LENOVO Y480/580 feel the need for SPEED, lowest price at higher specs cpu

cheemm
post Nov 26 2012, 09:41 AM

107 posts

Dear all users of y480/y580,

I have bought Y480. wifi (wireless) connection very slow and the line keep on drop.

there is 3 network adapters:
Atheros AR8161/.......Ethernet controller
Broadcom 802.11n Network Adapter
Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adaptert

2 of them (Atheros LAN and Miniport) are disconnected status and Broadcom is connected.

my question here is:
1. should i Disable Miniport adapter? will this impact my slow connection?
2. when setup wireless connection, we MUST put the network location (home/public/business)?

1st time using win7 too.
hope u guys can help me on this.....................

Many thanks!!!

cheemm
post Nov 26 2012, 09:45 AM

107 posts

any other setting should i check to solve the slow connection?

cheemm
post Nov 26 2012, 09:49 AM

107 posts

already uninstalled any anti virus software. now the laptop is without anti virus software. lolx

When look at properties under the SSID i connected, there is a "Enable WLAN", this 1, need to check it?

cheemm
post Nov 26 2012, 09:55 AM

107 posts

u mean this Broadcom 802.11n Network Adapter is weak 1?

that miniport adapter, when only use it?? what's the different btw miniport and broadcom? @@
cheemm
post Nov 26 2012, 09:59 AM

107 posts

what should i do with this weak card??? why lenovo give a weak card for Y480? zzz

cheemm
post Nov 26 2012, 10:22 AM

107 posts

thanks for your help..

go back will try to uninstall it and reinstall. see is it ok.

><

any command need to do after set the tcp/ip? like flashdns..
any other?

cheemm
post Nov 26 2012, 10:37 AM

107 posts

i asked the reseller help me separate my harddisk into 2 partition.

when i take it home wish to create recovery disk, only found that it can't be done with >1 partition.

what should i do now??? T.T
cheemm
post Nov 26 2012, 11:08 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(sss2sssss @ Nov 26 2012, 10:53 AM)
BTW why ur Y480 Wi-Fi card is using Boardcom one?lol
Mine one is Atheros and working great
I have no idea. once i get it, it already like that.. should ask who? reseller? ><

why y480 dun have standard spec for this network adapter? some ppl here is Broadcom, some are Atheros.

(my LAN cable named is Atheros)

Added on November 26, 2012, 11:09 am
QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 26 2012, 10:40 AM)
Use the windows built-in backup.
No need to rely the lenovo apps.
ooo..this 1 can create recovery disk also?
have to try it out.. tonight! so many things need to do after bought a new laptop.
><

This post has been edited by cheemm: Nov 26 2012, 11:09 AM
cheemm
post Nov 26 2012, 11:16 AM

107 posts

so i get the 1st batch de. zzz

cheemm
post Nov 26 2012, 11:24 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(sss2sssss @ Nov 26 2012, 11:20 AM)
When did u bought?
Coz Y580 is using boardcom wifi-card and facing a lot of connection problem to it
i bought it from LYP last Saturday. currently Y480 is out of stock, so the reseller able to get 1 to me, i just bought. (i also dunno y480 got different network adapter b4 i buy it.)

haiz..so y580, how does it solve? or cant be solved as it's a lousy card. lolx

Added on November 26, 2012, 11:26 am
QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 26 2012, 11:11 AM)
Its batch. They get whichever offer the cheaper price...
As for the backup, you want to save it to external HDD also can.
this backup/recovery disk will include OS and all the drivers/system/data in both partition?

do u remember the steps? can guide me?

notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by cheemm: Nov 26 2012, 11:26 AM
cheemm
post Nov 26 2012, 11:45 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 26 2012, 11:34 AM)
It will include all the thing you have on the HDD, but it will consume as much as that as well.

Start the "Backup and Restore"
create system image
choose your external hdd
it should have say which partition will be backup
then continue and wait it done.

burn also the system repair disc, you will be able to boot incase Windows failure and use it to restore the image saved on the external hdd.
thanks!! biggrin.gif

Added on November 26, 2012, 12:19 pmis there an option let us choose to let laptop save power but it still downloading something? like sleep, hibernate, standby.

which 1 is used for let the laptop sleep but connection no die?

thanks~

This post has been edited by cheemm: Nov 26 2012, 12:19 PM
cheemm
post Nov 26 2012, 12:31 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(sss2sssss @ Nov 26 2012, 12:24 PM)
No such the thing....
U just screen off it then is fine
In my power plan setting I let it keep running although the lid is closed
any short cut key to off the screen?

at power plan there, have Dim the Display, Turn off the display. what's mean by Dim the display? lolx
cheemm
post Nov 26 2012, 12:37 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 26 2012, 12:35 PM)
It will lower the display brightness after xx minutes. Unless you are using it at the lowest brightness.
ic ic..

tongue.gif
cheemm
post Nov 26 2012, 01:34 PM

107 posts

thanks!

if let say network adapter rosak, is it:
1. buy a new network card to replace it
2. buy a USB wifi cable

both also can be a solution right?
or there has other ways as well..

cheemm
post Nov 26 2012, 01:44 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 26 2012, 01:40 PM)
Both can.
or just use LAN cable tongue.gif
usb wifi cable, any recommend product for this?

there is too many models in market, from rm2x - rm1xx also have.

rclxub.gif
cheemm
post Nov 26 2012, 02:42 PM

107 posts

thanks for the reply!

i just chat with Lenovo support, he checked the record there and say the system shipped with Liteon wireless card for my y480.

i just @@

i only know Device Manager --> Network Adapter to see my network card. it's mention to me is Broadcom.

now this guy say i shouldn't install broadcom. zzzzzzzzzzz

i dunno how to check the REAL wireless card i using???
cheemm
post Nov 26 2012, 02:51 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 26 2012, 02:49 PM)
Device Manager - Network adaptor -> broadcom ->properties -> Details -> hardware ids

Paste it here.
now at office, not able to check it.

will update here to9.

thanks for you all help..

feel tired with this kind of thing. doh.gif

(1st guy tell me this: As per our database your system is shipped with Liteon Wireless card. We do not recommend you to go with Broadcom driver if your system is shipped with Liteon Wireless Card.Broadcom driver will not work in Liteon hardware. You need to install Lition driver to make your Wireless card work.)

ok..after chat with 2nd guy of lenovo support, he tell me this:
"We would like to share with you that system is shipped with broadcom wireless adapter. Yes the both the adapter are same. Please find the details on wireless adapter at your system Liteon WB195 BGN+BT HMC WLAN."

means Broadcom = Liteon. =.=

different guy tell me different thing. doh.gif

This post has been edited by cheemm: Nov 26 2012, 03:10 PM
cheemm
post Nov 26 2012, 03:30 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(sss2sssss @ Nov 26 2012, 03:18 PM)
Liteon is Atheros one....lol
Braodcom is CyberTan...

Added on November 26, 2012, 3:19 pmI think u may reinstall the Atheros driver and see
omg...

the 2nd guy give me the link to reinstall: http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/downloads/...?DocID=DS027809

is it OK?

or i should install other driver? can u provide me?

faint de... shakehead.gif
cheemm
post Nov 26 2012, 03:39 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(sss2sssss @ Nov 26 2012, 03:35 PM)
Ya u can dl that...
just make sure if it auto detect is Atheros card
If detect wrong go to that extract driver folder and click the Atheros one
if It still say it cannot detect it, then ur laptop might be modified by someone ady
ok..good luck to me then. ><

thanks for your help too~~
cheemm
post Nov 26 2012, 08:23 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 26 2012, 02:49 PM)
Device Manager - Network adaptor -> broadcom ->properties -> Details -> hardware ids

Paste it here.
here is the screen b4 i uninstall it.

0.0510sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:04 PM