V1 Proton Exora Bold Owners and Fans Thread, Calling all owner and future one...

EBOLD
post Dec 16 2012, 09:22 PM

hi everybody,

my brother just drove my EB up to 190kph after been cucuk-ed by cefiro 2.0 on PLUS Hiway. You all surely knows how it came out aite?

BTW, i asked him, did he used the L-Mode. He said, no.

So, let me ask you forum, did anyone of you ever use that L in our EB CFE? Last time i noticed one had ask about it, but not really sure if anyone has yet tried it.

Info: That EB just got new OCV and new steering rack.
EBOLD
post Dec 16 2012, 10:34 PM

QUOTE(neo1point3 @ Dec 16 2012, 11:23 PM)
Theres no point use L gear in EB  laugh.gif  It is suppose to use when go steep uphill or downhill but cfe engine is powerful enough to drag uphill and good engine braking when going downhill  smile.gif  Use L will not able to achieve your top speed nor faster acceleration
have you tried using [3] or [2] for more power or when overtaking on federal roads?
EBOLD
post Dec 17 2012, 02:37 AM

QUOTE(dreamKrusher @ Dec 17 2012, 02:58 AM)
good question on that one, i totally forgot on testing the sudden overtaking power.
duh, i dont dare try it on my car if it's new. and i cant go test drive anymore at the same location branch...i exhausted a few Proton Era dealers...just to get a test drive due to mostly none of them have the test car.

Added on December 17, 2012, 1:59 amdamn...another magnum stick and no prize.
yep i just chewed one ice cream in cold after rain night.
it's like drinking an icy chilled drink with singlet and short pant in genting highland.
1. haha me too. too afraid that i might break the GB. just asking if anyone had done that on other CVT GB on other car. Because im quite unsure when the power surge will come, when overtaking. i know the curve 2000 - 4000 rpm, but since im not that pro yet, most of time, i just step on EB paddle in the hope all power needed will be delivered smile.gif
If anyone there not yet test drove EB, please let me know ok? smile.gif

In the old days, i use to switch off overdrive (Camry 2.2, Perdana V6), then the GB drop one gear.

2. yeah same case to me when drinking vanilla coke, hoping to win Mini Cooper smile.gif

This post has been edited by EBOLD: Dec 17 2012, 02:39 AM
EBOLD
post Dec 17 2012, 01:13 PM

yeah, what a question. let me start again smile.gif

what are guys do to stay at top rpm while overtaking? or EB CFE won't change the ratio when we floor the gas paddle?
EBOLD
post Dec 18 2012, 01:46 AM

QUOTE(neo1point3 @ Dec 17 2012, 02:46 PM)
What I learn on using cvt in these 9 months of ownership, whenever I want to overtake I will do this:

1. Follow car behind
2. Make sure no oncoming car at opposite lane
3. Floor the pedal all the way down, rpm will shoot up to 5000rpm+- (its hard to achieve 6000rpm and FYI at more than 5500rpm no more power for this cfe engine.someone has posted the graph before, can take a look if don't believe)
4. When the car is gaining speed, faster overtake the car I front
5. Don't worry about ratio thingy, as long as you floor the pedal, it will stay up

p/s: make sure floor the pedal before start to overtake, because for cvt, rpm shoot first then only speed catch up. Not like auto/manual instant response
thanx man for the tips

Added on December 18, 2012, 1:49 amany of you saw any EB been modified immitating Exora Prestige? Would be very nice.

This post has been edited by EBOLD: Dec 18 2012, 01:57 AM

EBOLD
post Dec 21 2012, 07:01 AM

hi all,

anybody knows how to make the middle seating "movable"?

since my niece and nephew are not that big, seating in the middle and my father are very much like to seat at the third row, i would like to make more leg room for the third row. but exora middle seat position is not adjustable.

any ideas?
EBOLD
post Dec 21 2012, 02:30 PM

QUOTE(zakinawi @ Dec 21 2012, 11:56 AM)
u buy eb prime or executive? only prime can adjust middle seat..
Bold CFE 7-seaters. Silver.
EBOLD
post Dec 21 2012, 05:10 PM

QUOTE(neo1point3 @ Dec 21 2012, 04:11 PM)
Then cannot adjust, unless exora prime variant
if you guys find any workaround, would also like to know. ive been searching since bought EB. Never thought that fuction didnt exist. maybe that engineer went vacation or something. unfinish design.

Added on December 21, 2012, 6:03 pm
QUOTE(steven11 @ Dec 21 2012, 11:00 AM)
Going to get my EB soon, happy~!

Question, do you guys send your EB for coating after get the car?
i sent to the one with "crash proof". forget the term. but if someone knocks on the window, the film will hold it. kinda like "bullet proof", but the lower category. all around EB costs RM1600.

This post has been edited by EBOLD: Dec 21 2012, 06:03 PM
EBOLD
post Dec 21 2012, 07:56 PM

QUOTE(alpha33 @ Dec 21 2012, 07:29 PM)
sorry if i have mistaken.
bold kenot move seats one.
if u wan more space for the third row, the best can do is on the 2nd row, the seat dont put too slanting.
from what i see , and hear, the bold 7 seaters dont have the sliding mechanism. Cos its fixed dead to the hole at the body.
mmm..with the slanting doesn't really a solution actually. thanx anyway.
because the problem is room for the foot. if any bengkel out there can alter a little bit the rail, could be the best.

Added on December 21, 2012, 8:00 pm
QUOTE(zakinawi @ Dec 19 2012, 06:31 PM)
brake disc sudah bengkok.. mine already changed 2 times, this time bengkok lagi.. haiya... not good la TRW disc brake.. hurm........
did you recognize the cause of your bengkok-problem? really helps if shared. oyeah proton. cut cost, but don't compromise life.

This post has been edited by EBOLD: Dec 21 2012, 08:00 PM
EBOLD
post Jan 5 2013, 12:35 AM

just brought my EB CFE to 10000km-service today. reported the tendency to turn to the left.

SC did alignment. i asked, how many times (every time i send to service?) should i do alignment and why it is always turn only to the LEFT?

i got this answer twice: because Malaysian road a built at certain degree, so the car will turn to the left. (safety measure of the road-construction)

this answer don't explain to me really good, cause ive driven like 10 other cars (not all mine smile.gif ) on Malaysian road so far (Perdana V6, Exora CPS, Kancil, Kelisa, Iswara, Saga, BMW E46, EVO3, Satria GTi etc etc) and ive driven on autobahn many times.
i never encountered this problem before.

any idea?

before this, same problem with GT Radial. Sent to SC, still turned to left. then trade-in with Pirelli P1 Cinturato. Did alignment, then 2 months, the problem comes haunting again.

the mechanic told me, this could be the "center line" of the tyre? i told him, how come i used 2 (TWO!) set of tyres, and the very same problem occurs?

he said, this could be a bad luck, that both set of tyres have the same problem: unsymmetrical center line

i wanted to say to him WTF, but he seems very nice guy. and im also tired, came with my dad, too. if you don't know the cause, just admit it. be a man! i can wait till proton find the cause, but don't lie laaa.

man, i typed very much today. bye² smile.gif
EBOLD
post Jan 5 2013, 11:53 AM

QUOTE(neo1point3 @ Jan 5 2013, 08:20 AM)
Same bro! My EB also turn slightly to left

Some of CPS user say, its steering rack problem
im guessing, he's right about the angle of the road. BUT, how come ALL the cars we drove previously didn't have this problem? i also have friends (civil engineer) and said, that angle should not be a problem.

SCHEISSE!
EBOLD
post Jan 6 2013, 01:45 AM

QUOTE(Volfeed @ Jan 6 2013, 01:44 AM)
I had the same problem with mu EB and my father's Preve, so I did some googling.
Seems not only Proton cars has this issue, almost all makes have their share.
So probably we have to live with it..  sad.gif

Some latest search result..

http://www.avforums.com/forums/motoring/52...le-driving.html

http://www.hondaaccordforum.com/forum/susp...-aligned-31053/

http://www.toyotaownersclub.com/forums/ind...howtopic=122138
thanx mate. at least, we are not alone smile.gif
EBOLD
post Jan 11 2013, 03:14 AM

QUOTE(khaixr @ Jan 9 2013, 05:28 PM)
Charged Fuel Efficiency

"charged", does it mean turbocharged? well I think we need an expert here  icon_question.gif
the CFE uses the (soft-)turbocharger from borg-wagner model KP39 (see google), the same as in audi TDi (older version). borgwagner also vendor for latest twinscroll turbocharger (or twincharger) for BMW F-Model.
EBOLD
post Jan 11 2013, 03:18 AM

yesterday tried the 205Nm torque with one BMW E60 on PLUS hiway. that E60 flashed high beam, i signaled to the left, and floored the gas pedal. 120 till 150 kmh. uphill. the E60 cannot "tapau" my Bold CFE. (i think it shud be E60 520i. otherwise, CFE has no chance!)

on the other hand, i am still experiencing "engine dies off when engaging R", even all the software are updated. so sad.

This post has been edited by EBOLD: Jan 11 2013, 03:19 AM
EBOLD
post Jan 11 2013, 11:50 PM

QUOTE(zakinawi @ Jan 11 2013, 11:15 PM)
u lawan bmw tak syiOk.. should lawan with our own league.. wish-stream-innova-estima-grandlivina.. so far, all of them i already tapau..(u can try also- drive until 190)except for alphard.. that damn chest freezer.. why so powderful.. hahaha
haha not always got chance la. CFE at my parents house. yes, ive driven up to 190, but never reach 200kmh. 150 pun dah melayang.
EBOLD
post Jan 13 2013, 06:16 PM

anyone done any mod to improve stability of our exora? buang while cornering is quite dangerous.

some suggested, bigger tyres. any improvement?
anyone using adjustables? or is it a crap to use that mods for MPV?
EBOLD
post Jan 14 2013, 12:43 AM

QUOTE(Hanlex @ Jan 14 2013, 01:13 AM)
hi im from Indonesia and i really interest with this proton exora, but the information for this car it still hard to get expecially in my country.

i want to ask is the exora bold premium still having the same problem with the first production? or they already fix it so the last product doesnt have the same problem with the first product?

thanks guys
hard to say. just buy Exora. if got problems, and get updates from service center. all is free. so, no problem.
EBOLD
post Jan 15 2013, 01:03 AM

QUOTE(jemmi @ Jan 14 2013, 09:53 AM)
I trade original tyre & rim upgrade with enkei light rim 17' & Neuton NT5000 215/50/17 (semi soft/medium). Rear coil add with damper. I feel more grip(brek) & more confident during cornering or u-turn. May be if install with Michelin PS3 225/50/17 will be much better feel/confident & comfort too. Most important more safety.  cool2.gif
i traded in the GT-Radial rubbish for Pirelli P1 Cinturato. but still with standard rim, R16. the noise is gone now. the grip also much much better. with GT-Radial, exora is about to take off at speed 140kmh. but with Cinturato, take-off speed is about 190-195kmh. smile.gif you can feel the difference. believe me.

agreeeee with you, safety is what concern me. GT-Radial is very very dangerous. i advise all of Exora owner to trade that off. add a little more money (my dad added Rm400, if im not wrong. i'll ask him later if anyone interested), then you can enjoy the exora with safety.

i don't have that much budget for absorber/spring mod now. because, it will void the warranty, as my understanding. but still considering. thanx for the tips.
EBOLD
post Jan 16 2013, 03:40 AM

QUOTE(dreamKrusher @ Jan 15 2013, 02:54 PM)
isnt the original (by proton) tyre is suffice for casual driving?
i mean, actually how many of us are racing on the road with full families on
racing AND driving fast are two different things. in country like Germany, people are driving 200kmh on MPV, 300kmh on sport car. we are driving slow and dangerous. you can hardly see people in Europe cilok² on their highway.

Let me tell you why: Because they use the "lane memotong" ONLY when they are "memotong". video below shows the example. the BMW and the Porsche use only left lane when they are going to pass another vehicle. here, people use "lane memotong" even aafter they finish "memotong". very annoying! this annoying behaviour, 90%, leads to some of our youngsters to "cilok²". believe me.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZlACazbmZsQ

tom hanks tells better:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B3h2Rw1mHew

back to the topic: i don't race my Exora on Plus hiway. i just drive fast on straight line. smile.gif

This post has been edited by EBOLD: Jan 16 2013, 03:44 AM
EBOLD
post Feb 1 2013, 01:57 AM

QUOTE(lime @ Jan 31 2013, 11:45 PM)
not sure is this the correct treat that i post, but i see this treat is more active compare to the other.

i'm going to have a decision to make with between Exora Bold Standard (CFE) VS ALZA EZI going to get either one of it this comming CNY.

Price exora 69k VS Alza 64K
i'm personally thinking Exora is my 1st choice over Alza, how ever, another major concerns is the FUEL consumption, i'm 7 days a week

working driving from seri kembangang to KL City in peak hours.

Any of you are Alza or Exora Bold CFE users, kindly reply your fuels consumption ?

1. Price for Full tank
RM100+[/I]

2. last for how many KM for full thank?
the gauge shown mostly 600km

3. how often you refuel?
every 559km smile.gif

btw, i was in both of them. own EB CFE. it really comes down to what you really need.
EB CFE:
+speed
+space
+safety (ABS, EBD, SRS)
-price

Alza
+design
+-safety (donno the spec)
+-price (not cheap, at all)

This post has been edited by EBOLD: Feb 1 2013, 02:02 AM