V1 Proton Exora Bold Owners and Fans Thread, Calling all owner and future one...

cocodemon
post Jun 6 2012, 10:35 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(richsense @ Jun 5 2012, 09:53 AM)
I was one time decided to buy grand livina 1.8 but suddenly changed my mind and opted for bold instead. So far after driving my bold for almost 5 days, I think I have made the right choice. smile.gif
i oso like u, glad that i chose eb over other mpv's.. but the problem is, whenever u write these kind of things on the internet, people will say u are proton diehard fan / proton staff shakehead.gif

QUOTE(neo1point3 @ Jun 5 2012, 09:27 PM)
After 2 month owning EB, everyday go through jam at LDP...tmr is the first time for my EB to do long distance
Bukit Jalil - Mersing  smile.gif  Hopefully i can get to learn the car better
dun forget to try out the auto-cruise function. really helps during long driving rclxms.gif

Added on June 6, 2012, 10:38 am
QUOTE(ultramaman @ Jun 6 2012, 10:19 AM)
nope, she was in shock. well. accidents are bound to happen, one way or the other... :|
agree bro. last year my wife got hit from behind, and the best part is that idiot's car doesnt have insurance.. what to do?

This post has been edited by cocodemon: Jun 6 2012, 10:38 AM
cocodemon
post Jun 6 2012, 01:22 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Jun 6 2012, 11:46 AM)
hi bro

if that guy no insurance (and no road tax), at least if report police can get much more saman right?
yup, he got saman + other troubles. but on our side, we received nothing. we can sue him in court, but what for? we'll end up paying more $$ cry.gif

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jun 6 2012, 12:07 PM)
They will say you have "no class" driving a Proton.
ya, i was thinking about 'class' too.
but then, class = paying more for less, no class = paying less for more,

so my choice is obvious. in the end, its up to the individuals.
cocodemon
post Jun 8 2012, 11:10 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(vinorgouki @ Jun 7 2012, 02:49 PM)
ok. just come back from the Proton SC. well, this is my 2nd time service for my Exora Bold. and i had a very very bad experience with it.

I arrive SC at 11.15am. go to counter to enquiry. i told them i got bring my own engine oil. so the billing statement come out like this.

1 - X1R Engine Treatment - RM48.00
1 - X1R (P) Treatment - RM28.00
1 - Gasket Plug Oil Drain - RM3.32
1 - Oil Filter Campro Engine - RM12.22

i ask them do i really nd to buy engine treatment? they said every time service they will always suggest customer to buy. but i remember my 1st service dont hav pay for such thing. after comfirm, they ask me to be seat n wait. then i bring my son go watch astro then.

after long time waiting, my son's cartoon show already finish. i c the clock, its 12.00pm. i go check my car but still parking there, havent drive to the work bay yet. i go ask at counter how long i need to wait. then the servicer go ask mechanic. the mechanic quickly drive my car to service. (omg, isnt the mechanic jz reliaze my car have to service?)

another half an hour waiting. i go check my car. i saw them is pouring their engine oil. Its MACH 5 15W-40. i quickly tell them i got bring my own oil. they apologize to me, they said they didnt know, they jz work like normal. (omg again, they doing service without looking to the service order?? how terrible)

i continue ask them. normally, u guys should use semi oil, which is SYNTIUM 800 10W-40 for new car right? how come u use mineral oil for mine? they reply said, customer prefer this oil. (oh damn!) ok, since they already finish pour their oil. i think i will use it for another 3-4000km.

my car got a little problem, every time i hit a hole or drive at uneven road, they will always "eeegggrrrrrr" sound coming from back. i tell them to check my brake or abs. so they drive my car out. (i think they are going to hit the hole hardly this time, i suddenly feel regret to tell them the problem)

after 10 mins, they come back. they told me they got heard the sounds, it seems brake sound. so i ask them what to do? the machanic seems really donno wat to do. jz simply get the spanner, open my rear door. thighten some nut around there. then told me its done, jz go to pay at the counter. (WTF, dont u said its brake sound? what the hell u going to tighten the nut at back door??? wtfking sh*t)

after paid, leave there around 1pm. this 2nd service real sux. even the remind sticker they also forgot to give me.

actually the new car really need these staff? X1R Engine Treatment and X1R (P) Treatment (i assume P means petrol).
oh ya, they always jz add water to the coolant. when they will add the real coolant?
hi bro,
thanx a lot for sharing this. will make sure they dun include unnecessary item during my 2nd service

btw, u bought ur car from dealer/eon/proton edar?

cocodemon
post Jun 8 2012, 11:58 AM

61 posts

ya, i did some research long time ago, and came out to the conclusion that most additives are either useless or dangerous. just use good (& ori) oil + change oil on time. thats all.

except maybe for - lubegard
cocodemon
post Jun 8 2012, 02:41 PM

61 posts

1 question,
izit normal for the underneath of my eb to have body color? (refer to pix)
wasnt it suppose to be black? this is what they call anti-rust, izit? sorry for noob question rclxub.gif

cocodemon
post Jun 11 2012, 12:22 PM

61 posts

here are some pix update of my eb.

pix1: so far no sign of friction mark on my door handle

pix2: due to its size & paint quality, i found it really difficult to prevent minor scratches like this from happen on the eb. luckily had the door moulding installed

pix3: my 1st service. thank god they got the oil rite. total cost: rm123. sc: proton edar bachang.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
cocodemon
post Jun 12 2012, 08:38 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Jun 11 2012, 11:33 PM)
is this a design issue or it is supposed to be like this?
i dun seems to have this problem tho. maybe my driving style, or izit my level of tolerance is significantly higher biggrin.gif

QUOTE(doctor.AGF @ Jun 11 2012, 11:39 PM)
Hi everyone,
Anybody experiencing their EB pulling to the left side and having to slightly tilt the steering 10 degrees to the right in order to maintain straight driving?
please let me know

fr what i read in the previous thread rclxms.gif
1. most modern cars r like that, the alignment is not 100% straight
2. newer proton models are known to have problems with the steering rubber boot. u can ask sc to replace, but the problem will come back. i did a quick google search -> link

nevertheless, u can bring ur eb to a tire shop to have it's alignment checked.
cocodemon
post Jun 14 2012, 05:24 PM

61 posts

-post deleted-

This post has been edited by cocodemon: Jun 14 2012, 08:37 PM
cocodemon
post Jun 14 2012, 08:40 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Jun 14 2012, 05:46 PM)
Well, my case is handled by PE Taman Megah. I actually found this showroom from Proton's website
guess my hypothesis is wrong.
post deleted. Sorry smile.gif
cocodemon
post Jun 17 2012, 09:05 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(klate @ Jun 17 2012, 06:57 AM)
I never felt this, I need to try simulate. So the engine will choke only during idling and in Nutral gear?. How frequent it happen?.

I also need be observe more on CVT noise < 60kmh .... honestly that thing did not bother me and none in my family point that out to me either. It is either I have high tolerance to the noise (Unser produce more noise) or it is really not that noisy and annoying.

So far the noise level is acceptable, a very quiet car can be boring to me. I like to hear/play with engine sound to keep me awake during long trip. What piss me off and mentally tired is car make loud engine sound but did not propels accordingly (like Unser)
cvt noise = my eb dun have. not really sure tho
engine choking = oso dun have. this i'm damn sure.

bro klate, mind sharing ur batch no? mind is 86853
for others with this problems, what is ur batch no?

QUOTE(richsense @ Jun 17 2012, 02:24 PM)
Can anyone share what is your tyre air pressure for front and rear? I was following the measurement on the side of the driver seat but the front tyres look like not enough air. I put front 31 and back 37. Now I change front tyres to 37 and rear 37. The feel is much more different. Not sure whether it is the correct air pressure for EB or not.
front tires is normal like that, dun worry. it is due to the weight from engine bay

cocodemon
post Jun 18 2012, 08:41 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jun 17 2012, 11:26 PM)
When did you get your Bold with this batch 86853? You problem with it?
may 17th = a month ago. car is fresh fr factory.
problem/s:
1. 'errrrrr' sound when hit poles - experienced once when hit a small drain on a kampung road
2. wind sound
no other problem, for now sweat.gif

QUOTE(klate @ Jun 17 2012, 11:48 PM)
I also experience twice where I need to crank twice and do a long cranking (like twice as long compare to normal crank) to start the engine.
lol, i experienced exactly the same. happened once need to crank twice, after that need to crank longer.

QUOTE(doctor.AGF @ Jun 18 2012, 12:00 AM)
I just want to know why all exora pull to the left and no one is making noise
dont you people get annoyed from having to always hold the steering wheel tilted to the right to maintain straight driving???
this has been discussed b4 sir. u need to read the thread thoroughly. many useful info inside
cocodemon
post Jun 19 2012, 12:06 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jun 19 2012, 10:54 AM)
Moving from standstill. There is a time lag of about 1 second after pressing accelerator before power comes in. You people have same issue?
yup. according to kristof, it is 5s.
we need to anticipate the traffic movement in order to 'sync' with the delay unsure.gif

QUOTE(neo1point3 @ Jun 19 2012, 11:42 AM)
Have u ever use fm modulator before? Its the same way

You need to select frequency at dvd player eg: 89.9
Then tune your radio to frequency 89.9
Read the dvd manual again, it stated there smile.gif
wud like to add,
better check the hu 1st regarding the channel/frequency to use. make sure it is clear from interference.
cocodemon
post Jun 19 2012, 03:55 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(Turbocrazy @ Jun 19 2012, 02:44 PM)
From lavina to exora ?? Downgrading?? rclxub.gif
price & class = downgrading
size, power & features = upgrading

brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
cocodemon
post Jun 22 2012, 09:07 AM

61 posts

some update. my eb finally got a problem today.
the reverse camera failed, after just 1 month.
oredi called sc, tomoro will sent for check
cocodemon
post Jun 28 2012, 10:28 AM

61 posts

in my place (malacca), making appointment is useless. still need to folo the q. maybe becoz too many customer. took 3+ hrs

lesson learned -> never wait for the service. better asked someone to fetch me sad.gif
cocodemon
post Aug 9 2012, 10:14 AM

61 posts

wud like to share my experience, smile.gif

changed my hu about a month ago. opted for the cheapo china hu since its cheaper & looks ok.
did asked proton whether will void warranty, they said no. only for the clarion warranty.

lesson learned:
- asked the shop about warranty. i never asked, later onli he told its 3 month onli sad.gif
- double confirm with them whether they r going to cut any wire. they actually did.
- confirm 1st whether there will be any other hidden charges. i kena:
--- need to buy antenna extension cable - rm15.
--- need to buy special usb adapter - rm15. cannot use others, will burn the hu hmm.gif
- according to them, eb hu frame is not std size, so need to potong a bit. refer pix. otherwise wont fit nicely.
- installation time is ~45min instead of 20min claimed by shop.

good thing:
- can play dvd/cd/usb/micro sd. no gps.
- steering wheel control still works.
- the china hu actually help unleash the true potential of our stock speakers. was quite a surprise to me.
- video quality is excellent (unable to play .mkv files tho)
- on initial startup, proton logo will appear. makes it looks like 'ori'. later found out u can actually change to other brand. all brand got, toyota, honda, beemer, merc etc.
- got bluetooth.

bad thing:
- the firmware is more towards a handphone/pc instead of a hu. ie when playing mp3 files, cannot random/repeat.
- touch screen quality/accuracy is poor, calibrate few times oso no diff. not capacitive.
- most of the time when u restart the car, player will start to 1st song, 1st folder.
- usb sometime wont work.

overall ---> quite happy for what i pay for. its the sound that really matters + the freedom to fit in many songs on dvd/usb cool.gif

total damage: rm510 (480 + 15 +15).
btw sold my stock hu for rm300 in mudah rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

cocodemon
post Aug 9 2012, 10:20 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Aug 9 2012, 10:17 AM)
Wait till Proton void your electrical warranty and only then you will learn your lesson the hard way. Legally, Proton has every right to void your warranty for messing around with your car's electrical system.
lol. we will see about that.
cocodemon
post Aug 9 2012, 02:35 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Aug 9 2012, 10:46 AM)
There is nothing to see. You can go ask your lawyer friend. You can go to court and the court will still rule in Proton's favor.
there is. we will see whether i will hv any problem with my electricity or not over the course of the warranty. if i dun, then how? tongue.gif

thats what i mean we will see rclxms.gif

0.0488sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:39 PM