> TGV IMAX or GSC MAXX BETTER?, with some specs i rip from google

TSkittypurry
post Jun 3 2012, 11:30 PM, updated 12y ago

21 posts

After googling myself, Im down to these 2.

Since MaXX was refurbished from previous IMAX, is it as good as IMAX?

No doubt bout GSC MAXX has bigger screens. How bout the quality? Notice that not much info bout GSC Maxx aside from screen size.

TGV's IMAX Specs

>> 2 Theatre halls was collapsed to accommodate the 57-feet wide screen
>> the IMAX hall encompasses 2D and 3D projection capabilities aided by 2 projectors, as well as a 14,000 watts laser-aligned sound system that utilizes 16 sub-woofers, ten times more powerful than a standard cinematic hall.
>>With a total seating capacity of 292, the hall boasts wide plush French designed seats, as well as wide legroom space.

GSC's MAXX Specs

» GSC Maxx is the largest 2D & 3D digital hall in Malaysia
» Screen size: 23 meter width
» Seating capacity: 555 seats
» GSC Maxx incorporates dual digital projectors to gain the most optimal brightness for a large screen of this size.
» GSC Maxx incorporates active polarized 3D system with 3D Tech active glasses. The LCD lenses in the 3D glasses incorporate the latest LCD technology which gives 3D viewing experience with best brightness.
» GSC Maxx is the first digital hall to incorporate fully digital sound processes by Dolby CP750. The CP750 is designed to work within the new digital hall environment, integrating easily with pre-show servers, alternative contents, and digital cinema servers. Patrons will be able to enjoy the full spectrum of digital sound from its original source without any loss in audio quality.

What's your say for those who tried or know anything bout MaXX or IMAX?

This post has been edited by kittypurry: Jun 4 2012, 12:56 PM
TrustULoveU
post Jun 3 2012, 11:42 PM

569 posts

TGV at sunway kot ? the premium class
TSkittypurry
post Jun 3 2012, 11:50 PM

21 posts

How about GSC MaXX and TGV Club?
TSkittypurry
post Jun 4 2012, 12:00 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(TrustULoveU @ Jun 3 2012, 11:42 PM)
TGV at sunway kot ? the premium class
u sure its the best? wats special about premium?
SUSdont8cum
post Jun 4 2012, 12:06 AM

139 posts

tgv pyramid imaxx > gsc timesquare maxx
Aiman131
post Jun 4 2012, 12:07 AM

iFag
1,313 posts

tah aku tak pernah masuk imax
TSkittypurry
post Jun 4 2012, 12:14 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(dont8cum @ Jun 4 2012, 12:06 AM)
very sure? anyone else?
liez
post Jun 4 2012, 12:15 AM

1,346 posts

in before the cinema with beds.
TSkittypurry
post Jun 4 2012, 11:52 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(liez @ Jun 4 2012, 12:15 AM)
in before the cinema with beds.
beaniplex isit?
neoexcaliber
post Jun 4 2012, 11:56 AM

86 posts

I always go to GSC Maxx. Haven't been to the new TGV Imax coz I'm a poorfag and I think rm 26 for a ticket is too much.
TSkittypurry
post Jun 4 2012, 12:01 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(neoexcaliber @ Jun 4 2012, 11:56 AM)
I always go to GSC Maxx. Haven't been to the new TGV Imax coz I'm a poorfag and I think rm 26 for a ticket is too much.
So GSC MaXX very gooding? Seats and screen. Me outstation so not familiar with cinemas in KL/PJ,
ciahcra
post Jun 4 2012, 12:02 PM

Always hungry
897 posts

where got GSC MaXX?
neoexcaliber
post Jun 4 2012, 12:13 PM

86 posts

I like it coz the screen is bigger than TGV Imax but it's not as sharp. Plus it's usually not that full and the seats are ok.
TSkittypurry
post Jun 4 2012, 12:22 PM

21 posts

ooo. in terms of seats, Maxx > Imax?
TSkittypurry
post Jun 4 2012, 12:57 PM

21 posts

Updated 1st post.
Johannlo
post Jun 4 2012, 01:38 PM

Kuli
372 posts

TGV SP IMAX > GSC Maxx
maxpudding
post Jun 4 2012, 01:44 PM

164 posts

gsc maxx has the largest screen cinema in the country, went there 4-5 years ago, not so sure, but my first imax experience was there, when it was still under digi, the quality was good, but I'm not sure now after gsc took over the place.

I can tell you I was disappointed when I went for the first imax screening in tgv sunway pyramid. Because of the smaller screen size, the experience was a bit on the downside.

Just my 2cents
TSkittypurry
post Jun 4 2012, 02:00 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(maxpudding @ Jun 4 2012, 01:44 PM)
gsc maxx has the largest screen cinema in the country, went there 4-5 years ago, not so sure, but my first imax experience was there, when it was still under digi, the quality was good, but I'm not sure now after gsc took over the place.

I can tell you I was disappointed when I went for the first imax screening in tgv sunway pyramid. Because of the smaller screen size, the experience was a bit on the downside.

Just my 2cents
ooo. So TGV Imax was small for you compared to Maxx. The size matters alot eh?
maxpudding
post Jun 4 2012, 02:10 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(kittypurry @ Jun 4 2012, 02:00 PM)
ooo. So TGV Imax was small for you compared to Maxx. The size matters alot eh?
size does matter

at least for me laugh.gif
hans7474
post Jun 4 2012, 02:17 PM

137 posts

sunway imax is the best..gsc maxx is crappppp
TSkittypurry
post Jun 4 2012, 02:28 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(hans7474 @ Jun 4 2012, 02:17 PM)
why say so?
hans7474
post Jun 4 2012, 02:47 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(kittypurry @ Jun 4 2012, 02:28 PM)
why say so?
because ive been there
TSkittypurry
post Jun 11 2012, 02:01 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(hans7474 @ Jun 4 2012, 02:47 PM)
because ive been there
orait thanks. been busy.
SUSSrious
post Jun 11 2012, 02:27 PM

265 posts

TGV IMAX...u feel is in high class cinema. u feel like u in normall room hall enjoyin gigantic screen movie. but the seat not ok, GSC maxx better.

GSC MAXX...sometimes u r with thousands ppl? to watch a movie...the seats r nice. n the screen is way too big 4 u if u choose ur seat too near.if u sit too back, i dun think u cn relli enjoy a movie nicely...especially 3D movie.

so...for TGV IMAX, i think its awesome... better choice la.
sometimes u lucky, u get sit alone infront everyone like a boss enjoy ur movie.

btw TGV pyramid can considered to be super clean cinema...
if u notice when u waitin outside, there will always be a cleaner ready to clean any mess...even a drop of water.

but the BeaniePlex, not so good... the movie shown in beanie is 35mm... nt 2D...makes me feels jsut like at home watchin' pirated dvd LOL
the bean bag is nice... i went in lay down n fall asleep half way through d movie T^T
AzwanAnnuar
post Jun 11 2012, 02:29 PM

TGV IMAX yang paling best dan latest IMAX technology di Malaysia.
Image mmg crisp giler and environment really cozy.
Now, setiap kali nak menonton filem IMAX 2D atau 3D, saya akan pilih TGV IMAX Sunway.
Dulu, pernah pergi GSC MAXXX, tapi aircond tak sejuk dan kerusi gatal...Pffttt...
SUSSrious
post Jun 11 2012, 02:30 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(AzwanAnnuar @ Jun 11 2012, 02:29 PM)
Now, setiap kali nak menonton filem IMAX 2D atau 3D, saya akan pilih TGV IMAX Sunway.
Dulu, pernah pergi GSC MAXXX, tapi aircond tak sejuk dan kerusi gatal...Pffttt...
hahhaha... atleast TGV dun hv the dumbass Twisties commercials, rite? biggrin.gif
tobleroneberyls
post Jun 11 2012, 02:40 PM

212 posts

GSC MAXX FTW!!!! the quality for 2D is SUPERB!!!!
peri peri
post Jun 11 2012, 02:46 PM

10k nonsense talkative club
11,943 posts

why u don comapre the tix price? TGV always the most expensive
SUSSrious
post Jun 11 2012, 02:49 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(peri peri @ Jun 11 2012, 02:46 PM)
why u don comapre the tix price? TGV always the most expensive
ya..its expensive... its depend on ur decision mah...
peri peri
post Jun 11 2012, 02:53 PM

10k nonsense talkative club
11,943 posts

QUOTE(Srious @ Jun 11 2012, 02:49 PM)
ya..its expensive... its depend on ur decision mah...
GSC a lot offering, ocbc buy 1 free 1, Amex platinum buy 1 free 1, HLB priority and etc
SUSSrious
post Jun 11 2012, 02:55 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(peri peri @ Jun 11 2012, 02:53 PM)
GSC a lot offering, ocbc buy 1 free 1, Amex platinum buy 1 free 1, HLB priority and etc
yet, i dun hv any of these card cry.gif ... nt much differences for those no cards.
TSkittypurry
post Jun 11 2012, 03:02 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(Srious @ Jun 11 2012, 02:27 PM)
TGV IMAX...u feel is in high class cinema. u feel like u in normall room hall enjoyin gigantic screen movie. but the seat not ok, GSC maxx better.

GSC MAXX...sometimes u r with thousands ppl? to watch a movie...the seats r nice. n the screen is way too big 4 u if u choose ur seat too near.if u sit too back, i dun think u cn relli enjoy a movie  nicely...especially 3D movie.

so...for TGV IMAX, i think its awesome... better choice la.
sometimes u lucky, u get sit alone infront everyone like a boss enjoy ur movie.

btw TGV pyramid can considered to be super clean cinema...
if u notice when u waitin outside, there will always be a cleaner ready to clean any mess...even a drop of water.

but the BeaniePlex, not so good... the movie shown in beanie is 35mm... nt 2D...makes me feels jsut like at home watchin' pirated dvd LOL
the bean bag is nice... i went in lay down n fall asleep half way through d movie T^T
QUOTE(AzwanAnnuar @ Jun 11 2012, 02:29 PM)
Srious and Azwan, hmm... so you guys will choose IMAX ? GSC Maxx quality not as good as IMAX right?

maxpudding
post Jun 11 2012, 03:03 PM

164 posts

Imax suppose to be in large format cinema

Hence better imax experience should be at bigger cinema screen

Although gsc maxx has the largest screen config compared to tgv, gsc handling of the imax cinema is a let down

I remembered when digi first opened the imax screen, it was very comfortable and everything was perfect, but as years go by and gsc took over the place, the place dont have the same hype as it used to have

Tgv imax screen was a disappointment, but their sound system and comfy seats make the imax viewing experience a decent one
Claire Farron
post Jun 11 2012, 03:05 PM

278 posts

How about the sound quality? Which better GSCmaxx or TGV imax?

I watched Prometheus at TGV Imax, sound quality damn good, picture also really sharp.
Claire Farron
post Jun 11 2012, 03:07 PM

278 posts

QUOTE(maxpudding @ Jun 11 2012, 03:03 PM)

Although gsc maxx has the largest screen config compared to tgv, gsc handling of the imax cinema is a let down

I remembered when digi first opened the imax screen, it was very comfortable and everything was perfect, but as years go by and gsc took over the place, the place dont have the same hype as it used to have

Tgv imax screen was a disappointment, but their sound system and comfy seats make the imax viewing experience a decent one
So the only downside of TGV Imax is the screen size right?

Picture and sound quality TGV Imax still wins?
SUSSrious
post Jun 11 2012, 03:15 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(kittypurry @ Jun 11 2012, 03:02 PM)
Srious and Azwan, hmm... so you guys will choose IMAX ? GSC Maxx quality not as good as IMAX right?
for me, both r good...
but like TGV IMAX more...maybe its better the atmosphere thr ba...XD
SP TGV atmosphere feel so comfortable...
but when the place is filled wid la la zai n la la mui durin weekends, holidays...different atmosphere sad.gif ?
quite amazed dat SP cn hv IMAX

This post has been edited by Srious: Jun 11 2012, 03:22 PM
whatsupbro
post Jun 11 2012, 03:39 PM

~Musician wannabe~
1,952 posts

QUOTE(dont8cum @ Jun 4 2012, 12:06 AM)
true
Eve90
post Jun 11 2012, 04:46 PM

153 posts

Definitely Pyramid's IMAXX
TSkittypurry
post Jun 11 2012, 04:59 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(Srious @ Jun 11 2012, 03:15 PM)
for me, both r good...
but like TGV IMAX more...maybe its better the atmosphere thr ba...XD
SP TGV atmosphere feel so comfortable...
but when the place is filled wid la la zai n la la mui durin weekends, holidays...different atmosphere  sad.gif ?
quite amazed dat SP cn hv IMAX
thanks brah smile.gif
TSkittypurry
post Jun 11 2012, 05:08 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(maxpudding @ Jun 11 2012, 03:03 PM)

QUOTE(Claire Farron @ Jun 11 2012, 03:05 PM)
How about the sound quality? Which better GSCmaxx or TGV imax?

I watched Prometheus at TGV Imax, sound quality damn good, picture also really sharp.
QUOTE(Claire Farron @ Jun 11 2012, 03:07 PM)
So the only downside of TGV Imax is the screen size right?

Picture and sound quality TGV Imax still wins?
i guess from the current input.

GSC MAXX = For the screen size ONLY

TGV IMAXX = Screen + Sound Quality and clean n nice atmosphere + seats

Correct me if im wrong.
TSkittypurry
post Jun 11 2012, 09:50 PM

21 posts

Funny thing is. GSC MAXX got more votes. Hmm... Ppl not seeing this thread?
TSkittypurry
post Jun 12 2012, 09:10 AM

21 posts

Last futile bump.
neoexcaliber
post Jun 12 2012, 09:12 AM

86 posts

I'm a poorfag so GSC Maxx is cheaper and the screen is a bit bigger but I've heard that TGV has sharper image. Must be newer equipment/tech compared to Maxx.

This post has been edited by neoexcaliber: Jun 12 2012, 09:13 AM
PrincZe
post Jun 12 2012, 09:19 AM

3,050 posts

i havent tried imaxx but i tried the gsc club. can help u bring food, comfy.
ragirox
post Jun 12 2012, 09:43 AM

For me..tgv imax is vr gd coz its new..new tech la bh tu..no fight bout the sound system and seat is vr gd coz its new..but the price abit high la comparing wit gsc max...went to imax watch prometheus it was gd...vr selesa...but as said screen size smaller then maxx ..
So yeah..if u have abit more budget n stay nearby sunway area u shud juz go n watch at tgv imax..coz more pros then con ..
If still gatal juga..go try both n judge by urself..
But all I can say which ever u choose it wont let u down!
Price for imax gt 3 category for lower seat more cheaper...the higher u go more exp it gets..for gsc maxx is all the same price...thx

This post has been edited by ragirox: Jun 12 2012, 09:45 AM
Sillymexican
post Jun 12 2012, 10:18 AM

TGV IMAX for me is best.

Yes the GSC MAXX is the largest screen but that screen was built for a 70mm projector running 2 15kw lamps now I would guess at a maximum they use 6.5 or 6kw lamps.

Simples the brightness is just not enough for 3D movies.
I would speculate is why they use active 3D glasses. I would also speculate on that information that both projector is projecting identical image that is overlayed.

IMAX is set up with one projector showing image for one eye. So you have a right eye projector and a left eye projector.
2 benefit of this is
maximum brightness with minimal contrast sacrificed.
Better depth of field.

You decide which is better smile.gif Sound system everyone agree it seems IMAX is the best. biggrin.gif
TSkittypurry
post Jun 12 2012, 01:51 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(Sillymexican @ Jun 12 2012, 10:18 AM)
TGV IMAX for me is best.

Yes the GSC MAXX is the largest screen but that screen was built for a 70mm projector running 2 15kw lamps now I would guess at a maximum they use 6.5 or 6kw lamps.

Simples the brightness is just not enough for 3D movies.
I would speculate is why they use active 3D glasses. I would also speculate on that information that both projector is projecting identical image that is overlayed.

IMAX is set up with one projector showing image for one eye. So you have a right eye projector and a left eye projector.
2 benefit of this is
maximum brightness with minimal contrast sacrificed.
Better depth of field.

You decide which is better smile.gif Sound system everyone agree it seems IMAX is the best. biggrin.gif
Sillymexican, you got some technical details there. Sounds impressing. May I know where to get the details about projector and lamps?
keewah
post Jun 12 2012, 03:24 PM

429 posts

I am surprise that no one mention that IMEX at Sunway TGV is actually not a full blown IMEX experince. See the IMEX spec different here --> http://www.slashfilm.com/qa-imax-theatre-real-imax-liemax/

Edit : not to mention that GSC MAXX right now running on Dobly Digital 7.1 channel

This post has been edited by keewah: Jun 12 2012, 03:25 PM
TSkittypurry
post Jun 12 2012, 03:49 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(keewah @ Jun 12 2012, 03:24 PM)
I am surprise that no one mention that IMEX at Sunway TGV is actually not a full blown IMEX experince. See the IMEX spec different here --> http://www.slashfilm.com/qa-imax-theatre-real-imax-liemax/

Edit : not to mention that GSC MAXX right now running on Dobly Digital 7.1 channel
How do you get the detailed specs for individual cinema like GSC MaXX n TGV IMAX?
Sillymexican
post Jun 13 2012, 07:23 AM

QUOTE(keewah @ Jun 12 2012, 03:24 PM)

It is the full blown IMAX experience. It is just the IMAX Digital experience which is still better than your average experience.
Is digital the same as film? No. Why? The technology isn't there. Is it heading that way? Yes. Look up IMAX and Laser and IMAX and Kodak. In a 2 years they technology will be there to match or superseed 70mm.

GSC MAXX is using the original 70mm IMAX screen right? are they also showing full IMAX experience? No. that make them even more fraudulent saying got biggest screen when they do not have the tech to fill it correctly. At least when IMAX retrofit a large screen the screen size is manipulated (made smaller) so that the best quality is given.
The truth is that when IMAX rolled out digital there was no technology that can fill this large sized screen.

Why did IMAX go digital? For many reasons but one of this reason is because for a giant screen needs a special hall made. This smaller sized screen can be installed into existing cinema multiplex. It opens the IMAX experience up to a lot more people. And I challenge you to go and see IMAX then compare the same movie in another hall and tell me it is not a Cut above the rest.

Compare IMAX digital to IMAX 70mm then yes 70mm is the best. Compare IMAX digital to other theatre digital like GSC MAXX and then which is best for quality and cinema experience?

IMAX is using 5 channel point point source. The MAXX is dolby 7,1 Everyone in this thread seem to agree IMAX sound is better. point source some people prefer because sound is much more accurate. Go and look at the IMAX speaker then look at the other cinema hall speaker. You can see its a different implementation.
Sillymexican
post Jun 13 2012, 07:30 AM

QUOTE(kittypurry @ Jun 12 2012, 01:51 PM)
Sillymexican, you got some technical details there. Sounds impressing. May I know where to get the details about projector and lamps?
I just enjoy cinema. rclxms.gif
kaoru
post Jul 17 2012, 02:33 PM

353 posts

gsc maxx is the best , ive compared 2 of the same movies d , which is avengers
vampire_empirez
post Jul 21 2012, 02:24 AM

131 posts

DELETED

This post has been edited by vampire_empirez: Jul 21 2012, 02:28 AM
patienceGNR
post Jul 21 2012, 02:37 AM

♥ Ride All Day ♥
2,058 posts

QUOTE(Sillymexican @ Jun 13 2012, 07:30 AM)
I just enjoy cinema.  rclxms.gif
And you do have points in your arguments. I've watched the IMAX in Pyramid and as well normal screens, in my case - I was sitting on the left side of the theater and I got slight headache watching TDKR. Not sure why but maybe I won't if I sat in the middle. However, the screen is biggggggggggg. Like, left to right of the hall. Experiencing IMAX was a real good stuff la, I'll go try GSC MAXX next week when my friend returns to Malaysia for 2nd round of Batman.
sketcher
post Jul 22 2012, 02:51 PM

Used to watch GSCMaxx a lot.. until TGV IMAX comes out... although IMAX screen is huge, GSCMAx is clearly the bigger screen. its humongous!
But whats the use of all that size if its not sharp and crisp like IMAX, not as bright, weak sound system and all?

its not the size that matter, its how you use it thumbup.gif
furrywooky
post Jul 23 2012, 03:09 PM

I was researching about differences of IMAX Digital at TGV and GSC Maxx at BTS and came across this thread.

Indeed keewah was right to point out that the IMAX Digital at TGV is not a true IMAX 70mm format projector. A true IMAX 70mm format experience is like the one in Omnimax Jurong Singapore, whereby the screen image FULLY covers your vision perspective (it fills your whole eye vision without borders). that was my one and only true 70mm IMAX experience.

You do NOT get that experience IMAX Digital @TGV. And yes it makes a HUGE difference to the experience compared to a true 70mm IMAX source material like certain TDKR scenes or Polar Express). Obviously it is still better than conventional cinema screens.

Although I have not been to the old IMAX @BTS, I believe currently GSCMAxx does not use the real IMAX 70mm nor IMAX Digital (fake IMAX) projection system, but a different digital projector system magnified to the large screen. Correct me if I'm wrong and enlighten me on the technical specs if anyone has it.
kaoru
post Jul 23 2012, 05:41 PM

353 posts

just watched TDKR last week at GSCmaxx , was rubish compared to last time i watched Avengers.

Somehow the resolution now is very low , image just seems like normal cinema quality but stretched to IMAX screen . Since gscmaxx screen is bigger this result in a very2 poor image quality. everything seems so dark.
tytung
post Nov 26 2012, 09:24 PM

109 posts

How about KLCC's 3d cinema?
jacky91
post May 1 2013, 12:07 AM

DJ
1,780 posts

Hi there everyone, I am actually looking forward to watch Iron Man 3 in IMAX

However, I don't know how to tell if the movie I chose is IMAX in the TGV's cinema...all I can see is that they put on ' ** ' beside the movie's name..such as: Iron Man 3**

What does that mean? The only thing I can see is that they got IMAX 3D..but I watched it in 3D already...now wanna try something different biggrin.gif sorry for asking stupid question ><
Boy96
post May 2 2013, 06:36 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(jacky91 @ May 1 2013, 12:07 AM)

However, I don't know how to tell if the movie I chose is IMAX in the TGV's cinema...all I can see is that they put on ' ** ' beside the movie's name..such as: Iron Man 3**

What does that mean? The only thing I can see is that they got IMAX 3D..but I watched it in 3D already...now wanna try something different biggrin.gif sorry for asking stupid question ><
Well, the only place that has IMAX 3D for iron man 3 is at Sunway Pyramid or 1Utama..
andrewtho
post May 2 2013, 06:43 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(jacky91 @ May 1 2013, 12:07 AM)

To be honest, the trailer for Star Trek on IMAX has better effects than the movie itself. smile.gif
Sasaki
post May 2 2013, 07:58 PM

I wanna pay a visit to TGV IMAXX for ironman3 but the booking was full in very fast pace.
But I was in GSC IMAXX for several times. If not wrong, the screen is the largest in msia and it is CURVED!
But the sound system is soso only.. Not sure about TGV's.. I should try it asap..

This post has been edited by Sasaki: May 2 2013, 10:45 PM
justordinary
post May 2 2013, 08:07 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(kittypurry @ Jun 3 2012, 11:30 PM)
After googling myself, Im down to these 2.

Since MaXX was refurbished from previous IMAX, is it as good as IMAX?

No doubt bout GSC MAXX has bigger screens. How bout the quality? Notice that not much info bout GSC Maxx aside from screen size.

TGV's IMAX Specs
GSC's MAXX Specs
QUOTE(neoexcaliber @ Jun 4 2012, 12:13 PM)
I like it coz the screen is bigger than TGV Imax but it's not as sharp. Plus it's usually not that full and the seats are ok.
wanto ask, if i go imax, can watch 2d film? got big difference compare to normal cinema halls if i watch 2D?
neoexcaliber
post May 2 2013, 09:11 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(justordinary @ May 2 2013, 08:07 PM)
wanto ask, if i go imax, can watch 2d film? got big difference compare to normal cinema halls if i watch 2D?
Bigger screen, that's all. MAXX tends to show 3d films more than digital 2d though.
jacky91
post May 2 2013, 10:56 PM

DJ
1,780 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ May 2 2013, 06:36 PM)
Well, the only place that has IMAX 3D for iron man 3 is at Sunway Pyramid or 1Utama..
Well...actually just wanted to watch IMAX 2D...sadly TGV said don't have it :/
slowerogue
post Jun 10 2013, 05:48 PM

66 posts

gsc cheaper, larger

tgv more expensive
Kent3888
post Jun 19 2013, 12:31 AM

:+: ҜễЙΨ ™ © :+:
1,333 posts

Who know where can I watch Man Of Steel in Digital 2D?? I wanna watch at IMAX 1U, but sadly one of my family member wearing specs and swear not to watch IMAX, haaizz...
Now choosing between TGV 1U Standard Ticket or the older GSC 1U THX Hall-3 which says in 2D.
NotScammer
post Jun 19 2013, 12:43 AM

75 posts

Ironman 3 was boring as fucuk..
Luckily I watched it at TGV, the quality save the day laugh.gif

pundex
post Jun 19 2013, 12:52 AM

Watch Superman roars at Sunway Pyramid TGV IMAX. Feels good mang
fix24311
post Jun 19 2013, 02:29 AM

139 posts

QUOTE(kittypurry @ Jun 3 2012, 11:30 PM)
tbh, after watching imax at sunway, i don't see much difference than normal 2D movies. and the imax hall is also small like regular hall.

so i choose GSC Maxx as the winner hands down thumbup.gif
the feeling of watching movies at the superscreen is really top notch! i still remember how exciting it was watching transformers at gsc maxx. the hall is so big, the screen is so big, the hall curvature, the seat is damn comfy n spacious and the sound system is out of this world. you are really really immersed in the movie world! thumbup.gif

looking back, i regret not having try the original imax at times square before it closed down sad.gif
the hall is really2 damn good for enjoying movie
Kent3888
post Jun 19 2013, 10:57 AM

:+: ҜễЙΨ ™ © :+:
1,333 posts

QUOTE(NotScammer @ Jun 19 2013, 12:43 AM)
Ironman 3 was boring as fucuk..
Luckily I watched it at TGV, the quality save the day  laugh.gif

U watched Man of Steel at TGV Imax or Standard screen?
I wonder 1U GSC or TGV Standard screen is better hmm.gif

p/s: TGV 1U claims they r screening Man of Steel in 2D Dolby 5.1

This post has been edited by Kent3888: Jun 19 2013, 11:00 AM
NotScammer
post Jun 19 2013, 11:10 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(Kent3888 @ Jun 19 2013, 10:57 AM)
U watched Man of Steel at TGV Imax or Standard screen?
I wonder 1U GSC or TGV Standard screen is better hmm.gif

p/s: TGV 1U claims they r screening Man of Steel in 2D Dolby 5.1
IMAX..If got 4D or 5D,i will go without hesitation if it is superman!
I watched it at TGV Sunway btw nod.gif
luke93
post Jul 6 2013, 01:45 PM

29 posts

Never been to GSC Maxx, but i have been to TGV's IMAX quite a few times. The pictures were unbelievably clear, and the sound system was incredible!

But i have to say that the ticket prices are expensive. I always save them for high-octane blockbuster movies only though. The ones that have high amounts of action, special effects, and CGI scenes like Transformers or Avengers. That's where IMAX's crystal clear image projections really shine.

Normal movies are not worth it in my opinion. Unless you're filthy rich that is!
tjayy09
post Jul 7 2013, 10:03 PM

391 posts

If you haven't been to gsc shitty maxx, better don't, I kid you not. Not sure about earlier times, but since dec 2012, till like may or something, it's a terrible experience, terrible. I was only comparing it to sunway's tgv, and it was already bad.
The sound was just okay, clarity was normal normal lah, not sure about 2d. Seating was not the best, but leg room was indeed enough. It was all good until tried sunway's. Mindblown, and sound system wasn't nearly as good. Thought it was just me, but seems the laser sound system in gsc maxx ko ady, said by a sound engineer and gsc "didn't" want to calibrate it anymore. Never been to gsc maxx since.
tytung
post Oct 9 2013, 11:15 PM

109 posts

IMAX or KLCC's 3D-Max? I wanna go watch Gravity this weekend.
oOoproz
post Dec 7 2013, 01:49 PM

1,352 posts

Ehh, now there is a new 2D atmos, wats the difference actually
SUSsootienann
post Dec 23 2013, 03:57 PM

2,276 posts

From: subang, sunway, puchong, pj -- does_this_annoy_you?

QUOTE(fix24311 @ Jun 19 2013, 02:29 AM)
tbh, after watching imax at sunway, i don't see much difference than normal 2D movies. and the imax hall is also small like regular hall.

so i choose GSC Maxx as the winner hands down thumbup.gif
the feeling of watching movies at the superscreen is really top notch! i still remember how exciting it was watching transformers at gsc maxx. the hall is so big, the screen is so big, the hall curvature, the seat is damn comfy n spacious and the sound system is out of this world. you are really really immersed in the movie world! thumbup.gif

looking back, i regret not having try the original imax at times square before it closed down sad.gif
the hall is really2 damn good for enjoying movie
GSC maxx seats close to a thousand people, many times more than a normal hall.
the problem with such huge capacity, is :
long lines to buy popcorn
long queues at the toilet before and after the movie
long queues exiting the cinema after the movie finishes
before the movie starts, constantly having to adjust your legs, to allow people to walk to their seats (each row has 70-80 seats).
michael1208
post Apr 5 2014, 01:14 AM

20 posts

Of course IMAX, MAXX is like a pirated version of IMAX lol.
Last time used to go for MAXX, but ban it after the staffs do not clean the hall properly, spreads of popcorn under the seats, yuckkss.
bakry
post Apr 5 2014, 01:44 AM

385 posts

Can this be considered as necro?
TSkittypurry
post Apr 15 2014, 09:00 AM

21 posts

Hi guys, I am glad the conversation is still going.

Any enthusiasts wanna chime in the latest updates?
khelben
post Apr 15 2014, 09:31 AM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

I remember watching Cloverfield in Timesquare's IMAX thing before GSC took over. Fun.
Medufsaid
post Apr 25 2014, 09:45 PM

3,497 posts

QUOTE(oOoproz @ Dec 7 2013, 01:49 PM)
Ehh, now there is a new 2D atmos, wats the difference actually
Atmos = new generation of surround sound. Before: 5.1 Now: 66.1

IMAX
post May 13 2014, 04:07 PM

445 posts

For GSC Maxx, is the image projected sharp enough?
Not to compare with IMAX but to normal maybe GSC 2D format movie?
tobezai
post May 23 2014, 02:37 PM

QUOTE(IMAX @ May 13 2014, 04:07 PM)
For GSC Maxx, is the image projected sharp enough?
Not to compare with IMAX but to normal maybe GSC 2D format movie?
I've been to GSC Maxx many times on many different movies - and I am telling this without a sure fact but base on my feeling and guessing:

It seems to be perform good at certain movies, and bad on some movies. Reason ? I can only think of how those copy used to play the movies.

So, perhaps some movie creator makes better or more compliance copies for the MAXX viewing, or some didn't follow or use some other workaround that gives a "not-so-good" viewing experiences ?

Let's go back to talk about GSC Maxx vs Normal 2D hall - GSC Maxx feels like better sound system and the screen is curve, that's actually gives better feeling than a flat screen.
But it is very important to sit at the right seat - row 1 to row 6 from the back seems too way back, can't feel too much of the surround sound.

Just my 2 cents.

This post has been edited by tobezai: May 23 2014, 02:38 PM
jackie_gx
post Jun 30 2014, 03:37 PM

thk malaysia only got lieMax(digital IMAX). The real imax(70mm imax) screen is 70-80 feet tall. 80-100 feet wide.
jackie_gx
post Jun 30 2014, 03:37 PM

thk malaysia only got lieMax(digital IMAX). The real imax(70mm imax) screen is 70-80 feet tall. 80-100 feet wide.
doppatroll
post Jun 30 2014, 03:43 PM

1,123 posts

What about IMAX indulge ?
hardcoreangel
post Jun 30 2014, 03:44 PM

121 posts

i never know what's the different at all.
naminakata87
post Jul 6 2014, 11:58 AM

706 posts

imax got subtittle or not?
reiLk0rn
post Jul 6 2014, 12:28 PM

111 posts

i aLways Luv GSC, but coming to this MAXX issue. I go to TGV. Comfy, Superb Sound, and Crispy DetaiLs Movie showing...
Skylinestar
post Jul 9 2014, 10:29 AM

Mega Duck
10,477 posts

QUOTE(naminakata87 @ Jul 6 2014, 11:58 AM)
imax got subtittle or not?
Got. BM and CH.
sonyman
post Aug 15 2014, 07:08 AM

1,043 posts

Anyone tried dolby atmos at gsc 1u? I tried with the movie in to the storm I can say, wow, I mean the sound, picture wise not too bad,

But I must say the bass and surround feel is superb, worth the money,

But I agree tgv sunway is super clean, but felt disappointed when watching guardian galaxy, I was expecting a very very big screen like Times Square. But it was just well, the mini version, sound wise, still atmos is the ultimate performer at the moment,

I check out that atmos has 2subs place on the top somewhere in the middle, during the movie the seat shake , you can really feel low freq,

Next round must try dbox
SUSthis issit!
post Nov 11 2014, 06:04 AM

64 posts

what bunch of crap, 5 pages and still its unclear.

SO WHICH IMAX IS THE BEST IN KL!!!?!?!??!?!?

spoonfeed me pls.

DonDropUrSoap
post Nov 11 2014, 06:17 AM

368 posts

QUOTE(this issit! @ Nov 11 2014, 06:04 AM)

spoonfeed me pls.
TGV lah...

SUSthis issit!
post Nov 11 2014, 06:56 AM

64 posts

QUOTE(DonDropUrSoap @ Nov 11 2014, 06:17 AM)
TGV lah...
mana syiok ? 1u or sunway ?

i mau gambar besar and sound got boom boom one
thelousyllama
post Nov 11 2014, 07:19 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(this issit! @ Nov 11 2014, 06:04 AM)

spoonfeed me pls.
Haiyo yenadei maca,

If you read all the pages it can be summarized as the following.
1. TGV Imax is digital Imax or the LIEmax/fake Imax
2. GSC Maxx is a large screen but not up to Imax specification

In conclusion, there is NO real IMAX in malaysia

1. TGV imax good for sharp quality pics especially for 3d
2. GSC maxx is good if you want to book the theater for a wedding party, as it has 500 seats... If size matters to you, large screen alot of seats, then GSC maxx is for you

if u student, juz go for normal cinema when student price come out... Both these cinema r juz to squeeze extra juice out of your pocket
Alpha_Tay
post Nov 26 2014, 04:45 PM

Beware The Spammer Star!
1,725 posts

according to here, none of malaysia and singapore cinema has imax 70mm, except Singapore – IMAX Dome, Science Centre Singapore (15/70 mm, 2D), but it doesnt show movies, only some science film.

Many of the IMAX theaters are listed as digital 3D, except those noted as 15/70 mm or Dual Projection
The 15/70 mm film projectors display the highest quality image. Conventional, non-IMAX film projectors use 35 mm film, though most 35mm have been replaced by digital projectors.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_IMAX_venues
Irzani
post Dec 21 2014, 12:35 AM

Just you know why .. why u and i ...
2,972 posts

I heard got normal IMAX without the need to use 3D glasses ... true ah?
ronnie
post Jun 21 2015, 12:00 PM

Not enough stars
21,318 posts

Does TGV have IMAX 2D movies ?
skeith
post Jun 21 2015, 12:06 PM

342 posts

QUOTE(neoexcaliber @ Jun 4 2012, 11:56 AM)
About the price,

Thats the onli few thing we can syukurrr in malaysia compare to 1st world country.

I remember i went IMAX australia, cost me AUD22.5 with student price. I did asked my china fren, they told me its about the same price in china.

This post has been edited by skeith: Jun 21 2015, 12:07 PM
TheDeadlySins420
post Jun 21 2015, 12:20 PM

288 posts

imax>max
alfiejr
post Jun 21 2015, 02:16 PM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

ioi city mall gsc maxx thumbup.gif
Ar33L
post Jun 21 2015, 02:33 PM

46 posts

1u imax is so hgnnnhhh than sunway imax

the seats arrangement are like lecture hall n sound system is gooding
sharqing
post Jun 22 2015, 12:51 AM

25 posts

watched interstellar tgv imax in 1u. best cinematic experience so far for me.

haven't tried the gsc maxx one.
yapmeo
post Sep 24 2015, 09:16 AM

44 posts

If you search on https://www.imax.com/theatres/ you will find that only TGV cinema is available on the list but not GSC.

How come?

I have watched "maze runner" in Putrajaya IOI city mall for their MAXX and Dolby Atmos.

In my experience, they are just a big screen with poor picture quality. I feel that even a full HD monitor is crisper than that...
The Atmos was just so-so, i cant hear any thunder from the top of my head when there is lightning on the screen, what's the point for the speakers on top of my head for?

I haven't try TGV yet.
Thank you.

This post has been edited by yapmeo: Sep 24 2015, 09:21 AM
xxx306
post Oct 30 2015, 08:23 AM

Kylo Ren worshipper
635 posts

Hey guys.. Which one is better? TGV IMAX (sunway) or GSC MAXX(ioi city mall)? Want to watch Spectre. Never tried imax before.. Need pencerahan.
SUSGreatSage
post Oct 30 2015, 08:36 AM

126 posts

TGV all the way la
g5sim
post Mar 13 2016, 06:06 PM

5,752 posts

QUOTE(xxx306 @ Oct 30 2015, 08:23 AM)
Hey guys.. Which one is better? TGV IMAX (sunway) or GSC MAXX(ioi city mall)? Want to watch Spectre. Never tried imax before.. Need pencerahan.
I watched King Kong in Times Square MAXX (I decided to go for the largest screen because King Kong is big and should be watched in big screen lol) and Man of Steel 3D in IMAX Sunway Pyramid.

Both have curve screen. For MAXX because of the seating arrangement, you need to get a seat in the middle row. for IMAX any row will do.

IMAX will give you immersive movie watching especially 3D. This is because of the placing of the screen. It is almost floor to ceiling height, so when you watch a 3d movie, it is almost that the entire movie hall is your 3d

imax screen http://assets.hardwarezone.com/img/2011/12/DSC_0144.jpg
MAXX screen http://www.cinema.com.my/images/news/2013/7n_moremaxx01.jpg
MAXX IOI City Mall - looks like it has better seating arrangement than Times Square http://www.cinema.com.my/images/news/2015/...pohparade00.jpg

this looks like the new Times Square seating arrangement - http://hype.my/wp-content/uploads/2015/03/...ew-1024x683.jpg

Thinking of going to watch Man of Steel vs Battie at IOI City Mall MAXX

This post has been edited by g5sim: Mar 13 2016, 06:52 PM
Stitchie
post Apr 18 2016, 11:01 AM

1,091 posts

So now they "upgraded" the Times Square maxx, is it still recommended?
ueki
post Apr 18 2016, 12:03 PM

27 posts

TGV IMAX thumbup.gif
MeNaMi
post Apr 18 2016, 12:15 PM

QUOTE(hans7474 @ Jun 4 2012, 02:17 PM)
Winner rclxm9.gif
darkskies
post Apr 28 2016, 08:27 PM

2,336 posts

Anywhere is simply crap if you have kids screaming , yelling and trying to use their head to block your view. You could even see some adults trying to raise their hand up and let their armpit breath the aircon. I'm clueless the intention but as far as i know, it blocks your view as well. There are simply many inconsiderate folks who watch cinemas and disrupt viewers experience these days. Even ushers refuse to do something about this.
recca_act
post Oct 21 2016, 10:55 AM

38 posts

I have watched Polar Express many many years ago at the Imax theater at BTS. I really enjoyed it. It was a full 3D experience, everything was smack in my face. When will I get to experience that again.
abamjuan
post Jun 22 2017, 11:05 PM

For the sake of those who are still searching an answer...

I was watching two same movies which is being shot using IMAX 3D cameras in two differnt cinemas:-

1. GSCMaxx Mytown - largest screen in Malaysia
2. TGV IMAX Sunway Velocity - largest IMAX screen in Malaysia

Verdict:-

Largest doesn't mean the best. Yes GSCMaxx is huge but the projection is low in quality compared to an IMAX projection. IMAX always boasting about the their projections can be seen from the moon but the projection in GSCMaxx is not up to par. It's dark and looks like something from smaller screen simply being enlarged. But here in Mytown the hall uses Atmos for the sound system which is great sounding and it also has a motion dbox seats too if you are into that kind of stimulus. Mind, not all GSCMaxx is equipped with Dolby Atmos sound system. The viewing angle is good tho no matter where you seat since the hall is built according to THX specs.

To me GSCMaxx is a let down. The screen is huge but picture quality is not as good as IMAX. I've been to BTS IMAX when it was newly open and when it's being taken over by GSC. The quality is totally different.

So the hyped TGV IMAX. Hands down this is something what you expecting from an IMAX. Screen is huge (enought) the projection quality is crisp and clear and bright. The sound is decent. But the seating arrangement in TGV is retarded. The best spots for watching are conquered by rows and rows of the expensive twin seats which is RIDDDDDDICULOUSLY expensive. Rule of thumb when watching an IMAX - buy tje middle row tickets so that the screen can fill your entire vision field or the seats from 2 or 3 three rows behind the middle rows. Any further back and you can will the edges of the screen. And if you are watching 3D always seat as close to the center as possible.

So I say TGV IMAX is better.

I would like to go into technical but I'm too lazy... biggrin.gif ...
killsilverstar
post Jun 22 2017, 11:09 PM

MBO Starling ATMOS is the best value for money. The couple seats are quite good. Almost the same level with tgv indulge
fotosintesis
post Jun 22 2017, 11:13 PM

So which of the favors of your Lord would you deny?
1,002 posts

QUOTE(abamjuan @ Jun 22 2017, 11:05 PM)
For the sake of those who are still searching an answer...

I was watching two same movies which is being shot using IMAX 3D cameras in two differnt cinemas:-

1. GSCMaxx Mytown - largest screen in Malaysia
2. TGV IMAX Sunway Velocity - largest IMAX screen in Malaysia

Verdict:-

Largest doesn't mean the best. Yes GSCMaxx is huge but the projection is low in quality compared to an IMAX projection. IMAX always boasting about the their projections can be seen from the moon but the projection in GSCMaxx is not up to par. It's dark and looks like something from smaller screen simply being enlarged. But here in Mytown the hall uses Atmos for the sound system which is great sounding and it also has a motion dbox seats too if you are into that kind of stimulus. Mind, not all GSCMaxx is equipped with Dolby Atmos sound system. The viewing angle is good tho no matter where you seat since the hall is built according to THX specs.

To me GSCMaxx is a let down. The screen is huge but picture quality is not as good as IMAX. I've been to BTS IMAX when it was newly open and when it's being taken over by GSC. The quality is totally different.

So the hyped TGV IMAX. Hands down this is something what you expecting from an IMAX. Screen is huge (enought) the projection quality is crisp and clear and bright. The sound is decent. But the seating arrangement in TGV is retarded. The best spots for watching are conquered by rows and rows of the expensive twin seats which is RIDDDDDDICULOUSLY expensive. Rule of thumb when watching an IMAX - buy  tje middle row tickets so that the screen can fill your entire vision field or the seats from 2 or 3 three rows behind the middle rows. Any further back and you can will the edges of the screen. And if you are watching 3D always seat as close to the center as possible.

So I say TGV IMAX is better.

I would like to go into technical but I'm too lazy... biggrin.gif ...
Thanks for the input!!

Appreciate it.

Inb4, incoming Transformers Last Knight
thelousyllama
post Jul 12 2017, 10:03 PM

68 posts

people, christopher nolans dunkirk is releasing end of this month and every critics including nolan say that it has to be watched in IMAX 70mm as most of the movie is shot with imax 70mm technology. Anyone knows if TGV sunway velocity imax is 70mm or Liemax/imax digital like sunway pyramid... Not talking about the ciplak gsc maxx which is not even imax...
lyrilmaki
post Jul 12 2017, 10:10 PM

964 posts

GSC Maxx Atmos at MyTown mall is gooding than Timesquare a lot..

Speaker wise.. Sunway Velocity IMAX 3D is better.. the whole chair will shake and can feel the bass vibration..

I not sure if IMAX 2D and 3D has the same spec or not..

Overall TGV > GSC. But the pricing of TGV is expensive and the ads is damm long.. big let down. Quality is more to TGV side

This post has been edited by lyrilmaki: Jul 12 2017, 10:13 PM
DValentine
post Jul 13 2017, 12:34 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(thelousyllama @ Jul 12 2017, 10:03 PM)
people, christopher nolans dunkirk is releasing end of this month and every critics including nolan say that it has to be watched in IMAX 70mm as most of the movie is shot with imax 70mm technology. Anyone knows if TGV sunway velocity imax is 70mm or Liemax/imax digital like sunway pyramid... Not talking about the ciplak gsc maxx which is not even imax...
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA MAREHSIA cinema are all in digital

who will invest on 70mm hardware just because of a movie, plus this is marehsia, look at the cinema's movie selection, all commercial movies, alternative movies? sorry la no profit

all cinema operators wan PROFIT

if u wan to watch in 70mm true IMAX then u have to go thailand (Krungsri IMAX Theatre Pathum Wan) or Manilla (SM Mall)

even Ann Lee's billy lynn's long halftime 120fps only available in few countries in Asia (China and Taiwan only) if not mistaken

This post has been edited by DValentine: Jul 13 2017, 12:36 AM
thelousyllama
post Jul 13 2017, 02:03 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(DValentine @ Jul 13 2017, 12:34 AM)
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA MAREHSIA cinema are all in digital
who will invest on 70mm hardware just because of a movie, plus this is marehsia, look at the cinema's movie selection, all commercial movies, alternative movies? sorry la no profit

all cinema operators wan PROFIT

if u wan to watch in 70mm true IMAX then u have to go thailand (Krungsri IMAX Theatre Pathum Wan) or Manilla (SM Mall)

even Ann Lee's billy lynn's long halftime 120fps only available in few countries in Asia (China and Taiwan only) if not mistaken
Aiseh thats a pity. Was hoping to catch in in imax 70mm...
IAmLejen
post Apr 24 2018, 11:11 AM

367 posts

Sorry to bring back up an old tered. Will the avengers IW be screen in IMAX 2D in TGV, because the options now I saw now is only IMAX 3D. Or I should just go with MAXX in MyTown

0.0810sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 02:17 AM