 AM

149 posts

All gaming sifus.

I'm planning to get a cooling fan for my laptop.

I know. it looks silly and stupid. I got a Razer gaming keyboard and SteelSeries Sensei Raw mouse mainly for FPS gaming and using current mouse and laptop's keyboard is difficult.

Any idea of cooling fans for Y580 to recommend? Thanks.
guilt79
post Dec 1 2012, 11:24 AM

149 posts

QUOTE(tennytyy @ Dec 1 2012, 10:19 AM)
I am playing COD:BO2 and AC3 at the moment, and those game are alot smoother than before (306.97) in near max setting

Added on December 1, 2012, 10:22 am

Nice setup you have there. thumbup.gif
For cooling fan, get a Cooler Master Notepal U3.
Using one right now. icon_rolleyes.gif
Thanks for the feedback.

Should I get cooling fan or those cooler pad?
guilt79
post Dec 2 2012, 12:21 AM

149 posts

QUOTE(mengfart @ Dec 1 2012, 11:32 PM)

I've joined the family !! weee ~

any software recommendation ?
Wow! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

Download rainmeter. Makes your desktop looks awesome.
guilt79
post Dec 2 2012, 11:31 AM

149 posts

QUOTE(mengfart @ Dec 2 2012, 12:37 AM)
Thanks !
Thanks !
Rainmeter ? what's that ? lol
Rainmeter to customise your desktop to look nicer. My desktop and don't ask me how to do it because I'm also noob. sweat.gif

guilt79
post Dec 2 2012, 07:40 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(mengfart @ Dec 2 2012, 06:12 PM)
Hi all,

I've use this Y580 for the 2nd day and here's my problem

1: Lenovo boot optimizer wont stop optimizing. (will optimize everytime i turn on the laptop even when i turned it off in the settings.)

2: Windows 7 update fail. Im using home basic but when i downloaded all the available updates it will fail eventually when i reboot.

Help ?
Me too having problem with the Win 7 update HB. I feel wanna disable it, since going to upgrade to Win 8 Pro anyway.
guilt79
post Dec 3 2012, 09:13 PM

149 posts

Should I get a Blu Ray combo?

Can it play *ahem* Blu Rays? I heard it can't.. blink.gif
guilt79
post Dec 3 2012, 09:32 PM

149 posts

Errr. I mean the P Blu Ray disc..

Does it like Columbia Pictures where PS3 can't play P Blu Ray. shocking.gif
guilt79
post Dec 5 2012, 06:25 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(mengfart @ Dec 3 2012, 10:12 PM)
http://www.windowsupgradeoffer.com/
Bought it at the 2nd floor (D MOBILE COMPUTER SDN BHD)
Got the machine at 4th floor (PC3 Technology S/B)

I've asked them to do it for me but they tried to scam me and tell me that Win7 Home basic is not eligible for the offer but I told them i've already contacted Microsoft and they clearly says that Win7 Home basic is eligible for it.

Then they offered to give me a new unused genuine win8 pro upgrade.

So i waiting there for hours for the upgrade and it FAILED !

They wanted me to go there again tomorrow saying that they'll format my pc then upgrade or if it still fails they will do a clean installation.

will update tomorrow.
So, what's the outcome?
guilt79
post Dec 7 2012, 01:55 PM

149 posts

Agreed.

Should combine all the Y Series into 1.

Let's call it the "Generation Y" rclxms.gif

Nah. silly name. tongue.gif
guilt79
post Dec 7 2012, 06:29 PM

149 posts

How to disable the Win 7 HB?

So many times, still unable to update.

Feeling annoyed. Worse part. go to lenovo website and download the drivers and it say "My PC does not meet the minimum requirements." when download the Intel Rapid Storage.

0.0453sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:37 AM