LENOVO Y480/580 feel the need for SPEED, lowest price at higher specs cpu

chopin
post Aug 21 2012, 11:42 AM

234 posts

QUOTE(PhungTM @ Aug 21 2012, 11:35 AM)
I'm not sure what packing list is that.
I only have some setup poster, limited warranty booklet, safety and general information guide.

Display card driver? How to check?  hmm.gif
Yes the windows is pre-installed.

I'm pretty sure the seller said its FHD.
ok then, go to Control Panel > System and Security, click on the "Device Manager", you will se a display like attached. Pls report here what Display Adapter is listed. On this example, my computer shows "ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series", yours might be Nvidia *******.

let's see this first.

additional note: you should have 2:

Intel HD blah blah blah...
NVIDIA blah blah blah...

tell us what you see...

This post has been edited by chopin: Aug 21 2012, 11:54 AM

PhungTM
post Aug 21 2012, 11:54 AM

585 posts

QUOTE(chopin @ Aug 21 2012, 11:42 AM)
ok then, go to Control Panel > System and Security, click on the "Device Manager", you will se a display like attached. Pls report here what Display Adapter is listed. On this example, my computer shows "ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series", yours might be Nvidia *******.

let's see this first.
There are 2. One is Intel® HD Graphics 4000 and the other is Nvidia GeForce GTX 660M.

chopin
post Aug 21 2012, 12:02 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(PhungTM @ Aug 21 2012, 11:54 AM)
There are 2. One is Intel® HD Graphics 4000 and the other is Nvidia GeForce GTX 660M.
ok, the drivers are correct, 2 possibilities:

a) your seller f****d you,

b) you didn't select the highest resolution. go to Desktop > Screen Resolution again, at the Resolution drag down box, try to drag the arrow and see if you can go up to 1920?

This post has been edited by chopin: Aug 21 2012, 12:02 PM

sss2sssss
post Aug 21 2012, 12:05 PM

I'm Abra
1,329 posts

QUOTE(chopin @ Aug 21 2012, 12:02 PM)

b) you didn't select the highest resolution. go to Desktop > Screen Resolution again, at the Resolution drag down box, try to drag the arrow and see if you can go up to 1920?
Let's hope is his seller no F-ed him... biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
PhungTM
post Aug 21 2012, 12:09 PM

585 posts

QUOTE(chopin @ Aug 21 2012, 12:02 PM)

Yeah my seller f****d me. Dammmm vmad.gif
chopin
post Aug 21 2012, 12:13 PM

234 posts

hmm.... let's see what you can do.

what price did u pay? (maybe he didn't f**d u after all)
when did u buy it?
maybe you can go back to him with you receipt, and demand to change it to fhd and top up the amount needed. but to your disadvantage, you have thrown the box.

(maybe some kind-hearted pals here are willing to give you their box???)

nvm, call him up or see him first.

if he really has cheated you, you can warn him that if he refuses to rectify this, you will publish this case here with his name, and he will lose more (but pls make sure that there is no misunderstanding in the first place.)

This post has been edited by chopin: Aug 21 2012, 12:19 PM
PhungTM
post Aug 21 2012, 12:18 PM

585 posts

QUOTE(chopin @ Aug 21 2012, 12:13 PM)
hmm.... let's see what you can do.

what price did u pay? (maybe he didn't f**d u after all)
when did u buy it?
maybe you can go back to him with you receipt, and demand to change it to fhd and top up the amount needed. but to your disadvantage, you have thrown the box. nvm, call him up or see him first.
Really bad luck. Called him up, he said his shop only have the HD version mad.gif

I bought it 2 days ago. That time, I asked him whether it was FHD, he said yes.
Paid 3399, expensive I know, but it was an installment plan. unsure.gif

But I gotta admit I did not checked the resolution at that time as I was rushing and the receipt said it was HD LED cry.gif
Haihhh cry.gif

P.S. Thanks for your help icon_rolleyes.gif Reminded me to be cautious of sellers.

This post has been edited by PhungTM: Aug 21 2012, 12:25 PM
chopin
post Aug 21 2012, 12:24 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(PhungTM @ Aug 21 2012, 12:18 PM)
Really bad luck. Called him up, he said his shop only have the HD version  mad.gif

I bought it 2 days ago. That time, I asked him whether it was FHD, he said yes.
Paid 3399, expensive I know, but it was an installment plan.  unsure.gif

But I gotta admit I did not checked the resolution at that time as I was rushing and the receipt said it was HD LED  cry.gif
Haihhh  cry.gif
in this case, demand a full refund, bring some though-looking guys there to add some force, and raise you voices, create some scene (sellers usually fear this) - I don't recommend violence, but this is NOT a western country where sellers are honest, this is Malaysia, sigh.....

anyway, maybe we should know his shop name, as a precaution.

on hindsight, if you buy now, the Raya promo can get you Y580 fhd with Lenovo headset, at 2848 only (lower specs)...

This post has been edited by chopin: Aug 21 2012, 12:27 PM
PhungTM
post Aug 21 2012, 12:28 PM

585 posts

QUOTE(chopin @ Aug 21 2012, 12:24 PM)
in this case, demand a full refund, bring some though-looking guys there to add some force, and raise you voices, create some scene (sellers usually fear this) - I don't recommend violence, but this is NOT a western country where sellers are honest, this is Malaysia, sigh.....

anyway, maybe we should know his shop name, as a precaution.
Haha I would, but I don't have that in me tongue.gif
Though that way might help hmm.gif

The shop is located most top floor at LYP. Thunder Match. Bright red colour iinm.

I'm pretty sure the T&C said not refundable and impose 20% charge on cancellation. Or it does not matter blink.gif

Yes Lenovo headset is given in every shop selling I think. Some don't have stock yet so once in stock, they'll notify you.
Said by the same shop tongue.gif

This post has been edited by PhungTM: Aug 21 2012, 12:30 PM
zulfadzlis
post Aug 21 2012, 12:34 PM

619 posts

I think my game ( darksiders 2) is running on Intel HD 4000 built in graphic & that's why it lags so can someone tell me how to change my graphics from intel to Nvidia GTX 660m ?
sss2sssss
post Aug 21 2012, 12:37 PM

I'm Abra
1,329 posts

QUOTE(zulfadzlis @ Aug 21 2012, 12:34 PM)
I think my game ( darksiders 2) is running on Intel HD 4000 built in graphic & that's why it lags so can someone tell me how to change my graphics from intel to Nvidia GTX 660m ?
Just go NVIDIA Control Panel->Manage 3D settings->Program Settings, see ur game is in the list or not, if not then add to the list and force it to use NVIDIA GPU; if yes then just force it...
XionCity
post Aug 21 2012, 01:01 PM

171 posts

mine is FHD version....
There are RM200 increase from 720p to 1080p....
RM3399 is the original price for Y580(720P)
RM3599 is the original price for Y580(1080P)

I think he kena F****** ald
chopin
post Aug 21 2012, 01:07 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(XionCity @ Aug 21 2012, 01:01 PM)
mine is FHD version....
There are RM200 increase from 720p to 1080p....
RM3399 is the original price for Y580(720P)
RM3599 is the original price for Y580(1080P)

I think he kena F****** ald
well in a sense, the shop didn't f*** him, they just sold the old batch to him at the price - which, strictly speaking, was not a lie. but they f****d him by saying this is FHD, even if verbally—this is a LIE!

Added on August 21, 2012, 1:11 pm
QUOTE(PhungTM @ Aug 21 2012, 12:18 PM)
But I gotta admit I did not checked the resolution at that time as I was rushing and the receipt said it was HD LED  cry.gif
Haihhh  cry.gif

P.S. Thanks for your help  icon_rolleyes.gif  Reminded me to be cautious of sellers.
you are most welcome!

so this again reminds us that we shouldn't buy expensive things when we are rushing... need to inspect eveything before parting with our $$$.

mate, hope you'd feel better...

This post has been edited by chopin: Aug 21 2012, 01:11 PM
XionCity
post Aug 21 2012, 01:14 PM

171 posts

he wanted a Y580, he got it..but a HD screen, not FHD
chopin
post Aug 21 2012, 01:18 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(XionCity @ Aug 21 2012, 01:14 PM)
he wanted a Y580, he got it..but a HD screen, not FHD
yeah, agreed. they lied about it being FHD.

i think they are desperately clearing the y580 HD version, even at the price of lying, because when the new specs came out at 2848, no one will want to buy the hd at 3399 anymore...
devour
post Aug 21 2012, 02:15 PM

2,227 posts

QUOTE(XionCity @ Aug 21 2012, 09:12 AM)
nope, as I know Y580 is LIMITED edition
its not limited edition, its only very few unit coming in first batch, more stock will coming after raya sweat.gif
XionCity
post Aug 21 2012, 02:39 PM

171 posts

lucky i got it b4 raya...hahaha....
really enjoy it...except One-Key Recovery in cloned SSD won't work....pfft!!!!
devour
post Aug 21 2012, 02:40 PM

2,227 posts

QUOTE(PhungTM @ Aug 21 2012, 12:28 PM)
Haha I would, but I don't have that in me  tongue.gif 
Though that way might help  hmm.gif

The shop is located most top floor at LYP. Thunder Match. Bright red colour iinm.

I'm pretty sure the T&C said not refundable and impose 20% charge on cancellation. Or it does not matter  blink.gif

Yes Lenovo headset is given in every shop selling I think. Some don't have stock yet so once in stock, they'll notify you.
Said by the same shop  tongue.gif
do not be fooled , not every model of lenovo y480, y580 eligible for the head set , and its serve with while stock last clearly..

sweat.gif
davidmak
post Aug 21 2012, 03:46 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

Guys those of you who bought the Y480/Y580 recently will know that you're eligible for an upgrade to Windows 8 at a discount. Well Microsoft has just opened the registration site. I believe we need to register to qualify. Checkout the link HERE
SUSalaskanbunny
post Aug 21 2012, 06:31 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

hi dai kors... wanna ask ar.. if change/upgrade hdd will void warranty ar? even if it is done by d seller?

128 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0172sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:20 PM