I must say my favourite Greek god is Apollo and Artemis.
This post has been edited by emino: Jun 4 2012, 02:02 PM
Greek Myth & Literature Club, Only if you're interested...
Jun 4 2012, 02:02 PM
5,967 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: Malaysia... Duh! |
I'm fairly into the myth. And I read the whole Percy Jackson book series, which puts a refreshing modern twist to the series. And I was an avid follower of Hercules tv series and Xena the Warrior Princess.
I must say my favourite Greek god is Apollo and Artemis. This post has been edited by emino: Jun 4 2012, 02:02 PM |
Jun 4 2012, 02:18 PM
Jun 4 2012, 02:24 PM
QUOTE(Balaclava @ Jun 4 2012, 02:22 PM) i like how in the movie they undermined Cronos and Cyclops. Everytime I watch a greek movie and they show both of them, I'll shout NERF'ED! and Hercules is buffed like crap. I like Hermes. carefree and the only one without much war. Yeah, Hermes is one cool dude too. Love him. He and Iris is the TM of the Olympians! |
Jun 4 2012, 02:26 PM
QUOTE(Magick Cauldron @ Jun 4 2012, 02:23 PM) Rather the other way around... though I have found no blood relation between Hephaistos and the Cyclopes yet, or because there is none. Yeah... Hephasteus was born after war with teh Titans if I'm not mistaken. Thats when Hera throw him from Olympus because hes so damn ugly! |
Jun 4 2012, 02:26 PM
Jun 4 2012, 02:40 PM
QUOTE(peinsama @ Jun 4 2012, 02:28 PM) No la. Persephone is the daughter of Demeter and Zeus. Hades falls for her and kidnap her. After much negotiations and arrangements, they decide Hades could only marry Persephone if he let her to go out from underworld every 6 months alternately. So this creates Summer and Spring (when Persephone lepak with her mum) and Autumn/Winter when she goes back to Hades. |
Jun 4 2012, 02:43 PM
QUOTE(Magick Cauldron @ Jun 4 2012, 02:34 PM) lol... Hercules does look overpowered... The first Harvest Moon game also uses this myth.I love Hermessssssss, just very sneaky.. There was this story about Hermes, not sure if it is a story mentioned in reliable sources or not.. There was a poor lumberer resting near a river. When he wanted to wash his axe (or something else, I forgot), he dropped his axe into the river, and couldn't get it back. As Hermes was watching, he went to the lumberer, and presented a golden axe to him. Hermes asked if the golden axe was the axe that he lost, but the lumberer answered no. Then Hermes presented another axe, a silver one, and asked if it was the lumberer's axe. To this, the lumberer answered no again. Then Hermes showed the lumberer his real axe, and the lumberer said that this was the axe that he lost. For the lumberer's honesty, Hermes gave the lumberer his axe back, and also the golden axe. If you swing your your axe near the lake and the goddess ask whether the golden axe is yours, be honest and she will reward you the axe. If you lie you must pay the blacksmith to make golden axe. |
Jun 4 2012, 02:54 PM
I used to create all the olympians in The Sims 3, assign them the relevant traits (example: Apollo was given the Vain, Artistic, Atheletic, Flirt and Brave) etc, then install a mod that generate FB-like status updates as I play the game. Result is damn funny mang!
![]() ![]() ![]() |
Jun 4 2012, 03:11 PM
Jun 4 2012, 03:29 PM
Greek myth not just the gods are interesting. The creatures and people also interesting. Such as the story of Icarus, the minotour and the maze, the history of gorgon sisters and medusa etc.
| Bump Topic Add ReplyOptions New Topic |
| Change to: | 0.0146sec
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:48 AM |