*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

^ODD.
panda123456
post Nov 28 2012, 06:14 PM

31 posts

ok then. thanks all for the reply. ill replace back my hdd to odd and ssd on hdd slot. thanks! biggrin.gif
btw the heat generated by the gpu n cpu and its very near to the hdd. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by panda123456: Nov 28 2012, 06:15 PM
jazzkobis
post Nov 28 2012, 09:46 PM

415 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 28 2012, 05:30 PM)
^ODD.
then i guess it's worth to put SATA II SSD to the slot. at least cheaper than sata III ssd like crucial v4.
i think 400+ for 256gb?

kwcheah
post Nov 28 2012, 11:28 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 26 2012, 10:57 PM)
Its different notebook laugh.gif
Phew...
I though is the same notebook. biggrin.gif
netis93
post Nov 29 2012, 03:47 PM

68 posts

Planning to get Y580 tmrw.Should i buy the windows 8 SL version or buy windows 7 and then upgrade to windows 8 pro?
icon_question.gif
tennytyy
post Nov 29 2012, 04:48 PM

1,915 posts

QUOTE(netis93 @ Nov 29 2012, 03:47 PM)
Planning to get Y580 tmrw.Should i buy the windows 8 SL version or buy windows 7 and then upgrade to windows 8 pro?
icon_question.gif
I suggest you get win7 hb version and upgrade to win8 pro.
The preinstalled win8 in y580 is only win8 without pro.
soultaker
post Nov 29 2012, 05:26 PM

1,323 posts

QUOTE(jazzkobis @ Nov 28 2012, 09:46 PM)
then i guess it's worth to put SATA II SSD to the slot. at least cheaper than sata III ssd like crucial v4.
i think 400+ for 256gb?
what's ur budget? if don't have enough budget, just get the 128GB. people are now on SATA3 and yet you still wanna stick with SATA2. better utilize the SATA3. do you need to install so many things on your ssd? just put OS and apps in your ssd, data keep on the hdd. all downloaded stuff put into hdd. i think intel 180gb can get around rm410.

QUOTE(netis93 @ Nov 29 2012, 03:47 PM)
icon_question.gif
QUOTE(tennytyy @ Nov 29 2012, 04:48 PM)
I suggest you get win7 hb version and upgrade to win8 pro.
The preinstalled win8 in y580 is only win8 without pro.
Agree, get the Win 7 version and upgrade to Win 8 Pro. plus if you having problem with Win 8, you can revert back to Win 7 and might use the Win 8 later in the future.
netis93
post Nov 29 2012, 05:36 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(soultaker @ Nov 29 2012, 05:26 PM)
what's ur budget? if don't have enough budget, just get the 128GB. people are now on SATA3 and yet you still wanna stick with SATA2. better utilize the SATA3. do you need to install so many things on your ssd? just put OS and apps in your ssd, data keep on the hdd. all downloaded stuff put into hdd. i think intel 180gb can get around rm410.
Agree, get the Win 7 version and upgrade to Win 8 Pro. plus if you having problem with Win 8, you can revert back to Win 7 and might use the Win 8 later in the future.
then i shud get windows 7 i guess... smile.gif
whats the diff between windows 8 SL and windows 8 pro?
hmm.gif
xyz_cityhunter
post Nov 29 2012, 09:21 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(netis93 @ Nov 29 2012, 05:36 PM)
then i shud get windows 7 i guess... smile.gif
whats the diff between windows 8 SL and windows 8 pro?
hmm.gif
Can see the difference on the link below, not much of an extra between the SL and Pro if you don't really need all the features...
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windows_8_editions
tennytyy
post Nov 30 2012, 03:06 PM

1,915 posts

New beta version of Nividia Driver is out:-

http://www.nvidia.com/object/notebook-win8...eta-driver.html
mengfart
post Nov 30 2012, 07:12 PM

༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ Giff Me Mana Kotol
1,701 posts

Hi.. just wondering if Y480 can run games like hitman absolution in ultra high quality ?
sss2sssss
post Nov 30 2012, 10:18 PM

I'm Abra
1,329 posts

QUOTE(mengfart @ Nov 30 2012, 07:12 PM)
Hi.. just wondering if Y480 can run games like hitman absolution in ultra high quality ?
As my Y480 can run well in black ops 2 at all maximum graphic setting+4xTXAA+medium shadow+1366x768
and Need for speed most wanted 2012 with all maximum graphic setting+1366x768, I'm sure hitman absolution can run well since it does no eat too much gpu resource
mengfart
post Nov 30 2012, 11:25 PM

༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ Giff Me Mana Kotol
1,701 posts

QUOTE(sss2sssss @ Nov 30 2012, 10:18 PM)
As my Y480 can run well in black ops 2 at all maximum graphic setting+4xTXAA+medium shadow+1366x768
and Need for speed most wanted 2012 with all maximum graphic setting+1366x768, I'm sure hitman absolution can run well since it does no eat too much gpu resource
hi. is it advisable to upgrade it to 8gb ram other than the regular 4gb ?
tennytyy
post Dec 1 2012, 12:16 AM

1,915 posts

QUOTE(mengfart @ Nov 30 2012, 11:25 PM)
Upgrade to 8gb ram is enough. smile.gif
chopin
post Dec 1 2012, 09:11 AM

234 posts

QUOTE(mengfart @ Nov 30 2012, 11:25 PM)
3 questions:

1) is your 4gb ram now sufficient for your usage? if your are not heavily multitasking, then 4gb should be enuf. I have 8gb on my y480, but normally the RAM usage is not more than 30%.

2) do you have extra cash and don't mind spending another rm80-90? if yes, then get 8gb la, since ram is so cheap now. or else, just use 4gb until you feel the need to upgrade.

3) have u considered SSD? it will speed up your com better than extra ram.

Added on December 1, 2012, 9:31 am
QUOTE(tennytyy @ Nov 30 2012, 03:06 PM)
New beta version of Nividia Driver is out:-

http://www.nvidia.com/object/notebook-win8...eta-driver.html
hi, any improvement over the last one on win7 (y480)?

This post has been edited by chopin: Dec 1 2012, 09:31 AM
guilt79
post Dec 1 2012, 09:47 AM

149 posts

I'm playing iTunes, surfing net now and McAfee security on, rainmeter on.

Only use 34% RAM. I'm 8GB

seldom exceed 50% so 4 GB is good enough but 8 GB is recommended.
guilt79
post Dec 1 2012, 10:13 AM

149 posts

All gaming sifus.

I'm planning to get a cooling fan for my laptop.

I know. it looks silly and stupid. I got a Razer gaming keyboard and SteelSeries Sensei Raw mouse mainly for FPS gaming and using current mouse and laptop's keyboard is difficult.

Any idea of cooling fans for Y580 to recommend? Thanks.
tennytyy
post Dec 1 2012, 10:19 AM

1,915 posts

QUOTE(chopin @ Dec 1 2012, 09:11 AM)
hi, any improvement over the last one on win7 (y480)?
I am playing COD:BO2 and AC3 at the moment, and those game are alot smoother than before (306.97) in near max setting

Added on December 1, 2012, 10:22 am
QUOTE(guilt79 @ Dec 1 2012, 10:13 AM)

All gaming sifus.

I'm planning to get a cooling fan for my laptop.

I know. it looks silly and stupid. I got a Razer gaming keyboard and SteelSeries Sensei Raw mouse mainly for FPS gaming and using current mouse and laptop's keyboard is difficult.

Any idea of cooling fans for Y580 to recommend? Thanks.
Nice setup you have there. thumbup.gif
For cooling fan, get a Cooler Master Notepal U3.
Using one right now. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by tennytyy: Dec 1 2012, 10:22 AM
guilt79
post Dec 1 2012, 11:24 AM

149 posts

QUOTE(tennytyy @ Dec 1 2012, 10:19 AM)
I am playing COD:BO2 and AC3 at the moment, and those game are alot smoother than before (306.97) in near max setting

Added on December 1, 2012, 10:22 am

Nice setup you have there. thumbup.gif
For cooling fan, get a Cooler Master Notepal U3.
Using one right now. icon_rolleyes.gif
Thanks for the feedback.

Should I get cooling fan or those cooler pad?
tennytyy
post Dec 1 2012, 11:51 AM

1,915 posts

QUOTE(guilt79 @ Dec 1 2012, 11:24 AM)
Thanks for the feedback.

Should I get cooling fan or those cooler pad?
Sorry my bad, Notepal U3 is a cooling pad with 3 mini usb fans.

128 Pages « < 120 121 122 123 124 > » Top

0.0263sec    0.89    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:05 PM